Best Health Coaching Software in 2026: 8 Platforms for Habit Change, Check-ins and Clients Who Stick

The best health coaching software has a harder job than coaching software generally, and the reason is boring: the result lives outside the session. A business coach can do most of the work in the hour. A health coach is trying to change what somebody eats on a Wednesday, whether they walk before work, and whether they sleep before midnight, and none of that happens while you are on the call. The software either follows the client into their week or it does not, and that single distinction sorts this whole category.
This page is for non-clinical health and wellness coaches, habit and behavior-change coaches, nutrition-leaning coaches who are not prescribing medical nutrition therapy, and people doing corporate wellness under a company contract. It is also, in two places, for clinical and clinically adjacent coaches, because the HIPAA question changes the answer completely. "Best" here means the tool that tracks behavior between sessions, handles the compliance question you actually have, and does not price you out as your roster grows.
Prices, plan names and client caps below were checked on 15 September 2026. Five come from our competitor registry with G2, Capterra and Trustpilot ratings attached. Three, Practice Better, Healthie and Nutrium, were read from the vendor's own pricing page that morning. Vendors move prices, so confirm before you put a card in.

How we judged these eight
Four questions decide this purchase. Answer them the way your practice works this month, not the way you hope it works in March, and the shortlist collapses from eight to two.
1. Does your result depend on what the client does between sessions?
For almost every health coach the answer is yes, which means three specific things: a habit your client can tick daily, a recurring check-in that asks the same questions every week so the answers are comparable, and one place to see adherence across the whole roster without opening fourteen client records.
Only three tools here ship all three natively. Coachful has habits with morning and evening check-ins and streaks, upcoach has a habit tracker and daily check-ins reviewers single out as the best they have used, and CoachAccountable has routine tracking and custom metrics with reminders. Everyone else approximates: Simply.Coach calls them nudges and action plans, Quenza uses recurring activities, Practice Better and Healthie lean on charting and forms. Those are real features and they are not a daily tick that builds a streak, which is the difference between a client who opens the app on day nine and one who does not.
2. Is anyone in your buying chain going to say the word HIPAA?
This is binary, and it is why two clinical platforms sit high on this list. You need HIPAA handled if you are a licensed clinician, if you are contracted by a healthcare provider or a health plan, or if you bill insurance. Health coaching on its own does not make you a covered entity in the United States.
If you do need it, Practice Better states HIPAA, PIPEDA and GDPR compliance on every plan including the free tier, Healthie states HIPAA and SOC 2, and Simply.Coach claims SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR. Everyone else either says plainly that they are not HIPAA compliant, as CoachAccountable and Coachful do, or does not address it in a way we could verify.
3. Are you priced per client, per coach, or per participant?
Health coaching rosters grow in a lumpy way. You sign four people from one corporate lunch-and-learn, and a pricing model you chose at eight clients is suddenly the wrong shape. CoachAccountable charges by active client, from $20/mo for 2 up to $250/mo for 50. upcoach charges by participant band and adds a platform fee on top of Stripe. Simply.Coach, Practice Better, Healthie, Nutrium and Quenza all cap clients per tier. Coachful caps at 5 on Lite and 20 on Solo, then goes unlimited at $99 Pro.
Price shape beats price tag. CoachAccountable's published ladder runs $20/mo for 2 active clients to $250/mo for 50, so a 40-person habit-change roster costs $250 a month there and $99 on a flat unlimited plan.
4. Will your client actually open it on a Tuesday morning?
A habit tracker nobody opens is a spreadsheet with a login. The practical test is whether there is a phone app, whether it carries your name rather than the vendor's, and whether the daily action takes under fifteen seconds. Coachful, Simply.Coach, Quenza, upcoach, Practice Better and Healthie all have client apps. CoachAccountable does not, and documents an add-to-home-screen shortcut instead, which is an honest answer and still a worse one for a habit product.

