The 10 Best Software for Subscription Coaching, Compared

The best software for subscription coaching is the tool that keeps three things in step every month: the payment, the client's access, and the work the client does between calls. Most coaches who sell a monthly retainer or a membership already have something that charges a card. Where things break is what happens next. A renewal fails, nobody notices, the client keeps showing up in the group chat, or a paying member goes quiet for three weeks and cancels before you see it. So the deciding question is simple: does one system know who is paying, what they can reach, and whether they are actually doing the work?
Our pick is Coachful, because it puts recurring payments, contracts, programs with daily check-ins and habits, courses, community and a website in one login, with one branded app for the client. We make Coachful, so weigh that, but the ranking below states its criteria and is honest about where nine other tools fit better. Coach Recap, AttractWell, Kajabi, Paperbell, Practice Better, CoachAccountable, Skool, Mighty Networks and Stan Store complete the list, each with its price as listed in October 2026 and a clear "pick it over Coachful if" line.
This guide is built around the subscription client journey: how people find you, how they enroll and start paying, how you deliver month after month, and how you keep them. If you are still deciding whether a recurring model suits you, read our guide to building a subscription based website first, then come back.
What does a subscription coaching client journey need from software?
It needs four stages handled without gaps: attract, enroll, deliver and retain. A monthly model lives or dies on the last two, because the revenue only exists if the client renews, and the subscription business model rewards keeping people far more than acquiring them.
Attract: a page that sells a recurring offer
Subscription coaching is harder to sell than a one-off package because the buyer is agreeing to an open-ended commitment. Your page has to explain what a month includes (calls, messaging, check-ins, community access), how billing works and how to cancel. You also want a lead path for people who are not ready yet: a free guide, a short challenge or an application form. Software needs a website or funnel pages, email capture and ideally tracking so you know which source brings members who stay.
Enroll: checkout, agreement and first access in one go
At enrollment the client should pay the first month, sign a coaching agreement that spells out renewal and cancellation terms, answer intake questions, and land somewhere useful within minutes. If any of those steps lives in a different tool, someone gets missed. Auto-renewal terms deserve care: rules on recurring charges and cancellation (often called negative option billing) vary by country and state, so check with an accountant or attorney before you publish your terms. Our coaching contracts page covers how agreements work inside Coachful.
Deliver: something to do every week, not just a call
A client paying every month needs to feel the value between sessions. That means weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, check-ins, a course library that drips, and a place to ask questions. Session-only tools leave you to fill those gaps with email and shared documents. See our guide to asynchronous coaching platforms for why between-session work matters so much in recurring offers.
Retain: spot drift before the cancellation email
Your churn rate is the number that decides whether a subscription practice grows. The useful software signals are simple: who stopped checking in, who missed sessions, whose payment failed, who has not opened the program this week. A tool that shows client status at a glance lets you send one personal message at the right time, which is usually what saves the renewal.
The admin underneath: failed payments, pauses and access
Three questions to ask every vendor before you commit. What happens when a renewal fails: does anyone get told, and does access change? Can a client pause for a month (travel, illness, a new baby) without you rebuilding their account? And when someone cancels, does their access to paid content end, or do you remove it by hand? Vendors document these differently, and some leave the answer to your payment processor. Ask during the trial and test it with a real card of your own.
How did we rank these subscription coaching tools?
We used one scenario: a coach with 15 monthly clients on a 1:1 retainer plus one group membership of around 25 people, who wants to stop juggling separate tools. We scored each tool on documented features and listed prices, not hands-on testing, and drew on what public reviewers report where noted.
Ranking criteria: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery (programs, habits, check-ins), total monthly stack cost at 15 and 40 clients, and setup effort, including whether the vendor will build your setup for you.
| Tool | Rank | Best for | Entry price as listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | #1 | Monthly 1:1 and group members who need programs, check-ins and payments in one place | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients |
| Coach Recap | #2 | Solo coaches selling simple monthly session subscriptions | $0 (3 active clients), then $29/mo |
| AttractWell | #3 | Marketing-heavy coaches running a paid membership plus calls | $69/mo (first month $1) |
| Kajabi | #4 | Course and community memberships at larger audience sizes | $179/mo |
| Paperbell | #5 | Solo coaches who want simple packages and payments with no client caps | $97/mo |
| Practice Better | #6 | Wellness and nutrition practitioners on monthly plans | $0 (3 clients), then $35/mo |
| CoachAccountable | #7 | Small rosters that want action plans and metrics | $20/mo (2 active clients) |
| Skool | #8 | A paid community with a classroom | $9/mo plus 10% + 30¢ per sale |
| Mighty Networks | #9 | Large membership communities with events | $95/mo plus 2% platform fee |
| Stan Store | #10 | Selling memberships from a link-in-bio storefront | $29/mo |
Which tools cover each stage of the subscription journey?
Only an all-in-one covers all four stages well; most tools here are strong in one or two. The table summarizes what each vendor documents, using "yes", "partial" or "no".
| Tool | Attract (site, funnels, email) | Enroll (recurring checkout, agreement) | Deliver (programs, habits, check-ins) | Retain (client status, community) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Coach Recap | Partial (booking page) | Yes | Partial (goals, action items, check-ins) | Partial (chat, session history) |
| AttractWell | Yes | Yes | Partial (courses, drip) | Partial (community) |
| Kajabi | Yes | Partial (no agreements documented) | Partial (courses, no habits or check-ins) | Partial (community) |
| Paperbell | Partial (simple website) | Yes | No (no goals or habits) | Partial (client portal) |
| Practice Better | No (no website or funnels) | Yes | Yes (programs) | Partial (client portal) |
| CoachAccountable | No | Partial (invoicing, agreements) | Yes (action plans, metrics) | Partial |
| Skool | No (no custom-domain site) | Partial (Skool Payments only) | Partial (classroom) | Yes (community, leaderboards) |
| Mighty Networks | Partial | Partial (no contracts) | Partial (courses) | Yes (community, events) |
| Stan Store | Partial (storefront) | Partial (no contracts) | No | No |
1. Coachful: the whole monthly journey under one login

