10 Best Cheapest Community Platform for Coaches (2026 Guide)

The cheapest community platform for coaches is not the one with the lowest number on its pricing page. It is the one with the lowest monthly bill once you add everything a paying client actually touches: booking, a signed agreement, payment, the program itself, check-ins between calls, and the email that brings new people in. A $9 community app can end up costing more than $100 a month after the bolt-ons and transaction fees. So the deciding question is simple: what will you pay, in total, to run the whole client journey for 5, 15 or 40 clients?
Our pick is Coachful, because its community sits inside a full coaching platform: booking, contracts, payments, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a website with funnels, and email marketing are all included in your Coachful membership, under one login. We make Coachful, so we have tried to be strict about where other tools win. Skool and Systeme.io both have a lower sticker price, and Systeme.io and Practice Better have free plans. Below, we show exactly what those plans leave out and what the add-ons cost.
Which platform is cheapest for which coach? (Quick picks)
If you only read one table, read this one. Each row names the situation a tool wins, the lowest listed price, and the main catch. Vendor prices are as listed in October 2026, monthly billing unless noted.
| Pick | Best for | Lowest listed price | Main catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Best overall: lowest total stack cost for coaches running 1:1 clients plus a group program | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | No permanent unpaid plan (a free trial instead); no PayPal |
| Systeme.io | Starting with no budget at all | $0 (Free plan) | No 1:1 scheduling, client records, habits or check-ins |
| Skool | Lowest sticker price for a paid community | $9/mo (Hobby) | 10% + 30¢ on every Hobby transaction; no booking, contracts or email |
| AttractWell | Marketing-heavy coaches who want community, CRM and texting together | $69/mo (first month $1) | No call packages on Starter; no habits or check-ins listed |
| CoachVantage | Unlimited clients on a flat per-coach price | $39/mo ($35 annual) | Clarity caps group programs at 2 and e-signatures at 4 a month |
| Practice Better | Wellness and nutrition practitioners with very few clients | $0 (Sprout, 3 clients) | No website or funnel pages; community feed not part of its listed features |
What does a coach actually need from a community platform?
A coach needs a place where clients talk to each other and to you, plus everything that gets them into that place and keeps them paying. A course creator selling to thousands can live inside a pure community app. A coach with 15 clients and a group program usually cannot, because the community is only one stop on the client journey.
Here is the journey most working coaches run, and the software each step quietly demands:
- Discovery. Someone finds your website or a lead magnet and joins your email list. That needs a site, a funnel page and email automation.
- Consultation. They book a free call. That needs a booking page with calendar sync, reminders and a video link.
- Agreement and payment. They sign a coaching agreement and pay, often on a payment plan. That needs e-signature and a payment processor. See our guide to coaching contracts for what belongs in one.
- Onboarding. They answer intake questions and get access to the program. That needs forms and a client portal.
- Delivery between sessions. They work through weekly goals, daily habits and check-ins, and talk with their cohort. This is where the community lives, and also where most community apps stop: they host conversation, not individual progress.
- Renewal. You see who is thriving and who has gone quiet, and you offer the next step.
The idea of a community of practice, a group that shares a concern and learns together over time, fits coaching better than an open forum does. For coaches, the shared concern and the rhythm come from the program. A feed that is disconnected from the program tends to go quiet after the first few weeks.
One scope note before pricing. If you coach in health, nutrition or mental wellbeing, coaching is not treatment. Your agreement should say so, and clients with medical symptoms, eating-disorder signs or a mental-health crisis should be referred to a licensed professional. None of the community tools here is a clinical record system; Coachful, for example, is not HIPAA-certified, so clinical notes belong in a clinical tool.
How did we rank the cheapest options?
We ranked by what a working coach pays per month for the whole client journey, not by sticker price. The test case: a solo coach with 15 clients, one group program running alongside 1:1 sessions, a simple website, and an email list. We then repeated the maths at 5 and 40 clients.
Ranking criteria, in order: total monthly stack cost (tool plus the add-ons it still needs, plus platform fees on sales), one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery (habits, check-ins, progress), and setup effort.
Vendor prices, limits and fees come from each vendor's own pricing page as listed in October 2026. Add-on prices use list prices for common single-purpose tools: Acuity Scheduling Starter at $20/mo for booking, HoneyBook Starter at $29/mo billed annually for contracts and invoices, and Kit Creator starting at $39/mo for email automation. These are illustrative choices; you could pick others. We have not run each tool hands-on for this article; where we describe weaknesses, we say whether they come from the vendor's own documentation or from public reviewers. Circle is a popular community app, but we left it out because we could not verify its current pricing for this guide.
1. Coachful: best overall for the lowest total stack cost
Wins when: you coach individuals and run at least one group program, and you are currently paying for (or about to buy) a community app plus separate booking, contracts, payments and email tools. Coachful replaces that stack with one flat monthly plan (Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients).