The eight platforms at a glance
The order follows those four questions. Coachful takes the top slot because habits, recurring check-ins and multi-week programs are native rather than approximated, at a flat price. Practice Better and Healthie take the next two because they answer the HIPAA question nothing else here can, and for a clinical or clinic-contracted coach that settles the purchase before any other feature matters. upcoach and CoachAccountable follow on behavior-change depth, Nutrium on meal planning nothing else does, Simply.Coach on corporate reporting, and Quenza last because it has no payments, scheduling or video, so it is always a second subscription rather than a first.
| Tool | Entry price (monthly) | Priced by | Habits and daily check-ins | HIPAA position | Strongest public rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | From $29 Lite (5 clients); $49 Solo (20 clients); $99 Pro, unlimited | Per coach, flat | Yes, habits with morning and evening check-ins and streaks | GDPR-ready, not HIPAA-certified | Trustpilot 4.5 from 21 reviews |
| Practice Better | Free Sprout (3 clients), then $35 Starter (10 clients) | Per practitioner with client caps | No habit tracker; charting, forms and protocols | States HIPAA, PIPEDA and GDPR on every plan | Not in our registry; ratings not verified |
| Healthie | $19.99 Core (10 active clients) | Per provider with client caps | No habit tracker; charting, goals and programs | States HIPAA and SOC 2 | Not in our registry; ratings not verified |
| upcoach | $49 Starter billed annually (25 active participants) | Per participant band plus team seats | Yes, habit tracker and daily check-ins | Not offered | Capterra 4.9 from 8 reviews |
| CoachAccountable | $20 (2 clients), $70 at 10 clients | Per active client | Yes, routine tracking and custom metrics | States it is not HIPAA compliant | Capterra 5.0 from 67 reviews |
| Nutrium | $25 (up to 10 customers a month), $39 unlimited | Per professional | No habit tracker; progress tracking and visual reports | Not stated on the pricing page | Not in our registry; ratings not verified |
| Simply.Coach | $9 (3 clients), $49 at 30 clients | Per coach with client caps | Nudges and action plans, no dedicated habit tracker | Claims SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR | G2 4.8 from 146 reviews |
| Quenza | $25 Spark (10 clients) | Per professional with client caps | Recurring activities and journaling, no habit tracker | EU-hosted and GDPR; HIPAA we could not verify | G2 4.9 from 20 reviews |
Two things worth staring at. Rating samples run from 8 reviews to 146, so a 4.9 from eight coaches does not outrank a 4.6 from forty-one. And the entry price is rarely the price you pay: Practice Better's free tier caps at 3 clients, Healthie's $19.99 Core at 10, Quenza's $25 Spark at 10, and Simply.Coach's $9 Starter gives you three clients, one contract and one program.
1. Coachful: habits, check-ins and programs on one client record, at a flat price
Coachful is a coaching platform rather than a clinical records system, which for non-clinical health and wellness work is the right shape. The client record is a person with a program, goals, habits, daily check-ins, sessions, payments and form responses attached, so adherence and admin live in the same place instead of in an app and a spreadsheet that disagree by Thursday.
The delivery side earns the slot. Programs run as multi-week structures with weekly goals and daily tasks, habits carry morning and evening check-ins and streaks, and cohort squads are created when a group enrolls, which is how a twelve-week challenge becomes a group chat and a feed without you building one. Michelle, the AI assistant, works from live practice data and briefs you before a session, so you walk in already knowing who missed four check-ins.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Lite $29/mo for up to 5 clients, or $19/mo billed annually. Solo $49/mo for up to 20 clients, or $39/mo annually. Pro $99/mo for unlimited clients, or $79/mo annually. Studio $199/mo for 3 coach seats and Agency $299/mo for 6. Every feature is on every plan; the cap is on clients, not capability. There is no free plan. The trial is 7 days, card required, no charge during the trial, cancel in one click. The platform fee is 0%, so after Stripe or Razorpay processing you keep the rest.
Ratings: Trustpilot 4.5 from 21 reviews. That is a smaller public sample than CoachAccountable's or Simply.Coach's, and we would rather say so than dress it up. The full reviews wall is public if you want to read it unfiltered.

What stands out
- Habits and check-ins are the product. Daily habits with streaks, morning and evening check-ins and goals with progress bars hang off the same client record as the sessions and the payments.
- Flat pricing with a real unlimited tier. $99/mo Pro carries unlimited clients, so a 60-person cohort costs what a 20-person one costs. Nothing else here does that under $100.
- Groups come with enrollment. Cohort squads are created automatically, with a community feed, group chat and video events, so a twelve-week program is a group without a second community subscription.
- The selling side is included. Website builder with a blog and custom domain, funnels, a link-in-bio hub with checkout and Apple Pay, email sequences with triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits, e-signature agreements, and Stripe Connect or Razorpay at 0%.
- Your branding on their phone. The client app carries your logo and colors inside the Coachful listing; your website, client home and email carry your domain.
The honest catch
- GDPR-ready, not HIPAA-certified. If you are a clinician, bill insurance, or a hospital's procurement team is reviewing your vendors, buy Practice Better or Healthie instead. We will not sign a business associate agreement, and better you hear it now than after you migrate.
- No nutrition database and no workout builder. If your deliverable is a macro-calculated meal plan or a periodized training block, that is Nutrium's job or a fitness tool's. Coachful handles the behavior around the plan, not the calculation.

