Best Tools for Relationship Coaches in 2026: 10 Compared for Couples Sessions

Relationship coaching breaks most coaching software in the same place. Every tool here assumes one client, one record, one login, one invoice. You work with two people who share a problem, sometimes share an email address and almost never share a calendar, and by week two you are running a Google Doc on the side because the software cannot hold both of them.
This page is for coaches who work with couples, premarital clients, or one partner inside a relationship that is the actual client. The best tools for relationship coaches do real work in a couples practice: they hold both people, survive a couple being two calendars and one paying card, and get structure into the week where the coaching happens. The client-count question matters twice as much for you as for a career coach.
Every price, rating and capability below was checked on 15 September 2026 against the vendor's own pricing page. Prices move, so confirm before buying.
What makes a tool good for a relationship coach?
A good tool for relationship coaching does one of six jobs well and does not pretend to do the other five. Those jobs: assess the relationship before session one, get both partners into the same room, hold a record that carries two people, put structured work into the week between sessions, collect the money, and give you something to read before the next call.
That is why this list mixes categories that usually do not appear together. An assessment and a scheduling link are not competitors. They sit at different points in the same practice, and a coach who buys one does the other by hand forever.
- Assessment. Something structured both partners complete separately, so session one is not forty minutes of history-taking.
- The session. Video that does not end on a timer mid-argument, or booking that puts two busy people in one hour.
- A record for two people. Notes, goals and history that stay connected when the client is a pair.
- Between-session work. Exercises, habits and check-ins each partner does on their own phone, with results you can see.
- Money. Packages, plans and invoices, usually paid by one partner for both.
- Boundaries. An agreement covering what you do, what you do not, and what happens when the work needs a licensed therapist.

How do the 10 tools compare at a glance?
Every figure came from the vendor's own page on 15 September 2026. Two of these are not subscriptions at all, which is the point: a couples stack is usually one platform, one assessment and one video seat, and the assessment is the line coaches forget to budget.
Ranked by how much of a couples practice the tool can run end to end, from assessment through session, homework and payment, with tools that run none of it described honestly instead of ranked.
| Tool | Entry price | Priced by | Job in a couples practice | Strongest public rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | $29 Lite (5 clients), $49 Solo (20), $99 Pro unlimited | Per coach, flat, capped below Pro | Forms, booking, payment, agreements, programs, habits and check-ins for both partners | Trustpilot 4.5 from 21 reviews |
| Quenza | $25 Spark (10 clients), $50 Growth (250) | Per client cap, one professional | Between-session exercises from a library | G2 4.9 from 20 reviews |
| Zoom | Free Basic, $15.99 Pro billed monthly | Per user seat | The call, when partners join from two places | Not in our registry |
| Gottman Relationship Checkup | First couple free, then $39 per couple | Per couple, no subscription | A validated read before session one | Not in our registry |
| Prepare/Enrich | $250 certification, then $35 per couple | One-off training plus per couple | Premarital assessment with a facilitator model | Not in our registry |
| Calendly | Free, $10 Standard, $16 Teams | Per seat | Booking, including one slot both partners join | Capterra 4.7 from 4,144 reviews |
| CoachAccountable | $20 (2 clients), $70 at 10 clients | Per active client | Action items, metrics and worksheets per person | Capterra 5.0 from 67 reviews |
| Simply.Coach | $9 (3 clients), $49 at 30 clients | Per coach with client caps | Programs and reporting when an employer pays | G2 4.8 from 146 reviews |
| Gottman Card Decks app | Free | Free download | Conversation prompts you can assign tonight | Not in our registry |
| Google Workspace | €6.80 Starter per user per month | Per user seat | Email, files and a calendar to sync from | Not in our registry |
Two things stand out: assessments are cheap per couple and expensive to skip, and three of these platforms cap clients by person rather than by relationship.
A couple is two clients. CoachAccountable's $70 tier covers 10 active clients, which is five couples, and Quenza's $25 Spark tier covers 10, which is the same five.
1. Coachful: the one place a couples practice can run end to end
Coachful is built for coaches who deliver programs rather than only sessions, and that shape suits relationship work, because the coaching does not happen in the hour. It happens on the Wednesday night when one partner remembers the repair exercise and the other does not. Booking, agreement, payment, program, habits and check-ins hang off the same client record.
The plain version, for anyone comparing: Coachful is coaching software for coaches with roughly 3 to 50 clients who want one branded place to sell, schedule, deliver and keep people engaged between sessions. It costs $29 a month for up to 5 clients, $49 for up to 20 and $99 for unlimited, on a 7-day trial that requires a card and charges nothing. There is no free plan, it is GDPR-ready but not HIPAA-certified, and there is no native couple record, so a couple is two client records in one program.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Lite $29/mo for 5 clients, $19 billed annually. Solo $49/mo for 20 clients, $39 annually. Pro $99/mo unlimited, $79 annually, adding Coachful Intelligence. Studio $199/mo for 3 coach seats, Agency $299/mo for 6. A 0% platform fee on every plan, so after Stripe or Razorpay processing you keep the rest. Trial is 7 days, card required, cancel in one click.
Ratings: Trustpilot 4.5 from 21 reviews, a smaller sample than the decade-old tools here. The full reviews wall is public.

