Best Software for Functional Nutrition Practitioners: 10 Picks

The best software for functional nutrition practitioners is the one that carries a client from intake questionnaire to a 12-week protocol and keeps them on it between appointments. Most functional nutrition work happens in the gaps: the client logging meals and symptoms, swapping foods, building habits like a morning walk or an earlier dinner, and noticing patterns. So the deciding question is not "which tool has the longest feature list" but "where does my client live between sessions, and does my software reach them there?"
Our pick is Coachful, because it puts booking, payments, agreements, multi-week programs with daily habits and check-ins, nutrition targets and meal plans, courses and a community behind one login, with one branded app for the client. We make Coachful, so weigh that, and read the limits too: it is a coaching platform, not an electronic health record. If you chart clinically, order labs under a license or bill insurance, the practice-management tools further down the list will suit you better. Below you will find a five-question checklist, a table that maps your answers to a pick, ten ranked tools with prices as listed in October 2026, and costs at 5, 15 and 40 clients.
What does a functional nutrition practitioner actually need from software?
You need four things: a thorough intake, a way to deliver a phased protocol, daily contact between sessions, and a clean way to take payment for packages. Everything else (websites, courses, email) matters once you want to grow past referrals.
A typical client journey looks like this. Someone finds you through a referral or a talk, books a discovery call, and fills in a long intake: health history, current diet, digestion, sleep, energy, stress, supplements, goals. You agree on a package, often three or six months. Then the real work starts: an elimination or reintroduction phase, meal plans and recipes, habit changes, food and symptom journaling, and a check-in rhythm that tells you whether the plan is working before the next call.
Functional nutrition also sits close to clinical territory, which shapes your software choice. Functional medicine is a contested field, and Wikipedia's overview of functional medicine summarizes the debate around its evidence base. Your title, training and location decide what you may do. A registered dietitian, a licensed nutritionist and a certified health coach have different scopes.
Scope line: coaching is not treatment. A nutrition coach supports behavior change around food, sleep and habits; diagnosing conditions, interpreting labs to make a diagnosis or prescribing therapeutic diets for disease belongs to licensed clinicians. Refer the client to a physician or registered dietitian when they report new or worsening symptoms, suspected disordered eating, pregnancy, medication changes or any chronic condition that needs medical management. Health and wellness coaching bodies such as the National Board for Health and Wellness Coaching publish their own scope expectations for certified coaches.
Then there is HIPAA. The US Department of Health and Human Services explains that the Privacy Rule applies to covered entities, which include health care providers who transmit health information electronically in connection with standard transactions such as insurance claims. If that describes your practice, you need software that signs a business associate agreement. Many cash-pay coaches are not covered entities, but whether you are depends on your facts, so check with an attorney if you are unsure.
Which five questions decide your pick?
Answer these about your practice as it is today and as you want it in a year. Your answers point to a short list faster than any feature grid.
- Do you need clinical charting, a signed BAA or insurance billing? If yes, you need practice-management software built for that, and a coaching platform is the wrong primary tool.
- Do clients follow a phased protocol between sessions? Elimination phases, habit stacks, daily food and symptom check-ins. If yes, you need programs with daily tasks, habits and check-ins in a client app, not just a booking page.
- Do you run groups or plan to? A group reset, a cohort, a community space. Group delivery changes the math on per-client pricing.
- How many active clients will you have in 12 months? Five, fifteen or forty changes which pricing model hurts least.
- How many separate tools do you want to pay for and log into? A scheduler, a payment link, a form builder, an email tool, a course host and a habit app add up quickly, and each one is another place a client can get lost.
Which tool fits your answers?
Find the row that sounds most like you. If two rows apply, the one higher up usually matters more.
How we ranked: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery (habits, check-ins, programs), total stack cost at realistic client counts, and setup effort, including whether someone will build it for you.
| Rank and tool | Best when you answered... | Entry price as listed | Main gap for functional nutrition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | No to clinical charting; yes to protocols between sessions; want one tool for booking, payments, programs, groups and website | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Not HIPAA-certified; no clinical charting or insurance billing |
| 2. Everfit | Habits and nutrition logging matter most; you are comfortable with add-ons | Free for 5 clients; Pro from $19/mo | Payments, meal plans and automation are paid add-ons; no website or courses |
| 3. Quenza | You want worksheets, journals and psychoeducation-style activities | Spark $25/mo (10 clients) | No payments today; no scheduling |
| 4. Acuity Scheduling | You mainly need booking with intake forms, and possibly a BAA | Starter $20/mo | Scheduling only; no programs, habits or client app |
| 5. Practice Better | Yes to charting or a practitioner-style record | Free for 3 clients; Starter $35/mo | No website or funnels; branding and evergreen programs start at $99/mo |
| 6. CoachAccountable | You want worksheets, metrics and action plans, with a small roster | Starter $20/mo (2 clients) | Per-client pricing climbs quickly; no website or marketing |
| 7. Paperbell | You sell simple packages and want admin handled with minimal setup | $97/mo | No habits, check-ins, courses or community |
| 8. Kajabi | Your growth plan is courses and a paid community | Basic $179/mo | No per-client habits or daily check-ins |
| 9. Systeme.io | You need funnels and email on a tiny budget | Free plan; Startup $17/mo | No 1:1 scheduling with client records, habits or check-ins |
| 10. Calendly | You only need a booking link to start | Free plan; Standard $10/mo billed annually | No client records, programs, contracts or invoicing |
One more test before you read the sections: picture a client on day six of an elimination phase, at 7 p.m., unsure whether a food is allowed. Which tool do they open? If the honest answer is "they text me", your stack has a gap.
1. Coachful: why is it the best fit for most functional nutrition practices?
Coachful is the strongest pick when your clients follow a protocol between sessions and you would rather run one system than five. It covers the whole journey, from discovery call to the last week of the program, and the client sees all of it in one branded app.

