Best Invoicing Software for Life Coaches: 7 Picks for 2026

The best invoicing software for life coaches is the one that bills the way life coaching is actually sold: a 12-week package paid in three instalments, a monthly retainer that renews itself, a VIP day paid upfront, a group program with a deposit. Hourly time-tracking tools and generic accounting apps can send an invoice, but they leave you to stitch together the contract, the booking link, the reminder and the client's access to their program. So the deciding question is not "which tool makes the prettiest invoice?" It is "which tool gets a client from yes to paid to coached with the fewest gaps?"
Our pick is Coachful, and we should say upfront that we make Coachful. It wins this list because the invoice is one step inside a single client journey: the client signs the coaching agreement, pays through your own Stripe or Razorpay account, books sessions and receives the program in your branded app, all under one login. The six other tools below are real options, and for some practices one of them is the better fit. Each section ends with the case for choosing it instead.
If you want the broader category view first, our buyer's guide to invoicing software for coaches covers every coaching niche. This article stays with life coaches.
What do life coaches need from invoicing software?
Life coaches need invoicing that handles packages, instalments and recurring retainers, ties each payment to a signed agreement, and keeps billing next to the coaching itself. A line-item invoice is the smallest part of the job.
Look at how a typical life coaching engagement runs. A prospect books a discovery call, often after filling in an intake form. If the call goes well, you send a proposal or offer: perhaps a three-month package with fortnightly sessions and support between calls. Before the first session the client should sign an agreement that sets out what coaching is and is not, your cancellation and refund terms, and how long they have to use their sessions. Then money changes hands, either in full or across a payment plan. From there the work happens partly in sessions and partly between them: reflections, habits, goals, worksheets, maybe a vision board. At the end, many clients renew or move onto a lighter monthly plan.
Every one of those steps touches billing:
- Packages and session credits. A client who buys six sessions needs those six sessions tracked, not six separate invoices.
- Payment plans. Many life coaching packages cost enough that clients ask to split them. Your tool should collect each instalment automatically and show you who is behind.
- Subscriptions. Ongoing "in your corner" style offers renew monthly. Manually invoicing those every month is where coaches lose money and goodwill.
- Agreements before payment. The refund and scope terms only protect you if they were accepted before the client paid. Our page on coaching contracts explains what to include.
- Receipts and records. You need an invoice or receipt per payment for your own books and for clients who expense coaching through an employer.
- Scope clarity. Life coaching is not therapy. Your agreement and your sales page should say so, and you should refer clients to a licensed mental health professional when what they bring is clinical. Billing software does not change that, but it should store the signed agreement where you can find it.
One more life coach detail: if you are working toward an ICF credential, your payment records double as evidence of paid coaching hours. A tool that already knows which sessions were paid and which were pro bono saves you a spreadsheet later.
Which questions should you answer before choosing?
Answer these five questions about your own practice before comparing features. Your answers point to a short list faster than any feature grid.
- How do clients pay you? Mostly packages paid in full, payment plans, monthly retainers, single sessions, or a mix?