What stands out
- Both partners get their own week. Weekly goals, daily tasks, habits with morning and evening check-ins, answered separately even when the exercise is shared.
- The couple has a room. Enrolling both in one program creates a cohort squad with group chat.
- The money side is finished. Stripe Connect or Razorpay, payment plans, refunds, invoices, and e-signature agreements sent before the first call.
- Calendars stop fighting. Two-way sync with Google, Apple and Outlook, buffers, time-zone detection, and built-in video or an auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams link.
- Michelle reads the practice. The assistant works from live client, program, session and payment data and briefs you before a call.
The honest catch
- Client caps count people, not couples. Solo's 20 clients is ten couples, so an eleventh couple puts you on Pro at $99, which is the realistic plan for a busy practice.
- No couple record, no HIPAA certification. Two clients in one program works and is not the same as a purpose-built pair record, and if a sponsor wants a business associate agreement, Simply.Coach is the honest answer.
Best for: coaches running multi-week couples programs who want assessment forms, booking, agreements, payment and homework in one subscription, with their own branding on the app clients open. See Coachful vs CoachAccountable, Coachful vs Simply.Coach and what Coachful includes.

2. Quenza: the exercise library that fills the week between sessions
Quenza builds and sends structured activities, then shows you what came back, better than any platform here. For couples work that means an appreciation exercise on Tuesday and a reflection on Sunday, each landing in its own client's app rather than a shared inbox where one partner reads the other's answer.
The library is why coaches start here instead of from scratch: 100 or more pre-made activities on the entry plan, 400 or more on Impact, all rewritable into your own language. It takes no money, books no session and hosts no call, so it is a second subscription, not a platform.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Spark $25/mo, $20 annually, one professional and 10 clients. Growth $50/mo, $40 annually, 250 clients, adding file sharing, groups and landing pages. Impact $125/mo, $100 annually, 400 clients and a custom domain. Collective $160/mo, $128 annually, 3 professionals and 500 clients. Beyond is custom. Trial is 30 days, no card.
Ratings: G2 4.9 from 20 reviews, Capterra 4.8 from 33, Trustpilot 4.3 from 8. High scores on small samples, so read the reviews rather than the averages.
What stands out
- Pathways drop activities on a schedule, which maps onto a six-week or twelve-week couples arc.
- The activity builder turns custom forms, assessments and interactive tools into your own material.
- Groups from the Growth plan up, keeping both partners under one engagement.
The honest catch
- No payments, invoicing, scheduling or video. Quenza assumes you have those elsewhere.
- Spark's 10 clients is five couples, so most working coaches are on Growth at $50 within a quarter.
- The client app is not white-labelled, so your couple downloads an app with someone else's name on it.
Best for: coaches whose booking and payments are already sorted, who want the deepest exercise library in the category and will pay for a second login.