Coachful is a coaching platform built for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions. One subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. The coach has one login; each client gets one app in the coach's branding. It suits solo coaches growing into a small team and anyone replacing four to six separate tools. Coachful is based in Tallinn, Estonia, and holds a Trustpilot rating of 4.5 from 21 reviews.
Recurring billing that stays yours. Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account. You can sell one-time offers, subscriptions and payment plans, add order bumps and coupons, issue refunds, accept Apple Pay and Google Pay and apply Stripe Tax. Each transaction produces an invoice, and you can raise manual invoices too. Since August 2026 there is a 0% platform fee, so the only charge on a client payment is your processor's fee. For a subscription practice this matters: the money lands in an account you control, and moving tools later does not mean moving the billing relationship.

Before the first call, Coachful sends a coaching agreement for e-signature and stores the signed copy on the client record. That is where your renewal and cancellation terms belong. Intake questions can be attached to booking, so the first monthly session starts with context.

Delivery that justifies the monthly fee. Programs run for as many weeks as you set, with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars, and streaks. Courses with modules, lessons, drip and completion tracking, plus downloads, videos, books and AI tools, sit in the same branded client home. When someone enrolls in a program, a cohort group is created automatically, so a membership gets its own space for the feed, group chat and video events without manual setup.

Retention you can see. Every client record holds goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions, and gives each client a status: thriving, active, quiet or at risk. For a subscription coach, "quiet" is the early warning that a renewal is in danger. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from that live practice data: she can brief you before a session, summarize recorded sessions, draft a check-in email and build program content. Questions and planning are included in your Coachful membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits. You can also set up an AI Coach, an AI version of you that selected clients can chat with between sessions.