Best for: non-clinical health, wellness, habit-change and nutrition-adjacent coaches who run multi-week programs or challenge cohorts and want the adherence data, the group and the billing on one login. More at Coachful for health coaches and the full feature list at what Coachful includes.


2. Practice Better: the cheapest way to get a real HIPAA posture
Practice Better is a practice management and electronic health record system built for nutritionists, dietitians, functional medicine practitioners and health coaches who sit close to the clinical line. Charting, notes, protocols, supplement recommendations, telehealth and billing were all designed for practitioners whose paperwork is regulated rather than merely tidy.
For a health coach the relevant point is that it treats compliance as table stakes rather than an enterprise upsell. The free Sprout tier for students and new practitioners carries the same compliance statement as the paid ones, which is useful if you are a year from your first paying client and want to start in a system you will not have to leave.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Sprout is free for 3 clients and 1 practitioner. Starter is $35/mo, or $25/mo billed annually, for 10 clients and 1 practitioner. Professional is $69/mo, or $59/mo annually, for 300 clients. Plus is $99/mo, or $89/mo annually, for unlimited clients plus 3 admin licenses. Team is $155/mo, or $145/mo annually, with 2 practitioner licenses and additional practitioners at $50 each up to 200. The trial is 14 days on paid plans and 30 days on Team. The pricing page does not specify transaction fees for its own payment processing, so we could not verify them.
What stands out
- HIPAA, PIPEDA and GDPR on every plan, including the free one. That is the cheapest documented compliance posture here by a wide margin.
- Charting is real charting. Notes, protocols, intake, telehealth and billing built for practitioners rather than adapted from a project tool.
- The client cap at Professional is 300, which is a roster most health coaches will never reach, at $69/mo.
The honest catch
- No habit tracker and no daily streaks. Forms, journals and charting instead. If your product is a 90-day habit-change program, you are asking clients to fill a form where a tick would do.
- No community and no cohort groups. Group programs are not the design center, so a challenge cohort needs a second tool.
- It is an EHR and it feels like one. If your clients are wellness buyers rather than patients, the clinical framing sits heavier than the relationship warrants.
Best for: dietitians, functional nutrition practitioners and clinically adjacent health coaches who need a compliance answer in writing and are not running group challenges.

3. Healthie: the clinical platform for a health coaching business that will hire
Healthie is the other serious clinical option here, aimed at nutrition and health practices that will grow into teams, bill insurance, or build a virtual care program. It covers scheduling, payment processing, charting, telehealth, a client portal and a mobile app, and the higher plans add group telehealth, online programs and claims tooling.
It separates from Practice Better at the top of the range rather than the bottom. The Group plan is built around shared calendars, team member management, roles and permissions and internal chat, which is the shape of a growing virtual practice rather than a solo coach with an assistant, and it states SOC 2 alongside HIPAA, the pair a corporate procurement team asks for.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Core is $19.99/mo, or $18/mo billed annually, for 10 active clients. Essentials is $49.99/mo, or $45/mo annually, for 250 active clients. Plus is $129.99/mo, or $115/mo annually, for unlimited clients. Group starts at $149.99/mo, or $135/mo annually, for unlimited clients with team member management at $50/mo per additional clinician. The trial is 14 days with no card. Payment processing is 2.9% plus $0.30 per transaction, and integrations carry their own fees, with ClaimMD starting at $30/mo and DoseSpot at $40 per clinician per month.
What stands out
- HIPAA and SOC 2 together, which is the combination that clears a corporate wellness procurement review rather than just a clinical one.
- $19.99/mo Core is the lowest clinical entry price here, and 10 active clients is a real starting practice rather than a demo.
- Group telehealth and online programs on Plus, so a group cohort is possible without leaving the platform.
The honest catch
- The real cost is the add-ons. Processing at 2.9% plus $0.30, ClaimMD from $30/mo and DoseSpot at $40 per clinician stack up, and none of it appears in the headline price.
- No habit tracker or daily streak mechanic. Goals and charting, yes. A tick your client does before coffee, no.
- Unlimited clients costs $129.99/mo, which is the most expensive route to an uncapped roster in this group.
Best for: health coaching businesses that will hire clinicians, bill insurance, or sell into companies that run a formal vendor review.
4. upcoach: the best habit tracking in the group, with a fee on top
upcoach is built around cohort and group programs: bootcamps, masterminds, challenges, twelve-week transformations. Participants get a workspace with lessons, tasks, events and a community feed, and the coach gets progress dashboards showing who is on track without opening individual records. For a health coach who runs cohorts rather than one-to-one, that is the right shape.
Its habit and progress tracking is the feature reviewers keep naming, one describing it as something they had never seen in another product. It also shipped an MCP integration, so you can build programs and pull reports from Claude or ChatGPT, the first of its kind in this category.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: the published plans are annual. Starter is $49/mo billed annually for 25 active participants, 1 team seat and a 2% transaction fee. Pro is $99/mo billed annually for 100 participants, 2 seats and a 1% fee. Business+ is $199/mo billed annually for 250 participants, 5 seats and a 0.5% fee, with an extra 100 participants at $99/mo. Scale is $399/mo billed annually for 500 or more participants, 10 seats and a 0% fee. Enterprise is custom. Monthly-billed prices are listed on third-party directories but we could not verify them on the vendor's own pricing page, so treat only the annual figures as confirmed. The trial is 14 days with no card and there is a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Ratings: Capterra 4.9 from 8 reviews with a 4.8 support rating. That is a very small sample, and the AppSumo score sits at 4.08 across 78 reviews, which is a fuller and less flattering picture.
What stands out
- Habit tracking and daily check-ins that reviewers rate above everything else they have used.
- Cohorts are the design center. Programs, tasks, lessons, events, community and dashboards are one product, not five modules.
- Multi-role team access on every plan, including admins, facilitators and sponsors, which suits a corporate wellness contract with an HR observer.
The honest catch
- A platform fee on top of Stripe until $399/mo. 2% on Starter, 1% on Pro, 0.5% on Business+.
- No contracts, no invoicing, no Outlook sync. Reviewers report the missing sync directly, and e-signature agreements are not part of the product.
- Privacy complaints worth reading. AppSumo reviewers cite a missing data processing agreement and an inability to delete client accounts, and the terms require an Article 9 lawful basis for health data, which is exactly the data a health coach handles.
- Setup has jumps of logic, in reviewers' words, and the interface is described as having scope for improvement.
Best for: health coaches whose business is cohort challenges and group transformations, who can live without contracts and invoicing.
The fee you forget to model. upcoach charges 2% on Starter and 1% on Pro on top of Stripe, so a coach selling $5,000 a month hands over $100 or $50 before the processor takes its cut.