3. Zoom: the reliable room when partners join from two locations
Zoom earns a place here for one unglamorous reason. Couples sessions run long and sometimes run hot, and a meeting that ends on a timer mid repair attempt is a real problem, not an inconvenience. Zoom Basic caps group meetings at 40 minutes. A couples session is 60 or 90.
Partners also join from different places, one at home and one in a car park outside the office, both needing a link that works on a phone without an install argument. That is why coaching platforms, Coachful included, create a Zoom link automatically rather than insisting on their own video.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Basic is free and hosts up to 40 minutes per meeting. Zoom Workplace Pro is $15.99 per user billed monthly and hosts up to 30 hours per meeting. Zoom shows a lower monthly equivalent when billed annually but does not state the annual total on its Pro page, and Business pricing could not be verified on 15 September 2026.
What stands out
- 30 hours per meeting on Pro, so the session ends when you end it.
- It is the link nobody argues with, already installed on both their phones.
- Auto-created links from your coaching platform, so the room appears on the booking without pasting.
The honest catch
- It is a seat, not a practice. No client record, no notes, no homework, no payment.
- $15.99 per user monthly adds up next to platforms that include video already.
- Recording a couples session raises consent questions the software will not raise for you. Set the policy, put it in the agreement, and ask both partners separately.
Best for: any coach running sessions longer than 40 minutes with people in two locations, unless built-in video already satisfies you.

4. Gottman Relationship Checkup: a structured read before session one
The Checkup is an assessment both partners complete separately online, and it is the cheapest way to start an engagement with information instead of a guess. The Gottman Institute's page describes a validated questionnaire of 337 questions covering friendship, intimacy, emotions, conflict, values and trust, scored once the second partner finishes.
The economics are unusual. No subscription, free platform access, first couple free, then $39 a couple, which you either absorb into your package price or have the couple pay through the portal. Four couples a month is $156, and it replaces the history-taking session you were billing for anyway.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: membership free, first couple free, $39 per couple after that. The Gottman Institute states it is available to clinical professionals, and that training in the Gottman Method is recommended rather than required.
What stands out
- Both partners answer privately, which surfaces the gap between two accounts of the same marriage before you are sitting in it.
- Automated scoring and recommendations the moment the second partner finishes.
- No subscription, so a quiet month costs nothing.
The honest catch
- 337 questions is a real ask. Some couples stall halfway and you need a reminder sequence in your platform to finish the job.
- It is an assessment, not a practice tool. Nothing here books, bills or tracks what happens next.
- The framework is opinionated, so if you coach from another model you will be translating the report.
Best for: relationship coaches who want structure in the first two sessions and prefer paying per couple over paying monthly.

