Coachful
Coachful
ToolsBlogContact
Sign in
Best of
October 31, 202630 min

10 Best Recurring Billing Tools for Coaches (2026 Guide)

10 Best Recurring Billing Tools for Coaches (2026 Guide)

The best recurring billing tools for coaches are the ones that charge the client and also start the work the client just paid for. So the deciding question is not "which tool can bill monthly?", because all ten below can collect repeat payments in some form. It is this: when a retainer renews or an instalment clears, does the same system know what that client should receive next, or does someone have to update a second tool by hand?

Our pick is Coachful, because a subscription, retainer or payment plan sits on the same client record as their sessions, agreement, program and check-ins. We make Coachful, so weigh that ranking accordingly; every other vendor's price and limit below comes from what that vendor lists, dated October 2026 unless noted, and each entry says when to choose it instead.

Coaches usually bill in three shapes: a subscription (a membership or group that renews until cancelled), a retainer (a monthly fee for an agreed scope of 1:1 work) and package instalments (a fixed total split into a set number of charges that then stops). Those shapes behave differently when a card fails, a client pauses or the price changes, and not every tool handles all three the same way. If you are still moving from per-session fees, this guide to moving from hourly billing to monthly retainers covers that decision first.

What does a coach's client journey need from a billing tool?

It needs a different thing at each of four stages, and only the second stage is about charging a card. Most billing regret comes from buying for the enroll stage alone and then finding the other three live somewhere else.

Attract: a page that can sell the recurring offer

A prospect should see what the monthly fee includes, how long it runs and how it ends, on a page you control. That means a website, a funnel or at least a link-in-bio page, plus email for the people who are not ready yet. If the billing tool has none of this, add a website builder and an email tool to your costs.

Enroll: consent, an agreement and a first charge

This is where recurring billing differs from a one-off invoice. In the US, the Restore Online Shoppers' Confidence Act requires online sellers using negative-option billing to disclose the material terms, get express informed consent before charging and provide a simple way to stop recurring charges. State rules and other countries' rules can add to that, so check with an accountant or attorney about your own offer. In practice, you want the checkout, the renewal terms and a signed coaching agreement connected, so you can show what the client agreed to.

Deliver: access that follows the payment

Once someone pays, they should get their sessions, program, group and documents without you copying details between systems. A pure billing tool stops at the receipt. If that is what you buy, the handoff becomes your job every time someone enrolls.

Retain: signal before the cancellation

Recurring revenue depends on clients staying, and clients usually drift before they cancel. Missed check-ins and skipped sessions are the early signs, and you only see them if billing and delivery live together. This stage also includes the unglamorous part: failed cards. European clients add one more wrinkle, because banks can require strong customer authentication on card payments, which is one reason a charge can need action from the client. Decide in advance who follows up on a failed payment and what your agreement says about continued service.

Which recurring billing tools cover which stage?

How we ranked them: one login for the whole client journey, delivery between sessions, total stack cost, and setup effort including the white-glove build, in that order, for coaches who bill on a recurring basis.

ToolAttractEnroll and billDeliverRetain
CoachfulYes: website, funnels, emailYes: subscriptions, payment plans, e-signed agreementsYes: programs, habits, check-ins, coursesYes: client status, community, sequences
KajabiYesPartial: subscriptions and payment plans, no standalone invoice builderPartial: courses and communitiesPartial: community and subscription analytics
Systeme.ioYesPartial: subscriptions and payment plans, no native 1:1 schedulingPartial: basic courses and communityPartial: email only
AttractWellYesYes: booking, contracts, invoicing, recurring membershipsPartial: courses, community, call packagesPartial: community and automations
PaperbellPartial: simple websiteYes: subscriptions, payment plans, contractsPartial: client portal, no coursesNo
CoachAccountableNoYes: recurring billing, instalments, agreementsYes: action plans, metrics, worksheets, coursesPartial: metrics
Practice BetterNoYes: packages, payment plans from ProfessionalYes: programs, charting, portalPartial: portal only
HoneyBookPartial: lead formsYes: recurring invoices, autopay, contractsNoNo
Stripe BillingNoPartial: subscriptions and payment links, no agreementsNoPartial: payment reminders and retries
SkoolNoPartial: monthly subscriptions and tiersPartial: community, classroom, calendarPartial: gamified leaderboards

Vendor features come from each vendor's own pages and our research notes from September and October 2026. We describe what vendors document and what public reviewers report; none of this is a claim of hands-on testing.

