Coachful
Coachful
ToolsBlogContact
Coaching business
September 15, 202634 min

Best Membership Platforms for Coaches in 2026: 9 Compared on Fees and Delivery

Best Membership Platforms for Coaches in 2026: 9 Compared on Fees and Delivery

This is for the coach who already has paying clients and wants money that arrives on the first of the month whether or not anyone booked a call in the last three weeks. The best membership platforms for coaches make that possible. The platform you run it on decides how much you keep, how much of your week it eats, and whether members stay past month three.

"Best" here means three jobs done together, because a membership that fails any one of them quietly dies. It has to take recurring payments and keep the fee small. It has to give members a place to talk to each other that is not your Instagram DMs. And it has to deliver something on a schedule: a call, a lesson, a worksheet, some accountability between the two. Most tools below are excellent at one of the three and thin on another, so the shortlist changes with which one your membership runs on.

Every price, fee, plan name and rating was checked on 15 September 2026 against each vendor's own pricing page, plus G2, Capterra and Trustpilot where a credible sample exists. Several changed pricing materially in the last eighteen months, including a restructure in January 2026 and an across-the-board rise in August 2026, so confirm before you put a card in.

A coach working at a laptop in a home office in warm natural light

What is a membership platform for coaches?

A membership platform for coaches is software that charges people a recurring fee and gives them ongoing access to a community, a content library and usually live sessions, all behind one login. It is different from a course platform, which sells a finished thing once, and different from a booking tool, which sells your time by the hour.

The distinction changes what you are buying. A course platform optimizes for the sale. A membership platform optimizes for the renewal, so it lives or dies on whether members show up in week seven. That is why community, event calendars, notifications and app presence carry more weight here than video hosting or quiz builders.

Coaches end up in three shapes: a pure paid community with a monthly call, a content membership with a library that grows, or a coaching membership where people pay monthly for your attention and the community makes that attention go further. The third is where most coaching businesses land, and the one least well served by the community platforms everybody recommends.

Renewal, not the sale. A membership charging $49 a month only becomes a real business at month seven, which is why community and calendar features decide this category and video hosting does not.

How did we judge these nine?

Five things, weighted for a coach rather than a creator. Anything that appeared only in marketing copy, not on a pricing or feature page, was marked unverified rather than counted.

  • Real monthly cost at 100 members. Subscription plus platform fee plus processing, not the sticker price. Two tools here charge little or nothing per month and take 5 to 10 percent of everything.
  • Community members return to. Feed, spaces, chat, DMs, events, notifications, and a reason to come back on a Tuesday.
  • Delivery between the calls. Courses and drip are table stakes. Assigned work, check-ins, habits and per-member progress separate a coaching membership from a paid Facebook group.
  • Whether you can also sell one-to-one. No availability-based booking means adding Calendly and a second subscription on day one.
  • What you can take with you. Several platforms here export name, email and join date, and nothing else.

Ranking basis: how completely one subscription runs a coaching membership end to end, meaning recurring billing, community, scheduled delivery and the ability to sell one-to-one work alongside it, with total cost at 100 members and public review sentiment as tie-breakers.

Illustration of three overlapping circles of equal size, one filled in gold, representing community, content and coaching overlapping in a membership

The nine membership platforms at a glance

Monthly prices shown, and most vendors discount 10 to 30 percent for annual billing. The platform fee column is what catches people out, because it sits on top of card processing everywhere except Skool Pro, Kajabi Payments and Thinkific Payments, where the percentage shown is the processing.

Membership platforms for coaches compared on entry price, platform fee, community depth, native one-to-one booking and public ratings. All figures checked 15 September 2026 and subject to vendor change.
ToolEntry price (monthly)Platform fee on salesCommunityNative 1:1 bookingStrongest public rating
Coachful$29 Lite (5 clients), $49 Solo (20), $99 Pro (unlimited)0%Feed, group chat, video events, DMsYes, with paid sessions and creditsTrustpilot 4.5 from 21 reviews
Circle$129 Professional ($89 annual)2% Professional, 1% BusinessSpaces, chat, DMs, live rooms, gamificationNoCapterra 4.7 from 48 reviews
Mighty Networks$95 Launch ($79 annual)2% Launch, 1% ScaleSpaces, feeds, chat, events, challengesNoG2 4.6 from 617 reviews
Kajabi$179 Basic ($143 annual)0% with Kajabi Payments, 0.5 to 2% with your own Stripe1 community on Basic and Growth, 3 on ProYes, in the Coaching productCapterra 4.4 from 226 reviews
Skool$9 Hobby, $99 Pro10% Hobby, 2.9% + 30c ProFeed, categories, DMs, levels, leaderboardNoTrustpilot 1.7 from 51 reviews
Podia$49 Mover, $99 Shaker5% Mover, 0% Shaker and upSpaces, 25 on Mover, 100 on ShakerNo, hands off to Calendly or SavvyCalCapterra 4.6 from 120 reviews
Systeme.ioFree, then $17 Startup0% on every plan including FreeBasic member-only communitiesYes, native booking calendarTrustpilot 4.9 from 8,424 reviews
Thinkific$49 Basic, $99 Start0% on all paid plans1 community on Basic and Start, 3 on GrowNo, you paste a Calendly linkCapterra 4.6 from 176 reviews
Patreon$010% of income, plus processing and payout feesPosts, comments, chat, member tiersNoNot listed on G2 or Capterra in this set