Coachful is a coaching platform built for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions. The community is one part of it. Clients get a community feed, group chat, direct messages and video events, and when someone enrolls in a program they are added to that program's cohort group automatically. You do not build a separate Skool group, export a list and send invites by hand.

What makes the total cost low is everything around the community. Booking pages come with availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection, plus two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook calendar sync. Sessions get built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links, email reminders, and SMS and WhatsApp reminders once messaging is enabled. That covers the job you would otherwise buy a scheduler for. Coaching agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and are stored on the client record, which covers the contracts tool. Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account with one-time payments, subscriptions, payment plans, coupons, order bumps, Apple Pay and Google Pay; Coachful takes a 0% platform fee, so you pay only Stripe or Razorpay processing. Compare that with the 10% Skool Hobby fee or Mighty Networks' 2% on Launch.

Between sessions, Coachful does what community apps do not. Programs run for multiple weeks with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks. Each client record pulls together goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, payments and sessions, and labels every client as thriving, active, quiet or at risk. In a group program, that is how you spot the member who stopped posting before they ask for a refund.

Courses (modules, lessons, drip, completion tracking), downloads, videos and bundles are delivered into the client's branded home and app. On the marketing side, there is a section-based website builder with a blog, custom domain and 30 designed homepage templates, plus booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels, email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with branching and A/B splits. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data: it can draft program outlines and emails, summarize recorded sessions and brief you before a call. Questions and planning are included in the membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits.

Here is a short Coachful walkthrough of how a client journey is put together, from first booking to program delivery:
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. On every plan, you can open Create > We'll build it for you and describe what you want built: a website, a funnel, a sales page, a program, a course outline, an email sequence, a community event or an automation. You can attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as logos, photos, brand guides and existing copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. Recent builds include a five-page site in sage and cream for a menopause and midlife health coach starting from nothing, and a year-long cohort program with an application form and a nine-day bootcamp funnel for a real-estate and money coach. It does not cover recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. Read more in our white-glove service guide.

What Coachful does not do. There is no permanent unpaid plan and no PayPal. It is not HIPAA-certified and offers no BAA, so it is not for clinical records or insurance billing. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account. There are no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura integrations, and it is not a course marketplace. Lower plans cap the number of clients; Pro is unlimited, and monthly plans cancel in one click. Coachful is based in Tallinn, Estonia, and holds a Trustpilot rating of 4.5 from 21 reviews.
How to start: take a free trial, then either import your clients and programs (imports are done for you during onboarding) or request a white-glove build. Plans for group coaching and community work start at Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients.
2. Systeme.io: best if your budget is literally zero
Starting from nothing, with no paying clients yet? Systeme.io is the strongest free plan on this list, and it includes a basic community.