- Does your coaching continue between sessions? Do clients work on habits, goals, check-ins or course material between calls, or is each session self-contained?
- How many active clients will you have in a year? Five private clients, fifteen, or forty including a group program?
- Do you want booking, contracts and payment in one place? Or are you happy to connect a separate scheduler and e-signature tool?
- Who keeps your books? Do you need full bookkeeping (bank feeds, expenses, reports for your accountant) inside the same tool, or do you export payment records to an accountant or a dedicated accounting app?
Which tool matches your answers?
Use this table to map your answers to a starting pick. Coachful appears first because it fits the most common life coaching answers; the rows beneath it show where another tool makes more sense.
| Start with | Your answers | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Packages, payment plans or retainers, plus work between sessions, any client count | Payments, agreements, booking and program delivery share one client record and one branded client app |
| HoneyBook | Packages and proposals, no between-session delivery, want a polished client-facing proposal flow | Proposal, contract and invoice in one client-facing file; unlimited clients on every plan |
| Dubsado | Heavily automated admin, comfortable building workflows, desktop-first | Workflow automation for forms, contracts and invoices; no client limit |
| Paperbell | Solo, sessions and packages only, want one flat price and a simple setup | Booking, packages, payments and contracts for one coach |
| CoachAccountable | Small number of private clients, accountability and action plans matter most | Sessions, action plans, metrics and invoicing priced by active client |
| Bonsai | You also do consulting or project work billed by time | Proposals, contracts, time tracking and invoices for freelancers |
| Wave | You only need invoices and bookkeeping, and handle everything else elsewhere | Accounting-first, with a Starter plan listed at $0 |
How did we rank these seven tools?
We ranked the tools on what decides the real cost of billing for a life coaching practice, using what each vendor documents publicly and what public reviewers report. We did not run hands-on tests for this article.
- One login for the whole client journey. Does the invoice live next to the agreement, the booking and the coaching, or in a separate system?
- Between-session delivery. Can the same tool deliver the program clients are paying for?
- Total stack cost. The subscription plus every other tool you would still need, plus fees on top of payment processing.
- Setup effort. How long before you can send a client a working checkout, and whether anyone will help you build it.
- Billing shapes. Packages, instalments, subscriptions, coupons and refunds.
Ranking criteria: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, total stack cost, and setup effort, including help with the first build.
| Tool | Rank | Best for | Starting price (as listed, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | #1 | Life coaches who bill packages and deliver programs between sessions | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients |
| HoneyBook | #2 | Proposal-led client onboarding | Starter $29/mo billed annually |
| Dubsado | #3 | Automated admin workflows | Starter $35/mo monthly |
| Paperbell | #4 | Solo coaches selling session packages | $97/mo monthly |
| CoachAccountable | #5 | Accountability-heavy 1:1 coaching | $20/mo for 2 active clients |
| Bonsai | #6 | Coaches who also bill project work | Essentials $25/mo per user (first plan with invoicing) |
| Wave | #7 | Invoices plus bookkeeping only | Starter $0 |
1. Coachful: is it the best invoicing software for life coaches?
Yes, for most life coaches, because it treats the invoice as one moment in the client relationship rather than a separate job. You create an offer, the client signs your agreement and pays, and the same purchase gives them access to sessions, programs and content in your branded app.

