Coachful
Coachful
ToolsBlogContact
Sign in
Best of
October 27, 202629 min

Best App for Grief Coaches: 10 Picks, Ranked for 2026

Best App for Grief Coaches: 10 Picks, Ranked for 2026

The best app for grief coaches is the one a grieving client can open on a hard Tuesday night and find exactly one gentle thing to do: a two-question check-in, a short reflection prompt, a message to their coach, or a quiet room with others who understand. Grief work happens mostly between sessions, so the deciding question is not "which tool has the most features" but "what will my client actually see on their phone, and does it connect to how I run my practice?"

Our pick is Coachful's client app. It runs on iPhone and Android, carries your branding inside the Coachful app, and puts programs, daily check-ins, habits, resources, messages, group circles and session booking in one place, connected to the same back office you use for payments, agreements and client notes. We make Coachful, so weigh that, but below you will find nine other options ranked by the client experience, including three that have no native app at all.

A quick scope note before the list: grief coaching is support, not treatment. A good app helps you keep structure and contact between sessions; it does not replace a therapist, a doctor or crisis services. We come back to where that line sits, and how to build it into the app experience, further down.

Coachful client coaching hub showing the next session, tabs for programs, sessions and progress, and a pre-session task
The demo client coaching hub in Coachful: next session, programs, sessions, progress and documents in one place.

What do grief coaching clients actually do in an app each week?

Mostly small, low-effort actions. Grieving clients often have less energy and concentration than usual, so the app should ask little and give back a sense of being held. Week to week, a typical grief coaching client might:

  • Answer a short morning or evening check-in ("How heavy does today feel, 1 to 5?" "What helped, even a little?").
  • Write a brief reflection after a prompt about a memory, a first anniversary, a difficult conversation or a ritual they want to keep.
  • Tick off one or two gentle habits, such as a walk, eating a real meal, ten minutes outside or a call with a friend.
  • Open a lesson, audio or worksheet from a program: a guided letter-writing exercise, a reading on grief and sleep, a worksheet for planning a hard holiday.
  • Send a message to the coach, often short, often late.
  • Join or read a group circle if the coach runs cohorts or a peer community.
  • Book or confirm the next session and get a reminder.

That list shapes the ranking. An app built for workouts or courses can do some of it; an app built for coaching programs can do all of it. If you are still deciding how you will run your practice overall, our guide to the best coaching software for grief and loss coaches covers the back office. This article stays on the client's side of the screen.

Which app is best for each grief coaching situation?

Ranked on one line: we favour the app that gives a grieving client one login for the whole journey, handles gentle between-session check-ins natively, keeps total monthly cost low, and is quick to set up (with a free white-glove build).

SituationPickNative client app?Starting price (as listed October 2026)
CoachfulBest overall: 1:1 and group grief programs with daily check-insYes, iPhone and Android, your branding inside the Coachful appLite: $29/month for up to 5 clients
A large peer grief community with live circlesMighty NetworksYes, Mighty-branded app$95/mo ($79/mo annual)
A paid grief membership with discussion spacesCircleYes, Circle app; own branded app on Circle Plus only$89/mo billed annually
Selling a self-paced grief course to many peopleKajabiYes, Kajabi app$179/mo ($143/mo annual)
Grief work inside a wellness or nutrition practice that needs chartingPractice BetterYes, client portal and app$0 (3 clients); paid from $35/mo
Simple 1:1 packages with no app to learnPaperbellNo, mobile browser only$97/mo ($80.83/mo annual)

Thinking of launching your coaching business?

Answer a few questions and Coachful builds it around you: your website, programs, booking and payments. Ready in minutes.

Build your platform

How did we choose and rank these apps?

