Relationship Coach Certification: Programs and Honest Limits

Relationship coach certification has no single governing body. Most relationship coaches combine two things: general coach training, ideally accredited by the International Coaching Federation (ICF) at Level 1 or Level 2, and specialist relationship training, such as the Relationship Coaching Institute's program, a Gottman leader training or PREPARE/ENRICH facilitator certification. In October 2026 we couldn't confirm a single relationship-specific program accredited by the ICF at Level 1 or 2, so be wary of any that implies it is.
The other trap is the word "Gottman." The Gottman Institute's certification is for licensed therapists; coaches can take some of its leader trainings, which end in a certificate of completion. This guide compares the real options as their own sites described them in October 2026, with prices, formats and the exact wording each uses, so you can build a training path that holds up when a client asks what your certificate means.
Once you're trained, Coachful's team will build your relationship coaching website for free on every plan, so couples and singles have somewhere calm to book a first call.
Relationship coach certifications compared
Criteria: what the credential actually is, then who may enroll. Prices as listed in October 2026.
| Program | What you get | Who can enroll | Format | Price as listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Relationship Coaching Institute (RCI) | RCI's relationship coach certification; 60+ training hours you can apply toward an ICF credential through the Portfolio path | Not restricted | Live virtual modules; a self-paced hybrid from January 2027 | $3,997 plus $79 a month membership |
| Gottman Seven Principles Leader | A Gottman certificate of completion to lead its Seven Principles program | No prerequisites | On demand, about 8 hours, or live webinar | $399 on demand; optional CEs $40 |
| PREPARE/ENRICH Facilitator Certification | Certification to give and debrief the PREPARE/ENRICH couples assessment | Not stated | Online in about 3 hours, or an in-person workshop | $250 online |
| Fisher Relationship Coach Academy | The academy's relationship coach certificate; 10 hours of ICF continuing education credit | No prior experience required | 12 weekly live Zoom classes plus a practicum with couples | $2,997, then $47 a month optional membership |
| Matchmaking Institute Science-Based Coaching Certification | A certificate of completion in dating coaching | Not stated | 12 online modules, weekly live call, up to 8 students | Not published |
| Certified Gottman Therapist | Gottman's clinical certification | Licensed mental health professionals only | About 2 years | $1,225 administrative fee, plus consultation |

The options in more detail
Relationship Coaching Institute
A dedicated relationship coaching school. You start with Foundations of Relationship Coaching, then choose a singles track (Conscious Dating, parts one and two), a couples track (premarital, committed couples and Radical Marriage) or both. RCI says its program is "aligned with the standards of the International Coach Federation" and that you can apply its 60-plus hours to an ICF credential "via their portfolio path," which means it isn't ICF accredited. The $79 monthly membership covers a license to RCI's materials and business support, and RCI describes "unlimited, ongoing mentoring and support." Watch for: the ongoing fee is tied to the license, so ask what happens to your materials if you stop paying.
The Gottman Institute
Gottman's own certification, Certified Gottman Therapist, requires licensure in a mental health field, a master's or doctorate, at least 1,000 postgraduate therapy hours and malpractice insurance, over a two-year track. Coaches can't enter it. What coaches can take are Gottman's workshop leader trainings, which the institute says are "designed to be accessible to both licensed clinicians and life coaches, educators, and small group leaders": Seven Principles Leader, Lessons in Love Leader and Bringing Baby Home Educator. Seven Principles Leader has no prerequisites, takes about eight hours on demand and ends with an official certificate of completion and a badge; leaders sign a leader agreement. Never describe yourself as a "Gottman-certified coach." "Gottman Seven Principles Leader" is accurate.
PREPARE/ENRICH
A couples assessment for premarital and marriage work. Facilitator certification is self-paced online in "3 hours or less" for $250, or through an in-person workshop with a local trainer. The online package includes one assessment credit, a facilitator manual, a couples workbook and a referral listing. It's a tool certification: it qualifies you to use the assessment, not to call yourself a certified relationship coach.
Fisher Relationship Coach Academy
Twelve weekly 90-minute live classes on Zoom over about three months, plus a practicum with real couples and two 45-minute sessions with one of its master relationship coaches. Watch for: it says it's "accredited by the International Coaching Federation," but the program qualifies for nine core competency hours and one resource development hour, which is ICF continuing education credit, not Level 1 or Level 2 accreditation.
Matchmaking Institute (dating coaching)
A dating coaching certificate taught by Dr. Terri Orbuch: 12 online modules of 30 to 45 minutes, a weekly live call, weekly office hours and a one-to-one call, capped at eight students. Watch for: its homepage calls itself "the only school in the world authorized to issue certification in matchmaking" and refers to "accredited" programs without naming any authority or accreditor.