5. Prepare/Enrich: the premarital assessment with a facilitator model
Prepare/Enrich is the assessment most premarital coaches, officiants and faith-based practitioners already hold, and it is built around a facilitator rather than a report. You certify, then run couples through the assessment and deliver the feedback yourself across several sessions.
That structure is the value. A newly certified coach finishes with a defensible sequence for four or five premarital sessions, the hardest thing to invent alone. The trade-off is money upfront and someone else's framework.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: online facilitator certification is $250 and includes dashboard access, one assessment credit valued at $35, the facilitator manual, the couples workbook and a referral listing. Assessments are $35 per couple after that. Prepare/Enrich states the online training takes about three hours at your own pace, and also offers in-person workshops.
What stands out
- The certification is the curriculum. You finish with a session structure, not just a login.
- $35 per couple, with one credit included, so your first couple costs nothing beyond the training.
- A referral listing on their site, a real lead source for premarital work.
The honest catch
- $250 before your first client, a genuine barrier if you are still testing whether you want this work.
- Strongest in premarital work. For a ten-year marriage in trouble the fit is less obvious than the Checkup's.
- You are inside someone else's model, with their language in the report and their workbook in your client's hands.
Best for: premarital and faith-based coaches who want a proven session structure and a referral listing, and who see enough couples to amortize the $250.
Assessments are the cheap part. The Gottman Checkup is free for your first couple then $39 each, and Prepare/Enrich is $250 to certify then $35 per couple, so structure costs less per couple than one video seat costs per month.
6. Calendly: booking when three calendars have to agree
Calendly gets two busy people and you into the same hour without a thread. It carries the largest public review base here, 4.7 on Capterra from 4,144 reviews and 4.7 on G2 from 2,556, and its free plan is usable if you sell exactly one thing.
For couples work the useful detail is the group event type: several invitees book the same slot, so one partner books and the other joins it instead of creating a second appointment you then merge. Workflows on paid plans send email and SMS reminders, which matters because the partner who did not book is the one who forgets.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Free forever with 1 event type and 1 calendar. Standard $10 per seat monthly, $8.30 annually, with unlimited event types, multiple calendars, workflows and Stripe or PayPal payments. Teams $16 per seat monthly, $12.80 annually, adding round-robin and routing. Enterprise starts at $15,000 a year with a 50-seat minimum. New signups get a 14-day Teams trial with no card, then drop to Free.
Ratings: G2 4.7 from 2,556 reviews, Capterra 4.7 from 4,144, Trustpilot 4.1 from 660.
What stands out
- Calendar handling is the category benchmark across Google, Outlook, Exchange and iCloud, with conflict checks on multiple calendars.
- Group event types, so both partners attend one booking.
- Low lock-in. Bookings live in your calendar and payments in your Stripe, so leaving costs nothing.
The honest catch
- One event type on Free, which breaks as soon as you separate the consultation from the session.
- No client record, notes, contracts or homework. Calendly hands off and forgets.
- Per-seat pricing, so a second coach is a second subscription.
Best for: coaches whose delivery is already sorted and who want the best booking layer available, or beginners who need a link today for nothing.

7. CoachAccountable: deep accountability when homework has to be tracked
CoachAccountable has shipped since 2012 and is the most serious accountability engine here. Action items, metrics, worksheets, drip courses and follow-through reporting are native, and follow-through is the number a relationship coach never has: what percentage of what you agreed got done, per person.
The catch here is structural. Pricing is per active client and your clients arrive in pairs, so the $70 tier holds five couples. Ten couples is $120 and twenty is $250, for a practice a flat-price tool bills under $100.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Starter $20/mo for 2 clients, Level 1 $40 for 5, Level 2 $70 for 10, Level 3 $120 for 20, Level 3.5 $200 for 35, Level 4 $250 for 50. Coach and admin accounts are unlimited on every tier and every tier is fully featured. Trial is 30 days, no card. No platform transaction fee is stated; Stripe, Square and PayPal processor fees apply.
Ratings: Capterra 5.0 from 67 reviews, Trustpilot 4.8 from 46, G2 4.7 from 11.
What stands out
- Follow-through reporting turns "we did not really do the exercise" into a number you can coach.
- Agreements capture signature, initials, timestamp and IP, the most detailed e-signature record here.
- Unpaid-invoice lockout, so a client who has not paid loses portal access automatically.
The honest catch
- Per-client pricing punishes couples work, and it is the most-cited complaint in its own Capterra reviews.
- No native mobile app. The documented answer is an add-to-home-screen shortcut, a hard sell to the partner who was reluctant to attend session one.
- No website, landing pages or marketing automation, and it states it is not HIPAA compliant.
Best for: established coaches with a small, high-ticket caseload who want the deepest accountability tooling and accept per-client pricing. See CoachAccountable alternatives if the client math fails.