Thinking of launching your coaching business?

Answer a few questions and Coachful builds it around you: your website, programs, booking and payments. Ready in minutes.

Build your platform

1. Coachful: billing attached to the coaching itself

A desktop monitor showing coaching offer cards beside a notebook and a stack of signed agreements
Coachful's Offers page with demo offer cards on a desktop monitor beside a notebook and signed agreements.

Coachful is a coaching platform where one subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. It suits coaches who deliver programs rather than only sessions, solo coaches growing into a small team, and anyone replacing four to six separate tools. The coach has one login and the client has one branded app.

The three billing shapes, on your own payment account

Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account. You can sell one-time, subscription and payment-plan offers, with order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Stripe Tax. Coachful has charged a 0% platform fee since August 2026, so the only transaction cost is your Stripe or Razorpay processing. Current plans: (Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients). Plans are flat monthly prices: lower plans cap the number of clients, Pro is unlimited, and there is no per-client charge. Your clients never see a bill from Coachful.

Coachful Offers page with demo offer cards, including a monthly offer and a 90-day program
The Offers page with demo offers: a monthly offer sits next to a fixed 90-day program. All prices are sample data.

A single offer carries the price or payment plan, the calls, private chat and the program, and it starts the client's onboarding the moment they pay. A monthly retainer, a 90-day program in three instalments and a pack of session credits can all be built as offers in the same place. That is the real difference from a billing-only tool, because there is no handoff step after the charge.

Invoices and payment records on the client

Each transaction generates an invoice, and you can raise manual invoices when a company or sponsor needs one. Every payment is recorded against the package on the client's record, so who has paid for what is a glance rather than a search through a Stripe dashboard. Our coaching invoice guide covers what those invoices should say. This short walkthrough shows the invoices view:

Coachful Payments tab with an invoice table listing invoice, description, client, type, amount, status and date
The Payments tab in Coachful: an invoice table with type, amount and status columns, shown with sample invoices.

Agreements before the first call

Coaching agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and stay on the client record. That gives you one place to find the renewal terms a client accepted, which matters most on the day they dispute a charge. If you are drafting from nothing, start with the contract generator and have a local lawyer review the result.

Coachful Agreements tab in its empty state with a drop area for a signed PDF
The Agreements tab in its empty state, with a drop area for a signed PDF.

What the paying client actually gets

The monthly fee buys something visible. Clients get multi-week programs with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks, all in your branded home and app. Cohort groups are created automatically when someone enrolls in a program, which is what makes group programs practical on a subscription. A client who can see their next session and this week's tasks has a clearer reason to keep paying.

Client coaching hub showing the next session and tabs for overview, programs, sessions, progress and documents
What a paying client sees: the demo coaching hub with the next session and tabs for programs, sessions, progress and documents.

Seeing a cancellation coming

The client record brings goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions together, and it marks each client as thriving, active, quiet or at risk. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, briefs you before sessions from that live data. Questions and planning are included in your membership, while confirmed builds and changes use AI credits. For retainers, a client who moves to "quiet" is your cue to have the renewal conversation before the next charge goes out.

Coachful client overview with populated demo client profiles and activity summaries
The client overview with demo profiles and illustrative activity summaries.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. On every plan, you can go to Create and choose "We'll build it for you", describe what you want, and attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files. The Coachful team then builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours: a website, funnel, offer or sales page, program, course outline, email sequence and more. Nothing gets invented, so gaps for credentials, testimonials or prices are left for you to fill. It does not cover recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. One recent anonymized build gave a business mentor for beauty professionals a 12-week mentorship sales page, a free start-up-guide funnel and rewritten follow-up emails; another gave a real-estate and money coach a year-long cohort program with an application form. Here is how the white-glove service works.