A training path that holds up
Because no relationship-specific credential carries independent weight, the strongest path is layered:
- General coaching skill, accredited. An ICF Level 1 or Level 2 program teaches the core skills every relationship coach needs: listening, open questions, agreements and ethics. Our list of life coach certification programs and our guide to ICF accredited coaching programs compare them.
- Relationship specialty training. RCI for a full relationship coaching curriculum, Gottman leader trainings for structured workshops, PREPARE/ENRICH if you'll do premarital work.
- A credential you can name. An ICF ACC or PCC, earned with your relationship clients' hours, is the credential a client can verify on the ICF's directory.
Clients may not know one certificate from another, but they notice a coach who can explain plainly what they're trained in, and this path gives you a plain answer.
What good relationship coach training covers
Whichever programs you combine, check that together they cover these. If one is missing, that's the gap your next course should fill.
- Coaching two people at once. Contracting with both partners, keeping the session balanced, and what to do when one partner shares something privately.
- Conflict and repair patterns, so you can name a loop without taking sides.
- Readiness and dating for single clients: values, patterns from past relationships, how to date with intention.
- Premarital topics such as money, family, children and roles, often with a structured assessment.
- Ethics and referral: confidentiality between partners, conflicts of interest, and the signs that a couple needs a therapist instead.
- Observed practice with feedback, ideally with real couples, which is what ICF-accredited training is required to include.
A program heavy on the first four and light on the last two will make you sound knowledgeable and leave you exposed the first time a session goes wrong.
Relationship coaching versus couples therapy
Coaching a couple to communicate better and treating a relationship in crisis are different jobs. Couples and marriage therapy is a licensed profession, and Gottman reserves its clinical certification for licensed mental health professionals. As a coach, refer out when you see:
- Any sign of abuse, coercion or fear of a partner. Couples coaching isn't safe or appropriate there.
- Untreated addiction, or depression, anxiety or trauma that dominates the sessions.
- An affair crisis or separation in which one partner needs clinical support.
- Children's safety or custody questions, which call for legal and clinical professionals.
Writing your referral rules into your coaching agreement before the first session makes the conversation easier when it comes.

Red flags in relationship coach certification
- "Accredited by the ICF" on a program that offers continuing education credits. Ask for the Level.
- "Gottman-certified" for coaches. It doesn't exist.
- "The only school authorized" claims with no authority named.
- Ongoing fees tied to a license you can't keep using if you stop paying.
- Promises to "save" marriages. No ethical coach promises an outcome for two other people.
Which route fits you
| If you want to... | Start with |
|---|---|
| Coach couples one-to-one | An ICF-accredited program, then RCI's couples track |
| Coach singles and daters | An ICF-accredited program, then RCI's Conscious Dating track |
| Run couples workshops | Gottman Seven Principles Leader or Lessons in Love Leader |
| Do premarital coaching | PREPARE/ENRICH facilitator certification, alongside coach training |
| Practice couples therapy | A licensed clinical route, then Gottman's clinical certification |
On pricing your work, Coachful's 2026 Coaching Business Report puts relationship coaching at $100 to $200 an hour, from PayScale and practitioner reports, with experienced coaches at $125 to $250; see relationship coaching rates. If you're still deciding on the career, our guide to how to become a relationship coach covers the whole path.

Where Coachful fits after you certify
Coachful doesn't train or certify relationship coaches. It's the platform the practice runs on, and a Coachful membership includes the Relationships power-up, built for coaching two people at once: a weekly pulse for each partner, agreements both partners tick, exercises each answers separately, a private repair log and a plan, with editions for couples, dating and separation. Alongside it:
- Booking and payment for longer couples sessions, with coaching agreements signed before the first one.
- Worksheets and check-ins each partner completes in the client app on iPhone and Android.
- Packages and programs for multi-week couples work.
The Coachful page for relationship coaches shows the setup, our roundup of tools for relationship coaches compares the alternatives, and our guide to a relationship coach website shows what the site should say.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. Coachful's team builds your coaching website, first offer page and first program in your own account, free on every plan, usually within about 24 hours. Tell the team who you work with, couples, singles or both, and what visitors should do first. Nothing gets invented: no credentials you don't hold and no testimonials you don't have. See what the free build includes.

Frequently asked questions
What is the best relationship coach certification?
There's no single best one, because no relationship-specific credential is independently verified. A strong combination is ICF-accredited general coach training plus specialist relationship training, such as the Relationship Coaching Institute's program or a Gottman leader training.
Can a life coach become Gottman certified?
Not as a Certified Gottman Therapist, which requires a mental health license, a graduate degree and 1,000 postgraduate therapy hours. Coaches can take Gottman leader trainings such as Seven Principles Leader, which end in a certificate of completion.
How much does relationship coach certification cost?
Among the options we checked, prices ran from $250 for PREPARE/ENRICH facilitator certification and $399 for Gottman's Seven Principles Leader to $3,997 plus $79 a month for the Relationship Coaching Institute, as listed in October 2026.
Is there an ICF-accredited relationship coach certification?
We couldn't confirm one at ICF Level 1 or Level 2 in October 2026. Some programs offer ICF continuing education credits or Portfolio-path hours. Check any claim in the ICF's Education Search Service.
Do you need a license to be a relationship coach?
Not in most places, since coaching isn't a licensed profession; our guide on whether you need a license to coach explains the details. Couples and marriage therapy is, so relationship coaches should refer clients with abuse, addiction or mental health conditions to licensed professionals.
What does a relationship coach certification teach?
Typically communication and conflict patterns, relationship readiness for singles, premarital topics and how to run sessions with two people. Programs like RCI also teach how to build a relationship coaching business.
Will Coachful build my relationship coaching website?
Yes. Coachful's team builds your website, first offer page and first program for free on every plan, usually within about 24 hours. Coachful itself is a paid membership with a free trial; the build costs nothing extra.