Attract and enroll. The section-based website builder has 30 designed homepage templates, a blog, custom domains and SEO settings, plus booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels with pixels and UTM tracking. Email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits handle nurture and renewal reminders. Booking pages include availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection, with two-way Google, Apple and Outlook calendar sync and built-in video or automatic Zoom, Meet or Teams links. Paid sessions and session credits let you bundle a set number of calls into an offer.
The walkthrough below shows how a client journey is set up, from first contact to ongoing delivery:
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. On every plan, you can open Create > We'll build it for you · FREE and describe what you need: a website, a membership sales page, a checkout funnel, a monthly program, an email sequence, a lead quiz or something else. Attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as your logo, photos and copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. One recent example: a real-estate and money coach got a year-long cohort program with an application form, an eight-page site and a free nine-day bootcamp funnel. The service does not cover recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. Read how the white-glove service works.

Price and limits. Plans are flat and monthly; lower plans cap the number of clients, Pro is unlimited, team plans add coach seats, and monthly plans cancel in one click (current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients). A free trial is available. What it does not do: Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and is not for clinical records or insurance billing. There is no PayPal and no permanent free plan. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not your own App Store account. There is no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync, and the affiliate program records payouts manually rather than sending them. You can export all client data as a ZIP.
Who should start here: coaches who sell a monthly retainer, a membership or an evergreen group program and want payments, delivery and retention signals in one place. Start with the free trial, then request the white-glove build for your sales page or first program. More detail is on our coaching payment software and group coaching software pages.
2. Coach Recap: monthly session subscriptions for solo coaches

Coach Recap is a newer tool aimed squarely at solo coaches; its own site says it is not built for agencies or enterprises. Its program model fits subscription coaching directly: a program is either a session pack or a monthly subscription paid through Stripe, and the tool tracks sessions used against sessions remaining.
Around that core, client profiles hold session history, notes, goals and action items with full-text search. The booking page supports buffers and notice rules, syncs two ways with Google Calendar and Outlook, and sends email reminders at 24 hours, 1 hour and 15 minutes. Intake forms, check-ins, contracts, private chat and resource sharing round it out.
As listed in October 2026, Starter is $0/month for up to 3 active clients (active means a session or booking in the last 90 days), Professional is $29/month for up to 20, and Business is $79/month with unlimited clients. There is no cut of client payments beyond Stripe's standard fees. App Store prices differ from the web prices, and the vendor does not explain why.
Limits: no website builder, funnels or email marketing are documented, and the delivery side is session-centred rather than built around daily habits or a course library. Group memberships and community are not part of the documented feature set.
Pick it over Coachful if you sell only 1:1 monthly session subscriptions, already have a website elsewhere, and want the lightest possible tool with a free tier while you grow past three clients.
3. AttractWell: a marketing suite with memberships attached

Think of AttractWell as a sales and marketing system that also runs memberships. It targets coaches, course creators, consultants, authors and speakers, and bundles a website, funnels, blog, CRM, email and texting, booking, contracts, invoicing and a store. For subscription work, the relevant pieces are memberships with recurring payments, drip content, a Facebook-style community with scheduled posts, and call packages with usage tracking.
Prices as listed in October 2026: Starter $69/month (500 contacts, 1 course "vault", no call packages), Basic $99/month (1,000 contacts, 3 vaults, 5 call packages), Premium $129/month (4,000 contacts, unlimited booking links and call packages), Pro $179/month and Diamond $239/month, with a Team plan at $600/month. There is no free trial as such: the first month costs $1 on every plan. AttractWell charges a 0% transaction fee; processors charge their usual rates. Trustpilot shows 4.6 from 21 reviews (seen October 2026).
Where it pinches: plan limits are tight at the bottom. Starter has no call packages and only one vault, so a monthly 1:1 plus membership practice realistically starts on Basic or Premium. Unlimited vaults and classes cost an extra $17/month. Per-client habits and daily check-ins are not part of the documented feature set, so between-session accountability falls back on content and community.
Pick it over Coachful if texting your list and running many domains and automations is central to how you sell, and your members mainly consume content rather than complete daily check-ins.
4. Kajabi: course memberships at audience scale

