ICF Mentor Coaching: What It Is, Who Qualifies, and How to Choose a Mentor (2026)

ICF mentor coaching is the requirement coaches leave until last, and the one about to matter more than any other. Every ICF credential needs ten hours of it before you apply, and from April 2027 it replaces the recorded performance evaluation entirely for ACC and PCC applicants on the Portfolio path. If you are choosing a mentor this year, you are choosing your assessor too.
This is what mentor coaching is, exactly what the ICF requires, who is allowed to give it, how the 2027 change works, and how to choose a mentor you will not regret. The rules are from the ICF's mentor coaching page, the 2026 ACC Candidate Guide and the ICF's 13 April 2026 announcement, checked on 11 September 2026. For where it sits in the whole credential, see how to become a certified life coach.
What mentor coaching is, and is not
Mentor coaching is coaching on your coaching. A more experienced credentialed coach observes how you coach, against the ICF Core Competencies, and gives you feedback aimed at the credential you are applying for. It is not business mentoring, it is not supervision, and it is not a course. The subject is your sessions.
Two things follow from that. Mentor coaching hours are not client coaching hours; the ICF's experience requirements exclude them explicitly, so they never go in your coaching log. And the mentor is not there to like you. The useful ones tell you where you became directive, what you missed, and which competency the assessor will mark you down on.
Mentor coaching, supervision, training and business mentoring side by side
Coaches mix these up constantly, and the mix-up costs real hours. A supervision group is not mentor coaching even if everyone in it holds a PCC. A business mentor who reviews your pricing is not a mentor coach. The table sorts them by the only two questions that matter for an application: does it satisfy the mentor coaching requirement, and does it count as client coaching experience.
| Activity | What it looks at | Who provides it | Satisfies the mentor coaching requirement | Counts as client coaching hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mentor coaching | Your coaching sessions, against the ICF Core Competencies | An eligible credentialed coach; MCS holder from 2027 on the affected paths | Yes | No |
| Coaching supervision | Your practice as a whole: cases, ethics, your own wellbeing | A coaching supervisor | No | No |
| Business mentoring | Pricing, marketing, getting clients | Anyone | No | No |
| Coach training or a course | The competencies as taught content | A training provider | No | No |
| Coaching a client | The client's goals | You | No | Yes |
| Reviewing an assessment with a client | The assessment results | You | No | No, excluded by the ICF |
The last row surprises people. Debriefing a 360 or a personality profile with a client feels like coaching and is often billed as coaching, but the ICF's experience requirements list it alongside mentor coaching and supervision as time that does not count. Keep it out of the log, and keep mentor hours out of it too.

The requirement, exactly
The same for ACC, PCC and MCC, as published:
- 10 hours of mentor coaching
- Over a period of at least three months
- Including at least 3 hours of individual mentor coaching, one-on-one
- With an eligible mentor coach, whose credential status you should verify in the ICF's Verify a Coach directory before you start
- Completed before you submit your application
The remaining seven hours can be in a group setting. The three-month minimum is a floor, not a target; mentor coaching spread across six months with real sessions in between tends to produce more change than ten hours crammed into twelve weeks.
For ACC holders there is a second round. Renewing an ACC, which happens every three years, requires another 10 hours of mentor coaching, and those hours count toward the 24 Core Competency credits of the 40 CCE units you need. PCC and MCC renewals do not require it.