5. CoachAccountable: the deepest metrics engine, priced per client
CoachAccountable has shipped since 2012 and it is the most serious accountability system in the category. Action items, custom metrics, worksheets, drip courses and routine tracking are all first-class, and the follow-through report gives you the number most health coaches want and almost never have: what percentage of assigned actions a client actually completed.
For a health coach the metrics feature is the draw. You define what gets measured, whether that is weight, sleep hours, steps or energy on a one-to-ten scale, the client logs it, and it charts. It is a measurement and follow-through engine that tracks whatever you decide matters, not a nutrition database, and it does not pretend to be one.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: per active client. Starter $20/mo for up to 2 clients, Level 1 $40 for 5, Level 2 $70 for 10, Level 3 $120 for 20, Level 3.5 $200 for 35, Level 4 $250 for 50. Coach and admin accounts are unlimited on every tier and every tier is fully featured. The trial is 30 days with no card, and there are no setup or cancellation fees. No platform transaction fee is stated on the pricing page; Stripe, Square and PayPal processor fees apply.
Ratings: Capterra 5.0 from 67 reviews, Trustpilot 4.8 from 46, G2 4.7 from 11. That is the strongest verified sentiment on this page, with founder-led support named repeatedly by reviewers.
What stands out
- Custom metrics with reminders, so you can track sleep, steps or energy without buying a fitness tool.
- Follow-through reporting that quantifies adherence across the roster rather than leaving you to eyeball it.
- Unlimited coaches and admins on every plan. A three-coach wellness practice sharing 20 clients pays $120/mo total, not three subscriptions.
- A 30-day trial with no card, month-to-month billing, and an unpaid-invoice lockout that suspends portal access instead of making you send a fourth awkward email.
The honest catch
- Per-client pricing punishes group work, the most-cited complaint on Capterra. A 50-person challenge is $250/mo for people who each use a fraction of the tooling.
- No native mobile app. The documented answer is an add-to-home-screen shortcut, which is a real handicap for a daily habit product.
- No website, no landing pages, no marketing automation, so you keep your existing site and email tool.
- It states plainly that it is not HIPAA compliant even though its server environment is, and it refuses AI or ML processing of coaching content on principle. Depending on your clients, that last line is either the best thing on their website or a dealbreaker.
Best for: one-to-one health coaches with modest client counts who want measurement depth above everything, and small practices sharing a client list. See CoachAccountable alternatives or Coachful vs CoachAccountable.

