ICF Accredited Coaching Programs: Levels, Examples, Checks

ICF accredited coaching programs are coach training programs the International Coaching Federation has reviewed and approved at a set level: Level 1 (60 to 124 hours, leading to the ACC credential), Level 2 (125 to 175 hours, leading to the PCC) or Level 3 (at least 75 advanced hours for coaches who already hold a PCC, leading to the MCC). Finishing one puts you on the ICF's faster, cheaper application path, and the ICF lists every current one in its free Education Search Service.
The catch is that schools describe their own accreditation, and the wording varies: "Level 2," "formerly ACTP," "meets the requirements for," "ICF aligned." Only some of those mean what you think. This guide explains what each level includes, how to check a program in five minutes, and gives real examples at each level, verified on the programs' own sites in October 2026, plus a few respected programs that deliberately aren't accredited.
When you're trained and taking clients, Coachful's team will build your coaching website for free on every plan, so the paid hours your credential needs have somewhere to come from.
What each ICF accreditation level includes
From the ICF's own Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 accreditation pages, as published in October 2026:
| Level | Contact hours | Observed coaching | Mentor coaching | Final evaluation | Leads to |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Level 1 | 60 to 124 | 5 sessions with written feedback | 10 hours over at least 3 months | At ACC level | ACC |
| Level 2 | 125 to 175 | 6 sessions with written feedback | 10 hours over at least 3 months | At PCC level | PCC, directly |
| Level 3 | At least 75, advanced | 5 sessions with written feedback | 10 hours over a 3-month period | Not stated on the ICF's Level 3 page | MCC; an active PCC is required to enroll |
Two more ICF accreditation types show up on program pages. Continuing Coach Education (CCE) covers shorter courses that count toward renewal or, on the Portfolio path, toward education hours. Team coaching accreditation covers programs that lead toward the ICF's Advanced Certification in Team Coaching. The ICF also says Level 1 accreditation is valid for three calendar years, which is why "is it current?" is a fair question to ask any school.
How to check a program is really ICF accredited
- Search the program by name in the ICF's Education Search Service. It's free and filters by level, delivery method (online, in person or hybrid), language and specialization.
- Match the exact program, not just the school. A school can have one accredited program and one that isn't. Life Purpose Institute, for example, offers ICF-accredited live training and a self-paced On-Demand certificate it says is "not ICF accredited."
- Translate legacy names. The ICF's own guidance calls Level 2 "formerly ACTP." ACSTH was the older name for partial or shorter accredited training, and the ICF counts an unfinished Level 1 or Level 2 program as ACSTH education.
- Read what your certificate will say. The ICF's tips for identifying accreditation look for the level's logo, the hours completed (60 or more for Level 1, 125 or more for Level 2, 75 or more for Level 3) and wording such as "completed the full program."
- Ask about the final evaluation and mentor coaching, which every Level 1 and Level 2 program must include. If either is sold as an extra, ask why.
A loose phrase isn't automatically a red flag. iPEC's FAQ, for instance, says the program "meets or exceeds the requirements for Level 2 accreditation with the ICF." Phrases like that are exactly why the directory check exists.