How billing works inside the practice
Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account. That means the money lands in your account, under your business name, and you keep the relationship with your processor. Coachful takes a 0% platform fee (since August 2026), so the only payment cost is Stripe's or Razorpay's own processing. Every transaction produces an invoice automatically, and you can also raise manual invoices, which helps when a client's employer wants a formal invoice before paying or when you agree a one-off arrangement.

The billing shapes cover what life coaches sell: one-time payments for a VIP day, subscriptions for a monthly retainer, payment plans for a larger package, order bumps (for example adding a journal workbook at checkout), coupons, refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay. Stripe Tax is supported if you need sales tax or VAT calculated at checkout. Paid sessions and session credits sit on the booking side, so a six-session package draws down as sessions are booked instead of you counting them by hand.
Packages, offers and the agreement
Offers are where a package is defined. You can see several live ones on the demo account below: a monthly "in your corner" style offer and a 90-day transformation package, each with its own cover image.

Coaching agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and are stored on the client record, so the terms a client accepted sit next to their payment history. If you already have a signed PDF from an older engagement, you can drop it onto the client's Agreements tab.

What the client sees after paying
Here is where it pulls away from pure billing tools. After checkout, the client lands in their coaching hub inside the Coachful app, under your branding: next session, programs, progress and documents. A multi-week program can carry weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins and streaks, so the work between sessions is visible to both of you.

On your side, the client record pulls together goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions, with a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk. A client who has gone quiet and has a payment plan instalment coming up is someone to contact before the card is charged, not after.