Adherence is a number, not a feeling. A practice-level view that reads 72% task completion and an 81% check-in rate tells you where to spend Monday morning; fourteen separate client records do not.
6. Nutrium: the meal-planning specialist, at $39 for unlimited clients
Nutrium is nutrition software rather than coaching software, built for dietitians and nutrition professionals. Meal plans, diet assessment, nutritional analysis, recipes and food databases are the core, with scheduling, reminders, secure chat, telehealth, progress tracking and invoicing built around them.
It earns a place here because meal planning is a real health coaching job that nothing else on this page does at all. If a client is paying for a structured eating plan with nutritional analysis behind it, no amount of habit tracking substitutes for the calculation. Nutrium does that part properly and prices it sanely.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: two plans. Unlimited clients is $39/mo, or $25/mo billed annually at $299 a year. A capped plan at up to 10 customers a month is $25/mo, or $15/mo billed annually at $179 a year. Both include the full feature set: personalized meal plans, automated scheduling and reminders, secure chat and telehealth, diet assessment and nutritional analysis, progress tracking with visual reports, payment and invoicing management, and over 100 templates, recipes and infographics. The trial is 14 days. Prices are also shown in euros and Brazilian reais.
What stands out
- Unlimited clients at $39/mo, the cheapest uncapped roster on this page by a distance.
- Actual nutritional analysis, not a content library pretending to be one.
- Scheduling, chat, telehealth and invoicing are included rather than gated, so it is a complete practice tool for a nutrition-first coach.
The honest catch
- No habit tracker, no daily check-ins, no streaks. Progress tracking is measurement over time, not a daily behavior loop.
- No community, no cohorts, no group programs. One-to-one nutrition consulting is the model.
- Nutrium states GDPR and HIPAA compliance on its site, so if HIPAA governs your work you need to ask directly rather than assume.
Best for: nutrition-first coaches and dietitians whose deliverable is the meal plan, who want one cheap tool for the whole consulting workflow.