We ranked on the client experience first, then on how well the coach's side connects to it. We did not test every app hands-on; we used what each vendor documents on its own site and pricing page as listed in October 2026, plus public reviewer ratings where they exist. The criteria:

  1. Daily habits and check-ins. Can the coach send a short, scheduled check-in and see the answers without exporting anything?
  2. Program and lesson access. Can the client open this week's lesson, audio or worksheet in two taps?
  3. Messaging. Private, direct contact with the coach inside the app.
  4. Community. Optional group circles or cohorts for clients who want peers.
  5. Reminders and notifications. Session reminders and nudges that are gentle rather than noisy.
  6. Progress tracking. Not "goals crushed", but a visible record that small things are happening.
  7. Branding. Does it feel like your practice or like someone else's platform?
  8. iPhone and Android availability. Or a mobile browser only.
  9. Back-office connection. Does booking, payment and the client record live in the same system the client app reads from?

Grief clients raise one more criterion that most roundups skip: quiet. Leaderboards, streak pressure and public activity feeds can feel wrong to someone who lost a person three weeks ago. We noted where an app's defaults lean loud and whether the coach can keep things private.

1. Coachful: why is it the best overall app for grief coaches?

Wins when: you run 1:1 or small-group grief programs over weeks or months and want your client to have one calm place for check-ins, reflections, lessons, messages, circles and bookings, all tied to your back office.

A goal page with daily momentum and a habit tracker on a laptop and phone beside a candle and notebook
Coachful's demo goal page with daily momentum and reflection tabs, and the habit tracker, on a window seat beside a candle.

Coachful is a coaching platform where one subscription covers booking, payments, coaching agreements, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. The coach has one login. The client has one app, on iPhone and Android, with your branding inside the Coachful app. To be precise about that last point: your clients install the Coachful app and see your practice inside it; it is not a separate listing under your own name in the App Store or Google Play. For most grief coaches that trade-off is welcome, because a separate branded listing usually costs far more and adds publishing work. Our explainer on custom branded coaching apps covers the difference in detail.

What the client sees. The client's home shows their next session, the programs they are enrolled in, their sessions, their progress and their documents. A multi-week program can carry weekly goals, daily tasks, habits and morning and evening check-ins. For grief work, that means you can set up a Week 3 theme such as "the first anniversary", a daily evening check-in with two questions, one habit ("ten minutes outside"), and a reflection prompt, and the client meets each of them on the day it is due rather than in a long email.

Coachful habits dashboard with habit tracker cards and progress counts
The demo Growing Habits dashboard, with habits such as journaling and meditation counted toward 30 days.

Check-ins that come back to you. The coach builds check-ins as coaching flows (welcome, daily, weekly and longer journeys), and answers land on the client record alongside goals, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions. Each client carries a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk. In grief coaching "quiet" is often the signal that matters: a client who stops opening the app after a hard date may need a personal message, not another automated nudge.

Coachful coaching flows library with welcome, morning check-in and evening check-in flows
The coaching flows library, where the coach sets up welcome, morning check-in and evening check-in flows.

Here is a short walkthrough of how check-ins are built and what the client answers:

Resources that feel personal. Courses with modules, lessons, drip and completion tracking sit next to downloads, videos, audio, books, worksheets and events in the client's branded home and app. A grief coach can drip a short audio each week, attach a letter-writing worksheet to a lesson, and keep a library of readings for the client to return to.

Messages and circles. Direct messages keep private contact in the app. If you run a cohort, a group is created automatically when clients enroll in the program, with a community feed, group chat and video events for live circles. You choose whether a client is ever in a group at all, which matters for people who want to grieve privately.

Reminders. Session reminders go by email, plus SMS 24 hours before and WhatsApp one hour before once messaging is enabled. Booking pages detect the client's time zone, sync two-way with Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook calendars, and create built-in video or Zoom, Meet or Teams links.

The back office it connects to. Coaching agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and are stored on the client record, which is a natural place to state your scope and referral policy in writing. Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account with one-time, subscription and payment-plan options, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Coachful charges 0% platform fee (since August 2026), so only processing fees apply. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, can brief you before a session from the client's recent check-ins and summarize recorded sessions. There is also an AI Coach, a version of you that selected clients can chat with between sessions; for grief clients, configure it carefully and decide case by case whether it is appropriate at all.