Systeme.io is a low-cost marketing suite: funnels, email, courses, community, a blog and an affiliate program. As listed in October 2026, the Free plan includes 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 course with up to 500 students, 1 blog, 1 custom domain, 1 automation rule and 1 email campaign, and it never expires. No credit card is required. Paid plans are Startup at $17/mo (5,000 contacts, 10 funnels, 5 courses), Webinar at $47/mo and Unlimited at $97/mo. Systeme.io charges 0% transaction fees on every plan, including Free, so you pay only Stripe or PayPal processing. It holds a Trustpilot rating of 4.9 from 8,696 reviews.
The free plan leaves out most of the coaching side. Systeme.io has no native 1:1 scheduling with client records, and no habits or check-ins, according to the profile we hold. Its community and course features are basic, and there is no branded mobile app. One automation rule and one email campaign also run out quickly once you have a welcome sequence and a launch. To run 1:1 clients you will add a booking tool and a contracts tool, which is why its real cost at 15 clients lands around $66 a month in our table further down.
Pick it over Coachful if you have no clients yet, mainly need a funnel, an email list and a no-cost community to test an idea, and are happy to book calls elsewhere.
3. Skool: the lowest sticker price for a paid community
For a coach whose offer is the group itself, with very little 1:1 work, Skool's Hobby plan is the cheapest paid community on paper.

Skool puts a community feed, a classroom for courses and a calendar for live calls in one group, with gamified leaderboards that reward participation. Both plans include unlimited members, courses, videos and live calls. Hobby is $9/mo ($7.50 billed annually) and Pro is $99/mo ($82.50 annually), as listed in October 2026. The pricing page has "Try for free" buttons but does not state the trial length or card requirement.
The catch is the fee. Payments must run through Skool Payments, and Hobby takes 10% + 30¢ on every transaction. Pro drops that to 2.9% + 30¢ up to $899 and 3.9% + 30¢ above $900. As an example, a group program that collects $2,000 in a month would pay about $200 plus 30¢ per payment in Hobby fees, which is more than the Pro plan itself. Skool also has no custom-domain website, funnels, email automation, public API, 1:1 client records, intake forms, habits or check-ins. Public reviews are mixed: Trustpilot shows 1.6 from 54 reviews.
Pick it over Coachful if your business is a single paid community with leaderboards at its heart, you rarely run 1:1 sessions, and your monthly sales are small enough that the Hobby fee stays below what a fuller platform would cost.
4. AttractWell: best for marketing-led coaches who want CRM and texting
Coaches who sell mainly through funnels, texting and a Facebook-style group, and who want that all in one bill, will find AttractWell a sensible middle ground.

AttractWell is an all-in-one for coaches, course creators, consultants, authors and speakers: website, funnels, blog, CRM, email and texting, booking, contracts, invoicing, a store, and a community with posts, comments and scheduled posts. As listed in October 2026, Starter is $69/mo (500 contacts, 100 texts a month, 5 automations, 2 booking links, 1 course "vault" and no call packages), Basic is $99/mo (1,000 contacts, 1,000 texts, 100 automations, 10 booking links, 3 vaults, 5 call packages) and Premium is $129/mo. Every plan's first month is $1, and AttractWell charges a 0% transaction fee. It holds a Trustpilot rating of 4.6 from 21 reviews.
The limits sit in the small print. Starter has no session packages at all, which matters if you sell 1:1 bundles, so most coaches will need Basic. Extra vaults and classes cost +$17/mo. Its listing does not include per-client habits or daily check-ins, so delivery between sessions stays manual.
Pick it over Coachful if SMS marketing and a large contact database matter more to you than client habits and check-ins, and you want texting allowances bundled into the plan.
5. CoachVantage: best flat price for unlimited clients
Here is the scenario CoachVantage wins: you have lots of 1:1 clients, you want to pay one per-coach price no matter how many you add, and your group work is limited to a couple of programs.