What does Coachful cover for a functional nutrition practice?
Start with intake. Booking pages carry intake questions, so health history, current diet, symptoms and goals arrive before the first call and land on the client record. Availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection keep your calendar sane, and Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook calendars sync both ways. Sessions run on built-in video or on auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links, with email reminders, and SMS (24 hours before) and WhatsApp (1 hour before) once messaging is enabled.

Next, the agreement. A coaching agreement with e-signature goes out before the first call and is stored on the client record, which is where your scope language belongs: what you do, what you do not do, and when you will refer. See coaching contracts for how that works.
Payment runs through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time packages, subscriptions, payment plans for a six-month protocol, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Stripe Tax. Each transaction gets an invoice, and you can send manual invoices. Coachful takes a 0% platform fee (since August 2026), so you pay only Stripe or Razorpay processing.
The protocol itself is where Coachful earns its rank. Multi-week programs hold weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks. A gut-reset program can have a week for removal, a week for rebuilding, and a reintroduction phase, each with its own tasks and habits.

Coachful's Fitness & Nutrition pack adds the nutrition layer: nutrition targets up to calories and macros, meal plans, recipes, food lookup and barcode scanning, private progress photos and measurements, and weekly check-ins. For a functional practitioner the meal plans and recipes do most of the work; the targets matter only if you coach to numbers.
Check-ins are the daily pulse. A morning check-in can ask about sleep and energy; an evening one about digestion, cravings or symptoms. The answers sit on the client record next to goals, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions, and each client gets a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk, so you see who drifted before the next appointment. Here is a short walkthrough of how check-ins are set up:

