Top 5 Cheapest Scheduling Software for Coaches in 2026

The cheapest scheduling software for coaches is the one that leaves you with the smallest total bill once every client step is covered, not the one with the lowest number on its pricing page. A booking link costs little or nothing. The contract, the payment, the reminder, the check-in between sessions and the email list that come after the booking are where the monthly spend hides. So the deciding question is simple: what will you pay each month for the whole client journey at your current number of clients, and at the number you want next year?
Our pick is Coachful, because one membership covers booking, payments, agreements, programs with habits and check-ins, email and a website, so there is nothing to bolt on. We make Coachful, so weigh that, and check the numbers yourself in the tables below. Two of the other four tools have a lower sticker price or a permanent free plan, and we say exactly what those plans leave out. Every vendor price here is as listed in October 2026.

If you only need a booking page and nothing else, our broader guide to the best scheduling software for coaches covers more pure scheduling tools. This article is about cost, and about what a working coach really has to pay for.
What do coaches actually need from cheap scheduling software?
Coaches need booking that leads straight into the rest of the engagement: payment, agreement, reminders and something for the client to do between calls. A tool that only books the slot pushes every other step into a second or third subscription.
Look at a typical week for a solo coach with a dozen clients. A prospect books a free discovery call. If it goes well, they buy a package, sign an agreement and fill in an intake form. Each session needs a calendar invite, a video link and a reminder so they show up. Between sessions they are meant to journal, track a habit or complete a worksheet. Once a month the coach sends a newsletter, and a few times a year runs a small group program. Every one of those steps needs software of some kind.
With a scheduling-only tool, that week usually involves four or five logins: the booking app, a payment or invoicing tool, a contract tool, something for between-session work, and an email platform. Each might be cheap on its own. Together they cost more than most coaches expect, and the time spent copying a client's details from one tool to the next is a cost too.
Two scope points matter before you buy anything:
- Health and wellness coaches. Coaching is not medical treatment. If a client describes symptoms, a diagnosis or medication questions, refer them to a doctor or licensed clinician. None of the coaching-first tools here should hold clinical records. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA. If you need a BAA, Acuity Scheduling documents one only on its Premium plan. Our scheduling guide for health coaches goes deeper.
- Email reminders and newsletters. Session reminders are transactional and mostly exempt from marketing-email rules, but your newsletter is not. The FTC's CAN-SPAM compliance guide requires a valid postal address and an opt-out that is honored within 10 business days. Whatever tool sends your email has to support that.
Software subscriptions are usually a business expense for a self-employed coach, which in the US are reported on Schedule C for sole proprietors. How much you can deduct depends on your situation, so check with an accountant.
Which five questions decide the cheapest option for your practice?
Answer these five questions about your practice before comparing prices. Your answers tell you which plan tier you land on with each vendor, and which add-ons you would still need.
- How many active clients will you have in 12 months? Several tools cap clients by tier. A plan that is cheap at 5 clients can double at 15. Count the number you are aiming for, not the number you have today.
- Do clients pay you when they book, or later? If payment happens at booking, you need payments wired into the scheduler. If you invoice monthly, you need invoicing, which pure schedulers do not include.
- Do you send an agreement before the first session? Most coaches should. If yes, your stack needs e-signature, either built in or as a separate tool.
- Does anything happen between sessions? Habits, check-ins, worksheets, a program with weekly goals. If yes, a scheduler alone will not do it, and between-session delivery is often the most expensive add-on.
- Will you run a group program or sell a course this year? Group calls, a cohort community and course delivery push many coaches onto a third or fourth platform.
Score yourself honestly. If you answered "no" to questions 2 through 5, a free or very cheap booking link really is your cheapest choice. If you answered "yes" to two or more, total stack cost matters far more than the scheduler's sticker price.
Which tool fits your answers?
The table below maps common answer patterns to the tool that gives the lowest total cost for that pattern. It assumes you would rather run one system than several, which is also the cheaper option once you count hours.
| Your answers | Best-value pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Coachful: yes to 3, 4 or 5, any client count | Coachful | Booking, payments, agreements, programs, habits, check-ins, community, courses and email in one membership (Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients) |
| Only a booking link, no payments, 1 session type | Calendly Free | $0/month, but one event type and one calendar connection |
| Booking with intake forms and packages, no between-session work | Acuity Scheduling Starter | $20/month for one calendar, intake forms and packages |
| 3 or fewer clients, 1:1 only | Coach Recap Starter or Practice Better Sprout | Both have a $0 plan capped at 3 clients |
| Nutrition or wellness practitioner who also charts | Practice Better | Charting and telehealth for wellness practitioners; caps clients by tier |
How we ranked these five tools
Ranking criteria: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, total monthly stack cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients, and setup effort (including whether someone will build it for you).
| Rank | Tool | Entry price as listed | Best for | Main gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | 1. Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions | Not HIPAA-certified; no PayPal; no permanent free plan |
| 2 | Calendly | $0 Free; Standard $10/seat/month billed annually | A single booking link | No client records, contracts, invoicing or programs |
| 3 | Acuity Scheduling | $20/month ($16 billed annually) | Booking with intake forms and packages | No client portal, programs, courses or email marketing |
| 4 | Practice Better | $0 Sprout (3 clients); Starter $35/month | Wellness and nutrition practitioners | No website or funnels; evergreen programs and SMS start on Plus |
| 5 | Coach Recap | $0 Starter (3 clients); Professional $29/month | Solo 1:1 coaches under 20 clients | No courses, community, group programs or email marketing on its pricing page |
To make the comparison concrete, we priced one scenario for every tool: a solo coach with 15 active clients, a free discovery call, paid 1:1 packages, an agreement before the first session, a weekly check-in between sessions, a monthly newsletter and one small group program a year. Where a tool does not cover a step, we added the cheapest add-on in our vendor data that does. We read vendors' own pricing pages and documentation and what public reviewers report; we did not run paid accounts on each tool.
1. Coachful: the lowest total cost when booking is only the first step
Coachful is a coaching platform where the booking page is one part of a single system. The same membership covers booking, payments, coaching agreements, multi-week programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. You log in once, and your client uses one app with your branding. It is built for coaches who deliver programs rather than just sessions, for solo coaches growing into a small team, and for coaches replacing four to six separate tools.
Current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients. For the 15-client scenario above, the relevant plan is Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients. Plans are flat monthly prices; lower plans cap the number of clients, Pro is unlimited, and monthly plans cancel in one click. There is a free trial, and no permanent free plan.
The booking side, in detail
Booking pages support availability rules, buffers between sessions, minimum notice and automatic time-zone detection. Calendars sync two ways with Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook, so a dentist appointment you add on your phone blocks the slot. Each session gets built-in video or an automatically created Zoom, Google Meet or Teams link. Clients receive email reminders, plus SMS 24 hours before and WhatsApp one hour before once messaging is enabled. You can ask intake questions at booking, charge for sessions, or sell session credits that clients spend as they book. If you add coaches later, multi-coach session types can assign by round robin or to the least-busy coach. Our page on Coachful scheduling walks through each setting, and this short walkthrough shows the calendar in use:
What replaces the add-ons
Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time payments, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Stripe Tax. Every transaction gets an invoice, and you can send manual invoices too. Since August 2026 Coachful takes a 0% platform fee, so you pay only Stripe's or Razorpay's processing. That one fact removes the payment add-on from the stack. See coaching payment software for the details.
Agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and are stored on the client record (see coaching contracts). That removes the contract tool.