Ten hours, three of them alone. Ten hours over at least three months, with at least three of them one-on-one, is the whole published requirement, and it is the same for the ACC, PCC and MCC.
The renewal arithmetic for ACC holders
The renewal rule is easier to plan around once you write it as a sum. An ACC renewal needs 40 CCE units, of which at least 24 must be Core Competency credits. The ten mentor coaching hours count toward those 24. So after the mentor hours you still need 14 Core Competency credits from elsewhere, plus the remaining 16 units, which can be Resource Development or more Core Competency work.
Two consequences. First, the mentor hours are not optional extra credit for an ACC; they are a quarter of the renewal and the only part with a three-month floor attached, so they are the part to schedule first. Second, because the ACC renews every three years, an ACC holder who never moves to PCC will do this ten-hour cycle again and again. Many treat that as the nudge to go for the PCC, where renewal has no mentor requirement.
The ten hours as a calendar: a 12-week mentor plan
Twelve weeks is the shortest shape the rule allows, and it is the shape most coaches end up with because they start late. Here is a plan that meets every published condition: ten hours, at least three individual, three observed sessions, and gaps between individual sessions long enough to change something.
| Week | Format | Hours | Running total | What you bring |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Individual | 1 | 1 | Observed session one: a recording with consent, a transcript, and your own scores on competencies 3 to 8 |
| 2 | Group | 2 | 3 | A five-minute clip of the same session; notes on the others' clips |
| 3 | Coach, no mentor session | 0 | 3 | Change one behaviour the mentor named. Record the sessions where you try it. |
| 4 | Group | 2 | 5 | A clip showing the changed behaviour, good or bad |
| 5 | Coach, no mentor session | 0 | 5 | Pick observed session two from the recordings you made |
| 6 | Individual | 1 | 6 | Observed session two, with the moments where you drifted timestamped |
| 7 | Coach, no mentor session | 0 | 6 | Second behaviour change |
| 8 | Group | 2 | 8 | A clip of a session that went badly. These teach the group more than the good ones. |
| 9 | Coach, no mentor session | 0 | 8 | Nothing. Coach. |
| 10 | Group | 1 | 9 | One question about a competency you still cannot see in your own sessions |
| 11 | Coach, no mentor session | 0 | 9 | Record and choose observed session three |
| 12 | Individual | 1 | 10 | Observed session three, and a straight question: would this pass at the level I am applying for? |
Check the dates, not the week numbers. If week one starts on the first of a month, week twelve ends a few days short of three calendar months, and the requirement is a period of at least three months. Book the final individual session a week later or start a week earlier, and keep the dated receipts or confirmations from the first and last session, because that is what proves the span.
If you have six months instead of twelve weeks, do not add hours. Double the gaps. A four-week gap between individual sessions gives you eight or ten client sessions to practise on instead of two, and the third observed session will look different from the first in a way a mentor can actually comment on.

Blocking the mentor hours so they actually happen
Mentor sessions are the first thing to slip when a client wants to reschedule into the same slot. Treat them as fixed appointments. If you run your calendar in Coachful's scheduler, mentor sessions are not client sessions, so do not book them as sessions with a client record. Put them in your connected calendar as ordinary events. Two-way sync with Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook means the slot is blocked on your booking page, so a client cannot book over it, and the hours never land in your coaching-hours count.