Coachful Create page with the card offering to have the team build it for you
The Create page with the card that starts a white-glove build request.

Where it falls short

  • No PayPal, which matters if your clients expect it. Paperbell and Systeme.io both list it.
  • No permanent free plan. There is a free trial, then a monthly plan.
  • Not HIPAA-certified and no BAA, so it is not for clinical record-keeping or insurance billing.
  • The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account.
  • No Salesforce or HubSpot integration, and no multi-stage deal board for large sales teams.

To start, take the free trial and request a white-glove build of your first offer. Trustpilot showed 4.5 from 21 reviews. More on the payment side is on the coaching payment software page, and newer coaches can begin at the page for new coaches.

Join Coachful now

2. Kajabi: strong for courses and memberships, with fees to read closely

Kajabi homepage as it appeared in October 2026
Kajabi's homepage in October 2026.

Kajabi sells knowledge products: courses, communities, memberships and coaching are all set up as products, backed by a website, funnels and email. As documented in September 2026, it offers subscriptions, payment plans and one-time payments, along with subscription management and revenue and subscription analytics. If your recurring income comes from a membership with an audience behind it, this is a mature option.

The fee that changes the maths

Listed monthly prices are Basic $179 ($143 on annual billing), Growth $249 ($199) and Pro $499 ($399). Kajabi Payments in the US is listed at 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic, 2.8% + $0.30 on Growth and 2.7% + $0.30 on Pro. Use another provider (excluding PayPal) and Kajabi adds its own fee of 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan, on top of that provider's charges.

The limits are mostly about coaching depth. There are no habit trackers or daily client check-ins, so per-client plans have to be improvised from products and communities. There is also no standalone invoice builder, which makes sponsor-paid retainers awkward. Basic stops at 5 products and 2,500 contacts with no AI credits. Trustpilot showed 3.4 from 2,347 reviews on 25 October 2026.

Pick it over Coachful if courses and a large email audience are the business, 1:1 work is a sideline, and you want the deeper course marketing a course-first platform offers.

3. Systeme.io: the lowest entry cost for funnel-sold subscriptions

Systeme.io homepage as it appeared in October 2026
Systeme.io's homepage in October 2026.

Systeme.io is a low-cost marketing suite with funnels, email, courses, a basic community, a blog and an affiliate program. As documented in September 2026, it works with Stripe, PayPal and regional gateways, with one-time sales, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps and upsells. It states 0% transaction fees on all plans, including the free one.

Plans as listed in October 2026: Free at $0 (2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 course), Startup at $17, Webinar at $47 and Unlimited at $97. Trustpilot showed 4.9 from 8,696 reviews, the largest review count in this list.

Where the low price stops

This is a tool for selling, not for coaching someone. September 2026 documentation points to no native 1:1 scheduling with client records, no habits or check-ins, and no branded mobile app. A retainer client would need a separate calendar, a separate agreement tool and a separate place to do the work. Exports are worth checking as well, since contact exports were reported to expire after 3 days.

Pick it over Coachful if your recurring product is a low-priced membership or course sold through funnels, you have no 1:1 clients yet, and keeping software spend near zero matters more than delivery.

4. AttractWell: an all-in-one priced by contacts

AttractWell homepage as it appeared in October 2026
AttractWell's homepage in October 2026.

AttractWell aims at coaches, course creators, consultants, authors and speakers, and it bundles a website, funnels, a blog, a CRM, email and texting, booking, contracts, invoicing and a store. Memberships take recurring payments, and session "call packages" track usage. It lists a 0% transaction fee on all plans, with processors charging their standard rates.

The plan that unlocks call packages

Starter at $69 a month has no call packages, so a coach selling session bundles really starts at Basic. Basic at $99 allows 5 call packages, 1,000 contacts and 3 courses ("vaults"). Premium at $129 opens unlimited call packages and booking links with 4,000 contacts. Pro is $179, Diamond $239, and a Team plan starts at $600 for six accounts. Your first month is $1 on every plan rather than a free trial, and Trustpilot showed 4.6 from 21 reviews on 27 October 2026.