Examples of ICF accredited coaching programs, by level
Each program below states its ICF accreditation on its own website. We list the school's own wording where it's unusual, and prices only where the school publishes them, as listed in October 2026. This is a sample, not the full directory.
Level 1 programs (ACC route)
| Program | Hours | Format and length | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coaching Out of the Box FastTrack | 76 live, plus 10 mentor coaching and the evaluation | Zoom, 6 months | $4,895 |
| Coach Training Alliance Certified Coach Program | 75, of which 60 ICF | Weekly virtual classes, 6 months | $3,949 |
| Erickson, Level 1 | 64 plus 10 mentor coaching | Online, in person or hybrid | $4,300 online |
| Institute for Life Coach Training, ACC path | 60, with 10 mentor coaching | About 6 to 8 months | $4,305 |
| Coach U Phase 1, Core Essentials | 78 | Live on Zoom intensives | $6,395 |
| Coach Training EDU Essentials | 62.5 | Live online cohorts, about 6 months | $4,950 |
Level 2 programs (PCC route)
| Program | Hours | Format and length | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hudson Institute of Coaching, Hudson Coach Certification | 125-plus | Virtual or in person in Santa Barbara, 9 months | $15,500 virtual, $16,500 in person (2027 sessions) |
| Georgetown University, Executive Certificate in Leadership Coaching | 148.5 contact hours | Live online or on campus in Washington, D.C., 8 months | $13,995 |
| University of Wisconsin-Madison Certified Professional Coach | 125-plus | Live online cohort, 10 months | $12,990 |
| University of Texas at Dallas, Executive and Professional Coaching | More than 150 | Live online webinars, 12 months | $12,000 |
| Martha Beck Wayfinder Life Coach Training | 211 | Zoom | Not published |
| Co-Active Training Institute | About 168 across three stages, by our count | Virtual, ending in a 20-week stage | $10,470 full journey |
| Erickson, Level 2 | 140, including mentoring | Online, in person or hybrid | $8,300 online |
| International Coach Academy, Level 2 | 125 | Online, mostly e-learning plus live labs, 7 to 18 months | $7,752 |
| Center for Executive Coaching, ICF Certification Program | Not stated; meets Level 1 and Level 2 requirements, it says | Mostly self-paced online with live webinars, 5 to 6 months | $8,490 |
| Academy of Creative Coaching APCC | 125 | Virtual or in person in Atlanta, 9 months | $9,995 |
Level 3 and team coaching
- Erickson Coaching International lists a Level 3 option, the MCC route, as a $6,999 package. Level 3 programs require you to hold an active PCC.
- International Coach Academy offers a Level 1 option bundled with accredited team coaching training (76 plus 60 hours), relevant if you're heading toward the ICF's team coaching certification.
Specialist schools have accredited programs too, for example in ADHD and executive coaching. Our guides to executive coaching certification and ADHD coach certification cover them.

Respected programs that aren't ICF accredited
Not being accredited isn't the same as being bad. It changes your ICF route.
- Columbia Coaching Certification Program (Teachers College). Its FAQ says plainly that Columbia "will NOT seek program accreditation from the ICF," and that participants who want an ICF credential apply through the Portfolio path at the ACC or PCC level. The program runs over eight to ten months, built around a five-day intensive and a six-month reflective practicum.
- Marshall Goldsmith Stakeholder Centered Coaching. A method certification built on stakeholder feedback and re-rating, lasting about seven months on average. Its site doesn't mention ICF accreditation or CCE units.
- Jay Shetty Certification School. Its curriculum is accredited by the Association for Coaching, a different professional body, not the ICF.
On Portfolio, you document your own education, at least half of your hours must be live with faculty, and fees and waits rise: $475 and 14 weeks for an ICF member's ACC application instead of $175 and 4 weeks, as listed in October 2026. Our guide to ICF certification has the full fee table.