The 2027 change: mentor coaching replaces the performance evaluation
On 13 April 2026 the ICF announced the largest change to credentialing assessment in years. Its own words: "Beginning in 2027, ACC and PCC Portfolio candidates will demonstrate coaching competence through enhanced mentor coaching rather than a performance evaluation."
The details, as published:
- From 1 January 2027, ACC and PCC applicants on the Portfolio path must complete any new mentor coaching hours with a mentor who holds the ICF's Mentor Coach Specialization, the MCS, which became available on 17 June 2026.
- From 1 April 2027, the performance evaluation is no longer required on those paths. Applications submitted on or after that date follow the new requirement.
- The enhanced requirement: mentor coaching over at least three months, with at least three hours individual, and "at least three of your coaching sessions must be observed and reviewed by your mentor coach."
- Unaffected: Level 1 and Level 2 applicants, whose programmes build assessment in, and the MCC, which keeps its performance evaluation. MCC candidates do, however, need MCS mentors for any new mentor hours from 1 January 2027.
The ICF's reasoning is that a single recorded session assessed by a stranger is a poor way to judge competence across languages and cultures, and that several observed sessions with feedback are both fairer and more useful. For applicants it means the mentor relationship carries the weight the recording used to.
The 2027 timeline as a table
Four dates matter, and two of them are already behind us. Pin this to the wall if you are applying on the Portfolio path.
| Date | What changes | Who it affects | What to do |
|---|---|---|---|
| 13 April 2026 | ICF announces enhanced mentor coaching will replace the performance evaluation | Everyone planning an ACC or PCC Portfolio application | Decide whether to apply under the current rules or the new ones |
| 17 June 2026 | Mentor Coach Specialization, the MCS, becomes available | Mentor coaches | Ask your mentor whether they hold it or are getting it |
| 1 January 2027 | New mentor coaching hours must be with an MCS holder | ACC and PCC Portfolio applicants; MCC applicants for new hours | Any hour booked after this date is with an MCS mentor or it does not count |
| 1 April 2027 | Performance evaluation no longer required; applications from this date follow the new requirement | ACC and PCC Portfolio applicants | Have at least three sessions observed and reviewed by your mentor before you submit |
Three sessions, not one. From 1 April 2027 the single recorded performance evaluation gives way to at least three of your sessions observed and reviewed by your mentor coach.
Which path you are on decides whether any of this touches you
Half the anxiety about the announcement comes from coaches it does not apply to. Find your row.
| Your situation | Mentor hours needed | MCS mentor required | Performance evaluation | Observed sessions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACC, Portfolio path, applying from 1 April 2027 | 10 | Yes, for hours from 1 January 2027 | No longer required | At least three |
| PCC, Portfolio path, applying from 1 April 2027 | 10 | Yes, for hours from 1 January 2027 | No longer required | At least three |
| ACC or PCC, Portfolio path, applying before 1 April 2027 | 10 | Yes, for any hours from 1 January 2027 | Still required on the published wording | Not stated as a requirement for these applications |
| ACC or PCC via a Level 1 or Level 2 programme | 10 | Not stated in the announcement | Built into the programme, unchanged | Unchanged |
| MCC | 10 | Yes, for new hours from 1 January 2027 | Keeps the performance evaluation | Unchanged |
| ACC renewal | 10 per three-year cycle | Not addressed in the announcement; confirm with the ICF | Not applicable | Not applicable |
Two rows carry an honest caveat. The announcement speaks about applicants, and we could not find wording that extends the MCS requirement to Level 1 and Level 2 programme mentoring or to ACC renewal hours. It would be a small surprise if renewal hours stayed exempt for long, so if you are renewing in 2027 or later, an MCS mentor is the safe choice either way.
What "observed and reviewed" means in practice
The ICF's phrase is short and the mechanics are not. Observed means the mentor sees the session itself, either live or as a recording, rather than hearing you describe it. Reviewed means they go through it against the competencies and give you specific feedback, not a general impression. For that to happen three times inside ten hours, the individual sessions have to be organised around evidence.
A typical shape: you send the recording and a transcript a few days ahead, with three timestamps where you think something happened. The mentor watches before the call. The hour itself is spent on those moments and on the ones the mentor found that you did not. In the 12-week plan above, that is weeks 1, 6 and 12. If your mentor prefers to observe live, they sit in on a client session with the client's consent and the review happens afterwards, which is why some mentors prefer more than the three individual hours the rule requires.
Client consent is not optional at any step. Ask before the session, in writing, and say who will see the recording and for how long. Most clients say yes when the purpose is your credential and the recording is deleted after review. A client who hesitates is not the client to record.
How to choose a mentor coach
- Verify the credential first. The candidate guide tells applicants to check a mentor's status in the ICF Verify a Coach directory. Do it before the first conversation, not after the tenth hour.