Groups are built in. Enrolling clients into a program creates a cohort group automatically, with a community feed, group chat, direct messages and video events. A seasonal four-week reset can run as a group alongside your 1:1 clients without another subscription. Courses (modules, lessons, drip, completion tracking), downloads, videos and books are delivered into the same client home, so your "foods to remove and why" lesson and your printable shopping list sit next to the client's daily tasks.
Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data. It can draft a program outline, write a follow-up email, summarize a recorded session or brief you before a call on what the client logged that week. Questions and planning are included in your Coachful membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits. You can also configure an AI Coach, an AI version of you that selected clients can chat with between sessions. Set it up with care in a health niche and keep it inside coaching scope.
For growth, there is a section-based website builder with a blog and custom domain, booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels, and email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with branching. A free "7-day anti-inflammatory meal guide" lead magnet can feed a sequence that ends at a discovery call booking.
Where does Coachful fall short?
Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA. It is not built for clinical record-keeping or insurance billing. It does not sync with Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura, Apple Health sync is not publicly available, and there is no PayPal. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account. There is no permanent free plan, though there is a free trial. If your practice depends on lab ordering and charting, pair a clinical system with a coaching tool or choose Practice Better.
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. On every plan, you can ask the Coachful team to build things for you from Create > We'll build it for you · FREE: a website, a funnel, a sales page, a program, a course outline and written material, an email sequence, an intake form or worksheet, a lead quiz and more. You can attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files, such as your logo, brand guide, existing protocol documents or copy. The team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. It does not cover recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. One recent build: a menopause and midlife health coach starting from nothing got a five-page site in sage and cream with every button leading to a free 20-minute consultation. Read more in how the free white-glove service works.

Price: flat monthly plans; lower plans cap clients, Pro is unlimited, team plans add seats, and monthly plans cancel in one click (current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients). Coachful holds a 4.5 rating on Trustpilot from 21 reviews. For the nutrition-specific features, see Coachful for fitness and nutrition and Coachful for health coaches.
2. Everfit: is a fitness-first app enough for nutrition protocols?
Everfit is a reasonable second choice if daily habits and food logging matter more to you than payments or marketing. It began as a fitness coaching app, and its strengths still lean that way.

Everfit documents workouts, habits, nutrition tracking and client messaging in a mobile app. Pricing scales by client count, as listed in October 2026: Starter is free for up to 5 clients; Pro starts at $19/mo ($16/mo billed annually) for 5 clients, and climbs to $29 for 10, $49 for 20, $95 for 50 and $140 for 100. Studio starts at $105/mo for 50 clients. There is a 30-day free trial with no card.
The limits show up quickly for a functional practice. Automation (Autoflow), payments and meal plans are paid add-ons, so the headline price is not the full cost. There is no course builder, website, funnels or email marketing. Public reviews are mixed: Trustpilot shows 2.7 from 16 reviews (seen October 2026). Exercise programming is the center of gravity, and a practitioner who never prescribes workouts pays for features they will not use.
Pick it over Coachful if you already coach movement alongside nutrition, have fewer than five clients and want a free starting point, and are happy to add other tools for payments, website and email.
3. Quenza: what does it offer practitioners who rely on worksheets?
Quenza suits practitioners whose method is built on structured activities: food-mood journals, reflection exercises, symptom diaries and psychoeducation sequences delivered in order.

It is a client-engagement tool for coaches and therapists, with activities, worksheets, programs, chat and a client app. As listed in October 2026, Spark costs $25/mo ($20/mo annual) for 1 professional and 10 clients; Growth is $50/mo ($40 annual) for 250 clients; Impact is $125/mo for 400 clients; and Collective is $160/mo for up to 3 professionals and 500 clients. The trial runs 30 days with no card. Trustpilot shows 4.3 from 8 reviews.
The catch is everything around delivery. Quenza does not process client payments today; invoicing and digital products are marked as planned. Older profile data also notes no scheduling or video calls. You will run a separate booking tool and payment link, and the client gets a separate login for each.
Pick it over Coachful if your practice runs on carefully designed worksheets and journaling sequences, you already have booking and payments sorted elsewhere, and Growth's 250-client limit fits a large caseload at a low price.
4. Acuity Scheduling: when is a scheduler with intake forms the right call?
Acuity is a strong booking tool with intake forms, packages and memberships, and it is the only tool in this list whose listing mentions a HIPAA BAA (on its Premium plan).