Kajabi is a course, community, website, funnel and email platform for selling knowledge products. If your subscription is closer to a content membership with a large audience (thousands of contacts, a course library and a community) it is one of the most established options.
As listed in October 2026: Basic is $179/month ($143/month billed annually) with 5 products, 2,500 contacts, 1 community and 0 AI credits; Growth is $249/month ($199 annually) with 50 products and 25,000 contacts; Pro is $499/month ($399 annually) with unlimited products. Kajabi Payments in the US charges 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic, slightly less on higher plans. Using another processor (other than PayPal) adds a Kajabi fee of 2% on Basic, 1% on Growth and 0.5% on Pro. The standard trial is 14 days according to its help center. Trustpilot lists 3.4 from 2,347 reviews (seen October 2026).
The trade-off: coaching in Kajabi is organised around products and communities, not per-client plans. There is no habit tracking or daily client check-in, and no coaching agreement with e-signature is documented. At small rosters the price is high for what a 15-client coach uses.
Pick it over Coachful if your subscription is primarily a content library for a large audience, you need many admin users, and you rarely coach members individually.

5. Paperbell: one flat price, no client caps

Paperbell is all-in-one admin for solo coaches: booking, packages, payments, contracts, a client portal and a simple website. Its appeal is simplicity. There is one plan and no limit on clients, sessions, files or packages, so growing from 5 to 50 monthly clients does not change the bill.
As listed in October 2026, the single plan costs $97/month, or $80.83/month billed annually, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Paperbell states there are no additional transaction fees; Stripe and PayPal processor fees apply. Its help center (July 2026, per our older profile) describes a 7-day trial with the public site offline and client messages and SMS switched off. Trustpilot shows 3.5 from 14 reviews (seen October 2026).
What you give up: Paperbell has no courses or LMS, no community, and no goal or habit tracking, according to our older profile. There is no native mobile app; clients use the mobile browser. For a subscription offer, that means the value between calls has to come from somewhere else, often a separate course or community tool.
Pick it over Coachful if your monthly offer is purely sessions plus email support, you want PayPal at checkout, and you prefer one fixed bill regardless of roster size.
6. Practice Better: monthly plans for wellness practitioners

Practice Better is practice management for wellness and nutrition practitioners, covering scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal. Coaches in health-adjacent niches often like its structured records. A reminder for those niches: coaching is not medical treatment, so refer clients to a doctor or licensed clinician when symptoms, medication questions or eating-disorder signs come up.
Prices as listed in October 2026: Sprout $0/month (3 clients), Starter $35/month (10 clients), Professional $69/month (300 clients), Plus $99/month (unlimited clients) and Team $155/month for two practitioners. Annual billing lowers each paid tier by $10 a month. Trials run 14 days on most paid plans and 30 days on Team. Payments run through Practice Better Payments, powered by Stripe. Trustpilot lists 3.8 from 87 reviews (seen October 2026).
The catch for subscription coaches: evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS start on Plus, so a rolling monthly membership usually needs the $99 tier. There is no website builder or funnel pages (older profile), and only one practitioner per account below Team.
Pick it over Coachful if you work in a clinical-adjacent wellness niche and need charting and telehealth more than a website, funnels or community.
7. CoachAccountable: action plans priced per active client