CoachVantage is a coaching practice tool with CRM, scheduling, contracts and e-signature, invoices, a client portal, group programs with cohorts and small courses. As listed in October 2026, Clarity costs $39/mo ($35 annually) with unlimited contacts but caps you at 2 group programs, 2 sales pages, 2 booking pages, 4 e-signatures a month, 2 contract templates and 2 courses. Aha! costs $59/mo ($53 annually) and lifts the program, sales page, booking page and e-signature caps, with 5 contract templates and 5 courses. It takes no commission on your revenue; Stripe or PayPal fees apply. A 14-day trial needs no card.
For community, CoachVantage offers group programs with cohorts rather than an open member feed. Email marketing is not part of what it lists, so you would add an email tool. According to older public reviews, its built-in video (CVMeet) is weak and many users still run Zoom, and it has no team or multi-coach features.
Pick it over Coachful if you mostly run 1:1 engagements, have a large client roster on a tight budget, and only need group cohorts occasionally.
6. Practice Better: a free start for wellness practitioners
Nutritionists and wellness practitioners seeing just a handful of clients can start on Practice Better's free Sprout plan and grow into charting and telehealth.

Practice Better is practice management for wellness and nutrition practitioners: scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal. As listed in October 2026, Sprout is $0/mo for 3 clients and 100 MB. Starter is $35/mo ($25 annually) for 10 clients, Professional is $69/mo ($59 annually) for 300 clients, and Plus is $99/mo ($89 annually) for unlimited clients. Paid plans come with a 14-day trial (30 days on Team). Payments run through Practice Better Payments, powered by Stripe. Trustpilot shows 3.8 from 87 reviews.
What the free plan leaves out is room to grow: three clients is a test, not a practice. Evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS only start on Plus at $99/mo, and there is no website builder or funnel pages, per the profile we hold. A community feed is not part of its listed features; group work happens through programs. Budget for an email tool and a website separately.
Pick it over Coachful if you need clinical-style charting and telehealth for a wellness practice, or you want a free plan for your first three clients.
7. Delenta: cheap client portals with group coaching
When the priority is giving each client a portal and running small group sessions for under $50 a month, Delenta is worth a look.

Delenta is a coaching platform with CRM, scheduling, contracts, client portals, group coaching and, on its top plan, courses. As listed in October 2026, Starter is $29/mo ($19.08 annually) for 1 seat and 10 client portals, Pro is $49/mo ($39.08 annually) for 40 client portals and up to 6 calendars, and Premium is $79/mo ($58.25 annually) for unlimited portals and 100 GB. There are no additional transaction fees. The trial is described as 14 days in the headline and 7 days in the FAQ, so check before you start. Trustpilot shows 4.1 from 5 reviews.
The portal caps are the limit to watch: client number 11 pushes you to Pro, and client number 41 pushes you to Premium. The course creator and mobile app only come with Premium, and multi-coach features need custom-priced Teams.
Pick it over Coachful if you want a simple portal-first tool, run fewer than 40 clients, and do not need courses or an app.
8. Mighty Networks: a community-first app with courses and livestreams
Mighty Networks makes sense for coaches building a large membership with several hosts, where livestreams and member apps matter more than 1:1 work.

Mighty Networks combines community, courses and events with Mighty-branded member apps. As listed in October 2026, Launch is $95/mo ($79 annually) with 3 hosts, 10 moderators, 200 GB storage and 20 livestream hours a month for up to 100 attendees. Scale is $215/mo ($179 annually). There is a 14-day trial with no card, which includes Growth plan features.
On top of the subscription, Mighty takes a platform fee on sales: 2% on Launch, 1% on Scale and 0.5% on Growth and Mighty Pro, plus Stripe processing. It has no 1:1 scheduling, invoicing or contracts, and no per-client habits, check-ins or private coaching plans. Apps under your own brand require custom-priced Mighty Pro. Trustpilot shows 3.3 from 219 reviews. Add booking, contracts and email and the stack passes $180 a month.
Pick it over Coachful if you run a large membership with several hosts and frequent livestreams, and 1:1 coaching is a small part of your income.
9. Kajabi: best when you sell courses at scale
Kajabi is for the coach whose income comes mainly from digital products and who wants courses, community, website and email marketing from one well-known vendor.