Prices as listed in October 2026: Starter $20/mo ($16 annual) for 1 calendar, Standard $34/mo ($27 annual) for up to 6 calendars, and Premium $69/mo ($55 annual) for up to 36 calendars. Text reminders start on Standard. A 7-day free trial requires no card. Payments go through your own Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo. Trustpilot lists 3.6 from 687 reviews.
For a protocol practice it covers only the front door. There is no client portal for programs, habits, check-ins or messaging, and no courses, community, website builder or email marketing. Many practitioners pair it with a separate client app, which means two logins for the client and two places for you to look.
Pick it over Coachful if you need a BAA for scheduling, your clients mostly book one-off consultations, and your between-session work happens in a separate clinical or charting system.
5. Practice Better: the right tool if you chart like a clinician?
Practice Better is built for wellness and nutrition practitioners, and it is the closest match here for anyone who keeps clinical-style notes or works under a dietetics license.

It documents scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal. As listed in October 2026: Sprout is free for 3 clients; Starter costs $35/mo ($25 annual) for 10 clients; Professional $69/mo ($59 annual) for 300 clients; Plus $99/mo ($89 annual) for unlimited clients; and Team $155/mo for 2 practitioners, with more at $50 each. Trials run 14 days on most plans and 30 days on Team. Trustpilot shows 3.8 from 87 reviews.
Watch the plan gates. Evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS start on Plus at $99/mo, so a practitioner who wants a branded protocol program pays the higher tier. Older profile data notes no website builder or funnel pages, and each account below Team holds one practitioner. You will still need a website and email tool to market the practice.
Pick it over Coachful if you chart clinically, need practitioner-style notes and billing, or your licensing or insurance work requires a practice-management system rather than a coaching platform.
6. CoachAccountable: how far does a per-client back office stretch?
CoachAccountable is a mature coaching back office with sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses, invoicing and agreements. Its metrics feature can track numbers a client reports, such as hours slept or servings of vegetables.

Pricing is per active client, as listed in October 2026: Starter $20/mo for 2 clients, Level 1 $40/mo for 5, Level 2 $70/mo for 10, Level 3 $120/mo for 20, Level 4 $250/mo for 50 and Level 5 $400/mo for 100. The trial lasts 30 days with no card and no limits. It holds a strong 4.8 on Trustpilot from 47 reviews.
That pricing is the issue for a growing functional practice, and it bites hardest if you run a group reset, because every participant counts. Older profile data notes no native mobile app, no website, landing pages or marketing automation, and that CoachAccountable states it is not HIPAA compliant. If you are comparing options, see CoachAccountable alternatives.
Pick it over Coachful if you coach a small, steady roster of 1:1 clients, love detailed action plans and metrics, and already have a website you are happy with.
7. Paperbell: does simple admin cover a protocol practice?
Paperbell handles the business admin of a solo coach well: booking, packages, payments, contracts, a client portal and a simple website, all for one flat price.

As listed in October 2026, the single plan costs $97/mo ($80.83/mo annual) with unlimited clients, sessions, files and packages, and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Its help center (July 2026) describes a 7-day trial with the public site offline and client messages and SMS off. Trustpilot shows 3.5 from 14 reviews.
What it lacks is the protocol layer. Older profile data notes no courses, community, goal or habit tracking, and no native mobile app, only mobile browser access. A client in week two of a reintroduction phase would get their reminders from somewhere else. For a wider look, see Paperbell alternatives.
Pick it over Coachful if your offer is a set of paid sessions with resources attached, you do not track daily habits or symptoms, and one predictable price with unlimited clients appeals.
8. Kajabi: a fit if courses are your growth plan?
Kajabi is a course, community, website, funnel and email platform for selling knowledge products. A functional practitioner building a self-paced gut-health course plus a paid membership will find the marketing side mature.