The short walkthrough below shows the invoices and payments area.
Two more details matter to life coaches specifically. ICF credential tracking counts your coaching hours and distinct clients against the ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports an ICF client coaching log with paid and pro bono hours (see ICF hour tracking). And the booking side handles availability rules, buffers, minimum notice, time-zone detection, two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook calendar sync, and built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet and Teams links. Current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients.
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create > We'll build it for you, you describe what you want built, such as a sales page for your signature package, a checkout funnel, a program, a coaching flow, an intake form or an email sequence, and attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as your logo, photos and existing copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and any gaps are left for you to fill. It does not cover recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. One recent build: a leadership coach with a Squarespace renewal days away got one clean homepage with a repeated "talk with me" button. More examples are in our post on the free white-glove service.

Where it falls short
Weigh these limits before you commit. There is no PayPal, so clients who insist on paying that way need another route. There is no permanent free plan. It is not HIPAA-certified, so it is not for clinical records or insurance billing. It is not a full accounting package: it records payments and invoices, but bank feeds, expense tracking and tax returns belong with your accountant or an accounting app. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account.
In short: Coachful is a coaching platform for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions, including solo life coaches who are replacing four to six separate tools. One subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, community, a website with funnels and email, and Michelle, the built-in AI assistant. It does not do PayPal, clinical record-keeping or full bookkeeping. To start, take a free trial and ask the team to build your first offer and checkout through the white-glove service. See how it fits life coaching on our page for life coaches.
2. HoneyBook: is a client-flow CRM enough for a life coach?
HoneyBook is a strong choice if your billing starts with a proposal and you deliver the coaching elsewhere. It is a client-management CRM for service businesses, built around proposals, contracts, invoices, a scheduler and a client portal.

Where HoneyBook fits a life coach
The appeal for a life coach is the proposal flow. After a discovery call you can send one file that presents your package, collects the signature and takes the first payment, which feels professional to a client spending real money on a three or six-month engagement. Every plan lists unlimited clients and projects, so a growing roster does not move you up a pricing tier.
What it costs
As listed in October 2026, Starter is $29/mo billed annually (the monthly figure is not shown on the pricing page), Essentials is $59/mo monthly or $49/mo annually with up to 2 team members, and Premium is $129/mo monthly or $109/mo annually with unlimited team members. Starter allows 2 live lead forms; Essentials allows 10. There is a 30-day trial with no credit card required. HoneyBook raised prices in February 2025, from $19, $39 and $79 to $36, $59 and $129 monthly.

The catch
- The scheduler and automations are not on Starter. A life coach who books discovery calls through HoneyBook realistically needs Essentials.
- Payments must run through HoneyBook's own processing. The pricing page conflicts on the card rate: the FAQ says 2.7% + 10¢, while the plan comparison shows 2.9% + 25¢. ACH is listed at 1.5% and instant deposit at 1%.
- No coaching delivery. There are no programs, courses, habits, check-ins or community, so the between-session work needs another tool and another login for your client.
Its Trustpilot score was 4.1 from 748 reviews when we looked in October 2026.
Pick it over Coachful if your coaching happens almost entirely in sessions, you already have a separate place for any client materials, and a polished proposal-to-payment file matters more to you than delivering programs in the same system.
3. Dubsado: should you build your billing as a workflow?
Dubsado suits life coaches who like to automate admin step by step and do not need the tool to deliver coaching. It is a client workflow CRM covering forms, contracts, invoices, a scheduler and automated workflows.