Between sessions, clients follow multi-week programs with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks. That removes the between-session tool, which in our scenario is the most expensive add-on for the scheduler-only stacks.

Email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits replace the newsletter platform. The section-based website builder, with a blog, custom domain and 30 designed homepage templates, plus booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels, replaces the website tool. For the group program, cohort groups are created automatically when clients enroll, with group chat, a community feed and group calls (more on group coaching software).
What the client sees
Your client books, pays, signs and then lands in a coaching hub that shows their next session, their programs, past sessions, progress and documents. A pre-session task can sit right above the next call. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account.

Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data: she briefs you before sessions, summarizes recorded sessions, drafts emails and can build a program. Questions and planning are included in your Coachful membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits. If you are working toward an ICF credential, Coachful also counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports a client coaching log.
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. Setup is the hidden cost of any cheap tool, and Coachful removes most of it. From Create > We'll build it for you · FREE, you describe what you want built: a booking funnel, a website, a sales page, a program, a course outline, an email sequence, a form, a link-in-bio page and more. You can attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as logos, photos, brand guides and copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. One recent example: a leadership coach with a Squarespace renewal days away got one clean homepage with a repeated "talk with me" button. Another, a menopause and midlife health coach starting from nothing, got a five-page site in sage and cream with every button leading to a free 20-minute consultation. The service does not include recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. Read more about the white-glove build service.