As listed in October 2026: Basic $179/mo ($143 annual) with 5 products and 2,500 contacts; Growth $249/mo ($199 annual) with 50 products and 25,000 contacts; Pro $499/mo ($399 annual). Kajabi Payments in the US charges 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic; other processors (except PayPal) add a Kajabi fee of 0.5% to 2% depending on the plan. The standard trial is 14 days. Trustpilot shows 3.4 from 2,347 reviews.
Kajabi treats coaching as products and communities, not per-client plans. There is no habit tracking or daily client check-in, so the 1:1 protocol still needs another tool. Our guide to course platforms for nutrition coaches compares it with lighter options.
Pick it over Coachful if most of your revenue will come from courses and a large community rather than 1:1 or small-group protocols, and the budget supports the higher entry price.
9. Systeme.io: can a free marketing suite run a nutrition practice?
Systeme.io is the cheapest way here to get funnels, email, a blog and basic courses online, and its free plan never expires.

Prices as listed in October 2026: Free with 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels and 1 course; Startup $17/mo with 5,000 contacts and 10 funnels; Webinar $47/mo; Unlimited $97/mo. There are 0% transaction fees on every plan, so you pay Stripe or PayPal processing only. Trustpilot shows 4.9 from 8,696 reviews, the largest review base in this list.
It is a marketing tool, not a client-delivery tool. Older profile data notes no native 1:1 scheduling with client records, no habits or check-ins, basic community and course features, and no branded mobile app. You would add a scheduler and a client app, and keep client notes elsewhere.
Pick it over Coachful if you are pre-launch, your budget for software is close to zero, and your first job is building an email list with a free guide rather than serving paying clients.
10. Calendly: is a booking link enough to start?
Calendly is a scheduling tool and nothing more, which is exactly why some practitioners start with it.