Coachful client grid with status tags and check-in insights
The coach's demo client grid with status tags and illustrative check-in and task completion figures.

What Coachful does not do. It is not HIPAA-certified and offers no BAA, so it is not for clinical record-keeping or insurance billing. There is no PayPal and no permanent free plan. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account. There is no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync. If you need clinical charting, skip to Practice Better.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create, choose "We'll build it for you · FREE", describe what you want, attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files, and the Coachful team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. For a grief coach that might be an eight-week "first year after loss" program with weekly themes and check-ins, a gentle website with a single "book a free conversation" button, or a welcome email sequence. Nothing gets invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. It does not include recording videos, logo design or ad management. Read more about the free white-glove service.

Coachful Create page with the We will build it for you card
The Create page in Coachful with the card for requesting a free white-glove build.

Pricing and reviews. Plans are flat monthly; lower plans cap the number of clients, Pro is unlimited, and monthly plans cancel in one click (current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients). A free trial is available. Coachful holds a Trustpilot rating of 4.5 from 21 reviews.

Who it suits. Grief coaches who deliver programs rather than one-off sessions, solo coaches who may add an associate later, and anyone tired of sending clients to five different logins.

Join Coachful now

2. Mighty Networks: best for a large peer grief community?

The scenario it wins: you host an ongoing peer support community for many grieving people, with live circles and courses, and 1:1 coaching is a small part of the work.

Mighty Networks homepage introducing its community, course and events platform
Mighty Networks's homepage in October 2026.

Mighty Networks combines a community, courses and events, and members use a Mighty-branded app on their phones. For a grief community that is a strong client experience: a feed, topic spaces (loss of a parent, loss of a partner, pregnancy loss), livestreamed circles and a course library live together. Launch includes 3 hosts, 10 moderators and 20 hours of livestream a month for up to 100 attendees, which suits a monthly group circle with moderators you trust.

Where it falls short for a coach is everything individual. Mighty Networks has no 1:1 scheduling, invoicing or contracts, and no per-client habits, check-ins or private coaching plans. A grieving client in your 1:1 package cannot get a private evening check-in here; you would run that somewhere else and ask them to use two apps. Your own branded app is only on the custom-priced Mighty Pro plan.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: Launch $95/mo ($79/mo annual), Scale $215/mo ($179/mo annual), Growth $354/mo billed annually, Mighty Pro on request. Mighty takes a platform fee on sales of 2% on Launch, 1% on Scale and 0.5% on Growth and Pro, on top of Stripe processing. A 14-day trial needs no card. Trustpilot shows 3.3 from 219 reviews (seen October 2026). Our community platforms for grief coaches roundup compares it with other community tools.

Pick it over Coachful if your offer is a large, mostly self-running peer community and you rarely need private check-ins, contracts or 1:1 booking.

3. Circle: best for a paid grief membership with discussion spaces?

Choose this when you sell a membership where grieving members talk to each other in organised spaces, watch recorded workshops and attend events, and you are comfortable running 1:1 work elsewhere.

Circle homepage introducing its community and membership platform
Circle's homepage in October 2026.

Circle is a community platform with courses, events, live streams and paid memberships, and members can use the Circle mobile app. The client experience is calm and well organised: separate spaces for different losses, threaded discussions, an event calendar and course lessons. Professional includes 3 admins and 10 moderators, which matters in grief communities where you want trained moderators watching for members who need more help than peers can give.

Like Mighty Networks, Circle has no 1:1 scheduling or client management back office, and no per-client habits, check-ins or coaching plans. Branded mobile apps in your own name come only with the custom-priced Circle Plus. Members see Circle's app with your community inside, which is similar in spirit to Coachful's approach but without the coaching layer.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: Professional $89/mo billed annually, Business $199/mo billed annually, Scale $419/mo billed annually, Circle Plus on request. Circle charges a fee on payments of 2% on Professional, 1% on Business and Scale, and 0.5% on Circle Plus, plus Stripe processing. A 14-day trial needs no card. Trustpilot: 4.1 from 129 reviews (seen October 2026).