Kajabi is a course, community, website, funnel and email platform for selling knowledge products. As listed in October 2026, Basic is $179/mo ($143 annually) with 5 products, 2,500 contacts, 1 community, 1 website, 2 admin users and 0 AI credits. Growth is $249/mo ($199 annually) with 50 products and 25,000 contacts. The standard trial is 14 days. Kajabi Payments in the US costs 2.9% + 30¢ on Basic; using another provider (other than PayPal) adds an extra Kajabi fee of 2% on Basic.
For a coach, the gaps are on the delivery side: no habit tracking or daily client check-ins, and coaching is organised as products and communities rather than per-client plans. Its Trustpilot rating is 3.4 from 2,347 reviews. With a scheduler and a contracts tool added, the stack starts around $228 a month.
Pick it over Coachful if most of your revenue comes from courses sold to a large audience, and 1:1 or small-group coaching is a sideline.
10. Thinkific: course platform with a community add-on
Course creators who already sell on Thinkific and want a community next to their courses, rather than coaches looking for a client-delivery tool, are the audience here.

Thinkific is a course platform with communities, memberships and coaching or webinar products. As listed in October 2026, Start is $109/mo ($82 annually) with 2 admins, 1 community with 10 spaces, 5 live community events and a maximum group size of 50. Grow is $219/mo ($164 annually). Prices rose by about 10% on August 13, 2026. Every self-serve plan has a 30-day trial. There is no Thinkific transaction fee when you use Thinkific Payments.
For coaches, the gaps are big. According to the profile we hold, there is no built-in 1:1 scheduling, so coaching relies on external booking links. It has no client habits, daily check-ins or per-client plans, and a branded mobile app is a $199/mo add-on. Trustpilot shows 1.8 from 868 reviews.
Pick it over Coachful if you are a course business first, already have students on Thinkific, and only want a community space beside the courses.
Which features does each platform include?
The short answer: only a few platforms cover community, booking, contracts and between-session delivery together. "Not listed" means the vendor's pricing and profile data we hold do not mention the feature; it may exist in a limited form.
| Platform | Community feed | 1:1 booking | Contracts with e-sign | No platform fee on sales | Habits and check-ins | Courses | Website and funnels | Email automation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (0%) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Systeme.io | Partial (basic) | No | No | Yes (0%) | No | Yes | Yes | Partial (1 rule on Free) |
| Skool | Yes | No | No | No (10% Hobby) | No | Yes | No | No |
| AttractWell | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (0%) | Not listed | Partial (1 vault on Starter) | Yes | Yes |
| CoachVantage | Partial (group cohorts) | Yes | Partial (4 a month on Clarity) | Yes | Not listed | Partial (2 to 5) | Partial (sales pages) | Not listed |
| Practice Better | Not listed | Yes | Not listed | Yes (none stated) | Partial (programs) | Partial (programs) | No | Not listed |
| Delenta | Partial (group coaching) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Partial (Premium only) | Not listed | Not listed |
| Mighty Networks | Yes | No | No | No (2% Launch) | No | Yes | Not listed | Not listed |
| Kajabi | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Partial (extra fee off Kajabi Payments) | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Thinkific | Yes | No | Not listed | Partial (gateway fee off Thinkific Payments) | No | Yes | Not listed | Not listed |
What does each stack really cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?