7. Simply.Coach: the corporate wellness answer with compliance claims attached
Simply.Coach is built for coaches whose invoices are paid by an HR department rather than the person in the chair. Stakeholder reporting is the feature nobody else here ships properly: if you coach an employee whose wellness program is sponsored by their employer, you have to report progress to the sponsor without exposing session content, and that loop exists here as custom reports, scheduled stakeholder reports and NPS on higher tiers.
It also claims SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR compliance, unusual at a $9 entry price and the practical reason it wins corporate deals. Native iOS and Android apps, embedded video plus Zoom, Teams and Google Meet, and calendar sync with Google and Microsoft 365 round it out.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Starter $9/mo for 3 clients, 1 contract and 1 program. Essentials $29/mo for 7 clients, 3 contracts and 3 programs. Growth $49/mo for 30 clients with multiple calendars, recurring sessions and your logo. Leap $69/mo for unlimited clients with a white-labelled platform, your domain and 100GB. Business tiers price per active coach: CoCreate $79 per coach for 10 clients each, 2 admins and 5 sponsors; Surge $159 per coach for 25 clients each with white-label and a custom domain. The trial is 14 days with no card, capped at 3 clients and 10 sessions. Transaction fees are stated as GDPR and HIPAA compliant on its site, so we could not verify them.
Ratings: G2 4.8 from 146 reviews, the largest verified sample on this page, plus Capterra 4.6 from 41 with customer support rated 4.9.
What stands out
- Stakeholder and sponsor reporting designed for employer-funded coaching, including sponsor roles on the business tiers.
- SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR claims at a $9 entry price, which no other non-clinical tool here matches.
- 146 G2 reviews at 4.8, a far bigger sample than most of this category can show.
The honest catch
- Caps on everything below Leap. Contracts are rationed on every solo tier, and client caps force upgrades at 3, 7 and 30.
- The trial is capped at 3 clients and 10 sessions, which makes it hard to test a client-cap product properly.
- Nudges and action plans are not a habit tracker. There is no daily streak mechanic and no dedicated habit product.
- No community, no funnels, no marketing automation, and reviewers consistently cite a steep setup and navigation curve with feature overwhelm for small practices.
Best for: health and wellness coaches delivering employer-funded programs who need sponsor reporting and a compliance claim in the contract. See Coachful vs Simply.Coach or the Simply.Coach alternative breakdown.
8. Quenza: the exercise library that is always a second subscription
Quenza comes out of the positive psychology world and its strength is the activity and assessment builder. You get between 100 and 400 pre-made science-based exercises depending on tier plus the tools to build your own, and Pathways string them into step-by-step programs with scheduled drops. For a health coach whose work leans psychological, so stress, motivation, emotional eating, identity around food, the library is the best on this page.
It is also the narrowest tool here. No payment processing, no invoicing, no native booking and no video, which reviewers name directly. Quenza is a delivery layer you add to a business you already run somewhere else.
Price, checked 15 September 2026: Spark $25/mo, or $20/mo annually, for 1 professional, up to 10 clients and a core library of 100-plus activities. Growth $50/mo, or $40/mo annually, for up to 250 clients, adding file sharing, groups, landing pages and 200-plus activities. Impact $125/mo, or $100/mo annually, for up to 400 clients with a custom domain and 400-plus activities. Collective $160/mo, or $128/mo annually, for up to 3 professionals and 500 clients with team chat and API access. Beyond is custom pricing for unlimited clients and professionals. The trial is 30 days with no card and no commitment.
Ratings: G2 4.9 from 20 reviews, Capterra 4.8 from 33, Trustpilot 4.3 from 8. Consistently strong across three sites, on small samples.
What stands out
- The activity and assessment builder is best in class, with a large library of pre-made exercises you can adapt rather than write.
- Pathways deliver programs on a schedule, so a 12-week psychological arc can run without you sending anything manually.
- A 30-day trial with no card, the joint longest here alongside CoachAccountable.
The honest catch
- No payments, no invoicing, no booking, no video. Budget for a second and probably a third subscription.
- The 10-client cap on Spark pushes almost every working coach to Growth at $50.
- The client app is not white-label, so your client sees Quenza's name rather than yours.
- HIPAA is marketed in places but we could not verify it on the pages we fetched. It is EU-hosted and GDPR-aligned, so ask directly if it governs your work.
Best for: health coaches with a psychological or behavioral focus who already have booking and billing elsewhere and want a serious exercise library.
HIPAA for health coaches: who actually needs it
HIPAA applies to covered entities and their business associates under United States law. In practice that means a licensed clinician, someone contracted by a healthcare provider or health plan, someone billing insurance, or someone whose vendor list is being reviewed by a hospital. A health coach paid directly by the individual for lifestyle, habit and wellness work is generally none of those. The phrase "I handle health information" is not the test; your legal relationship to a covered entity is the test.
Where these eight stand on 15 September 2026:
- Practice Better states HIPAA, PIPEDA and GDPR compliance on every plan, including the free Sprout tier.
- Healthie states HIPAA and SOC 2.
- Simply.Coach claims SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR.
- CoachAccountable states plainly that it is not HIPAA compliant even though its server environment is, which is an unusually honest disclosure.
- Coachful is GDPR-ready with a full data export ZIP and is not HIPAA-certified. If a client's employer needs a signed business associate agreement, we are not your tool.
- upcoach does not offer HIPAA, and its terms require you to have a lawful basis under Article 9 for handling health data.
- Quenza is EU-hosted and GDPR-aligned; HIPAA is marketed elsewhere but we could not verify it on the pages we fetched.
- Nutrium states GDPR and HIPAA compliance on its site; confirm the BAA terms directly before relying on it.
One caution about the word compliant. A vendor claiming HIPAA compliance is not the same as a vendor who will sign a business associate agreement for your account, on your plan, this week. Ask for the agreement in writing before you migrate, and if the answer is a marketing page rather than a document, treat it as a no.
Compliance on the free tier. Practice Better lists HIPAA, PIPEDA and GDPR on every plan including the free Sprout tier for 3 clients, which is the cheapest documented posture on this page.
What a year actually costs: three worked examples
Headline prices mislead here because client caps, participant bands and transaction fees all move the real number. Three health coaching businesses, priced on the plans each vendor publishes, using annual billing where it is offered.
The 12-client one-to-one wellness coach selling $3,000 a month
Coachful Solo covers 20 clients at $39/mo billed annually, so $468 a year with a 0% platform fee. CoachAccountable at 12 clients needs Level 3 at $120/mo, so $1,440. Practice Better Professional is $59/mo annually, so $708. Simply.Coach Growth is $49/mo for 30 clients, so $588. Healthie Essentials is $45/mo annually, so $540 plus 2.9% and $0.30 on $36,000 processed, roughly $1,584 all in. Quenza Growth is $40/mo annually, so $480, plus booking and billing elsewhere, realistically another $400 to $700.
The challenge-cohort coach running 60 people through a 12-week reset
This is where price shape decides it. Coachful Pro is $79/mo billed annually for unlimited clients, so $948 a year. CoachAccountable at 60 active clients sits above the $250 Level 4 tier, so $3,000 at minimum. upcoach at 60 participants is Pro at $99/mo annually, so $1,188, plus a 1% platform fee on everything you sell. Simply.Coach needs Leap at $69/mo for unlimited clients, so $828. Nutrium is $299 a year for unlimited clients and has no cohort, no community and no habit tracking, so it does not do this job at all.