Pick it over Coachful if a discussion-led membership is the whole product and you want more granular community spaces than a coaching platform offers.

4. Kajabi: best for selling a self-paced grief course at scale?

Its winning case: you have built an audience and want to sell a self-paced grief course or workshop series to hundreds of people, with marketing emails and sales pages doing the heavy lifting.

Kajabi homepage introducing its platform for selling courses and communities
Kajabi's homepage in October 2026.

Kajabi is a course, community, website, funnel and email platform for selling knowledge products. Customers access purchased courses and communities through Kajabi's app, which gives a tidy lesson-by-lesson experience on the phone. If your grief offer is "a 6-module course on the first year after loss", the client side works well: they press play, mark a lesson complete and move on.

What Kajabi does not do is the daily, individual part of coaching. There is no habit tracking or daily client check-in, and coaching is organised around products and communities rather than per-client plans. A grieving client cannot tell you privately that today was bad through a scheduled check-in; at best they post in a community or email you. The Basic plan also caps you at 5 products and 2,500 contacts and includes 0 AI credits.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: Basic $179/mo ($143/mo annual), Growth $249/mo ($199/mo annual), Pro $499/mo ($399/mo annual). Kajabi Payments in the US costs 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic, falling to 2.7% + $0.30 on Pro; other providers (excluding PayPal) add a Kajabi fee of 0.5% to 2%. The standard trial is 14 days. Trustpilot: 3.4 from 2,347 reviews (seen October 2026). See our course platforms for grief coaches comparison for more options.

Pick it over Coachful if course sales to a large audience are your main revenue and you do little ongoing 1:1 or small-group work.

5. Practice Better: best when grief work sits inside a clinical-style wellness practice?

Who it is for: practitioners who blend grief support with nutrition, wellness or other practice work that needs charting, telehealth and practice-management structure.

Practice Better homepage introducing its practice management platform for wellness practitioners
Practice Better's homepage in October 2026.

Practice Better is practice management for wellness and nutrition practitioners: scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal with an app. Clients can book, complete forms, message and follow programs from their phone. If your practice already looks like a small clinic, with intake forms, session notes in a chart format and practitioners who are used to that rhythm, the client side will feel familiar and orderly. We cover it more fully in our Practice Better app guide.

For a grief coach, the trade-offs are about tiers and feel. Evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS start on the Plus plan at $99/mo. There is no website builder or funnel pages in the older profile we have, and one practitioner per account below the Team plan. The experience leans clinical, which some grief clients find reassuring and others find cold.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: Sprout $0/mo for 3 clients; Starter $35/mo ($25/mo annual) for 10 clients; Professional $69/mo ($59/mo annual) for 300 clients; Plus $99/mo ($89/mo annual) unlimited; Team $155/mo ($145/mo annual). No platform fee is stated; payments run on Practice Better Payments powered by Stripe. Trials run 14 days (30 on Team). Trustpilot: 3.8 from 87 reviews (seen October 2026).

Pick it over Coachful if you need chart-style notes and telehealth in a practice-management frame, or you also do nutrition work where its tools are built in.

Which one looks like you?

Coachful builds your coaching website from a few answers, in a design chosen for your niche, with programs, booking and payments ready behind it.

Build your platform

6. Paperbell: best for simple 1:1 grief packages with no app to install?

Best suited to a solo grief coach who sells a handful of 1:1 packages and wants clients to book, pay and sign without installing anything.

Paperbell homepage introducing its all-in-one admin tool for solo coaches
Paperbell's homepage in October 2026.

Paperbell is an all-in-one admin tool for solo coaches: booking, packages, payments, contracts, a client portal and a simple website, all at one price. The client experience is short and clear: they pick a package, sign the agreement, pay, and book sessions.