CoachAccountable is a coaching back office with sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses, invoicing and agreements. Its accountability features (clients log metrics, complete action items and fill in worksheets between sessions) match what a monthly 1:1 client needs.
Pricing is per active client, as listed in October 2026: Starter $20/month (2 clients), Level 1 $40/month (5), Level 2 $70/month (10), Level 3 $120/month (20), Level 4 $250/month (50) and Level 5 $400/month (100). There is a 30-day free trial with no card and no limits. Transaction fees are not stated on the pricing page; Stripe, Square or PayPal fees apply. Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 47 reviews (seen October 2026), the highest rating among the tools here.
Watch the math: per-client pricing gets expensive quickly for a group membership. Forty members puts you on Level 4. There is no native mobile app, no website or landing pages and no marketing automation, according to our older profile, and the vendor states it is not HIPAA compliant.
Pick it over Coachful if you coach a small number of high-fee monthly clients who live on detailed metrics and action plans, and you already have marketing handled elsewhere.
8. Skool: a paid community with a classroom

Skool combines a community feed, a course classroom and a calendar inside one group, with gamified leaderboards that encourage members to post and engage. Many coaches use it to charge a monthly fee for group access, which makes it a common choice for membership-style coaching.
As listed in October 2026: Hobby is $9/month ($7.50 billed annually) with a 10% + 30¢ fee on every transaction; Pro is $99/month ($82.50 annually) with 2.9% + 30¢ on sales up to $899 and 3.9% + 30¢ above $900. Payments run only through Skool Payments, with weekly payouts. Trial length is not stated on the pricing page. Trustpilot lists 1.6 from 54 reviews (seen October 2026).
Gaps for coaching: no 1:1 client records, intake forms, habits or check-ins; no custom-domain website, funnels or email automation; no public API. On Hobby, the 10% fee on a $200 monthly membership with 25 members is roughly $500 a month (an illustrative figure), which is why most paying groups move to Pro.
Pick it over Coachful if your offer is a community first and coaching second, and member-to-member engagement is the product you sell.
9. Mighty Networks: big communities, events and courses

Mighty Networks is a community, course and events platform with Mighty-branded member apps. Its strength is scale: livestreams, multiple hosts and moderators, and storage for large libraries.
Prices as listed in October 2026: Launch is $95/month ($79 annually) with 3 hosts and 20 hours of livestream per month; Scale is $215/month ($179 annually); Growth is $354/month billed annually; Mighty Pro is custom. The platform fee on sales is 2% on Launch, 1% on Scale and 0.5% on Growth and Pro, plus Stripe processing. A 14-day trial with no card includes Growth features. Trustpilot lists 3.3 from 219 reviews (seen October 2026).
Not built for: 1:1 scheduling, invoicing, contracts, or per-client habits and check-ins. Your own branded apps sit on custom-priced Mighty Pro.
Pick it over Coachful if you run a membership of hundreds of people where live events and peer discussion matter more than individual coaching plans.
10. Stan Store: memberships from your link in bio