Pricing by contacts means your email list size drives your plan, not your client count. A coach with a big list and few clients pays more here than on a client-capped plan. Courses are also rationed on low plans, with unlimited vaults and classes costing $17 extra a month.

Pick it over Coachful if you need built-in texting allowances and many domains for several brands, and you prefer a contact-based price over a client-based one.

5. Paperbell: the simplest setup for packages on autopay

Paperbell homepage as it appeared in October 2026
Paperbell's homepage in October 2026.

Paperbell is aimed at solo coaches who want admin handled and nothing else. It covers booking, packages, payments, contracts, a client portal and a simple website under one price. Its billing options are broad for a tool this size: subscriptions, payment plans, pay-in-full discounts, pay-what-you-can, coupons and setup fees, through Stripe and PayPal.

One price, one coach

Paperbell lists $97 a month ($80.83 on annual billing) with unlimited clients, sessions, files and packages, no additional transaction fees, and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Its help center described a 7-day trial in July 2026 with the public site offline and client messages off during it. Trustpilot showed 3.5 from 14 reviews on 25 October 2026.

Paid clients get a booking and paperwork experience rather than a program. As of September 2026, it listed no courses, no community, no goal or habit tracking and no native mobile app. A group subscription would need a separate community tool, which is where the flat price stops being the whole cost.

Pick it over Coachful if your clients need PayPal, your work is 1:1 packages only, and you want no between-session delivery features to set up.

6. CoachAccountable: deep back office, priced per active client

CoachAccountable homepage as it appeared in October 2026
CoachAccountable's homepage in October 2026.

CoachAccountable is a coaching back office with sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses, invoicing and agreements. As documented in September 2026, it handles recurring billing, memberships and instalments through Stripe, Square or PayPal. Trustpilot showed 4.8 from 47 reviews on 25 October 2026.

The per-client maths

Price rises with active clients: $20 for 2, $40 for 5, $70 for 10, $120 for 20, $250 for 50 and $400 for 100. A 30-day trial needs no card. Transaction fees are not stated on the pricing page, so assume processor rates and confirm. This model is fair for a small 1:1 practice. A group subscription is a different story, since each member counts: a 40-person membership lands on the $250 tier before you have added anything else.

Gaps sit at the front of the journey. As of September 2026, it listed no landing pages, website or marketing automation and no native mobile app, and the vendor stated that it is not HIPAA compliant.

Pick it over Coachful if you run a small number of intensive 1:1 clients, want detailed metrics and action plans, and already have a website and email tool you like.

7. Practice Better: built for wellness practitioners who chart

Practice Better homepage as it appeared in October 2026
Practice Better's homepage in October 2026.

Practice Better is practice management for wellness and nutrition practitioners, covering scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal. Practice Better Payments, powered by Stripe, handles packages, payment plans, deposits, sliding-scale pricing, coupons and refunds. No platform fee is stated, though the rates themselves are not listed.

Why the plan you need is not the cheapest one

As documented in September 2026, payment plans start on Professional ($69 a month, or $59 billed annually, for 300 clients), so the $35 Starter does not cover instalments. Evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS start on Plus at $99. Sprout is a $0 plan for 3 clients, and paid plans carry a 14-day trial (30 days on Team). Trustpilot showed 3.8 from 87 reviews on 25 October 2026.

September 2026 notes list no website builder or funnel pages, so attract happens elsewhere, and accounts below Team ($155) hold one practitioner. Coaching and clinical care are also different things: coaching is not treatment, and a coach who sees red flags should refer out rather than chart around them. Anyone keeping clinical records should confirm that a tool's compliance terms match their obligations.

Pick it over Coachful if you are a credentialed practitioner whose work depends on charting and telehealth, and billing is secondary to the clinical file.

Which one looks like you?

Coachful builds your coaching website from a few answers, in a design chosen for your niche, with programs, booking and payments ready behind it.

Build your platform

8. HoneyBook: recurring invoices for service businesses

HoneyBook homepage as it appeared in October 2026
HoneyBook's homepage in October 2026.