1. Coachful: the membership and the coaching run on one client record

Coachful community feed with a live Q&A session, member story avatars and coach posts showing likes, comments and shares
The community feed with a live Q&A at the top, member story avatars and coach posts carrying likes, comments and shares. Members post in the same place they open their program, so there is no second login for the community.

Coachful is a coaching platform for coaches who sell ongoing access rather than one-off courses. It is built for someone with roughly 3 to 300 members and clients who wants one branded place to sell, schedule, deliver and keep people engaged, and it costs $29 to $99 a month for a solo coach with a 0 percent platform fee. It has no free plan, it is not HIPAA-certified, and the client app carries your branding inside the Coachful listing rather than a separate App Store listing under your own developer account.

What makes it different is that the membership is not bolted next to your coaching. A member is a client record, so the same person carries a subscription, a program, goals, habits, check-ins, booked sessions, form answers and a community profile on one row. On community platforms a member is a member and a coaching client is something you track in a spreadsheet. When someone in your $49 membership books a private session or buys a $997 intensive, it lands on the same record and the same revenue report.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Lite $29/mo for up to 5 clients, Solo $49/mo for up to 20, Pro $99/mo unlimited, Studio $199/mo for 3 coach seats, Agency $299/mo for 6. Annual billing brings Lite to $19, Solo to $39, Pro to $79, and every feature is on every plan. Seven-day free trial, card required, no charge during the trial, cancel in one click. No free plan. 0 percent platform fee, so after Stripe or Razorpay processing you keep the rest.

Ratings: Trustpilot 4.5 from 21 reviews. A small sample against a ten-year-old competitor's thousands, and worth reading rather than averaging; the reviews wall is public.

What stands out

  • 0 percent platform fee at every tier. At 100 members paying $49 you keep roughly $4,728 after card processing, against $4,630 on a 2 percent platform and $4,238 on a 10 percent one.
  • Recurring and one-off selling in one checkout. Stripe Connect or Razorpay, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, Apple Pay and Google Pay, coupons, refunds, Stripe Tax and invoices.
  • Delivery that runs between the calls. Programs with weekly goals and daily tasks, habits with morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars, and cohort squads created automatically on enrollment.
  • The launch kit is included. Website builder with blog and custom domain, funnels, email lists, broadcasts, sequences with branching and A/B splits, and a link-in-bio hub.
  • Booking is not an add-on. Availability rules, buffers, time zones, paid sessions, session credits, two-way Google, Apple and Outlook sync, and built-in video or auto-created Zoom and Teams links.

The honest catch

  • If your membership is a pure paid community with no coaching relationship in it, Circle and Mighty Networks have polished that specific member experience for years and it shows in the feed and the notifications.
  • The client caps are real. A membership above 20 people needs the $99 Pro plan, still unlimited and still 0 percent fee, which makes $29 a starting point rather than where a growing membership sits.

Best for: coaches whose membership includes actual coaching, anyone running a membership alongside private clients, and coaches who would rather pay one flat bill than a percentage of every renewal.

Join Coachful now

Coachful squads page showing three group coaching communities with cover photos and member counts of 11, 16 and 13
Three program-linked squads with cover photos, program badges and member counts of 11, 16 and 13. Squads are created automatically when someone enrolls, so a new cohort has a group the day it starts.

2. Circle: the best pure membership experience when community is the whole product

Circle is the community platform most coaches name first, and the reviews back it up. Spaces, threaded posts, chat, DMs, gamification, native live rooms and live streams, courses with drip and scheduled cohorts, events, and paywalls handling subscriptions, trials and coupons. If your membership is a place people go to talk, learn and attend a monthly call, Circle does it better than anything else here.