8. Simply.Coach: the compliance answer when an employer is paying
Simply.Coach is the tool to look at when the invoice is paid by an HR department rather than the couple, which happens more in relationship coaching than people expect, through employee assistance programs and executive packages covering partner support. It claims SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR compliance, rare at this price and the reason it wins procurement conversations.
The rest is a competent coaching platform: programs, goals, contracts, invoicing, embedded video, native apps. Stakeholder reporting is the standout, because you can report progress to a sponsor without exposing session content, and that gap is what kills sponsored engagements elsewhere.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Starter $9/mo for 3 clients, 1 contract and 1 program. Essentials $29/mo for 7 clients. Growth $49/mo for 30 clients with multiple calendars and recurring sessions. Leap $69/mo for unlimited clients, white-label and your own domain. Business tiers price per active coach: CoCreate $79 per coach for 10 clients each, Surge $159 per coach for 25 each. Trial is 14 days, no card, capped at 3 clients and 10 sessions. Transaction fees are not stated on the pricing page, so we could not verify them.
Ratings: G2 4.8 from 146 reviews, the strongest G2 score with a serious sample here, and Capterra 4.6 from 41.
What stands out
- SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR claims, which no other coaching platform on this page matches.
- Stakeholder reporting and 360-style assessments, built for sponsored work.
- A $9 entry tier, the cheapest real coaching platform here.
The honest catch
- Contracts are rationed on every solo tier below Leap, awkward when every couple signs one.
- Client caps at 3, 7 and 30 mean the same doubling problem, since 30 clients is fifteen couples.
Best for: relationship and executive coaches whose work is sponsored by employers, and anyone who needs compliance paperwork in writing. Compare at Coachful vs Simply.Coach.
9. Gottman Card Decks app: free prompts you can assign tonight
The Gottman Card Decks app is free and it is the fastest homework you will ever assign. The Gottman Institute's page describes 14 decks with more than 1,000 flashcards of questions, statements and ideas, on iOS and Android, with a favorites tab.
Used well it is not a toy. "Both of you open the app, take turns pulling three cards from the Love Maps deck, twenty minutes, phones face down otherwise" is a real assignment, and it costs nothing. Used badly it is a link you send instead of designing the week, and the couple will notice.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: free on iOS and Android. The same apps page lists paid products including the Gottman Relationship Adviser and the Gottman Assessment, without displaying prices, so we could not verify those on 15 September 2026.
What stands out
- Free on both app stores, with no account friction for a reluctant partner.
- 14 decks and more than 1,000 cards, enough range to match a specific stuck point.
- Favorites, so a couple keeps its own short deck across a program.
The honest catch
- You get no visibility. Nothing reports back, so pair it with a check-in in your platform or you are guessing.
- It is a consumer app. No branding, no assignment tracking, no due dates.
- The prompts are someone else's voice, and couples can tell when the homework did not come from you.
Best for: every relationship coach as a supplement, and new coaches who need credible material before they have built their own.
Google Workspace: the tool you already pay for, and how it connects
Google Workspace is not a coaching tool and it is not ranked here. It is email, files, docs and a calendar, and it appears because almost every relationship coach already runs practice email through it and then wonders how it fits with everything above.
The connection is the calendar. Coachful syncs two ways with Google Calendar, so your availability reflects the dentist appointment you added on your phone. Keep the rest of the boundary clean: session notes belong in the client record, not a Doc, because a Doc has no client-level permissions and no export path.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: the pricing page served us euro pricing: Business Starter €6.80 per user per month with 30 GB pooled storage per person, Business Standard €13.60 with 2 TB, Business Plus €21.10 with 5 TB, billed monthly, plus Enterprise on request. USD pricing was not displayed to us, so we could not verify it.
Best for: the email and calendar your coaching platform syncs with, not for client notes or intake forms.
How do coaching tools handle a couple as one client?
None of them do, and no vendor puts that on a pricing page. There is no native couple record in any tool here, so every relationship coach picks one of three workarounds, and the choice sets what your software costs and what you can see.
One record, one shared login. Cheapest, and it destroys what makes couples work useful. You cannot tell which partner answered a check-in, and neither writes anything honest into a box the other one opens.
Two records, one program. Both partners are clients in one program, and the group container holds shared material: a cohort squad with group chat in Coachful, a group with shared actions in CoachAccountable, a group on Growth or above in Quenza. Each partner keeps their own habits, check-ins and goals. This is the right answer for almost everyone, and it is why the client count doubles.
Two records, two programs, one shared session. For partners at different stages, such as one in individual work who joins for joint sessions. Same two slots, most control, two schedules to run.
Whichever you pick, put it in the agreement: who the client is, what stays confidential with each partner, what enters joint sessions, and what happens if the work needs a licensed therapist. Have a lawyer in your jurisdiction review the wording. Nothing here is legal advice.