HoneyBook comes from the wider service-business world rather than coaching. It is a client-management CRM with proposals, contracts, invoices, a scheduler and a client portal. Recurring invoices, autopay, deposits and payment schedules are all documented, which fits a retainer billed by invoice well, including when a client pays by bank transfer at 1.5% ACH.

Two card rates on one page

HoneyBook is its own processor, so you cannot bring your own Stripe account. In October 2026 its pricing FAQ gave card fees as 2.7% + 10¢ while the plan comparison showed 2.9% + 25¢, so confirm the current rate before you model it. Starter is $29 a month on annual billing, Essentials $59 ($49 annual) and Premium $129 ($109 annual), with a 30-day trial and no card. The scheduler and automations start on Essentials, which makes that the realistic entry. Trustpilot showed 4.1 from 748 reviews on 25 October 2026.

Delivery is the gap: no programs, courses, habits, check-ins or community. Leaving also takes more work, because payment plans sit with HoneyBook's processing and have to be moved as well.

Pick it over Coachful if you bill organizations by invoice and proposal, your delivery happens in meetings and documents, and your clients never need a program or app.

9. Stripe Billing: the engine on its own

Stripe Billing is the raw option, and the only entry here with no coaching features at all. You set up subscriptions in the Dashboard, sell through Payment Links with no code, or use its ready-made Checkout page. Automatic reminder emails for missed or overdue payments and Smart Retries for failed payments are part of the product, as listed on its pricing page in October 2026.

What 0.7% buys

Pay-as-you-go pricing is 0.7% of billing volume, with no recurring software fee and one-off invoices excluded. Card processing sits on top of that, and higher-volume contract tiers exist that a typical solo coach will not need. On $1,000 of monthly recurring charges, the Billing portion is $7.

That is the whole product, though. It has no bookings, agreements, client records, programs or website. Each new client also means a manual handoff to whatever you use for delivery, and you have to build your own record of who agreed to what. Our guide to managing client billing without Stripe Billing walks through that trade.

Pick it over Coachful if you already run delivery somewhere you love, you only need to charge a handful of clients, or you have a developer who wants direct control of the billing logic.

10. Skool: community subscriptions with a large fee on the low plan

Skool homepage as it appeared in October 2026
Skool's homepage in October 2026.

Skool combines a community, a classroom and a calendar in a single group with gamified leaderboards and unlimited members. Billing runs only through Skool Payments, with monthly subscriptions, one-time purchases, free trials and tiers documented. Paid communities are the use case, and for that the product is simple to launch.

When Hobby stops making sense

Hobby costs $9 a month but takes 10% + 30¢ on every transaction. Pro costs $99 a month ($82.50 annual) and takes 2.9% + 30¢ on charges up to $899 and 3.9% + 30¢ above $900. Fees are non-refundable and payouts are weekly. By these figures, the two plans cross once you bill roughly $1,270 a month, not counting the per-charge amount, so a modest paid group is better off on Pro.

Beyond community, little is on offer: no custom domain website, funnels or email automation, and no 1:1 client records, intake forms, habits or check-ins. As documented in September 2026, member exports contain only name, email, join date and membership questions. Trustpilot showed 1.6 from 54 reviews on 25 October 2026, though the sample is small.

Pick it over Coachful if your whole offer is one paid community, your members are already on Skool, and you do no individual client work.

What does each tool cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?

Software cost is the first half of the answer. The table shows list monthly prices on monthly billing where available, for a coach who needs recurring or instalment billing, excluding processing.