Where Coachful is not the answer
Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and is not for clinical records or insurance billing. It has no PayPal, no permanent free plan, and no routing forms that pick a host from form answers. It has no Salesforce or HubSpot integration. If all you need is one booking link with no payment, a free scheduler is cheaper, and we say so in the Calendly section.
Clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding, and you can export all client data as a ZIP at any time, which keeps switching costs low in both directions.
2. Calendly: the cheapest booking link, if a link is all you need

Calendly is a scheduling tool and nothing more, and for a coach who only needs a public booking link, that focus is its value. Its Free plan costs $0 and gives you one event type, one calendar connection and 1:1 scheduling, as listed in October 2026.
The free plan, honestly
One event type is the catch. Most coaches need at least two: a free discovery call and a paid session. The moment you add a second, you need Standard, listed at $10 per seat per month billed annually; the monthly price was not shown on the pricing page we saw. Standard adds up to six calendar connections and unlimited event types. Teams is $16 per seat per month billed annually, and every coach on a team pays separately.
Calendly documents paid bookings through your own Stripe or PayPal account, with no Calendly fee on payments, and reminder workflows. What it does not do is everything after the booking. There are no client records or notes, no programs, habits or check-ins, no intake questionnaires beyond booking questions, and no contracts or invoicing. Its trial terms were not stated on the pricing page this month.
Public reviewers rate it 4.1 on Trustpilot from 714 reviews (seen October 2026).
In our 15-client scenario, Calendly Standard needs three add-ons: a contract and invoicing tool, a between-session delivery tool and an email platform. Using the cheapest options in our data (HoneyBook Starter for contracts and invoices at $29/month billed annually, Quenza Growth for between-session activities at $50/month, and Kit's free newsletter plan), the stack comes to about $89/month before processing fees. That is an example built from listed prices, not a quote. We cover the switch in managing client scheduling without Calendly.
Pick it over Coachful if you only ever offer one type of discovery call, clients pay you elsewhere, and nothing happens between sessions. Then $0 is genuinely the cheapest price available.
3. Acuity Scheduling: more booking features for a small monthly fee

Acuity Scheduling, owned by Squarespace, is appointment scheduling with intake forms, packages and memberships. For coaches who sell session packs and want a proper intake form at booking, it covers more than a plain booking link.
Plans and what each adds
As listed in October 2026, Starter is $20/month ($16 billed annually) for one calendar. Standard is $34/month ($27 annually) for up to six calendars, and it is where text reminders start. Premium is $69/month ($55 annually) for up to 36 calendars, and it is the only plan with a HIPAA BAA. Every plan has a 7-day free trial with no credit card. Acuity does not mention a fee on payments; your own Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo rates apply.
The limits are on the client side. There is no client portal for programs, habits, check-ins or messaging. There are no courses, no community, no website builder and no email marketing. Contracts do not appear in the feature set we reviewed either. Public reviewers give it 3.6 on Trustpilot from 687 reviews (seen October 2026).
For our scenario, Acuity Starter plus the same add-ons (HoneyBook Starter at $29, Quenza Growth at $50, Kit Free) comes to about $99/month as an example. Move to Standard for text reminders and it is about $113. Our Acuity Scheduling pricing breakdown and full Acuity Scheduling review go plan by plan.
Pick it over Coachful if you need a signed BAA for scheduling and are willing to pay for Premium, or you run a booking-heavy practice where clients never need anything between appointments.
4. Practice Better: a free tier for practitioners who also chart

Practice Better is practice management for wellness and nutrition practitioners: scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal. It suits a coach whose work sits close to a clinical practice, though remember the scope line: coaching is not treatment.
Where the client caps bite
Its Sprout plan is $0/month for 3 clients, one practitioner and 100 MB of storage, as listed in October 2026. Starter is $35/month ($25 annually) for 10 clients. Professional is $69/month ($59 annually) for 300 clients. Plus is $99/month ($89 annually) for unlimited clients, and it is where evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS start. Team is $155/month for two practitioners. Paid plans have a 14-day trial (30 days on Team). Payments run through Practice Better Payments, powered by Stripe; rates are not listed.
So the free plan works for a coach testing the waters with three clients, but our five-client coach already pays $35, and the 15-client coach pays $69. If your group program is evergreen or you want SMS reminders and a branded portal, that becomes $99. Practice Better has no website builder or funnel pages, so add a site. Systeme.io's free plan (2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 blog) is the cheapest option in our data, though using it means a second login. Public reviewers rate Practice Better 3.8 on Trustpilot from 87 reviews (seen October 2026).
Pick it over Coachful if you are a nutrition or wellness practitioner who needs charting and telehealth in the same tool as booking, and you work in a setting where that clinical workflow matters more than a website, funnels or a community.
5. Coach Recap: the lowest sticker price for small 1:1 practices