As listed in October 2026, the Free plan covers 1 event type and 1 calendar connection. Standard is $10 per seat per month billed annually (the monthly price was not shown), Teams $16 per seat billed annually. You connect your own Stripe or PayPal for paid bookings. Trustpilot shows 4.1 from 714 reviews.
There are no client records, notes, programs, habits or check-ins, no intake questionnaires beyond booking questions, and no contracts or invoicing. A discovery call works fine; a 12-week protocol does not.
Pick it over Coachful if you only need people to book a discovery call this month and are not yet taking paying clients.
Which features does each tool cover?
This matrix compares what each vendor documents for the jobs a functional nutrition practice does every week. "Partial" means the feature exists with a significant limit, such as a paid add-on or a higher plan.
| Tool | Booking with intake | Payments | Contracts | Programs with habits and check-ins | Meal plans or recipes | Group or community | Website and email | BAA available |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Everfit | Not stated | Partial (add-on) | No | Yes | Partial (add-on) | Not stated | No | Not stated |
| Quenza | No | No | Not stated | Partial (activities) | No | No | No | Not stated |
| Acuity Scheduling | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | Yes (Premium) |
| Practice Better | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Partial (evergreen on Plus) | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated |
| CoachAccountable | Yes | Yes | Yes | Partial (metrics, action plans) | No | No | No | No |
| Paperbell | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | Partial (simple site) | Not stated |
| Kajabi | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Systeme.io | No | Yes | No | No | No | Partial | Yes | Not stated |
| Calendly | Partial (booking questions) | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | Not stated |
"Not stated" means we did not find it in the vendor facts we hold; ask the vendor before you rely on it.
What will you pay at 5, 15 and 40 clients?
Here is the monthly cost of each tool at three practice sizes, using monthly prices as listed in October 2026. Where one tool cannot run the practice alone, the notes column says what you would still need to buy.
| Tool | 5 clients | 15 clients | 40 clients | What else you would need |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | Nothing for coaching delivery; Stripe or Razorpay processing only |
| Everfit | $0 (Starter) or $19 (Pro) | $49 (20-client tier) | $95 (50-client tier) | Add-ons for payments, meal plans, automation; website and email |
| Quenza | $25 (Spark) | $50 (Growth) | $50 (Growth) | Scheduler, payments, website and email |
| Acuity Scheduling | $20 (Starter) | $20 (Starter) | $20 (Starter) | Client app for programs, website and email |
| Practice Better | $35 (Starter) | $69 (Professional) | $69 (Professional) | $99 Plus for branding and evergreen programs; website and email |
| CoachAccountable | $40 (Level 1) | $120 (Level 3) | $250 (Level 4) | Website and email |
| Paperbell | $97 | $97 | $97 | Habit and check-in app, email marketing |
| Kajabi | $179 (Basic) | $179 (Basic) | $179 (Basic) | Scheduler, contracts, habit and check-in app |
| Systeme.io | $0 to $17 | $17 (Startup) | $17 (Startup) | Scheduler, client records, habit and check-in app |
| Calendly | $0 (Free) | $10/seat, billed annually | $10/seat, billed annually | Almost everything else |
The cheap rows rarely stay cheap. As an illustrative example, a 15-client practice on Acuity would add a client-engagement app, a payment link, a form tool and an email platform, and each line adds a bill and a login. Compare the whole stack, not the first tool.
How would you set up a functional nutrition program in Coachful?
Here is a worked example: a 12-week gut-health coaching program for 15 one-to-one clients, plus a four-week group reset each season. The numbers and program names are examples; use your own method and keep the content inside your scope.
- Write the agreement. State what coaching covers, that it is not medical treatment, and when you will refer. Coachful sends it for e-signature before the first call and stores it on the client record.
- Build the booking page. Create a free discovery call and a paid initial consultation. Add intake questions: health history, current diet, digestion, sleep, energy, supplements, medications and goals. Set buffers and minimum notice so you have time to read the intake.
- Create the offer. Sell the 12-week program as a one-time payment or a three-payment plan through your Stripe account, with the agreement attached.
- Build the program in phases. Weeks 1 to 3 focus on removal, weeks 4 to 8 on rebuilding, weeks 9 to 12 on reintroduction and maintenance. Each week gets a goal, daily tasks (for example "prep tomorrow's lunch") and two or three habits (water, a 10-minute walk after dinner, a consistent bedtime).
- Add check-ins. A morning check-in for sleep and energy, an evening check-in for digestion and symptoms on a simple scale, and a weekly check-in with progress photos or measurements if the client wants them.
- Attach meal plans and recipes. Use the Fitness & Nutrition pack to add a phase-specific meal plan, recipes and a shopping list download to each phase.
- Add a short course. Five lessons on the "why" behind each phase, dripped weekly so the client is not overwhelmed in week one.
- Open the group reset. Enroll group clients into the four-week program; the cohort group and community space are created automatically.
- Ask for help if you need it. Send your protocol documents and brand files through the free white-glove request, and the team builds the program, course outline or website inside your account.