Understand the cost shape first. Circle charges a subscription plus a fee on payments, on top of Stripe, Email Hub is a separate add-on priced by contact count, and a branded app requires Circle Plus at custom pricing. A membership that outgrows Professional gets a bigger bill in three places at once.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Professional $129/mo, or $89/mo annually at $1,068 a year, with unlimited members, 3 admins, courses, events and live streams. Business $219/mo, or $199/mo annually at $2,388 a year, adding workflows, API and transcriptions. Enterprise is reported by third parties at $419/mo but not published; Circle Plus is custom. Platform fee 2 percent on Professional, 1 percent on Business, 0.5 percent on Plus. Fourteen-day free trial.

Ratings: G2 4.5 from 501 reviews, Capterra 4.7 from 48, Trustpilot 3.9 from 73.

What stands out

  • Best-rated community product in this set on G2, with the cleanest interface for non-technical members.
  • Native live rooms and live streams inside the community, so a monthly member call needs no Zoom link.
  • Unlimited members on every plan, with courses in self-paced, structured and scheduled cohort modes.

The honest catch

  • No one-to-one scheduling at all. Coaches connect Calendly through Zapier, which means a second subscription and a third tool for the automation.
  • Trustpilot sits at 3.9 from 73 with 27 percent one-star reviews citing video playback lag, frozen leaderboards and laborious account deletion.
  • Posts and content have no bulk export. Members and subscriptions come out as CSV, everything your community wrote does not.

Best for: coaches whose membership is a community first, who run group calls rather than private sessions, and who can carry a $1,068 to $2,388 annual commitment plus fees.

A small group of adults appearing on a video call on a laptop screen at home

3. Mighty Networks: community plus cohorts, with a path to your own app

Mighty Networks sits close to Circle and splits coaches on one line: Mighty pushes harder on cohorts, challenges and events, Circle on the feed and the interface. Challenges is the closest thing here to structured accountability inside a community, and native live streaming means a member call, a workshop and a launch event happen without a third-party room.

Coaches with larger memberships look at Mighty for one reason: Mighty Pro puts your membership in your own branded iOS and Android apps. It is custom-priced, with third parties citing well into five figures a year, so it is a decision for a membership already earning.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Launch $95/mo, or $79/mo annually at $950 a year, with 3 hosts and 10 moderators. Scale shows $179/mo annually on the official page, with monthly billing reported by third parties at around $215 and not stated unambiguously. Mighty Pro is custom pricing with your own branded apps. Platform fee is 2 percent on Launch, 1 percent on Scale, 0.5 percent on Pro, and fees are not refunded when you refund a member. Fourteen-day free trial.

Ratings: G2 4.6 from 617 reviews, Capterra 4.6 from 89, Trustpilot 3.3 from 215.

What stands out

  • Strongest G2 sample here at 4.6 from 617 reviews, with support and live training named repeatedly.
  • Challenges, cohort courses and events give a membership a reason to return that is not just a feed.
  • Mighty Pro is a genuine route to your own App Store presence, which almost nothing in this price range offers.

The honest catch

  • Trustpilot 3.3 from 215, with recurring complaints about unexpected auto-renewals and unresolved cancellations. Annual plans auto-renew with no pro-rata refund, so set a reminder.
  • No availability-based one-to-one booking. Events are scheduled group sessions, which is not the same thing.
  • Member navigation is a long-standing complaint, partly addressed by the 2024 and 2025 redesign but still the thing new members ask about.

Best for: coaches running cohort-based memberships and challenges, and memberships large enough that a branded app changes retention.

4. Kajabi: the membership inside a full business stack, at a full-stack price

Kajabi is the most complete business system on this page. Website, blog, landing pages, funnels, native email marketing, checkout, courses, podcasts, communities, and a genuine Coaching product with its own scheduler, live video for up to 200 participants, session notes and milestone programs. Everything shares one contact record, which is the thing coaches leave other platforms to get.

It is also the tool that changed most in the last year, and not in the customer's favor. The January 2026 restructure raised prices 25 to 61 percent, cut Basic contacts from 10,000 to 2,500, removed the $89 Kickstarter plan from public pricing and added a surcharge for using your own Stripe. Price it at Growth, because 2,500 contacts is a low ceiling for any membership with an email list.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Basic $179/mo, or $143/mo annually, with 5 products, 2,500 contacts and 1 community. Growth $249/mo, or $199/mo annually, with 50 products, 25,000 contacts, the affiliate program and the branded mobile app. Pro $499/mo, or $399/mo annually, with unlimited products and 100,000 contacts. Kajabi Payments carries a 0 percent platform fee with processing at 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic, 2.8% on Growth, 2.7% on Pro; your own Stripe or PayPal adds a 0.5 to 2 percent surcharge. The pricing page currently offers a one-month trial.

Ratings: G2 4.1 from 93 reviews, Capterra 4.4 from 226, Trustpilot 3.5 from 2,337.