Once the gaps above are filled with add-ons, the cheapest sticker prices stop being the cheapest bills. The table below uses vendor list prices as of October 2026 (monthly billing where listed) and the add-ons named in our method: Acuity Starter ($20) for booking, HoneyBook Starter ($29, billed annually) for contracts, and Kit Creator (from $39) for email. Payment processing (Stripe or similar) is extra for everyone and left out. These are example stacks, not quotes.
| Platform | Add-ons assumed | 5 clients | 15 clients | 40 clients | Fee on sales |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | None needed | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | 0% platform fee |
| Systeme.io | Booking, contracts (Free plan at 5, Startup from 15) | $49 | $66 | $66 | 0% |
| Skool (Hobby) | Booking, contracts, email | $97 | $97 | $97 | 10% + 30¢ |
| AttractWell | None (Starter at 5, Basic from 15 for call packages) | $69 | $99 | $99 | 0% |
| CoachVantage | Email (Clarity at 5, Aha! from 15) | $78 | $98 | $98 | None |
| Practice Better | Email (Starter at 5, Professional from 15); website not priced | $74 | $108 | $108 | Not stated |
| Delenta | Email (Starter at 5, Pro from 15) | $68 | $88 | $88 | None |
| Mighty Networks (Launch) | Booking, contracts, email | $183 | $183 | $183 | 2% |
| Kajabi (Basic) | Booking, contracts | $228 | $228 | $228 | 2.9% + 30¢ (Kajabi Payments) |
| Thinkific (Start) | Booking, contracts, email | $197 | $197 | $197 | 0% with Thinkific Payments |
Two things stand out. First, none of the non-Coachful stacks above includes habits and daily check-ins, so the between-session work stays in spreadsheets or messages. Second, percentage fees grow with your income while flat fees do not. At 40 clients on a group program, a 10% or 2% cut can outweigh any subscription difference. For deeper dives on the add-on categories, see the cheapest scheduling software for coaches and the cheapest email marketing for coaches.
What do three real-world stacks look like per month?
Here are three ways a coach with 15 clients and one group program might set up, with what each costs and what it leaves out. Figures are list prices from October 2026 and are examples.
Stack A: the free-plan patchwork
Systeme.io Free ($0) for the site, funnel, email and community, Calendly Free ($0) for booking, and HoneyBook Starter ($29/mo billed annually) for contracts and invoices. Total: about $29 a month. What it leaves out: Calendly Free allows one event type and one calendar connection, Systeme.io Free allows one automation rule and one email campaign, there are no habits or check-ins, and clients juggle three separate logins.
Stack B: community app plus bolt-ons
Skool Hobby ($9), Acuity Starter ($20), HoneyBook Starter ($29 billed annually) and Kit Creator (from $39). Total: about $97 a month plus 10% + 30¢ on every Skool sale. What it leaves out: per-client progress tracking, a website with funnels on your own domain, and any single view of a client across four tools.
Stack C: one coaching platform
Coachful on its own covers community, booking, contracts, payments, programs with check-ins, courses, website and email. Total: Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients, plus Stripe or Razorpay processing only. What it leaves out: PayPal, wearable sync and a permanent unpaid plan.
For a broader comparison of all-in-one coaching tools on price, our cheapest coaching software guide goes beyond community features.
How would you set up a low-cost community program in Coachful?
Here is a worked setup for the test case: 15 clients, a 12-week group program with a weekly call, and occasional 1:1 sessions. Each step notes what the client sees.