The clinically adjacent nutrition practice about to hire a second practitioner
Practice Better Team is $145/mo annually, so $1,740 a year, with additional practitioners at $50 each. Healthie Group starts at $135/mo annually, so $1,620, plus $50/mo per additional clinician, 2.9% plus $0.30 on processing, and ClaimMD from $30/mo if you submit claims. Coachful Studio is $159/mo billed annually for 3 coach seats, so $1,908, and it is the wrong buy here because it is not HIPAA-certified. That is the point of the whole exercise: the cheapest plan that cannot do the job is not cheap.

The setup afternoon: getting a 14-client roster running
Migration is the part people underestimate, and it is rarely the data that costs you. It is rebuilding your content in a new format. The order that works, in roughly one afternoon:
First, export from wherever you are now. Do it on day one of the trial, while the old subscription is still live. CoachAccountable has a per-client Export button that pulls the complete coaching history with selectable item types. upcoach exports clients to CSV including custom fields. Simply.Coach states all data can be exported to spreadsheets. Quenza's export is not documented on the pages we fetched and its activity builder uses a proprietary format, so expect a manual rebuild. Coachful produces a full ZIP with roster, notes, check-ins, goals, habits, sessions and form responses.
Second, rebuild one program, not all of them. Take the one you sell most, build it week by week with its goals, daily tasks and habits, and stop. Coaches lose whole weekends rebuilding six programs in a tool they then abandon. On Coachful clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding rather than left as homework.
Third, run one real client through the whole chain. Booking, agreement, payment, first check-in, first habit tick, first week's review. The gaps in a tool never show up in the feature list. They show up in the handoffs between those six steps, and forty minutes will find them.

Fourth, set the check-in cadence before you invite anyone else. Decide what the morning check-in asks and what the evening one asks, then do not change the questions for at least eight weeks. A recurring check-in is worth something because the answers are comparable over time, and a question you reworded in week three has quietly destroyed its own trend line.

Five mistakes health coaches make when picking software
Buying for the roster you want. A 60-client plan for a 9-client practice is money you could spend on ads. Almost every tool here lets you move up mid-cycle, and Coachful, CoachAccountable and Simply.Coach bill month to month. Buy for this quarter.
Assuming HIPAA applies because the work touches health. It is a legal relationship, not a topic. Coaches pay a premium for a clinical platform they did not need, then fight an EHR's charting workflow to deliver a habit program. If nobody is asking for a business associate agreement, that money buys a better client app.
Ignoring transaction fees. upcoach charges 2% on Starter and 1% on Pro before Stripe, Healthie's own processing is 2.9% plus $0.30, and Coachful's platform fee is 0%. On $60,000 of annual sales a 2% platform fee is $1,200, more than the entire subscription for most tools here.
Treating a form as a check-in. A form your client fills out when you remember to send it is not a check-in. A check-in recurs on a schedule, asks the same questions and produces a trend. Three of these eight do that natively; the rest have you sending links.
Not testing the export before committing a year of notes. Three products in this category went dark inside eight months, and one hit health coaches hardest of all. Nudge Coach, the habit and health-tracking app a large number of health, wellness and fitness coaches ran their whole practice on, shut down on 30 April 2025. Practice.do went offline on 3 November 2025 with roughly two weeks of notice and no read-only mode, and Profi ended access on 31 December 2025, where coaches lost session notes they had not exported. All three were credible when people signed up. Click the export button in week one, keep the file on your own disk, and repeat quarterly.
The habit app that closed. Nudge Coach, which a large share of health and wellness coaches used for tracking, shut down on 30 April 2025, followed by Practice.do on 3 November 2025 and Profi on 31 December 2025.