What stands out

  • One of only three tools here with native one-to-one booking, and the only one with built-in live video sized for group sessions.
  • Branded mobile app included on Growth and Pro, where Thinkific charges $199/mo as an add-on for the same thing.
  • Funnels, email sequences and checkout run off one contact record, so a membership launch needs no separate email platform.

The honest catch

  • The most expensive realistic entry point on this page. Growth at $249/mo is $2,988 a year before you sell anything.
  • Value for money is Kajabi's weakest Capterra sub-score at 3.7 out of 5, and Trustpilot is 3.5 from a large 2,337-review sample.
  • Reviewers describe AI-first support that will not escalate, failed cancellations, and being asked to pay to retrieve customer data. Data is removed 90 days after cancellation.

Best for: coaches selling a membership inside a larger product ladder with real email volume, who want one vendor for marketing and delivery.

The January 2026 reset. Kajabi raised prices 25 to 61 percent, cut Basic from 10,000 contacts to 2,500 and added a 0.5 to 2 percent surcharge for using your own Stripe, all in one release.

Illustration of four stacked rectangles of increasing width forming a rising staircase, the top one filled gold, representing a plan pricing ladder

5. Skool: the cheapest way to open a membership, and the least you will ever own

Skool is nine dollars a month and takes about twenty minutes to understand. A feed, categories, a classroom of folders and lessons, a calendar of live calls, DMs, and points, levels and leaderboards that genuinely move engagement. Members open classroom content by reaching a level, a retention mechanic no one else here does as cleanly, and the Discovery marketplace sends organic members to communities that rank in it.

What you give up is ownership. No custom domain, no white-label, no website, no funnels, no email automation, no public API. The member export is name, email and join date, so posts, DMs, course progress and leaderboard history stay where they are.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Hobby $9/mo, or $7.50/mo yearly at $90 a year, with unlimited members, courses, videos and live calls, a custom URL slug, affiliates and a 10 percent transaction fee. Pro $99/mo, or $82.50/mo yearly at $990 a year, same features, with a 2.9% + 30c fee up to $899 per transaction and 3.9% + 30c above that. Each additional community is a separate subscription. The pricing page offers two months free on either plan.

Ratings: Trustpilot 1.7 from 51 reviews, and Skool is not listed on G2 or Capterra at all. App store ratings are better, at 4.1 on Google Play from 6,099 ratings and 3.8 on the App Store from 714.

What stands out

  • Cheapest real entry in this set at $9/mo with unlimited members, courses and live calls.
  • Gamification that measurably drives posting, and a Discovery marketplace that acquires members for you.
  • Native payments, tiers and affiliates without touching Stripe setup.

The honest catch

  • Trustpilot 1.7 from 51 reviews with 78 percent one-star and an unclaimed profile, citing unauthorized charges, a hidden cancellation flow and unresponsive support. The worst sentiment on this page, and it deserves weight.
  • Hobby's 10 percent fee is the most expensive arrangement here for volume sellers, and Pro adds 1 percent above $899 per transaction.
  • No custom domain means no SEO equity and no clean way to move later.

Best for: coaches testing whether a membership idea has demand, and communities whose value is peer conversation rather than structured delivery.

6. Podia: the most consolidated platform at the price, if you accept the fee cliff

Podia gives you a website, a blog, courses, downloads, a community with spaces, email marketing and a coaching product on every plan, from $49/mo. Nothing else here includes that much for that little, and the 30-day trial runs without a card, which makes it the lowest-risk platform to try.

The catch is the fee cliff. Mover at $49/mo carries a 5 percent Podia fee, so a membership doing $4,900 a month hands over $245 before Stripe takes its cut. Shaker at $99 drops the fee to zero, which makes the honest entry price $99. Email subscriber caps are the lowest in this set and a membership list crosses them quickly.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Mover $49/mo, or $42/mo annually at $504 a year, with a 5 percent fee, 50 products, 25 spaces and email to 100 subscribers. Shaker $99/mo, or $84/mo annually at $1,008 a year, with 0 percent fee, 150 products, 100 spaces and 500 email subscribers. Earthquaker $179/mo, or $150/mo annually at $1,800 a year, unlimited products and spaces with 1,000 subscribers. Processing applies on top and extra subscribers are billed separately. Thirty-day trial with no card, no free plan.

Ratings: Capterra 4.6 from 120 reviews, Trustpilot 4.0 from 139.

What stands out

  • Website, blog, email, community, courses, coaching and downloads on every plan, unusual value at $49 to $99.
  • Unlimited customers on all plans, 0 percent fee from Shaker up, and a 30-day trial with no card.
  • Trustpilot 4.0 and Capterra 4.6, with support quality named repeatedly in reviews.