Tool5 clients15 clients40 clientsWhat drives the price
CoachfulLite: $29/month for up to 5 clientsSolo: $49/month for up to 20 clientsPro: $99/month with unlimited clientsClient count, on flat monthly plans
Kajabi$179$179$179Products and contacts (Basic)
Systeme.io$0 to $17$0 to $17$0 to $17Contacts, funnels and courses
AttractWell$99$99$99Contacts and call packages (Basic)
Paperbell$97$97$97Flat, per coach
CoachAccountable$40$120$250Active clients
Practice Better$69$69$69Payment plans start on Professional
HoneyBook$59$59$59Automations start on Essentials
Stripe Billing$0 plus 0.7%$0 plus 0.7%$0 plus 0.7%Billing volume
Skool$99$99$99Flat per community (Pro)

The second half is the fee on each charge. Here is what sits on top of normal card processing, or replaces it, per $1,000 billed:

ToolListed feeWhose payment accountPer $1,000 billed
Coachful0% platform feeYour Stripe or RazorpayNo platform fee; processing only
Kajabi2.9% + $0.30 via Kajabi Payments on Basic, or extra 2% with another providerKajabi Payments, Stripe or PayPal$29 all-in on Kajabi Payments, or $20 plus provider fees
Systeme.io0%Stripe, PayPal, regional gatewaysProcessing only
AttractWell0%Your processorProcessing only
PaperbellNo additional feesStripe or PayPalProcessing only
CoachAccountableNot stated on pricing pageStripe, Square or PayPalConfirm with vendor
Practice BetterNo platform fee stated; rates not listedPractice Better Payments (Stripe)Confirm with vendor
HoneyBook2.7% + 10¢ or 2.9% + 25¢ (page conflicts); ACH 1.5%HoneyBook only$27 to $29 by card, or $15 by ACH
Stripe Billing0.7% of billing volumeStripe$7 plus card processing
SkoolHobby 10% + 30¢; Pro 2.9% + 30¢ up to $899Skool Payments only$100 on Hobby, $29 on Pro

Per-charge amounts (the 30¢ or 25¢) are left out of that last column, so tools that add them cost slightly more when many small charges make up the total. Use the package pricing calculator to check that your retainer still pays you properly after these costs.

What is the cheapest stack that actually works?

An assembled stack can beat an all-in-one on list price and lose on handoffs, so count both. Prices below are as listed in October 2026, and they exclude processing. Our broader comparison of tools to automate a coaching business covers the non-billing parts in more depth.

StackPartsMonthly softwareManual work left over
Coachful aloneBilling, booking, agreements, delivery, website, emailSolo: $49/month for up to 20 clientsReviewing failed payments and renewal conversations
Bare minimumStripe Billing, Calendly Standard (annual), Kit Newsletter$10 plus 0.7% of billing volumeAgreements, client records, delivery, all onboarding
Service-businessHoneyBook Essentials, Kit Creator, Skool Hobby$107, plus 10% + 30¢ on anything sold in SkoolKeeping clients in sync across three tools; no program delivery
Admin plus communityPaperbell, Skool Pro, Kit Creator$235Enrolling each group client in Skool; two client records
Course-ledKajabi Basic, Calendly Standard (annual)$189Booking data separate from client data

The bare-minimum stack is a fair choice for a coach with a few retainers and no group. It starts to hurt when every enrollment means touching three systems, and that usually arrives around the time you add a cohort. For related setups, see recurring weekly sessions with automatic billing and automating renewals. Company-paid work is different again, so read the company-funded billing setup if a sponsor pays by purchase order.

How do you set up recurring billing in Coachful, step by step?

Take a practice with 15 clients: ten on a monthly retainer and a 12-week group program paid in three instalments. This is an example rather than a customer story, and you set the actual prices yourself.

A laptop showing an enrolled group program next to a tablet showing a grid of demo clients
A demo group program on the laptop and Coachful's demo client grid on the tablet, side by side on a table.
  1. Connect your payment account. Link Stripe Connect or Razorpay. The client sees: nothing yet. Payments will go to your own account.
  2. Write the agreement. State what the fee covers, when it renews, how to cancel, how much notice you need and what happens if a payment fails. The client sees: an e-signature request before the first call.
  3. Build the retainer offer. Create a subscription offer with the calls, private chat and any program included. This retainer guide covers scope and terms in detail. The client sees: one checkout, with Apple Pay and Google Pay available.
  4. Build the group program offer. Create a program offer with a payment plan so the total splits across three charges. The client sees: the payment plan at checkout, then the program in their branded home.
  5. Put a booking page or funnel in front. Use an application or checkout funnel, or a booking page with intake questions. The client sees: a page in your branding, with time-zone detection on bookings.
  6. Run one real purchase. Buy your own offer with a real card or coupon, then check the invoice, the client record, the program access and the first session separately, and refund it afterwards. You see: whether everything connected before a client finds out it did not.
  7. Add the cohort. When the first buyer enrolls in the group program, the cohort group is created for you. The client sees: the group alongside their program, in one app.
  8. Review the client list weekly. Check payments, and look at who has gone quiet or at risk. The client sees: a note from you before renewal rather than after a cancellation.