The verdict
For a non-clinical health or wellness coach, Coachful is the pick. Habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals and multi-week programs are native rather than approximated, cohort squads and a community come with enrollment, the selling tools are in the same subscription, the platform fee is 0%, and unlimited clients costs $99/mo, or $79 billed annually, rather than $130 or $250. Start at $29 Lite for five clients, $49 Solo up to twenty.
Three exceptions, and they are real. If you are a clinician, bill insurance, or a procurement team is reviewing your vendors, buy Practice Better for a solo or small practice and Healthie if you are building a team that will hire clinicians. If your deliverable is a calculated meal plan with nutritional analysis behind it, Nutrium does that job at $39/mo for unlimited clients and nothing else here does it at all. And if your entire business is cohort challenges and you can live without contracts and invoicing, upcoach has the habit tracking reviewers rate highest, as long as you have modeled the 2% or 1% platform fee.
One line to add to the arithmetic: Practice Better, Healthie, Nutrium, CoachAccountable and Quenza all assume you already have a website and an email tool, and Coachful includes both. If you pay for a site builder and a sender on top of your coaching software today, recalculate before you compare headline prices. For the same market from the delivery side, read the best all-in-one software for coaches, and what coaching software actually costs breaks the pricing models down further.
Frequently asked questions
What is health coaching software?
Software that handles both sides of a health coaching practice: the business side, meaning booking, payments, agreements and client records, and the behavior side, meaning habits, daily check-ins, goals and multi-week programs. The second half separates it from generic coaching software. A tool that only books and bills leaves what happens on a Wednesday to text messages and memory.
Do health coaches need HIPAA-compliant software?
Only if you are a covered entity or a business associate under United States law, which usually means you are licensed, you bill insurance, or you are contracted by a healthcare provider. Wellness coaching paid for directly by the individual generally is not. If you do need it, Practice Better states HIPAA on every plan including the free tier and Healthie states HIPAA plus SOC 2. Coachful and CoachAccountable both state plainly that they are not.
Which health coaching software has the best habit tracking?
Three tools do it natively. Coachful has habits with morning and evening check-ins and streaks on the client app, linked to goals with progress bars. upcoach has a habit tracker and daily check-ins reviewers call the best they have used. CoachAccountable has routine tracking and custom metrics with reminders, the most configurable of the three, though it has no native mobile app. Everything else uses forms, journals or nudges.
How much does health coaching software cost in 2026?
Most working health coaches land between $29 and $99 a month. Checked on 15 September 2026, entry prices run from Practice Better's free 3-client Sprout tier and Simply.Coach's $9 up to upcoach's $49 billed annually. Unlimited clients costs $39/mo at Nutrium, $69 at Simply.Coach Leap, $99 at Coachful Pro and $129.99 at Healthie Plus. Watch transaction fees: upcoach adds 2% on Starter and Healthie's processing is 2.9% plus $0.30.
Can I run a group health challenge on this software?
Only some of it. Coachful creates a cohort squad automatically when a group enrolls, with a community feed, group chat and video events, and Pro carries unlimited clients at $99/mo. upcoach is built around cohorts and masterminds. CoachAccountable has groups that share actions and metrics but charges per active client, so a 60-person challenge is $250/mo or more. Practice Better, Healthie, Nutrium and Quenza are built for one-to-one work.
Is there free health coaching software?
Practice Better's Sprout plan is free for 3 clients and 1 practitioner with the same compliance statement as the paid tiers, the only genuine free plan among these eight. Coachful has no free plan; it runs a 7-day trial that requires a card, does not charge during the trial and cancels in one click. CoachAccountable and Quenza both offer 30-day trials with no card.
Do these platforms include meal plans or workout programs?
Nutrium does meal plans properly, with diet assessment and nutritional analysis behind them, for $39/mo with unlimited clients. Practice Better and Healthie handle protocols and charting in a clinical frame. Coachful has no nutrition database and no workout builder and does not claim one; it handles the behavior around the plan, so the habits, the check-ins and the weekly structure. If the calculation is your deliverable, pair a specialist tool or pick one.
Which health coaching software has a client mobile app?
Coachful, Simply.Coach, Quenza, upcoach, Practice Better and Healthie all ship one. Coachful's carries your branding inside the Coachful listing, and Quenza's stays Quenza-branded. CoachAccountable has no native app and documents an add-to-home-screen shortcut instead. For a daily habit product the difference between an app icon and a bookmarked web page shows up in whether the client ticks on day nine.
What happens to my client data if the platform shuts down?
Whatever you exported, and nothing more. Nudge Coach closed on 30 April 2025, Practice.do went offline on 3 November 2025, and Profi ended access on 31 December 2025. CoachAccountable has a per-client export of complete coaching history, upcoach exports clients to CSV, Simply.Coach exports to spreadsheets, and Coachful produces a full ZIP including notes, check-ins, goals and habits. Test yours in week one.
Join Coachful now
If the result depends on what your client does between Tuesday and the following Tuesday, the habit tracking, the check-ins, the group and the billing should not live in four subscriptions. Coachful puts them on one client record with your branding on their phone, unlimited clients at $99/mo on Pro, and a 0% platform fee on everything you sell.
Start the 7-day trial, run one existing client through booking, a first habit and a first week of check-ins, then export the data and see what comes out. That is the same test we told you to run on every tool on this page.