- If you are Portfolio path and applying in 2027 or later, require the MCS. Mentor hours with a non-MCS mentor after 1 January 2027 will not satisfy the new requirement.
- Ask how they observe. The 2027 rule needs at least three of your sessions observed and reviewed. A mentor who only works from your description of a session cannot do that.
- Ask for the competency they see most candidates fail. A good mentor answers instantly and specifically. A vague answer is a vague mentor.
- Match the credential. A mentor who has taken candidates through the PCC assessment knows the PCC markers. Ask how many of their mentees passed at your level in the last two years.
- Plan the calendar backwards. Ten hours over three months minimum, finished before you apply, with the individual hours spaced so you can act on feedback between them.
Splitting the seven group hours
At least three hours must be individual. The other seven can be group, and the group hours are where the price and the value both vary most. A few shapes that work, and what each one costs you in something other than money.
- All ten individual. The most feedback per hour and the most expensive. Best if you are close to applying and have specific competency gaps rather than general uncertainty.
- Three individual, seven group with the same mentor. The common shape and the one in the 12-week plan. The mentor sees your progress across both formats, and the group hears feedback on sessions that are not theirs, which is often where the learning is.
- Three individual with one mentor, seven group with a training school. Cheaper, but the two halves do not talk to each other. Make sure the group provider is an eligible mentor coach and, from 2027 on the affected paths, an MCS holder, because those seven hours have to count too.
- Peer groups without a credentialed mentor. Valuable, and worth zero hours. Do them as well, not instead.
Whatever the split, the three individual hours are where the observed sessions happen. A group format cannot give three of your sessions the attention the new rule describes, so protect those hours and use the group for breadth.
Red flags on the first call
You are choosing an assessor, so interview them like one.
- They cannot tell you which competencies they score against, or they describe the ICF markers loosely.
- They offer to sign off ten hours in fewer than three months, or to backdate the start.
- They have no process for observing sessions and want to work only from your notes.
- They are unsure whether they hold the MCS, or when they will.
- They talk more about your business than your sessions in the first twenty minutes.
- Their credential in the Verify a Coach directory does not match what is on their website.
One is a conversation. Two is a different mentor.
Getting more from the ten hours
Mentor time is expensive in every sense, and most of it is spent describing sessions the mentor did not see. Bring evidence instead. A recording with the client's consent, a transcript, and your own notes on where you think you drifted. The mentor's three observed sessions in the 2027 model will demand exactly this, so build the habit now.
What to bring to each session
A checklist, because the coaches who get the most from mentoring are the ones who turn up with a file rather than a memory.
Before every individual session:
- One full session recording, with the client's written consent, sent at least three days ahead
- A transcript, so the mentor can search for the moment they want rather than scrubbing audio
- Three timestamps with one line each: "14:20, I think I led the client here"
- Your own score on competencies 3 to 8, written down before the mentor gives theirs, so you can see where your self-assessment is off
- One question you want answered by the end of the hour
Before every group session:
- A clip of five to ten minutes, not a whole session, with the context in two sentences
- Something that did not work. Groups learn more from a drift than from a clean session.
Between sessions:
- One behaviour to change, written as something you can hear on a recording: "wait a full breath after every question"
- Recordings of the sessions where you tried it, so the next observed session is a choice from several rather than the only one you have
The self-score is the item most coaches skip and the one that pays most. When your score and the mentor's disagree on the same competency three sessions running, you have found the thing the assessor will find.
The Coach development screens in Coachful, step by step
If you run sessions in Coachful, there is a switch in your scheduling AI settings called Coach development feedback. With it on, each session summary also produces a private note on your coaching: the mix of open and closed questions, wait time after questions, where you became directive, threads the client offered that you did not follow, and a score against competencies 3 to 8 of the ICF Core Competencies. The Coach development panel under My Data shows those scores as trends across sessions. It is a self-development aid built on the published competency model, not an ICF assessment and not a substitute for a mentor. What it is good for is walking into a mentor session already knowing which three sessions to bring and what you want the mentor to look at. The panel also counts your client hours, which mentor hours never join; the guide to tracking ICF hours covers that side, and ACC vs PCC vs MCC covers which credential the mentoring is for.
Here is the walk through the screens, in the order you will meet them.
Step 1. Open My Data. The page opens with a profile summary and a banner with your completed coaching hours and session count. The Coach development section sits below it.