If you would rather not build it yourself, request a white-glove build of the offer page or funnel, and fill in your own prices and terms when it is done. Teams can look at the page for coaching teams for seat-based plans.

Join Coachful now

How do you move recurring clients without double-charging them?

Move them at their own renewal date, one group at a time, and never run old and new subscriptions in the same billing period. Active subscriptions are the hard part of any migration, because they represent an ongoing permission to charge a specific card through a specific account.

  1. Export a list before touching anything. For each active client, record the price, next billing date, payer, payment method and the agreement that applies. Kajabi documents CSV exports for subscriptions, but Skool's member export carries only names, emails, join dates and answers, so note billing details yourself.
  2. Check whether the payment account is changing. If you keep the same Stripe account, ask how the new tool handles existing subscriptions. If you move off a tool's own processor, such as HoneyBook or Skool, plan for clients to re-enter a card and accept new terms.
  3. Tell clients first, in writing. Say what is changing, what stays the same (price, renewal date), and when they will get a new checkout link. Fresh consent also keeps you on firmer ground with the disclosure rules above.
  4. Cancel the old charge only after the new one succeeds. Sequence each client so that the next scheduled charge on the new system comes after the last charge on the old one, then cancel. Check the Stripe record, since a schedule is not proof that a charge happened.
  5. Keep instalment plans where they are if they end soon. A client with one payment left does not need moving. Let it finish on the old tool and keep that account open until it does.
  6. Keep the old records. Download invoices and signed agreements before closing any account, and ask your accountant how long they should be kept where you operate.

On Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding, and a full client data export as a ZIP is available if you ever leave. If you are coming off a processor or subscription tool directly, there are detailed guides for leaving Chargebee and Square.

Which mistakes make recurring billing go wrong?

  • Comparing only the monthly software price. On $3,000 of monthly charges, a 10% fee costs $300, which is more than any plan price gap in the cost table.
  • Selling a subscription when you mean a package. A retainer renews until cancelled, and an instalment plan ends. Clients who think they bought one and were charged for the other will dispute it.
  • Vague renewal terms. State the renewal date, the notice period and the cancellation route in the checkout and in the agreement.
  • No plan for failed payments. Decide how many days of grace you give, who contacts the client and when access changes. Processor retries help, but some failures need a new card from the client.
  • Treating tax as an afterthought. Subscriptions can trigger tax obligations depending on where you and your clients are. Stripe Tax can help calculate tax, but ask an accountant what applies to you.
  • Letting per-client pricing surprise you. A group launch can double your active-client count overnight on tools that bill that way.

Which recurring billing tool should you choose?

Choose Coachful if you deliver coaching over time and want billing, agreements, sessions, programs and retention signals on one record, with a white-glove team available to build the first version. For most coaches with retainers or group programs, it removes the handoffs that cause billing mistakes as well as the extra tools.

The other nine have real cases. Kajabi and Systeme.io suit course-led businesses at very different budgets, and AttractWell works for those happy to price by contacts. Paperbell and CoachAccountable fit 1:1 practices, the first for simplicity and the second for depth. Practice Better belongs with practitioners who chart, HoneyBook with invoice-led consultants, Stripe Billing with coaches who only need the charge, and Skool with those whose whole offer is a community. You can also browse more side-by-side pages on our comparison hub and our practical guide to coaching billing and invoicing software.

Frequently asked questions about recurring billing tools for coaches

What are the best recurring billing tools for coaches?