- Create the program. Start from one of the 40+ program templates or ask Michelle to draft a 12-week outline, then add weekly goals, daily tasks and two or three habits. Client sees: nothing yet.
- Set up the offer and payment. Create an offer with a one-time price and a payment plan through your Stripe account, and prepare your coaching agreement for e-signature. Client sees: a checkout page, then an agreement to sign before the first call.
- Turn on the cohort group. Because cohort groups are created automatically on program enrollment, every buyer lands in the program's community group with no manual invites. Client sees: the program's group feed and chat in their branded app.
- Schedule the weekly group call. Add a recurring group session with built-in video or an auto-created Zoom link, and email reminders. Client sees: the call on their calendar and a reminder before it starts.
- Add check-ins. Switch on morning and evening check-ins from the coaching flows library. Client sees: a short prompt each day, and streaks as they keep going.
- Open 1:1 booking. Publish a booking page with buffers and minimum notice, paid per session or drawn from session credits. Client sees: available times in their own time zone.
- Watch the client list. Each week, sort clients by thriving, active, quiet or at risk, and message the quiet ones before the group call. Client sees: a personal nudge rather than silence.
- Plan the renewal. In week 10, send an email sequence offering the next program or a 1:1 package. Client sees: a clear next step before the program ends.

If you would rather not build any of this yourself, request it through the white-glove service and edit the result. For more on running cohorts, read our group coaching community platform buying guide or see how the Coachful community platform works.
What mistakes make a cheap community platform expensive?
The most common mistake is comparing sticker prices instead of full stacks. The others follow from it.
- Ignoring percentage fees. A low monthly plan with a 10% cut on sales becomes the most expensive option as soon as your program sells well.
- Choosing a free plan you will outgrow in a month. Three clients or one automation rule is a trial, not a business plan. Price the plan you will need at 15 clients.
- Forgetting contracts. Many community apps have no e-signature, so coaches skip agreements entirely. That is a risk worth paying to avoid.
- Running the community apart from the program. When the feed lives in one app and the program in another, engagement drops and you lose sight of who is struggling.
- Underestimating your own time. Every extra tool means another integration to maintain and another login for clients. Count an hour a week of admin as a real cost.
- Not checking the exit. Before you commit, confirm you can export your client data. Coachful exports the full client record as a ZIP.
So which is the cheapest community platform for coaches?
For a coach with paying 1:1 clients and a group program, Coachful has the lowest total cost, because the community comes with booking, contracts, payments, check-ins, courses, a website and email under one login and a 0% platform fee. If you have no clients yet and no budget, start on Systeme.io's free plan. If your business is a single community with almost no 1:1 work and modest sales, Skool Hobby is the cheapest paid option on paper, as long as you watch the 10% fee. For other niches, compare our rankings for life coaches and health coaches.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest community platform for coaches?
By sticker price, Systeme.io's free plan and Skool's $9 Hobby plan are the cheapest, as listed in October 2026. By total monthly cost for a coach who also needs booking, contracts, payments and check-ins, Coachful comes out ahead because it replaces four or five tools. Price the full stack at the client count you expect, not just the community app.
Is there a free community platform for coaches?
Yes. Systeme.io has a free plan with a basic community, 2,000 contacts and one course, and Practice Better's Sprout plan is free for three clients. Both leave out key coaching features: Systeme.io has no 1:1 scheduling or check-ins, and Sprout is too small for a real practice.
Why is Skool's $9 plan not the cheapest overall?
Skool Hobby takes 10% + 30¢ on every transaction, and it has no booking, contracts, website or email automation. Once you add those tools, the stack costs about $97 a month before the fee, as listed in October 2026.
Can I use Coachful without paying?
Only during a free trial; there is no permanent unpaid plan. Plans are flat monthly prices that cap client numbers on lower tiers, with Pro unlimited (Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients).
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
On every plan, you can ask the Coachful team to build a website, funnel, program, course outline, email sequence or other asset inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. You describe what you want and attach up to 8 links and 10 files. It does not include video recording, logo design or ad management.
Do community platforms charge fees on my sales?
Some do. As listed in October 2026, Skool charges 10% + 30¢ on Hobby, Mighty Networks charges 0.5% to 2% depending on plan, and Kajabi adds a fee if you use a processor other than Kajabi Payments or PayPal. Systeme.io, AttractWell and Coachful charge 0% platform fees; you still pay your payment processor.
Can I run a group coaching program without a separate community app?
Yes, if your coaching platform includes a community. In Coachful, each program gets a cohort group created automatically on enrollment, alongside group calls, chat and the program's tasks and check-ins. See our group coaching software page for details.
Is a community platform suitable for health coaching clients?
For coaching, yes; for clinical care, no. Coaching is not treatment, so refer clients with medical or mental-health concerns to a licensed professional. Coachful and the community apps here are not designed for clinical records, and Coachful is not HIPAA-certified.
How hard is it to move my community from another platform?
Clients, programs and content are imported for you during Coachful onboarding, and the white-glove service can rebuild your site or funnel. Plan the switch between cohorts so no group is moved mid-program.
Ready to replace a pile of tools with one? Start with a free trial and let the team build your first program or site for you.