Stan Store is a link-in-bio storefront for selling digital products, courses, memberships and paid calls. For coaches who sell to a social audience, it is a fast way to put a monthly membership in front of followers.
As listed in October 2026: Creator is $29/month ($25 annually) and Creator Pro is $99/month ($79 annually), both with unlimited products and customers. Stan takes 0% of sales; Stripe or PayPal processing applies. There is a 14-day trial on either plan. Email marketing, upsells, discount codes and affiliates are only on Creator Pro. Trustpilot shows 4.7 from 2,205 reviews (seen October 2026).
Missing pieces: no contracts, invoices or client records, and no programs with tasks, habits or check-ins. Stan sells the subscription; delivery happens elsewhere.
Pick it over Coachful if you mainly need a storefront for a social following, and the membership itself is a simple content drop or a group call you run on another tool.
What does each subscription coaching stack cost per month?
The software bill depends on roster size, and the cheapest entry plan is rarely the plan you end up on. The table uses list prices from October 2026 and picks the lowest plan that covers each roster, before payment processing fees.
| Tool | 5 clients | 15 clients | 40 clients |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients |
| Coach Recap | $29/mo | $29/mo | $79/mo |
| AttractWell (Basic, for call packages) | $99/mo | $99/mo | $99/mo |
| Kajabi Basic | $179/mo | $179/mo | $179/mo |
| Paperbell | $97/mo | $97/mo | $97/mo |
| Practice Better (Plus for evergreen programs) | $35/mo ($99 on Plus) | $69/mo ($99 on Plus) | $69/mo ($99 on Plus) |
| CoachAccountable | $40/mo | $120/mo | $250/mo |
| Skool | $9/mo + 10% of sales, or $99/mo | $9/mo + 10% of sales, or $99/mo | $99/mo + 2.9% to 3.9% |
| Mighty Networks Launch | $95/mo + 2% | $95/mo + 2% | $95/mo + 2% |
| Stan Store (Pro for email) | $29 or $99/mo | $29 or $99/mo | $29 or $99/mo |
Should you run an all-in-one or an assembled stack?
For most subscription coaches under about 50 clients, one platform wins on both cost and churn, because the retention signals only work when payment, delivery and messaging data sit together. An assembled stack makes sense when one piece (a huge community, a clinical record, heavy SMS marketing) outweighs everything else.
Recipe A: the single platform
One tool handles the website, recurring checkout, agreement, program, check-ins, community and email. Your clients get one app, and you see one status per client. The monthly figure is one line for 15 retainer clients plus a 25-person group: Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients, plus Stripe or Razorpay processing.
Recipe B: the assembled stack
A typical patchwork for the same 15 monthly clients and a 25-person group, using list prices from October 2026 (illustrative, your choices will differ):
| Job | Assembled example | Monthly list price |
|---|---|---|
| Coachful (all jobs below) | One platform | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients |
| Packages, contracts, payments | Paperbell | $97 |
| Group membership and community | Skool Pro | $99 + 2.9% fee |
| Email sequences | Kit Creator (from 1,000 subscribers) | $39 |
| Scheduling across calendars | Calendly Standard (annual) | $10 per seat |
| Total before processing | Four logins, four bills | About $245 plus Skool's fee |
The bill is only part of the cost. Four tools mean four places a cancellation has to be handled, and access in the community does not end automatically when a payment fails in another system. Our article on coaching software costs to review before you cancel walks through that audit.
How do you set up subscription coaching in Coachful, step by step?
Here is a worked example for a coach launching a monthly 1:1 retainer with an included group space. Each step notes what the client sees.
- Create the offer. Set up a subscription in Offers, connected to your Stripe Connect or Razorpay account, with session credits for the calls included each month. Client sees: a clear checkout with Apple Pay or Google Pay.
- Attach the agreement. Write renewal, pause and cancellation terms into your coaching agreement and send it for e-signature before the first call. Client sees: one document to sign, stored on their record.
- Build the program. Create a rolling program with weekly goals, daily tasks, two or three habits, and morning and evening check-ins. Start from one of the 40+ program templates, or ask Michelle to draft it. Client sees: today's tasks and check-in in their branded app.
- Add the group layer. Enrollment creates a cohort group automatically, with a feed, group chat and video events. Client sees: their peers and the next group call.
- Publish the sales page and funnel. Use a checkout or application funnel and a lead magnet for people not ready to subscribe. Or request the free white-glove build and let the team set it up. Client sees: a page that explains what a month includes.
- Write the retention emails. A sequence for week one, a mid-month check, and a pre-renewal message that reminds clients what they achieved. Client sees: timely, personal-sounding emails.
- Review status weekly. Look for clients marked quiet or at risk, read Michelle's briefing and send one message each. Client sees: a coach who noticed.
Our guide to automating coaching billing and subscription renewals goes deeper on the billing side, and coaching packages covers how to structure what a month includes.