The honest catch

  • The 5 percent Mover fee makes $49 misleading for anyone past the first few sales.
  • Email subscriber caps of 100, 500 and 1,000 turn email into a second bill faster than anywhere else.
  • No mobile app, no native video, and the coaching product takes payment then hands off to a Calendly link.

Best for: coaches launching a first membership who want a website, a list and a community under $100 a month and need no booking or app.

Coachful discover page showing bundle cards priced at $597, $197 and $997 with featured and discount labels and filter tabs for All, Group, Individual and Membership
Bundle cards at $597, $197 and $997 with featured and discount labels, and filter tabs for All, Group, Individual and Membership. Membership is one of the product types you sell alongside programs and one-off intensives.

7. Systeme.io: the lowest platform bill in this set, with 0 percent fees on a free plan

Systeme.io is the outlier, and coaches who find it are usually surprised it is not better known. A free forever plan with 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, a course, a community, a blog, a custom domain, unlimited emails and 0 percent fees, with paid plans from $17/mo. It also has a native booking calendar with paid appointments, one of only three here that can sell a private session without a second tool.

Its review scores are the strongest on this page by a wide margin. What you give up is polish on the member-facing side: the community is a basic feed and groups, there is no live streaming, no gamification and no app, and the page builder is the thing reviewers call clunky.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Free forever with no card, covering 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 course, 1 community, 1 blog and 1 custom domain. Startup $17/mo, or $14.17/mo annually at $170 a year, with 5,000 contacts and unlimited funnels. Webinar $47/mo, or $39.17/mo annually at $470, with 10,000 contacts. Unlimited $97/mo, or $80.83/mo annually at $970, with unlimited contacts and free migration. 0 percent platform fee on every plan including Free.

Ratings: Trustpilot 4.9 from 8,424 reviews, G2 4.8 from 744, Capterra 4.8 from 2,126.

What stands out

  • Best price-to-scope ratio here. A membership can launch on the free plan and pay nothing until it works.
  • 0 percent platform fee on every plan including Free, matched at entry level only by Coachful and Thinkific.
  • Native booking calendar with paid appointments, so private sessions do not need Calendly.

The honest catch

  • The community product is basic. No live streaming, no gamification, no member app, no group video.
  • The page builder and automation are less flexible than premium tools, with limited undo cited in reviews.
  • Contact exports expire after three days, and there are no refunds for an unused period.

Best for: coaches whose membership is content and email led, anyone testing an offer at zero fixed cost, and coaches who want funnels more than a feed.

The fee is the real price. On $4,900 of monthly membership revenue, a 0 percent platform fee and a 10 percent one are $490 a month apart, more than the entire subscription cost of seven of the nine tools here.

8. Thinkific: strongest course tooling, weakest coaching side

Thinkific is a course platform that added community, and it shows in both directions. The authoring depth is the best here: quizzes, assignments, drip, cohorts, certificates, learning paths, unlimited courses and students on every plan. If your membership's value is a library that keeps growing and members working through structured material, Thinkific builds that better than Circle or Skool.

The coaching side is where it stops. No built-in scheduling, so a one-to-one session means pasting a Calendly link into a Coaching and Webinars product. No native video, only Zoom. No contracts, no habits, no check-ins. Prices also rose 10 percent for all customers at renewal in August 2026, and Trustpilot sentiment is the second worst here.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Basic $49/mo, or $36/mo annually, with unlimited courses and students, 1 community and 5 downloads. Start $99/mo, or $74/mo annually, adding unlimited coaching and webinar products, memberships, bundles and the Thinkific-branded student app. Grow $199/mo, or $149/mo annually, with 3 communities. Plus is custom. A 0 percent platform fee applies on all paid plans, with Thinkific Payments processing at 2.9 percent plus a card fee. A branded app is a $199/mo add-on. Thirty-day trial.

Ratings: Capterra 4.6 from 176 reviews, G2 4.0 from 211, Trustpilot 1.9 from 865.

What stands out

  • 0 percent platform fee on every paid plan, and the US Stripe surcharge was dropped in 2026.
  • Deepest course authoring here: quizzes, assignments, certificates, cohorts and learning paths.
  • Unlimited courses and students on all plans, plus a 30-day trial with no card.

The honest catch

  • Trustpilot 1.9 from 865 reviews, dominated by reports of being charged after cancelling, surprise annual renewals and silent checkout failures.
  • No scheduling, no native video, no contracts. A coaching membership needs a second tool on day one.
  • Basic locks out memberships, bundles and most downloads and caps coaching products at 5, so the real entry plan is Start.

Best for: coaches whose membership is a structured curriculum with assessments and a large student body, with private coaching handled elsewhere.