Coach Recap is built for solo coaches, and its own site says it is not aimed at agencies or enterprises. Its pricing model is the simplest here: every feature on every plan, with the client count as the only difference.
Free until client four
We checked its pricing page today. Starter is free forever for up to 3 active clients with no credit card. Professional is $29/month for up to 20 active clients. Business is $79/month for unlimited clients. Annual billing gives two months free. An active client is anyone with a session or booking in the last 90 days, so past clients do not push you up a tier. Client payments run through Stripe, with no Coach Recap cut.
Every plan includes client management, sessions with notes and actions, programs as session packs or subscriptions, a booking page with buffers and notice rules, two-way Google Calendar and Outlook sync, email reminders, forms and surveys, contracts, chat, resource sharing, custom branding, a mobile app and goal and action tracking. For a 1:1 coach under 20 clients, that is a lot for $29.
The gaps show once you go beyond 1:1. Its pricing page does not list courses, a community, group programs, a website builder or email marketing. A coach running our scenario's group program and newsletter would add a course or community tool and an email platform, even if free ones such as Kit's newsletter plan keep the cash cost down. Past 20 active clients, the price jumps to $79.
Pick it over Coachful if you coach only 1:1, plan to stay under 20 active clients, never run a group program or course, and want the lowest monthly figure in this list.

What does the full stack cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?
Here is the stack cost for the scenario at three practice sizes. Every non-Coachful figure is an example built from prices as listed in October 2026 (annual billing only where the monthly price was not shown) and excludes card processing, which you pay with any tool.
| Stack | 5 clients | 15 clients | 40 clients | Logins |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful (everything included) | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | 1 |
| Calendly Standard + HoneyBook Starter + Quenza + Kit Free | $10 + $29 + $25 (Spark) = $64 | $10 + $29 + $50 (Growth) = $89 | $10 + $29 + $50 = $89 | 4 |
| Acuity Starter + HoneyBook Starter + Quenza + Kit Free | $20 + $29 + $25 = $74 | $20 + $29 + $50 = $99 | $20 + $29 + $50 = $99 | 4 |
| Practice Better + Systeme.io Free + Kit Free | $35 (Starter) | $69 (Professional); $99 on Plus for evergreen programs and SMS | $69; $99 on Plus | 3 |
| Coach Recap + Kit Free + Systeme.io Free | $29 (Professional) | $29 | $79 (Business) | 3 |
Two honest observations. First, Coach Recap and Practice Better can show a lower cash figure than a multi-tool stack, but both rely on free plans from other vendors for email, website and group delivery, with those plans' limits (one automation rule on Systeme.io Free, for example). Second, the logins column is a cost too. Every extra tool is another place to update a client's details, another set of reminders to configure, and another vendor whose price can rise. Compare the Coachful line for your client count against the row closest to your current stack, and count an hour of your time at your own coaching rate.
Here is how the five compare on the features that drive those add-ons:
| Feature | Coachful | Calendly | Acuity | Practice Better | Coach Recap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful row: booking with buffers and notice | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Payments at booking | Yes (Stripe or Razorpay) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (Stripe) |
| Contracts with e-signature | Yes | No | Not in our data | Not in our data | Yes |
| Habits and check-ins between sessions | Yes | No | No | Partial | Partial (goals and actions) |
| Courses and community | Yes | No | No | Partial (programs only) | No |
| Email marketing | Yes | No | No | No | No |
| Website and funnels | Yes | No | No | No | No |
| Permanent free plan | No | Yes | No | Yes (3 clients) | Yes (3 clients) |
| HIPAA BAA | No | No | Premium only | Not stated in our data | Not stated |
How would you set up the 15-client scenario in Coachful?
Start with the free white-glove build, then fill in the parts only you can write. Here is the sequence a coach would follow, and what the client experiences at each step.