How do you move existing subscribers to a new platform?
Move billing last, and never make a paying client re-enter a card without warning. A practical order:
- Inventory first. List every active subscriber, their price, renewal date and processor. Grandfathered prices are easy to lose in a migration.
- Keep the processor if you can. If you already bill through your own Stripe account, connecting that same account to the new tool avoids asking clients for payment details again. Confirm with the vendor how existing Stripe subscriptions are handled.
- Rebuild delivery before switching. Set up programs, content and community first, so clients arrive somewhere complete. In Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding.
- Switch on a renewal boundary. Move each client at their next renewal date, not mid-cycle, to avoid double charges.
- Tell clients what changes. One email with the new login, what stays the same and who to contact. Then cancel the old tool only after the last renewal has moved.
If you also sell invoices outside subscriptions, see our guide to coaching invoice and payment software.
What mistakes do subscription coaches make with software?
- Choosing on entry price. Caps on clients, products or call packages push most practices up a tier within months.
- Ignoring transaction fees. A percentage fee on every renewal grows with your revenue; compare it to a flat plan at your target roster.
- Separating payment from access. When billing and content live in different tools, cancelled clients keep access and nobody notices.
- Selling calls only. Monthly clients cancel when nothing happens between sessions. Add check-ins and habits.
- Vague cancellation terms. Put renewal, pause and cancellation rules in a signed agreement and on the sales page.
Which software for subscription coaching should you choose?
Choose Coachful if you sell monthly 1:1 coaching, a membership or an evergreen group program and want recurring payments, delivery, community and client status in one login, with the free white-glove build to get your first offer live. Choose Coach Recap for the lightest 1:1 session subscriptions, AttractWell or Kajabi when marketing reach and content libraries dominate, Paperbell for flat-price session admin, Practice Better for wellness practices that need charting, CoachAccountable for small metric-heavy rosters, and Skool, Mighty Networks or Stan Store when the community or storefront is the product.
Frequently asked questions
What is subscription coaching?
Subscription coaching is a model where clients pay a recurring fee, usually monthly, for ongoing access to a coach: a set number of calls, messaging, a program, a community or some mix. It replaces fixed-length packages with an open-ended relationship that renews until the client cancels.
What features matter most in software for subscription coaching?
Recurring billing through a processor you control, an agreement with renewal and cancellation terms, between-session delivery such as check-ins and habits, and a clear view of who is drifting. Without that last piece, you tend to learn about churn only when the cancellation arrives.
Does Coachful take a cut of my subscription revenue?
No. Since August 2026 Coachful charges a 0% platform fee. Clients pay through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account, and only the processor's fees apply.
Can I include a fixed number of calls in a monthly plan?
Yes, in several tools. Coachful supports session credits alongside subscriptions, Coach Recap tracks sessions used against remaining, and AttractWell offers call packages from its Basic plan. Check how unused credits are handled at renewal.
What is the free white-glove build service?
It is a free service on every Coachful plan. You describe what you want, such as a membership sales page, a checkout funnel or a monthly program, attach up to 8 links and 10 files, and the Coachful team builds it in your account, usually within about 24 hours. It does not include video recording, logo design or ad management.
Is Skool or Coachful better for a paid membership?
Skool is better when the community is the whole product and member engagement drives value. Coachful fits better when members also need individual plans, check-ins, agreements and 1:1 sessions alongside the group.
Can clients pay with PayPal?
Not in Coachful, which uses Stripe or Razorpay. Paperbell, Satori, CoachVantage and Stan Store document PayPal as an option; Skool takes payments only through Skool Payments.
Are there legal rules for auto-renewing coaching subscriptions?
Yes, in many places. Rules on disclosing recurring charges and offering easy cancellation vary by country and state, so check with an accountant or attorney before you publish your terms, and put them in the agreement your client signs.
Is subscription coaching software suitable for health coaching?
For coaching, yes, but coaching is not treatment. Refer clients to a doctor when medical symptoms or medication questions arise. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified, so clinical records belong in a clinical system.
How do I start with Coachful?
Start a free trial, then request the white-glove build for your offer, sales page or first program. Your clients, programs and content can be imported for you during onboarding. Compare plans on the plans page.