Coachful is our top pick because billing, agreements, sessions and program delivery share one client record; we make it, so compare it against the alternatives above. Paperbell suits simple 1:1 packages, Kajabi suits course-led subscriptions, and Stripe Billing suits coaches who only need the charge. The right choice depends on how much of the client journey you want handled in one place.

What is the difference between a subscription, a retainer and a payment plan?

A subscription renews until cancelled and usually grants ongoing access, such as a membership or group. A retainer is also recurring but pays for an agreed scope of 1:1 work each month. A payment plan splits a fixed total into a set number of charges and then stops. Make sure your tool and your agreement use the same one.

Does Coachful take a percentage of my recurring payments?

No. Coachful has charged a 0% platform fee since August 2026, and you pay only your Stripe or Razorpay processing. Payments go to your own account. Current plans: (Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients).

Is the white-glove service really free?

Yes, Coachful's white-glove build service is free on every plan. You describe what you want from Create, attach links and files, and the team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. It covers things like a website, funnel, offer page, program or email sequence, but not video recording, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing.

Can I bill coaching clients through PayPal?

Some tools support it. Paperbell lists Stripe and PayPal, and Systeme.io does too, while Coachful has no PayPal and works through Stripe Connect or Razorpay instead. HoneyBook and Skool use their own payment processing, so check their current options before you commit to a tool.

What happens when a client's recurring payment fails?

It depends on your processor and tool settings. Stripe Billing documents automatic reminders and Smart Retries, while some failures need the client to update a card or complete a bank check. Decide your grace period and service rules in advance, and put them in your agreement rather than improvising with each client.

Do I need a contract for monthly coaching retainers?

It is strongly advisable, since a written agreement records the scope, the renewal, the notice period and what happens when a payment fails. US online sellers also face disclosure and consent rules for recurring charges under the Restore Online Shoppers' Confidence Act. This is not legal advice, so have a lawyer who knows your location review your terms.

Is per-client or flat pricing better for recurring billing?

Per-active-client pricing works well for a small 1:1 practice, but it climbs fast with groups, because each member counts. Flat per-coach pricing, as Paperbell lists, is more predictable if you have many clients. Run the numbers for the client count you expect next year rather than the one you have today.

Can health coaches use these tools for clinical billing?

Coaching is not treatment, and these tools vary widely on clinical use. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified, has no BAA and is not for clinical records or insurance billing, so clinical work belongs in a clinical system. Vibly, for example, lists HIPAA compliance with a BAA, and you should confirm any vendor's compliance terms directly.

Join Coachful now
Share

More in Best of

Best of

Top 5 Platforms to Get Clients for Leadership Coaches in 2026

Five platforms for leadership coaches, ranked by the stages they cover: attract, enroll, deliver and retain. Listed prices, real limits and stack costs.

Oct 31, 202627 min
Top 5 Platforms to Get Clients for Leadership Coaches in 2026
Best of

Top 7 Platforms to Get Clients for Financial Coaches in 2026

Seven platforms to get clients for financial coaches, ranked by the two jobs that matter: creating demand and turning a cautious money conversation into a paying client.

Oct 31, 202626 min
Top 7 Platforms to Get Clients for Financial Coaches in 2026
Best of

The 10 Best Enterprise Coaching Software, Compared

Ten enterprise coaching software options compared by the situation each one wins, with listed prices, team seats, compliance limits and three example stacks.

Oct 31, 202630 min
The 10 Best Enterprise Coaching Software, Compared

Start Your Coaching
Journey Today

You didn't become a coach to manage 6 apps. Try Coachful free — takes 5 minutes — and watch your coaching business take off.

Elizabeth Gentzkow
Emily Fulcher
John Winders
James Wallace
Salma Mostafa

Built for coaches who take their clients seriously

Elizabeth Gentzkow
Emily Fulcher
John Winders
James Wallace
Salma Mostafa
Christopher Duff
Gilli Moon Aliotti
Margie Wilson
Lakayann Outerbridge
Coachful
Coachful
BlogPrivacyTermsRefundsContact

© 2026 Coachful. All rights reserved.