- Request the build. From Create, choose We'll build it for you and describe a booking funnel: a free 30-minute discovery call, a paid 1:1 package and a sales page for your group program. Attach your logo and existing copy. The team builds it in your account, usually within about 24 hours.
- Set availability. Connect Google, Apple or Outlook calendar. Add a 15-minute buffer between sessions and 24 hours' minimum notice. Your client sees only real open slots in their own time zone.
- Connect Stripe. Link your own Stripe Connect account and set the package as a one-time payment or a payment plan. The client pays with a card, Apple Pay or Google Pay at booking and gets an invoice automatically.
- Attach the agreement. Upload or write your coaching agreement so it goes out for e-signature before the first call. The client signs from their inbox and the signed copy sits on their record.
- Add intake questions. Ask three or four questions at booking: goals, what they have tried, anything you should know. You read the answers on the client record before the call, and Michelle can brief you on them.
- Build the between-session program. Start from one of the more than 40 program templates and add a weekly goal, one habit and a morning check-in. The client opens their app each day, ticks off the habit and answers the check-in; you see their status move between thriving, active, quiet and at risk.
- Turn on reminders. Email reminders are on by default; enable messaging for SMS 24 hours before and WhatsApp one hour before. Clients get the nudge on the channel they actually read.
- Launch the group program. Create the program and enroll clients; a cohort group appears automatically with group chat and calls. Clients see the program, its current week and the other members in their app.
For more on cutting no-shows with timing, see automating coaching scheduling and reminders.
What red flags and switching costs should you watch for?
The cheapest plan today can become the most expensive one after your next 10 clients, or the hardest one to leave. Watch for these:
- Client caps that jump. Practice Better goes from 3 clients free to $35 at 4 clients. Coach Recap goes from $29 to $79 at client 21. Plan for the practice you want, not the one you have.
- One event type on a free plan. Calendly Free is real, but most coaches outgrow one event type in the first month.
- Features held back for higher tiers. Acuity's text reminders start on Standard; its BAA only on Premium. Practice Better's SMS and branded portal start on Plus.
- Per-seat pricing. Calendly charges per seat, so adding an associate coach doubles the scheduler line.
- Payment fees on top of processing. None of the five tools here adds a platform fee, but some add-ons in other categories do. Read the fee line before you connect Stripe.
- Exporting your data. Before you commit, check that you can export client notes, sessions and forms, not just a contact list. Coachful exports everything as a ZIP.
- Re-teaching clients. Every switch means new links, a new app and new login emails. Moving once to a single system costs less than moving three tools one at a time.
If you are leaving a specific scheduler, our guides to managing scheduling without Acuity walk through the move step by step.
Verdict: which is the cheapest scheduling software for coaches?
If you only need a booking link, Calendly Free costs nothing. If you coach only 1:1 and stay under 20 clients, Coach Recap has the lowest single price. For everyone else, which is most coaches who take payments, send agreements and give clients work between sessions, Coachful is the cheapest once you add up the stack, because there is no stack. One login replaces four, between-session delivery is included in your Coachful membership, and the free white-glove build means you are not paying for setup in hours either.
Check your client count against Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients, then compare it with the row in our cost table that matches your tools today. If you would like to see other categories priced the same way, read our cheapest coaching software roundup or browse Coachful comparisons.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest scheduling software for coaches?
For a single free booking link, Calendly Free at $0 is the cheapest. For a full client journey with payments, agreements and between-session work, Coachful usually costs least once you add up the separate tools a scheduler needs. Use the cost table above to check your own client count.
Is there a completely free scheduling tool for coaches?
Yes. Calendly Free allows one event type and one calendar connection. Coach Recap Starter and Practice Better Sprout are both free for up to 3 clients. Each has a limit that most working coaches outgrow quickly.
Can I use Coachful without paying?
No. Coachful has a free trial but no permanent free plan. Monthly plans cancel in one click, and lower plans cap the number of clients while Pro is unlimited.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
On every plan, you can ask the Coachful team to build a website, funnel, program, email sequence, form or other piece inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. You can attach up to 8 links and 10 files. It does not include video recording, logo design, ads or ongoing marketing.
Do any of these tools charge a fee on client payments?
Coachful takes a 0% platform fee since August 2026, and Calendly, Acuity and Coach Recap do not document a fee of their own. You still pay your processor's card fees with every tool.
Which scheduling tool is HIPAA compliant?
Of the five here, only Acuity Scheduling documents a BAA, and only on its Premium plan. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified. Coaching is not medical care, so clinical records belong in a clinical system.
Can I take payments when a client books?
Yes, with all five. Coachful uses your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account and also supports session credits and payment plans. Calendly and Acuity connect your own processor; Coach Recap uses Stripe.
How many clients can I have before the price goes up?
It depends on the tool. Practice Better caps at 3, 10 and 300 clients by tier, and Coach Recap at 3 and 20. Calendly and Acuity price by seat or calendar instead. Coachful's lower plans cap clients and Pro is unlimited.
Does Coachful work for group coaching?
Yes. Enrolling clients in a program creates a cohort group automatically, with group chat, a community feed, group calls and webinars. See group coaching software for details.
Can I move my clients into Coachful?
Yes. Clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding. You can also export all client data as a ZIP whenever you want.