The important caveat for this article: Paperbell has no native mobile app. Clients use the portal in a mobile browser. According to its older profile it also has no courses, no community, and no goal or habit tracking. So between sessions there is very little for a grieving client to open: no evening check-in, no reflection prompt, no circle. For some clients that is fine; they want sessions and nothing else. For a structured program it is thin.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: one plan at $97/mo ($80.83/mo annual) with unlimited clients, and "no additional transaction fees" beyond Stripe or PayPal processing. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee; the trial length is not stated on the pricing page. Trustpilot: 3.5 from 14 reviews (seen October 2026). Comparing options? See Paperbell alternatives.

Pick it over Coachful if you only sell 1:1 sessions, your clients prefer nothing to install, and you want PayPal at checkout.

7. CoachAccountable: best for structured action plans and metrics, browser-first?

Good fit for a grief coach who likes structured action plans, worksheets and simple metrics, and whose clients are comfortable working in a browser.

CoachAccountable homepage introducing its coaching back office for sessions and action plans
CoachAccountable's homepage in October 2026.

CoachAccountable is a coaching back office covering sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses, invoicing and agreements. Its depth on accountability is real: you can assign actions, track a metric over time and attach worksheets to sessions. It has a strong public reputation, with a Trustpilot rating of 4.8 from 47 reviews (seen October 2026).

On the client side, the older profile we hold lists no native mobile app, so clients work through the web. There are no landing pages, website or marketing automation. Its own statement says it is not HIPAA compliant. Pricing is per active client, which can get expensive if you run grief groups with many participants.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: Starter $20/mo for 2 active clients; Level 1 $40/mo for 5; Level 2 $70/mo for 10; Level 3 $120/mo for 20; Level 4 $250/mo for 50; Level 5 $400/mo for 100. A 30-day trial needs no card. Processor fees apply. Weighing it up? See CoachAccountable alternatives.

Pick it over Coachful if you value detailed action-plan and metric tracking above a native phone app and you coach a small number of 1:1 clients.

8. Everfit: best for a habit-first app on a small free plan?

Where it earns a place: a grief coach who builds gentle movement and routine back into clients' days, such as daily walks, sleep and meals, and wants a free starting point for up to five clients.

Everfit homepage introducing its fitness coaching app for trainers
Everfit's homepage in October 2026.

Everfit is a fitness coaching app with workouts, habits, nutrition and messaging, priced by client count. Its client app is polished on habit tracking and daily tasks, and messaging is built in. If physical routine is a big part of your grief support, it does that part well.

It is still a fitness product at heart. Automation (Autoflow), payments and meal plans are paid add-ons, and there is no course builder, website, funnels or email marketing. Grief-specific content such as reflections, letter prompts and readings has to be shoehorned into a workout-shaped structure, and the language of the app is about training.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: Starter $0/mo for up to 5 clients; Pro from $19/mo ($16/mo annual) for 5 clients, $29/mo for 10 and $49/mo for 20; Studio from $105/mo for 50 clients. A 30-day trial needs no card. Trustpilot: 2.7 from 16 reviews (seen October 2026).

Pick it over Coachful if your work is mostly movement and daily routine, you have five clients or fewer, and you want a free plan.

9. ABC Trainerize: best if you also coach in a fitness setting?

Makes sense for a grief coach who also works as a personal trainer or inside a gym, and whose clients already use a training app.

ABC Trainerize homepage introducing its personal training and client app
ABC Trainerize's homepage in October 2026.

ABC Trainerize is a fitness and personal-training app with workouts, habits, nutrition tracking and messaging, priced by client seats. The client app is mature, available on phones, and habits plus messaging cover a slice of grief support: a daily walk, a hydration habit, a private note to the coach.