What does a relationship coaching stack actually cost per month?
A practice with ten active couples runs between $49 and $136 a month in software, and the spread is the pricing model rather than the feature set. Ten couples is twenty clients in any tool that counts people.
| Stack | Platform | Video | Booking | Monthly total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful Solo | $49 (20 clients) | Included, or your own Zoom | Included | $49 |
| Quenza plus Calendly plus Zoom | $50 Growth | $15.99 Zoom Pro | $10 Calendly Standard | $75.99 |
| Simply.Coach Growth | $49 (30 clients) | Embedded, or your own Zoom | Included | $49 |
| CoachAccountable Level 3 | $120 (20 clients) | $15.99 Zoom Pro | Included | $135.99 |
Add assessments on top. Four new couples a month is $156 on the Gottman Checkup, or $140 on Prepare/Enrich after the one-off $250. That is the largest recurring line in a small couples practice, and the one coaches leave out because it does not arrive as a subscription.
At twenty couples, which is forty clients, Coachful moves to Pro at $99 unlimited, Simply.Coach to Leap at $69 unlimited, Quenza stays on Growth at $50 because its cap is 250, and CoachAccountable moves to Level 4 at $250. That is about $180 a month between the cheapest and dearest way to run an identical practice, spent on billing model rather than capability.
The same practice, four prices. Ten couples costs $49 a month on a flat plan and $135.99 on a per-client plan with video added, and at twenty couples that gap widens to about $180 a month.


How do you set a couples practice up in one afternoon?
Four hours is enough to go from nothing to a bookable, signable, payable couples practice, if you work in the order the client experiences it rather than the order the settings menu suggests. Build the end of the chain first and you redo the beginning twice.
Hour one: the offer and the agreement. Decide the shape before you touch software: six sessions or twelve, joint only or joint plus individual, price per couple, what is included between sessions. Then write the agreement covering who the client is, confidentiality with each partner, recording and referral policies and cancellation terms. Load it as an e-signature agreement so it goes out before the first call, and have a local lawyer review it first.
Hour two: booking and the room. Connect your calendar both ways, set session length to what a couples session actually runs, add buffers, set a minimum notice, and create two event types: a consultation and the session. Decide whether joint sessions use built-in video or an auto-created Zoom link, and test the link on a phone before a laptop.
Hour three: the first two weeks only. One weekly goal each, two or three daily tasks, one shared ritual as a habit with a reminder, and a check-in each partner answers separately. Do not build week eight; you will rewrite it after your third couple.
Hour four: money and assessment. Connect Stripe, create the package, decide whether the assessment cost is absorbed or passed through, then run yourself through the chain as a fake couple: book, sign, pay, assess, check in. Gaps show up in the handoffs, never in the feature list.

What do relationship coaches get wrong when choosing tools?
The most expensive mistake is buying on the feature list instead of the client-count model, and the second is running two people through one login. Both are decided in the first ten minutes of a trial and both hurt to reverse later.
- Forgetting that a couple is two clients. Every per-client price doubles for you, so work out your real number before comparing entry prices.
- One shared login for both partners. It saves a client slot and costs you every honest answer.
- Buying homework tools before the container. An exercise library with no booking, payment or record attached leaves the admin to you, and the admin is what burns couples coaches out.
- Assigning material you have not done yourself. Run every prompt and assessment on your own relationship first; you will cut half.
- Leaving confidentiality to the software. No platform decides what you tell partner A about partner B. Write it down, say it in session one, have a lawyer check it.
- Never testing the export. Three coaching tools shut down between April and December 2025. Click export on day one and repeat quarterly.