What the client experiences: they book from your website, answer the intake, sign the agreement and pay, all before the first call. They download the app, see your branding, and find week one waiting: today's tasks, their habits, a morning question about sleep. In the evening they log digestion in under a minute. Before your session, Michelle briefs you on their week, and the client record shows whether they are thriving or going quiet. If they have a question at 7 p.m. on day six, the answer is in the lesson or the meal plan, or they message you in the same app.
For more on each layer, see our guides to intake form software for nutrition coaches, habit tracking apps for nutrition coaches and meal planning software for nutrition coaches.
What red flags and switching costs should you watch for?
The biggest risks are pricing that punishes growth, features hidden behind add-ons, and data you cannot take with you. Check these before you commit.
- Per-client pricing and groups. If you plan a group reset, check whether every participant counts as an active client. On CoachAccountable, moving from 15 to 40 clients takes you from $120 to $250 a month as listed.
- Add-on stacking. Everfit lists payments, meal plans and automation as paid add-ons. Price the add-ons you need, not the headline plan.
- Feature gates on branding. Practice Better's portal branding and evergreen programs start on Plus. If your protocol is evergreen, that is your real entry price.
- Platform fees on sales. Kajabi adds a 0.5% to 2% fee when you use a processor other than Kajabi Payments or PayPal. On a large course launch, that adds up.
- Compliance claims. If you are a covered entity, you need a BAA. Do not assume a coaching tool offers one; Coachful does not, and CoachAccountable states it is not HIPAA compliant.
- Health data in the wrong place. Even outside HIPAA, keep detailed medical records in a system meant for them, and collect only what you need for coaching.
- Exports. Ask what you can export before you sign up. Coachful exports full client data as a ZIP (roster, notes, check-ins, goals, habits, sessions and form responses), plus courses.
- Switching effort. Moving clients mid-protocol is disruptive. Switch between cohorts, or move new clients first and let current ones finish. With Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding.
If your current stack is a scheduler plus a separate habit app, our broader roundup of software for nutrition coaches covers the general case, and AI tools for nutrition coaches covers assistants.
What is the verdict?
For most functional nutrition practitioners who coach rather than chart, Coachful is the best choice: one login for intake, agreements, payments, phased programs with daily habits and check-ins, meal plans, groups and your website, with a free white-glove build to set it up. Choose Practice Better if you need clinical charting and a practitioner record. Choose Acuity Premium if a BAA for scheduling is non-negotiable. Choose Quenza if worksheets are your method and you already handle payments. Everyone else is solving one slice of the job.
Coachful is a coaching platform for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions, including solo practitioners growing into a small team. It does not replace an electronic health record, sign a BAA or bill insurance. To start, take the free trial and request a free white-glove build of your first program or website.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best software for functional nutrition practitioners?
For coaching-based practices, Coachful, because it combines booking with intake, agreements, payments, multi-week programs with habits and check-ins, meal plans and a branded client app. If you chart clinically or bill insurance, Practice Better is the better fit. Your answer to "do I need clinical records?" decides most of it.
Is Coachful HIPAA compliant?
No. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a business associate agreement. It is built for coaching, not clinical record-keeping or insurance billing. If you are a covered entity under HIPAA, use a system that signs a BAA for protected health information.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
On every plan, the Coachful team will build things for you inside your own account, such as a website, a funnel, a program, a course outline or an email sequence. You describe what you want and attach up to 8 links and 10 files, and it is usually done within about 24 hours. It does not include video recording, logo design or ad management.
Can I run elimination and reintroduction phases in coaching software?
Yes, if the software supports multi-week programs. In Coachful you can build each phase as a set of weeks with goals, daily tasks, habits and check-ins, and attach a meal plan and recipes. Keep the protocol within your scope, and refer clients with medical conditions to a licensed clinician.
Do functional nutrition practitioners need HIPAA-compliant software?
It depends on whether you are a covered entity, for example a provider who transmits health information electronically for insurance transactions. Many cash-pay coaches are not, but the answer depends on your situation, so check with an attorney. Either way, collect only the health information you need.
Can clients log food and symptoms between sessions?
In Coachful, clients answer morning and evening check-ins you design, track habits, and use food lookup and barcode scanning from the Fitness & Nutrition pack. Everfit also documents nutrition tracking. Booking-only tools such as Calendly and Acuity have no client logging.
Which tool is cheapest for a new practitioner?
Calendly and Systeme.io both have free plans, and Everfit is free for up to 5 clients. Each covers only part of the job, so you will add tools as you take paying clients. Compare the full stack cost at the client count you expect in a year.
Can I run group programs as well as 1:1 clients?
Yes. Coachful creates a cohort group automatically when clients enroll in a program, with a community feed, group chat and video events. Kajabi is strong for large communities, but it has no per-client habits or check-ins. See our guide to community platforms for nutrition coaches.
Does Coachful sync with wearables like Oura or Fitbit?
No. Coachful does not sync with Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura, and Apple Health sync is not publicly available. Clients can log measurements, progress photos and check-in answers directly in the app.
How hard is it to switch from my current tools?
With Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding, and the free white-glove service can rebuild your website or funnels. To keep disruption low, move new clients first and let current clients finish their protocol in the old tool.