9. Patreon: no monthly bill, and the most expensive fee in this set

Patreon is the only platform here with no subscription cost at all. You publish posts, set member tiers, and Patreon takes a percentage of what you earn. For a coach who already has an audience, that is a low-friction way to open a paid tier, and members subscribe without being taught how.

The arithmetic turns against you quickly. At 10 percent of income plus processing, currency conversion and payout fees, a membership earning $4,900 a month hands over roughly $490 before card fees, every month, while every other platform here charges a fixed amount that stops growing. Patreon is also built for creators publishing content: no scheduling, no assigned work, no progress tracking, no website, no email sequences, no custom domain.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: Patreon publishes a single model. It is free to start, and the platform fee is 10 percent of income earned on Patreon, plus payment processing, currency conversion and payout fees and taxes. The processing percentages are not stated on the pricing page, so treat anything beyond the 10 percent as unverified until you check Patreon's fee article for your country.

What stands out

  • Zero fixed cost, so a small tier with 15 members is not underwater on a subscription.
  • Members already understand the checkout and the tier model, which removes a lot of explaining.
  • Posts, comments, chat and tiered access work out of the box with no configuration.

The honest catch

  • 10 percent of everything, with no ceiling. Past roughly $1,000 a month, almost every other platform here is cheaper in total.
  • No scheduling, client records, programs, habits, check-ins, contracts or invoicing.
  • It is a publishing platform, so a coaching membership run on it becomes a content feed, plan or no plan.

Best for: coaches with an existing audience testing a low-ticket tier, and content-led memberships where the deliverable is a post rather than a program.

What does a membership actually cost at 100 members paying $49?

Run one number through every platform and the ranking rearranges itself. The scenario: 100 members at $49 a month, $4,900 in monthly revenue, 100 charges, billed in USD. Card processing at 2.9% + 30c comes to $172.10. These are worked examples using each vendor's published rates as of 15 September 2026, not quotes.

Worked example: total monthly platform cost at 100 members paying $49, using published rates checked 15 September 2026. Card processing of $172.10 is included except where the vendor's own percentage is the processing.
Tool and planSubscriptionPlatform feeProcessingTotal per month
Systeme.io Startup$17.00$0$172.10$189.10
Thinkific Start$99.00$0$142.10 plus card fee$241.10 plus card fee
Coachful Pro (annual)$79.00$0$172.10$251.10
Skool Pro$99.00Included in processing$172.10$271.10
Podia Shaker$99.00$0$172.10$271.10
Mighty Networks Launch (annual)$79.00$98.00 at 2%$172.10$349.10
Kajabi Basic$179.00$0 with Kajabi Payments$172.10$351.10
Circle Professional (annual)$89.00$98.00 at 2%$172.10$359.10
Podia Mover$49.00$245.00 at 5%$172.10$466.10
Patreon$0$490.00 at 10%Not published on the pricing page$490.00 plus processing
Skool Hobby$9.00$490.00 at 10%$172.10$671.10

Three things fall out of that table. The $9 plan is the most expensive option here at this size, and Skool Pro saves about $400 a month over Hobby once you pass roughly $1,000 in monthly revenue. Patreon's zero subscription is the second most expensive at any serious volume. And the flat-fee platforms, Coachful, Systeme.io, Thinkific and Podia above Mover, are the only ones whose bill does not grow when your membership does.

Scale it up and the gap widens. At 300 members paying $49, a 2 percent fee costs $294 a month, $3,528 a year, on top of a subscription, and a 10 percent fee costs $1,470 a month. That is a contractor's salary in fees, on a membership a flat-fee platform runs for $99.

Coachful analytics tab showing revenue collected of $13,155.30, 9 paying clients, 7 active subscriptions, 150 sessions delivered and 93 percent attendance
The Analytics tab with revenue collected of $13,155.30, 9 paying clients, 7 active subscriptions, 150 sessions delivered and 93 percent attendance, plus revenue by source and session charts. Active subscriptions and attendance are the two numbers a membership runs on.

Can you launch a coaching membership in one afternoon?

Yes, if you build only what month one needs. Most memberships die in the planning phase because the coach designs twelve months of content before finding out whether anyone will pay for the first. Four hours, assuming you know what you coach and who for.

  • Hour one, the offer. One price, one promise, one rhythm. Say, $49 a month, a group call every Tuesday at 6pm, one worksheet a week, and a community you answer in. If it takes more than three sentences, it is too complicated to sell.
  • Hour two, the plumbing. Connect Stripe, create the recurring product, build a checkout, point the domain. Test it with your own card and refund yourself. People leave this until last and it is the step that breaks.
  • Hour three, the shell. Create the community space, write the pinned welcome post, add the first month's calendar events, upload one piece of content. One, not twelve.
  • Hour four, the sell. One page with the promise, price, rhythm and checkout, one email to your list, one post where your people already are, and a founding rate for the first twenty.