The workflow angle
Dubsado's strength is chaining steps: when a prospect submits your inquiry form, send the discovery call link; when they book, send a questionnaire; when they accept the proposal, send the contract and the first invoice of a payment plan. For a life coach with a steady flow of enquiries, that removes a lot of copying and pasting. Clients and projects are unlimited on both plans.
Plans and the scheduler gap
As listed in October 2026, Starter costs $35/mo monthly ($27.92/mo annually) with 1 active lead-capture form, and Premier costs $55/mo monthly ($43.75/mo annually) with unlimited lead forms. The Starter plan has no scheduler or automations, which are the two reasons most coaches choose Dubsado in the first place, so plan on Premier. The 21-day trial gives full Premier access with no credit card required.
On fees, Dubsado does not state a platform fee of its own; your processor's rates apply. It also offers optional surcharging, which lets you pass card costs to the client. Check local rules and card network terms before you switch that on, and be aware that some life coaching clients read a surcharge as nickel-and-diming.
Limits worth knowing
- Dubsado says it does not include website building and is not an email marketing platform.
- The mobile app is a companion; full functionality requires the desktop web app.
- There are no courses, client community, habits or check-ins, so clients never "live" inside it between sessions.
- Workflows take time to design. Coaches who enjoy that kind of setup love it; others never finish it.
Trustpilot showed 3.7 from a single review in October 2026, which tells you very little either way.
Pick it over Coachful if automated admin is the main problem you are solving, you work at a desk rather than from your phone, and you plan to keep your website, email list and client materials in other tools you already pay for.
4. Paperbell: is one flat price simpler for a solo life coach?
Paperbell is a good fit for solo life coaches who sell sessions and packages and want one price for everything. It is an all-in-one admin tool covering booking, packages, payments, contracts, a client portal and a simple website.

One price, one coach
As listed in October 2026, Paperbell has a single plan at $97/mo monthly or $80.83/mo billed annually, with unlimited clients, sessions, files, packages and traffic. It is priced per coach. The pricing page has a "Try For Free" button but does not state the trial length; its help center (July 2026) described a 7-day trial during which the public site is offline and client messages and SMS are off. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Strengths for package sellers
Paperbell was built around the coaching package: a client picks a package, signs the contract, pays and books, and the sessions attach to what they bought. Paperbell states "no additional transaction fees", so you pay only your Stripe or PayPal processing fees. Paperbell supports PayPal; for a life coach whose clients prefer it, that matters.
Missing pieces
- No courses or LMS, no community, and no goal or habit tracking, according to our older profile of the product.
- No native mobile app; clients use a mobile browser.
- At $97 per month, it is one of the more expensive options here for a coach with only a handful of clients.
Its Trustpilot score was 3.5 from 14 reviews in October 2026. If you are comparing it closely, our list of Paperbell alternatives goes further.
Pick it over Coachful if you need PayPal at checkout, you only sell sessions and packages with no program or habit work between calls, and you prefer one unchanging price over choosing a plan.
5. CoachAccountable: does per-client pricing suit a small practice?
CoachAccountable works well for life coaches with a small number of private clients who want accountability tools and invoicing together. It is a coaching back office covering sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses, invoicing and agreements.

Built for accountability coaching
The core idea is that clients commit to actions and track metrics between sessions, and you see who followed through. For a life coach whose method depends on weekly commitments, that is closer to real coaching delivery than any of the CRMs above. Invoicing and agreements sit in the same account, so you can bill the package and hold the client to it in one place.
How per-client pricing adds up
As listed in October 2026, plans are priced by active client: Starter $20/mo for 2 active clients, Level 1 $40/mo for 5, Level 2 $70/mo for 10, Level 3 $120/mo for 20, Level 4 $250/mo for 50, and Level 5 $400/mo for 100. The 30-day trial needs no credit card and has no limits.

That model is cheap at five clients and expensive at forty. A life coach who adds a 20-person group program can jump two levels in a month.
Trade-offs
- Transaction fees are not stated on the pricing page; processor fees apply (Stripe, Square or PayPal, per our older profile).
- No native mobile app, per our older profile.
- No landing pages, website or marketing automation, so you still need a site and an email tool.
- By its own statement, it is not HIPAA compliant.
Trustpilot showed 4.8 from 47 reviews in October 2026, the highest score on this list. Our CoachAccountable alternatives page compares it with similar tools.
Pick it over Coachful if you plan to stay at a small number of 1:1 clients, accountability metrics are the centre of your method, and you already run your website and email list somewhere else.
6. Bonsai: what if you also bill consulting work?
Bonsai makes sense for life coaches who also sell project or time-based work, such as workshops or consulting, and want one invoicing tool for both. It is freelancer and agency business management: proposals, contracts, invoices, time tracking and projects.