Step 2. Read the panel against the thresholds. The Coach development panel shows completed session hours and distinct clients against the ACC, PCC and MCC experience thresholds, and marks each level achieved or in progress. Mentor coaching hours are not in either number, by design, because the ICF excludes them from experience.

Step 3. Turn on Coach development feedback. The switch lives in your scheduling AI settings and is also offered from the panel. Once on, every summarised session adds a private competency note and the panel starts plotting competencies 3 to 8 as trends. Give it a few sessions before you read anything into it; one session is a data point, not a pattern.

Step 4. Know which note the client sees. A session summary can be shared with the client, and appears in their My Coaching hub as "Your notes so far". The Coach development note is a separate, private note to you. The client never sees a competency score, and you should say so if they ask what the recording is for.

Step 5. Add what the recording cannot show. A mentor watching a recording sees the session. They do not see whether the client did anything afterwards. If your clients run morning and evening check-ins, the responses in the following week tell you whether the action the client chose survived contact with their diary, and that is worth one sentence in your notes for the mentor: "client committed to X, check-ins show it happened twice in seven days".

Step 6. Prepare the client picture in the Brain. Before you send a recording, you want to know the arc it sits in: what the client came for, what has shifted, what is still stuck. The Brain gathers that across sessions, goals and notes, and Michelle can pull it into a short briefing you paste above the timestamps. The point is to hand the mentor context in two paragraphs rather than spend the first ten minutes of the hour explaining it.

Step 7. Do not confuse any of this with the AI Coach. Coachful also has an AI Coach you can switch on for chosen clients, which talks to them between sessions. It is a client-facing tool and has nothing to do with your competency scores. A mentor will not want to see AI Coach transcripts, and they do not count as your coaching in any sense the ICF recognises.