The gaps for grief work are wide. Scheduling, product sales, payments, video and advanced nutrition are separate paid add-ons below Studio. There is no course builder, website, funnels or email marketing, and the older profile notes that client data export is incomplete (no messages, photos or attachments), which matters if you ever move clients' reflections to another system.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: Basic $0/mo for 1 client; Grow $10/mo ($9/mo annual) for 2 clients; Pro from $25/mo ($23/mo annual) for 5 clients, with tiers up to 200; Studio Plus $275/mo ($248/mo annual). A 30-day trial with unlimited clients needs no card. In-app payments require the Stripe Integrated Payments add-on. Trustpilot: 3.1 from 100 reviews (seen October 2026).

Pick it over Coachful if training is your main business, your clients already live in Trainerize, and grief support is an occasional extra.

10. Skool: best for a low-cost, gamified grief group?

Only fits a coach running a free or low-cost group where members drive most of the activity and the community, classroom and calendar are all you need.

Skool homepage introducing its community, classroom and calendar groups
Skool's homepage in October 2026.

Skool puts a community, a classroom and a calendar in one group, with a mobile app for members. It is simple to set up and cheap to start. The problem for grief coaching is its signature feature: gamified leaderboards. Points and rankings for posting can feel jarring to bereaved members, and there is no 1:1 client record, intake form, habit or check-in.

Skool also has no custom-domain website, funnels, email automation or public API, and payments run only through Skool Payments with per-transaction fees on both plans.

Cost, as listed in October 2026: Hobby $9/mo ($7.5/mo annual) with 10% + 30¢ on all transactions; Pro $99/mo ($82.5/mo annual) with 2.9% + 30¢ on sales up to $899 and 3.9% + 30¢ above $900. Trial length is not stated. Trustpilot: 1.6 from 54 reviews (seen October 2026).

Pick it over Coachful if you want the cheapest possible group space, your members are comfortable with gamification, and you do no 1:1 work in the app.

A community feed and a group program view on a laptop and tablet on a kitchen table with tulips and mugs
Coachful's demo community feed and group program view on a kitchen table set for an evening circle.

How do the ten apps compare on the client experience?

The matrix below reflects what each vendor documents, as listed in October 2026. "Add-on" means available at extra cost; "Browser" means no native app.

AppNative iPhone and Android appDaily check-insHabitsPrograms and lessonsPrivate messagingGroup circlesYour brandingBooking and payments connected
CoachfulYesYes, morning and eveningYes, with streaksYes, programs and coursesYesYes, auto cohort groupsInside the Coachful appYes
Mighty NetworksYesNoNoCoursesMember messagingYesOwn app on Mighty Pro onlyPayments only; no 1:1 booking
CircleYesNoNoCoursesMember messagingYesOwn app on Circle Plus onlyPayments only; no 1:1 booking
KajabiYesNoNoCoursesCommunity onlyYesKajabi appPayments; coaching as products
Practice BetterYesForms and programsProgram-basedProgramsYesGroup programsPortal branding on PlusYes
PaperbellBrowserNoNoNoLimitedNoPortal and simple siteYes
CoachAccountableBrowserMetrics and worksheetsAction plansCoursesYesNoNot documentedYes
EverfitYesFitness check-insYesWorkout programsYesNot documentedNot documentedPayments add-on
ABC TrainerizeYesFitness check-insYesWorkout programsYesNot documentedNot documentedAdd-ons
SkoolYesNoNoClassroomMember messagingYes, gamifiedNoSkool Payments only

What does a week in Coachful's app look like for a grief client?

Here is an illustrative example, not a real client. "Maya" lost her mother four months ago and has joined an eight-week 1:1 program her coach calls "Carrying It Differently". This is week four.

  • Monday morning. Maya opens the app and sees the week's theme, "Rituals that keep a connection", with a 7-minute audio and one worksheet. She listens on the bus.
  • Monday evening. A two-question evening check-in appears: "How heavy was today, 1 to 5?" and "One thing that helped". She answers 4 and "my sister called".
  • Tuesday to Thursday. Her one habit, "ten minutes outside", sits on the home screen. She ticks it twice and skips Wednesday without any penalty message.
  • Thursday night. She messages her coach directly: her mother's birthday is on Sunday and she is dreading it.
  • Friday. Before replying, the coach glances at Maya's record: check-in answers trending heavier, status moved to quiet. The coach replies personally and adds a short "planning a hard day" worksheet to Maya's documents.
  • Saturday. Maya gets an email reminder for Monday's session and books an extra 30-minute call through the same app; payment goes through the coach's Stripe account.
  • Sunday. No tasks appear. The coach set the program to leave that day empty.