A freelancer's toolkit
If part of your income comes from facilitating a team offsite or running a corporate wellbeing workshop billed by the day, Bonsai's time tracking and project views fit that work better than a coaching tool. The proposal and contract flow works for coaching packages too, though nothing in Bonsai is designed around sessions or programs.
Pricing per seat
As listed in October 2026, every plan is per user: Basic $15/mo monthly ($9/mo annually), Essentials $25/mo ($19/mo annually), Premium $39/mo ($29/mo annually), and Elite $59/mo ($49/mo annually) with a minimum of 3 users. The Basic plan has no invoicing or payments, so for this article the real starting point is Essentials. The 7-day trial gives full access without a card to start; you choose a plan and enter card details at the end.
Fees to check
The pricing page sends fee details to the help center, which we could not re-read in October 2026. Our older profile lists Bonsai Payments at 2.9% + $0.30 for cards, 3.25% + $0.30 for Amex and 1% for ACH ($1 minimum), and a 1% platform fee (1.35% on Amex) if you use your own Stripe or PayPal where Bonsai Payments is available. Confirm the current figures before you commit, because a 1% fee on a year of package payments is not trivial.
Other limits: no courses, community, client habits, check-ins or coaching programs, and custom domains are marked as expected in 2026 rather than released. Trustpilot showed 4.3 from 641 reviews in October 2026.
Pick it over Coachful if most of your revenue is project or day-rate work with coaching on the side, and time tracking matters more to you than delivering a program between sessions.
7. Wave: is accounting software with invoices enough?
Wave is the right pick only if you want invoices and bookkeeping and nothing else. It is accounting-first software for small businesses, not a client or coaching tool.
Accounting first
Wave's pricing page, read on 28 October 2026, lists unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records, mobile invoicing and a cash-flow dashboard on the Starter plan. A life coach who books calls through a separate scheduler, signs agreements in an e-signature tool and delivers everything in sessions could use Wave purely as the money side, and their accountant would be happy with the records.
What the plans include
- Starter: $0. Online card payments at 2.9% + $0.60 per transaction (3.4% + $0.60 for Amex).
- Pro: $19 USD/month billed monthly or $190 USD/year billed annually. Adds auto-imported and auto-categorised bank transactions, receipt capture, payment reminders and a discounted card rate of 2.9% + $0 for the first ten transactions each month, then 2.9% + $0.60.
- Add-ons listed include payroll and Wave Advisors bookkeeping services, priced separately.
Note the per-transaction fixed fee: on a payment plan that charges a client three times, the $0.60 applies to each instalment.
Not a client tool
The pricing page lists no booking, coaching agreements, client portal, programs or recurring package logic of the kind life coaches sell. Its place on the list is as a bookkeeping companion or a bare-minimum start.
Pick it over Coachful if you are pre-launch with one or two clients, want proper books from day one at the lowest possible cost, and accept running booking, agreements and coaching delivery in other tools.
How do the features compare?
This matrix covers the billing and client-journey features that matter to life coaches, based on vendor documentation and our notes as of October 2026.
| Tool | Invoices and payment shapes | Agreements | Booking | Between-session delivery | Website and funnels | Payment processing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Invoice per transaction, manual invoices, one-time, subscriptions, payment plans, coupons, refunds | E-signature before the first call | Yes, with paid sessions and credits | Programs, habits, check-ins, courses, community | Yes, with checkout funnels | Your Stripe Connect or Razorpay, 0% platform fee; no PayPal |
| HoneyBook | Proposals and invoices | Yes | Essentials and up | No | Not listed in our notes | HoneyBook's own processing required |
| Dubsado | Invoices within workflows | Yes | Premier only | No | No website, not email marketing | Processor rates; optional surcharging |
| Paperbell | Packages and payments | Yes | Yes | No courses, community or habit tracking | Simple website | Stripe or PayPal, no added fee |
| CoachAccountable | Invoicing | Yes | Yes | Action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses | No | Stripe, Square or PayPal |
| Bonsai | Invoices from Essentials up, time tracking | Yes | Not verified | No | Custom domain not yet released | Bonsai Payments, or own Stripe/PayPal with a 1% fee (older profile) |
| Wave | Estimates, invoices, bookkeeping | Not listed | Not listed | No | No | Wave Payments, 2.9% + $0.60 per card payment |
What does each tool cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?
At five clients the cheapest tools win; at forty, per-client pricing and missing features change the picture. The figures below are monthly list prices for one coach on monthly billing where shown, as listed in October 2026, excluding payment processing. For the CRMs we use the plan that includes a scheduler, since a life coach needs one.
| Tool | 5 clients | 15 clients | 40 clients | What you still need to add |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | An accounting app or accountant for bookkeeping |
| HoneyBook (Essentials) | $59 | $59 | $59 | Program delivery, courses, community; website and email depending on setup |
| Dubsado (Premier) | $55 | $55 | $55 | Website, email marketing, program delivery |
| Paperbell | $97 | $97 | $97 | Courses, community, habit tracking, email marketing |
| CoachAccountable | $40 (Level 1) | $120 (Level 3) | $250 (Level 4) | Website, funnels, email marketing |
| Bonsai (Essentials, 1 user) | $25 | $25 | $25 | Booking (check), program delivery, website; possible 1% platform fee |
| Wave (Pro) | $19 | $19 | $19 | Booking, agreements, client portal, program delivery, website |
The right-hand column is the real comparison. A scheduler, an e-signature tool, a course or community platform, a website builder and an email tool each carry their own subscription, and each one is another login for your clients. Before you choose the cheapest cell in the table, price the tools in the last column for your own practice.
How would a life coach set this up in Coachful?
Here is a worked example of a life coach moving from bank transfers and a spreadsheet to automated billing. The offer and prices are illustrative, not recommendations; set your own from your costs, your hours and what similar coaches in your market charge.