What the panel does not know
Being precise about the limits matters more here than anywhere else in the product, because a credential application is a sworn record.
- Paid or pro bono status. The ICF asks for it and the panel does not track it. Keep that in your own log.
- Your training start date. The ICF counts experience from the start of your coach training, and Coachful does not know when that was. If you coached before you trained, the panel over-counts, and you need to subtract.
- Mentor coaching hours. Never counted, never displayed. That is the correct behaviour, and it also means the panel is no help for evidencing the ten hours. Your mentor's dated confirmation is the evidence.
- Sessions that happened somewhere else. Use Log a past session on the client's page for the ones you ran before you moved to Coachful, and the count catches up.
The panel is a running tally of what happened inside the platform, scored against the published competency model. It is not an ICF-compliant log, and we would rather say that plainly than have you find out at submission.
The panel counts one thing. Coach development counts completed session hours and distinct clients and scores competencies 3 to 8; it never adds a mentor hour to either number, because the ICF does not.
Three coaches, three plans
The rules read differently depending on where you stand. Three scenarios, using only the dates and numbers above.
Priya: ACC, Portfolio path, hoping to apply in mid 2027
Priya has no mentor yet in September 2026. Every hour she books from 1 January 2027 must be with an MCS holder, and her application, landing after 1 April 2027, follows the new requirement with three observed sessions and no performance evaluation. The clean plan is an MCS mentor for all ten hours, started early enough that the three-month floor is comfortably cleared. If she starts in January, the 12-week plan finishes in April with a week or two of margin, and the three individual sessions in weeks 1, 6 and 12 are her three observed sessions.
Could she rush all ten hours with a non-MCS mentor before 31 December 2026 and apply before 1 April 2027 under the old rules? On the published wording, yes, but that means a performance evaluation as well, a recorded session judged by a stranger, which is the thing the ICF is replacing because it judged coaches unevenly. For most candidates the new route is the easier one to pass and the better one to learn from.
Marcus: PCC through a Level 2 programme
Marcus is not on the Portfolio path, so the announcement does not change his assessment; his programme builds it in. He still needs the ten hours of mentor coaching, over three months, with three individual. The announcement does not state that his mentor must hold the MCS, but his programme may well require it, and if he ever applies for the MCC he will need MCS mentors for any new hours from 1 January 2027 anyway. The question for Marcus is not the rules. It is whether the mentoring inside his programme will actually observe his sessions, or whether he should add individual hours with a mentor who will.
Dana: renewing an ACC for the second time
Dana's ACC renews every three years, so she has done this before. She needs 40 CCE units, at least 24 of them Core Competency, and another 10 hours of mentor coaching that count toward that 24. After the mentor hours she still needs 14 Core Competency credits and 16 further units. The announcement does not address renewal mentoring and the MCS, so she should ask the ICF or pick an MCS mentor and remove the question. She might also do the arithmetic on the PCC: if her own panel looked like the demo account above, 854 hours and 63 clients, she would be far past the PCC's 500 hours and 25 clients, and a PCC renewal has no mentor requirement at all.
Renewal is not a one-off. An ACC renews every three years and needs another ten mentor hours each cycle, counting toward the 24 Core Competency credits of the 40 CCE units.
Objections, answered
"Ten hours is a lot of money for feedback I could get from a peer." A peer group is good for you and worth zero hours toward the credential. The ICF requires an eligible credentialed mentor precisely because peers at your level cannot see what an assessor sees. Do both. The peer group is free; the mentor is the requirement.
"My clients will not agree to be recorded." Some will not, and you do not record those. Most agree when you say what it is for, who sees it, and when it is deleted. Ask three clients and you will usually have one recording you can use; ask before every session for a month and you will have a choice of several, which is what the observed-session model rewards.
"I already had a mentor for my training. Do those hours count again for renewal?" No. Renewal hours are new hours in the renewal cycle. The ten from your original application belonged to that application.
"Can software do this instead?" No, and be suspicious of any product that says otherwise. Coachful's Coach development feedback scores competencies 3 to 8 from session summaries and shows you trends. It cannot satisfy a single minute of the ten hours, and it does not claim to. What it changes is what you bring to the mentor: three chosen sessions and a specific question instead of a vague sense that something is off.
Frequently asked questions
How many hours of mentor coaching does the ICF require?
Ten hours over at least three months, including at least three hours of individual mentor coaching, completed before you submit your application. The requirement is the same for the ACC, PCC and MCC. ACC renewal every three years requires a further ten hours.
Do mentor coaching hours count as coaching hours for the ICF?
No. The ICF's experience requirements state that mentor coaching, coaching supervision and reviewing assessments with clients are not client coaching hours. They meet a separate requirement and should not be entered in your coaching log.
Who can be an ICF mentor coach?
An eligible credentialed coach whose status you can verify in the ICF's Verify a Coach directory. From 1 January 2027, ACC and PCC applicants on the Portfolio path, and MCC applicants for new hours, must use a mentor who holds the ICF's Mentor Coach Specialization.
Is the ICF performance evaluation being replaced by mentor coaching?
For ACC and PCC applicants on the Portfolio path, yes, from 1 April 2027. They will instead complete mentor coaching with an MCS mentor over at least three months, with at least three hours individual and at least three coaching sessions observed and reviewed. Level 1 and Level 2 applicants and the MCC keep the performance evaluation.
Can mentor coaching be done in a group?
Yes, for up to seven of the ten hours. At least three hours must be individual, one-on-one mentor coaching.
Can I complete all ten hours in exactly three months?
Yes. Three months is the published minimum, and the 12-week plan in this article meets it with three individual sessions and three observed sessions. Check the calendar dates rather than counting weeks, because twelve weeks can fall a few days short of three calendar months. If you have longer, spread the same ten hours out rather than adding more.
What does "observed and reviewed" mean for the 2027 requirement?
The mentor sees at least three of your actual coaching sessions, live or recorded, and reviews each against the ICF Core Competencies with you. Describing a session from memory does not count. In practice that means sending a recording and transcript ahead of each individual session, with the client's written consent.
What should I bring to a mentor coaching session?
For an individual session: a full recording with consent, a transcript, three timestamped moments you want examined, your own score on competencies 3 to 8, and one question. For a group session: a clip of five to ten minutes, ideally of something that did not work. Between sessions, one behaviour to change and recordings of you trying it.
Does an ACC renewal need an MCS mentor?
The 13 April 2026 announcement addresses ACC, PCC and MCC applicants and does not mention renewal hours. Renewal still requires ten mentor hours every three years, counting toward the 24 Core Competency credits of the 40 CCE units. If you are renewing in 2027 or later, an MCS mentor removes the question; otherwise confirm with the ICF before you book.
Does Coachful provide ICF mentor coaching?
No. Coachful's Coach development feedback scores your sessions against six ICF Core Competencies and shows the trend over time, which helps you choose which sessions to bring to a mentor and what to ask about. It is a self-development aid, not an ICF assessment, and it does not satisfy the mentor coaching requirement.
Join Coachful now
Ten hours with a mentor is the most concentrated feedback you will get on your coaching, and it is wasted if you arrive describing sessions from memory. Coachful keeps the record, scores the competencies between mentor sessions, and tells you where to look, so the mentor's time goes on what only a mentor can see.