Every one of those steps happens in one app for Maya and one dashboard for the coach. That is the case for ranking Coachful first. For a wider look at check-in tools across niches, see our client check-in app guide.

Where does grief coaching end and when should you refer?

Coaching supports people through ordinary, painful grief; it is not treatment for mental health conditions. Clinicians recognise prolonged grief disorder, where intense grief persists and disrupts daily life well beyond the expected period (overview of prolonged grief disorder). Popular models such as the "five stages" are widely known but are not a clinical roadmap (background on the five stages model).

Build the referral line into your app setup:

  • State your scope and referral policy in the coaching agreement clients sign before the first session.
  • Add crisis contacts to the client's documents; in the US, the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline is available by call or text.
  • Refer to a licensed therapist or doctor when a client describes thoughts of self-harm, cannot function day to day for an extended period, uses alcohol or drugs to cope in a worrying way, or asks for diagnosis or treatment.
  • Do not rely on automated check-ins or AI chat to catch risk; read what clients write and respond as a person.

Our article on grief and loss coaching boundaries goes deeper, and what grief coaching is explains the scope for clients.

What do three realistic grief coaching app stacks cost per month?

These are example stacks using list prices as shown in October 2026, before payment processing.

StackWhat the client installsMonthly costGaps
Coachful on its ownOne app: check-ins, habits, programs, messages, circles, bookingSolo: $49/month for up to 20 clients (15 clients)No PayPal; not HIPAA-certified
Paperbell plus Mighty Networks LaunchPaperbell in a browser plus the Mighty app$97 + $95 = $192, plus a 2% Mighty fee on community salesTwo logins; no daily check-ins or habits anywhere
Practice Better Plus plus Circle ProfessionalPractice Better app plus the Circle app$99 + $89 (annual) = $188, plus a 2% Circle fee on community paymentsTwo apps; clinical feel; community separate from client records

The two-tool stacks also mean two places to update when a client pauses, two sets of reminders, and two privacy settings to explain to someone who is already overwhelmed.

What mistakes do grief coaches make when choosing a client app?

  • Choosing for features, not energy. A grieving client needs one gentle action a day. Pick the app that makes that easy, not the one with the longest feature list.
  • Turning on public activity by default. Leaderboards, streak shaming and public feeds can hurt. Keep circles opt-in and default to private.
  • Splitting the journey across apps. A booking link here, a course there and a community somewhere else means clients stop opening any of them.
  • Automating empathy. Scheduled check-ins are a prompt for you to respond, not a replacement for responding.
  • Forgetting hard dates. Anniversaries, birthdays and holidays deserve lighter weeks in the program, not the usual tasks.
  • Ignoring data export. Clients' reflections are precious. Check that you can export them if you ever move platforms.
  • Skipping the scope line. Put your referral policy in the agreement and the app, not just in your head.

Which app should a grief coach choose?

For most grief coaches who run programs, Coachful is the best app: one client app on iPhone and Android with your branding inside it, gentle daily check-ins and habits, lessons and resources, private messages, optional circles, and bookings and payments connected to the client record. Choose Mighty Networks or Circle if a large peer community is the product, Kajabi if self-paced course sales dominate, Practice Better if you need chart-style practice management, and Paperbell if you want the simplest possible 1:1 setup and no app at all.

Coachful is built for coaches who deliver programs, solo coaches growing into a small team, and anyone replacing four to six tools. It does not do clinical records, insurance billing or PayPal. To start, take the free trial and ask the team for a free white-glove build of your first grief program. New to the field? Read how to become a grief coach, or see how Coachful fits life coaches more broadly.