Level 1, Level 2 or Portfolio: how to decide
| Your plan | Choose | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Coach individuals, want a credential, keep costs down | Level 1 | Shortest accredited route to the ACC |
| Sell to employers or coaching platforms within a few years | Level 2 | Apply for the PCC directly; one application fee instead of two |
| Already trained somewhere non-accredited | Portfolio | Your hours can count; budget for the higher fee and longer review |
| Hold a PCC and want the MCC | Level 3 | The accredited MCC route |
| Want a university or a specific method above all | Either, knowingly | Some respected programs are Portfolio-only by choice |
If you're unsure which credential to aim for, our comparison of ACC, PCC and MCC works through real scenarios, and our ranked list of life coach certification programs compares the life-coaching schools above in more detail.
What accreditation doesn't tell you
Accreditation sets a floor for curriculum, observation and assessment. It says nothing about several things that decide whether a program suits you:
- The method. Co-Active, solution-focused, energy-based and stakeholder-centered programs can all be accredited and feel nothing alike in a session. Sit in on an introductory class if the school offers one.
- Who your classmates are. Hudson, for example, says its cohorts average 10 to 20 years of professional experience; Georgetown asks for at least five years in a related field and a bachelor's degree. Other programs take career changers straight in.
- Business help. Some programs teach you to find clients; most focus on coaching skill. Neither is wrong, but the hours your credential needs come from clients.
- Total cost. Hudson, for one, lists required books and 10 hours of coaching received from one of its certified coaches as extras beyond tuition.
Questions to ask before you enroll
- Which ICF level is this exact program accredited at, and when does the accreditation renew?
- How many hours are live with faculty, and when are classes in my time zone?
- Are the 10 hours of mentor coaching included, and do your mentors hold, or plan to hold, the ICF's Mentor Coach Specialization, which credential candidates' mentors need from January 1, 2027?
- How many of my coaching sessions will faculty observe, and how is feedback given?
- What's the total cost in writing, including materials, evaluation and payment-plan fees?
- What happens to my hours and money if I pause or drop out?
Our seven checks before you enroll go further on refund terms and buyer value.

Where Coachful fits after you graduate
Coachful isn't a training program or an accrediting body. It's where you run the practice your credential depends on: an accredited program covers the education, but the 100, 500 or 2,500 coaching hours come from real clients. A Coachful membership includes:
- ICF hour tracking that counts completed sessions toward the ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds in hours and distinct clients, with an export of your ICF client coaching log, paid and pro bono hours included. See ICF hour tracking and our ICF coaching log template.
- Booking, payment and e-signed coaching agreements before the first session, which is also where recording consent for your performance evaluation can sit.
- Programs, check-ins and a client app for the work between sessions.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. Coachful's team builds your coaching website, first offer page and first program in your own account, for free on every plan, usually within about 24 hours. Choose We'll build it for you · FREE under Create and tell the team what you need. Your accreditation and credential appear only once they're real; nothing gets invented. See what the free build includes, or the Coachful page for life coaches.

Frequently asked questions
What does ICF accredited mean for a coaching program?
It means the ICF has reviewed the program's curriculum, faculty and assessment against its standards at a set level: Level 1, Level 2, Level 3 or Continuing Coach Education. Graduates of a full Level 1 or Level 2 program apply for their credential on a cheaper, faster path.
How do I find ICF accredited coaching programs?
Use the ICF's free Education Search Service on coachingfederation.org. You can filter by accreditation level, delivery method, language and specialization, then confirm the exact program name matches the one you're being sold.
What is the difference between ICF Level 1 and Level 2?
Level 1 programs run 60 to 124 hours and lead to the ACC. Level 2 programs run 125 to 175 hours, include six observed sessions instead of five and an evaluation at the PCC level, and let graduates apply directly for the PCC.
Is ACTP the same as Level 2?
Yes. The ICF's own guidance describes Level 2 as "formerly ACTP." ACSTH was the older name for shorter accredited training, and an unfinished Level 1 or Level 2 program counts as ACSTH education.
Can I get an ICF credential without an accredited program?
Yes, through the Portfolio path. You document your own coach-specific education, at least half of it live with faculty. The ICF member fee for the ACC rises from $175 to $475 and the estimated review from 4 to 14 weeks, as listed in October 2026.
Are ICF accredited programs available online?
Yes. Many are fully online, including university programs such as UW-Madison's and UT Dallas's. Our guide to life coach certification online compares live, blended and self-paced formats.
Will Coachful build my coaching website after I finish an accredited program?
Yes. Coachful's team builds your coaching website, first offer page and first program for free on every plan, usually within about 24 hours. Coachful is a paid membership with a free trial; the build costs nothing extra.