In Coachful that afternoon maps onto specific screens. The offer becomes a subscription product billed through Stripe Connect. The community is a squad, created when people enroll. The rhythm becomes a program with weekly goals and daily tasks, plus check-ins if accountability is part of what they buy. The page is built in the website builder or the link-in-bio hub, both of which carry checkout.

Coachful programs library showing four program cards including two group programs with 32 and 18 active clients
Four program cards, including group programs with 32 and 18 active clients and one-to-one programs with 6 and 12. A membership's weekly rhythm is built as a program with weekly goals and daily tasks.
A person sketching a plan in a notebook beside an open laptop on a wooden desk

What do coaches get wrong when they start a membership?

Four mistakes, in roughly the order they arrive, and three are about the offer rather than the software.

Pricing it at $19 because it feels friendly. A $19 membership needs 260 members to reach $4,940 a month. A $97 membership needs 51, and 260 people is more than five times the support load of 51.

Building a library before building a habit. Members do not renew because the library is big. They renew because something in their week depends on the membership. One live moment and one piece of assigned work beats forty hours of video.

Not measuring churn until it is a problem. Watch two numbers monthly: active subscriptions, and cancellations. If ten join and seven leave, no amount of new traffic fixes it. A weekly call you resent by March causes exactly that, so promise two a month and keep them.

Choosing a platform on the sticker price. The $9 plan and the no-subscription option here are the two most expensive ways to run a membership at $4,900 a month. Read the fee line as carefully as the price line.

Coachful client habits view on mobile showing three habit cards with circular progress at 12 of 30, 8 of 30 and 5 of 30, with daily reminders and View Progress buttons
The member's habits view with three active habits at 12/30, 8/30 and 5/30, each with a daily reminder and a progress view. Habits and check-ins give a membership a reason to open on a Wednesday, not only on call day.

Where does MemberSpace fit if you already have a website?

MemberSpace is not ranked above because it is not a membership platform in the sense the rest of this page uses the word. It is a paywall layer you add to a site you already built, usually Squarespace, Webflow or WordPress. No community feed, no course player, no scheduling, no member app. It gates pages you have already made and charges recurring access to them.

Price, checked 15 September 2026: the pricing page shows Starter at $24/mo billed annually against a $39/mo regular price, with a 5 percent transaction fee. Growth shows $99/mo billed annually with a 2 percent fee. A Custom plan carries a 1 percent fee with no published price. Standalone monthly-billed pricing for Growth did not display on the page as fetched, so we could not verify that figure on 15 September 2026.

How it connects to a coaching practice run on Coachful: in most cases you pick one or the other. If your paid content genuinely lives on a site you already have and you only need a gate, MemberSpace is cheaper than migrating. If your members need a community, a program, check-ins, booked sessions and an app, a paywall in front of blog posts will not get you there, and you end up paying for the gate plus the platform anyway. The honest middle path is a coach who keeps a public content site for SEO and runs the coaching relationship somewhere built for it.

Illustration of a simple gate shape standing in front of a stack of flat rectangular pages, representing a paywall placed in front of an existing website

Which membership platform should you pick?

If your membership includes coaching, meaning people pay monthly for your attention and not only for content, pick Coachful. It is the only platform here where a member is a client record with a subscription, a program, habits, check-ins and booked sessions attached, and the only one charging 0 percent on top of a flat $29 to $99 a month.

The exceptions are real. For a pure community with a monthly group call and no individual coaching, Circle and Mighty Networks have the better member experience, and Mighty Pro is the only realistic route to your own App Store listing. To test an idea on nothing, Systeme.io's free plan with 0 percent fees is the cheapest honest test, and Skool at $9 is fastest to stand up if you accept the 10 percent fee. For a curriculum with assessments, Thinkific builds it better. For funnels, email and a membership from one very large vendor at $249 a month, Kajabi is the most complete system here. If you already have a website you like and need only a gate, MemberSpace is the smaller answer.

What almost nobody should do is start on a percentage fee and plan to move later. Moving a membership means asking every member to re-enter a card. Pick the fee structure you want at the size you are aiming for, and pick it now.

For the wider category, the best online coaching platforms covers tools built around one-to-one work, and the best all-in-one software for coaches covers the same market when funnels and email matter as much as delivery. The full feature list is at what Coachful includes.

Two people comparing options on a tablet across a cafe table in daylight

Frequently asked questions about membership platforms for coaches

What is the best membership platform for coaches in 2026?