- Connect payments. Connect your own Stripe account through Stripe Connect (or Razorpay if you are in India) and turn on Stripe Tax if you need sales tax or VAT at checkout.
- Write the agreement. Set out the scope (coaching, not therapy, and when you will refer to a licensed professional), session length, cancellation window, how long the client has to use their sessions, and your refund terms. Attach it so it is signed before the first call.
- Build the package as an offer. For example, a 12-week "Clarity" package with six sessions. An example price of $1,800 could be offered in full or as a payment plan of three $600 instalments. Add session credits so the six sessions draw down as the client books.
- Add a monthly continuation offer. Clients who finish the package can move onto a subscription with one session a month and check-ins between, which renews without you invoicing.
- Attach the program. Link a 12-week program with weekly goals, a morning check-in and two habits to the offer, so purchase grants access automatically and the client finds it in your branded app.
- Set up booking. Create an unpaid discovery call type with intake questions, and a paid session type for clients outside a package. Sync your Google, Apple or Outlook calendar and set buffers and minimum notice.
- Publish a checkout. Use a checkout funnel or the link-in-bio page so a client can go from your Instagram bio to the offer in two taps. Add an order bump if you sell a workbook.
- Review monthly. Check the Payments tab for failed instalments, look at clients marked quiet or at risk before their next charge, and export your payment records for your accountant.
If you would rather not build steps 3, 4 and 7 yourself, describe them in a white-glove request with your existing sales page copy attached, and the team will build them in your account. For the booking side in more depth, see our guide to scheduling software for life coaches, and for the payment side, coaching payment software.
What red flags and switching costs should you watch for?
The expensive mistakes in billing software are rarely the subscription. They are fees, lock-in and missing records that you discover a year in.
- Required in-house payment processing. If a tool requires its own processor, moving away later can mean asking every subscription and payment-plan client to re-enter their card. Tools that use your own Stripe account keep that relationship in your hands.
- Platform fees on top of processing. A 1% fee looks small until you multiply it by a year of package payments. Read the fee page, not just the pricing page.
- Per-client price jumps. Count group program members, alumni on a monthly plan and pro bono clients. They may all count as active.
- Locked features on the entry plan. A scheduler or automations missing from the cheapest tier is common. Price the plan you will actually need.
- Agreements stored apart from payments. If a client disputes a charge, you want the signed terms and the payment record in the same place.
- No full export. Ask how you get your client list, notes and payment history out before you put them in. Coachful exports full client data as a ZIP, and its onboarding includes importing your clients, programs and content for you.
- Treating invoices as bookkeeping. An invoice log is not a set of books. Keep records of income and expenses that meet your tax authority's rules; in the US, the IRS recordkeeping guidance is the place to start, and rules differ by country, so check with an accountant.
- Switching mid-payment-plan. Time a move so that most clients are between packages, and let existing payment plans finish in the old tool where possible.
Which invoicing software should a life coach choose?
Choose Coachful if you sell packages, payment plans or retainers and your coaching continues between sessions, which describes most life coaching practices. It keeps the agreement, the payment, the booking and the program together, takes no platform fee, and the white-glove team will build your first offer and checkout for you.
Choose HoneyBook or Dubsado if your work is session-only and you want the strongest proposal or workflow automation, and are ready to add separate tools for delivery. Paperbell suits a solo coach who needs PayPal and wants one flat price. CoachAccountable fits a small 1:1 practice built on accountability metrics. Bonsai fits coaches with a sizeable consulting side, and Wave is a bookkeeping companion rather than a client system. For the full stack picture, see our roundup of the best software for life coaches and our comparison of coaching billing and invoicing software.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best invoicing software for life coaches?
For most life coaches, Coachful, because invoicing, payment plans, subscriptions, agreements, booking and program delivery share one system and one client app. If you only need invoices and books, an accounting tool such as Wave is enough. If you want proposals and workflow automation without coaching delivery, look at HoneyBook or Dubsado.
Do life coaches need a separate accounting app as well?
Usually yes. Coaching platforms and CRMs record payments and invoices, but they do not replace bookkeeping with bank feeds, expenses and year-end reports. Export your payment records monthly and give them to your accountant or import them into an accounting app.
How should a life coach invoice a package paid in instalments?
Set the package up as one offer with a payment plan, so each instalment is charged automatically and produces its own invoice or receipt. Make sure the agreement states what happens if an instalment fails or the client stops early. Avoid sending manual invoices for each instalment, because that is where payments get missed.
Can I take PayPal with Coachful?
No. Coachful takes payments through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account, including cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay. If many of your clients insist on PayPal, Paperbell supports it.
Does Coachful charge a transaction fee?
Coachful has charged a 0% platform fee since August 2026. You pay only Stripe's or Razorpay's own processing fees, and the money goes to your own account.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
It is a build service included on every plan. You describe what you want, such as a sales page, checkout funnel, program, intake form or email sequence, attach up to 8 links and 10 files, and the Coachful team builds it in your account, usually within about 24 hours. It does not include video recording, logo design, ads or ongoing marketing.
Should my coaching agreement be signed before the client pays?
Ideally, yes, or at the same time. Your refund, cancellation and scope terms are much easier to rely on if the client accepted them before money changed hands. This is not legal advice; laws vary by country and state, so have a local lawyer review your agreement.
Can invoicing software help with ICF credential hours?
Most invoicing tools cannot. Coachful counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports an ICF client coaching log with paid and pro bono hours, so your billing and your credential log come from the same records.
Is per-client pricing a bad idea for life coaches?
Not if you will stay small. CoachAccountable's per-active-client levels are affordable at five clients, but they rise quickly if you add a group program or keep alumni on a monthly plan. Count every person who would be active in your busiest month before you choose.
Do I need to charge sales tax or VAT on life coaching?
It depends on where you and your clients are, and on your income. Some regions tax coaching services and some do not. Coachful supports Stripe Tax for calculating tax at checkout, but whether you must register and charge tax is a question for an accountant who knows your jurisdiction.