Join Coachful now

Frequently asked questions

What is the best app for grief coaches?

For coaches running 1:1 or small-group grief programs, we rank Coachful first because clients get check-ins, habits, lessons, messages, circles and booking in one app on iPhone and Android. Community-led practices may prefer Mighty Networks or Circle. We make Coachful, so compare the matrix above against your own offer.

Do my clients see my brand or Coachful's?

Clients install the Coachful app and see your branding and your programs inside it. It is not a separate listing under your own name in the App Store or Google Play. Most coaches find this avoids the cost and upkeep of publishing their own app.

Is Coachful's white-glove build really free?

Yes. The white-glove build service is free on every plan. You describe what you want, such as a grief program, website or email sequence, attach references, and the team builds it in your account, usually within about 24 hours. It does not include recording videos, logo design or ad management.

Which apps have no native mobile app at all?

Of the ten here, Paperbell and CoachAccountable have no native mobile app according to their profiles; clients use a mobile browser. That works for session-only coaching but leaves little for clients to open between sessions.

Can I use these apps for grief therapy or clinical records?

Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and is not for clinical record-keeping or insurance billing, and CoachAccountable says it is not HIPAA compliant. If you are a licensed clinician treating grief, use a system built for clinical work and check its compliance terms directly.

How should check-ins be worded for grieving clients?

Keep them short and optional: one scale question and one open question is usually enough. Avoid wording that implies progress is expected on a schedule, and leave anniversaries and hard dates light.

Should grief clients be put in a group community?

Only if they want it. Some people find peers who share a loss very supportive; others want to grieve privately. Choose an app where groups are opt-in, and moderate any community actively.

Is an AI chat between sessions appropriate for grief clients?

Use caution. Coachful's AI Coach is configured by the coach and enabled only for selected clients, so you can leave it off for grief work. AI chat should never be the way risk is spotted or handled; you read and respond to what clients share.

What does a grief coaching app cost?

Community and course platforms in this list start at $89 to $179 a month (some billed annually), plus platform fees on sales. Fitness apps start free for a handful of clients. Coachful's current plans are listed on its plans page.

Can I move my existing clients into a new app?

With Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding, and you can export all client data as a ZIP later. With other tools, check what the export includes before you commit, especially messages and written reflections.

Join Coachful now
Share

More in Best of

Best of

Best App for Leadership Coaches in 2026 (10 Compared)

Ten client apps compared for leadership coaches, ranked by what clients do between sessions: check-ins, programs, messaging, cohorts and progress, with real stack costs.

Oct 27, 202628 min
Best App for Leadership Coaches in 2026 (10 Compared)
Best of

Best App for Divorce Coaches in 2026 (12 Compared)

Twelve client-facing apps compared for divorce coaches: what clients install on their phone between sessions, how branded it feels, what it costs and which tools have no native app at all.

Oct 27, 202634 min
Best App for Divorce Coaches in 2026 (12 Compared)
Best of

Best Platform for Divorce Coaches: Top 10 Picks for 2026

Ten platforms for selling and delivering divorce coaching online, ranked on how much of checkout, programs, community and sessions runs in one place, and what each costs at 5, 15 and 40 clients.

Oct 27, 202631 min
Best Platform for Divorce Coaches: Top 10 Picks for 2026

Start Your Coaching
Journey Today

You didn't become a coach to manage 6 apps. Try Coachful free — takes 5 minutes — and watch your coaching business take off.

Elizabeth Gentzkow
Emily Fulcher
John Winders
James Wallace
Salma Mostafa

Built for coaches who take their clients seriously

Elizabeth Gentzkow
Emily Fulcher
John Winders
James Wallace
Salma Mostafa
Christopher Duff
Gilli Moon Aliotti
Margie Wilson
Lakayann Outerbridge
Coachful
Coachful
BlogPrivacyTermsRefundsContact

© 2026 Coachful. All rights reserved.