Which tools should a relationship coach actually buy?
Most relationship coaches need three things: one platform, one assessment, one video seat. For a solo practice under ten couples that is Coachful Solo at $49 a month, the Gottman Relationship Checkup at $39 per couple, and built-in video or a Zoom Pro seat at $15.99.
The exceptions are real. If sponsors or employee assistance programs ask for compliance paperwork, buy Simply.Coach, because we are GDPR-ready with full export and not HIPAA-certified, and procurement wants a claim in writing. If follow-through reporting is the product, CoachAccountable is deeper than anything here and survivable at five or six couples. For premarital work, Prepare/Enrich's $250 certification buys a session structure. If booking and payments are already fine, Quenza plus your stack is legitimate at about $76 a month.
Where Coachful earns the pick is narrow: you run multi-week couples programs, the result depends on what both partners do between sessions, you want your branding on the app they open, and you would rather have one flat bill than four subscriptions that each hold a quarter of the client. If your work is one conversation an hour with no between-session structure, a booking link and an assessment serve you better for less.
Three things, not seven. A solo couples practice under ten couples runs on one platform at $49 a month, one assessment at $39 a couple, and one video seat at $15.99.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best software for relationship coaches?
A platform that holds both partners, an assessment and a video seat covers a solo couples practice. Coachful at $49 a month handles booking, agreements, payments, programs, habits and check-ins for up to 20 clients, which is ten couples, and the Gottman Relationship Checkup adds structure at $39 per couple. If an employer pays your invoices and asks for compliance documentation, Simply.Coach is the better platform.
How do coaching platforms handle couples as clients?
None of the tools here has a native couple record, so you run both partners as two client records in one program. The group container holds shared material: a cohort squad with group chat in Coachful, a group with shared actions in CoachAccountable, a group on Growth or above in Quenza. Each partner keeps their own check-ins and habits, because separate answers are the data.
Does a couple count as one client or two in coaching software?
Two, in every tool here that counts clients. CoachAccountable's $70 tier holds five couples, Quenza's $25 Spark tier holds five, Simply.Coach's $49 Growth tier holds fifteen, and Coachful's $49 Solo tier holds ten. Above ten couples, look at the unlimited tiers: Coachful Pro at $99 and Simply.Coach Leap at $69.
What assessment should a relationship coach use?
The two established options for practitioners are the Gottman Relationship Checkup and Prepare/Enrich. The Checkup is 337 questions both partners complete separately, free for your first couple and $39 each after, with no subscription. Prepare/Enrich is $250 for online certification including one credit, then $35 per couple, and is strongest for premarital work because the training comes with a session structure.
Can I start a relationship coaching practice with free tools?
Partly, and the gaps show fast. Calendly's free plan gives one event type, Zoom Basic gives 40-minute meetings, the Gottman Card Decks app is free and your first Checkup couple is free. What you will not get free is contracts, payments, a client record or between-session tracking, and Coachful has no free plan. Its 7-day trial requires a card, charges nothing during the trial and cancels in one click.
Is Coachful HIPAA compliant for relationship coaching?
No. Coachful is GDPR-ready with a full data export ZIP covering roster, notes, check-ins, goals, habits, sessions and form responses, and it is not HIPAA-certified. If a sponsor requires a signed business associate agreement, Simply.Coach claims SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR compliance and is the honest recommendation. Ask any vendor for the document rather than accepting a badge on a marketing page.
How do I keep each partner's answers private?
Give each partner their own client record and login, never a shared one. Check-ins, habit responses and form answers then land against the individual, and you decide what enters the joint session. Write the rule into your agreement before session one: what stays confidential with each partner, what enters joint sessions, and when you refer out. Have a lawyer in your jurisdiction review that wording.
Which tool is best if I coach individuals on their relationships?
Your client-count problem disappears, so flat-price and per-client tools get much closer. Coachful Lite at $29 covers 5 clients and Solo at $49 covers 20, CoachAccountable's $70 tier covers 10 individuals rather than five couples, and Quenza's $25 Spark tier becomes viable. Between-session structure still matters most, so judge on programs, habits and check-ins rather than price.
Join Coachful now
If your results depend on what two people do between Tuesday and the following Tuesday, the booking, agreement, payment and homework should not sit in four subscriptions that each hold a quarter of the relationship. Coachful puts them on one client record per partner, in one program, at a flat price with a 0% platform fee.
Start the 7-day trial, enrol yourself and a friend as a test couple, and run the chain: book, sign, pay, assign a ritual, read two separate check-ins. More options sit in the best online coaching platforms and the coaching CRM roundup.