For a membership that includes coaching, Coachful, because a member is a client record with a subscription, a program, habits, check-ins and booked sessions on it, at a flat $29 to $99 a month with a 0 percent platform fee. For a pure community membership with no individual coaching, Circle at $89 to $199 a month plus a 1 to 2 percent fee has the better member experience.

How much does a membership platform cost for coaches?

Realistically $49 to $249 a month in subscription, plus 0 to 10 percent of revenue in platform fees, plus card processing at around 2.9% + 30c. At 100 members paying $49, total monthly platform cost runs from $189.10 on Systeme.io Startup to $671.10 on Skool Hobby, using rates checked on 15 September 2026. The fee percentage matters more than the subscription at any real size.

Is there a free membership platform for coaches?

Systeme.io has a genuinely free forever plan with 2,000 contacts, one community, one course, one blog, one custom domain and 0 percent transaction fees. Patreon has no subscription cost but takes 10 percent of income. Coachful has no free plan, only a 7-day free trial with a card required and no charge during the trial. Free plans usually cost you in fees or in what you can take with you later.

Can I run a membership and one-to-one coaching on the same platform?

On three of the nine. Coachful, Kajabi and Systeme.io have native availability-based booking. Circle, Mighty Networks, Skool, Podia, Thinkific and Patreon have none, so you connect Calendly or SavvyCal and run booking outside the platform. Coachful is the only one of the three that also attaches session notes, goals, habits and check-ins to the same member record.

Which membership platform has the lowest transaction fees?

Coachful, Systeme.io and Thinkific charge a 0 percent platform fee on their paid plans, so you pay only card processing. Podia is 0 percent from Shaker at $99 up, 5 percent on Mover. Kajabi is 0 percent with Kajabi Payments, 0.5 to 2 percent with your own Stripe. Circle and Mighty Networks are 2 or 1 percent, Skool is 10 percent on Hobby, Patreon 10 percent flat.

Do membership platforms for coaches include a mobile app?

Coachful, Skool, Circle, Mighty Networks, Kajabi and Thinkific all have a members app. Podia and Systeme.io have none, so members use mobile web. Only Mighty Pro, Circle Plus and Thinkific's $199/mo add-on get you a separate App Store listing under your own name, all at custom or premium pricing.

Can I move my membership from one platform to another later?

You can move the content and the email list. You cannot move the subscriptions, because every member has to re-enter a card. Check the export first: Skool and Circle give name, email and join date with no posts, Systeme.io's export link expires after three days, and Coachful exports a ZIP with roster, notes, check-ins, goals, habits, sessions and form responses.

Does Coachful work for a membership with hundreds of members?

Yes, on the Pro plan at $99 a month, or $79 billed annually, which has no client cap and no platform fee. Lite at $29 is capped at 5 clients and Solo at $49 at 20, so a membership crosses into Pro early. At 300 members paying $49, Pro costs $99 a month against $294 in platform fees alone on a 2 percent platform, before that platform's own subscription.

Join Coachful now

If people pay you monthly for your attention and not only your content, the membership, the community and the coaching should not live in three subscriptions and three logins. Coachful puts the recurring payment, the community, the program, the check-ins and the booked sessions on one client record, with your branding on their phone and a 0 percent platform fee.

Start the 7-day trial, build the offer, the community and the first week of the program in an afternoon, then run your own card through the checkout to see it end to end. Cancel in one click if it is not the fit.

Join Coachful now

Share
Loading article engagement

More in Coaching business

Coaching business

12 Life Coaching Package Examples With Pricing Structures That Sell

You already know how to coach. The part that stalls is the page where you tell a stranger what they are buying, how long it lasts and what it costs. Most life c...

Sep 15, 202627 min
12 Life Coaching Package Examples With Pricing Structures That Sell
Coaching business

Coaching Proposal Examples: 8 Templates for 1:1, Group and Corporate Engagements

A coaching proposal template is the document you send after a good discovery call and before any money moves. It exists to turn a warm conversation into a decis...

Sep 15, 202626 min
Coaching Proposal Examples: 8 Templates for 1:1, Group and Corporate Engagements
Coaching business

VIP Day Coaching: 10 Formats, What to Charge and How to Run One

This is for coaches who already deliver well one hour at a time and keep meeting the same client: the one who does not need twelve weeks of gentle unpacking, wh...

Sep 15, 202626 min
VIP Day Coaching: 10 Formats, What to Charge and How to Run One

Start Your Coaching
Journey Today

You didn't become a coach to manage 6 apps. Try Coachful free — takes 5 minutes — and watch your coaching business take off.

Built for coaches who take their clients seriously

Coachful
Coachful
BlogPrivacyTermsRefundsContact

© 2026 Coachful. All rights reserved.