Skool vs Whop (2026): Which Fits Coaches Better?

Here's the short version of skool vs whop for coaches. Skool is a community-first platform: one group with a feed, a classroom, a calendar and leaderboards, for a flat monthly fee plus a cut of every sale. Whop is a payments-first storefront: no monthly fee at all, fees taken per transaction, and apps you switch on per product (chat, forums, courses, bookings). If your business is one paid community, Skool is simpler to run. If you sell several products, want PayPal or buy-now-pay-later, or want to start with zero fixed cost, Whop fits better. If you coach clients one to one, run programs with habits and check-ins, or want your own website and email, neither covers it well, and a coaching platform like Coachful is the third option.
We make Coachful, so read our verdict with that in mind. Everything we say about Skool and Whop comes from their own pricing pages, fee pages and help docs as listed in October 2026, plus public reviews. We have not run paid communities on either platform ourselves, so we describe what each vendor documents rather than claiming hands-on testing.
What is the short answer for each kind of coach?
The right pick depends on what you sell more than on which tool is "better". Here is the decision by use case.
- One paid community with a course inside it: Skool. The group, classroom and calendar live in one place, gamification keeps members posting, and pricing is two plans you can read in ten seconds.
- Several products, or buyers who want PayPal, Klarna or crypto: Whop. Each product can unlock different apps, and Whop Payments supports cards, wallets, ACH, PayPal, local methods, crypto and buy-now-pay-later.
- Testing an idea before you have revenue: Whop, because there is no subscription; you pay only when someone buys. Skool's Hobby plan is the low-fixed-cost route on that side, but it takes 10% of each sale.
- High-ticket coaching with 1:1 calls, agreements and a structured program: neither is built for it. Skool has no 1:1 booking, intake forms or client records. Whop has a Calendar Bookings app, but no session notes, intake forms or coaching history are documented. This is where Coachful fits.
- A coach who wants a branded website, funnels and email sequences: neither. Skool has no custom-domain website, funnels or email automation, and Whop is a store page with checkout links rather than a site builder.
The rest of this article backs those calls with numbers, then explains when the third option beats both and when it does not.
How do Skool, Whop and Coachful compare side by side?
Ranked on what matters most to a coach selling transformation rather than access: one login for the whole client journey, delivery between sessions, total stack cost, and setup effort (including Coachful's free white-glove build).
| Platform | Built around | Monthly fee | Per-sale fee | 1:1 booking | Programs with habits and check-ins | Own website and email |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | The full coaching practice: booking, payments, agreements, programs, courses, community, website, email | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | 0% platform fee; only Stripe or Razorpay processing | Yes, with calendar sync, buffers, reminders and paid sessions | Yes: weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, streaks | Yes: section-based site builder, custom domain, funnels, broadcasts and sequences |
| Skool | One community with a classroom, calendar and leaderboards | $9 (Hobby) or $99 (Pro) | 10% + 30¢ (Hobby); 2.9% + 30¢, or 3.9% + 30¢ above $900 (Pro) | No | No | No |
| Whop | A storefront where each product unlocks chosen apps | $0 | 2.7% + $0.30 domestic card, +1.5% international, +1% conversion, plus payout fees | Through the Calendar Bookings app | No (courses with quizzes and progress, but no habits or check-ins) | Store page and checkout links; no site builder or email sequences documented |
Public reviews point the same way as the feature list. On Trustpilot, Skool scored 1.6 from 54 reviews and Whop 3.3 from 3,059 reviews when we checked in October 2026, and Coachful holds 4.5 from 21 reviews. Small review counts swing easily, so treat these as a signal rather than a verdict.
What does Skool do well, and what is it?
Skool is a community platform that bundles a discussion feed, a classroom for courses, a shared calendar for live calls and a gamified leaderboard into one group. It does that one job with very little setup.

Coaches like Skool for good reasons. Everything is unlimited on both plans: members, courses, videos and live calls. Gamified leaderboards reward members who show up, which gives a community a sense of momentum that a plain forum lacks. Skool also has a discovery directory where people can find groups, so a well-run community can pick up members without ads. And the pricing page is genuinely simple.
Where coaches outgrow it is everything around the community. Skool has no custom-domain website, no funnels, no email automation and no public API. There are no 1:1 client records, intake forms, habits or check-ins. Payments run only through Skool Payments, so there is no Stripe account of your own, no PayPal and no choice of processor. Exports are thin too: you can export members to CSV with name, email, join date and membership answers, but posts, DMs and course progress are not exportable. We covered the long list of limits in our Skool review.
What does Whop do well, and what is it?
Whop is a payments platform with a storefront on top. You create products (free, one-time, or recurring weekly, monthly or yearly), and each product grants access to apps such as Chat, Forums, Courses, Content pages, Files, Events and Calendar Bookings, or to a Discord server.

Its strengths are flexibility and payment reach. Whop says it covers 195 countries, 135+ currencies and 100+ payment methods, with payouts to more than 200 countries. Buyers can pay by card, digital wallet, ACH debit, PayPal, local methods, crypto or buy-now-pay-later providers such as Klarna and Afterpay. You can add free trials (for example 1, 7 or 30 days) to recurring checkout links, run waitlists and promo codes, and list products on the Discover marketplace for free. For live work, the Video Calls app offers video or voice with screen share and chat, and a Livestreaming app handles broadcasts. The Courses app supports videos, quizzes and progress tracking. There is also a developer API and webhooks, which Skool does not offer.
The trade-off is that Whop is built for selling access, not for coaching people. Client records are a users and memberships table with filters, export and DMs; Whop documents no session notes, intake forms or coaching history. Costs are all percentage-based, so you pay more as you grow, and optional tools add more percentages on top. Members experience you inside Whop's own apps or a browser, next to every other seller on the platform.
How does pricing compare between Skool and Whop?
Skool charges a flat monthly fee plus a transaction fee; Whop charges no monthly fee but takes more types of per-transaction and payout fees. Which one costs less depends on your sales volume and how your buyers pay.

| Cost item | Coachful | Skool Hobby | Skool Pro | Whop |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful subscription | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients | $9/month ($90/year) | $99/month ($990/year) | $0 |
| Platform fee per sale | 0% | 10% + 30¢ (Skool Payments) | 2.9% + 30¢ up to $899; 3.9% + 30¢ above $900 | 2.7% + $0.30 domestic card; +1.5% international; +1% conversion |
| Processor | Your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account | Skool Payments only | Skool Payments only | Whop Payments |
| Payout cost | Set by your processor | Weekly payouts on Wednesdays, local currency | Weekly payouts on Wednesdays, local currency | From $2.50 (next-day ACH); instant 4% + $2.50; wire $23 |
| Optional extras | AI credits for confirmed builds by Michelle | None listed | None listed | Billing 0.5%, Orchestration 0.8%, Tax and remittance 2%, BNPL 15% |
| Marketplace | Not a marketplace | Discovery directory | Discovery directory | Free Discover listing; marketplace affiliates earn a default 30% of sales they refer |
| Free start | A free trial | "Try for free" (length not stated) | "Try for free" (length not stated) | Free to list, fees per sale |
Two details matter more than the headline rates. First, Skool's fees are non-refundable, so if you refund a member, the fee stays with Skool. Second, Whop's fee page lists several optional tools that each add a percentage when enabled: Billing (invoices, retries, lifecycle) at 0.5%, Orchestration at 0.8%, and Tax and remittance at 2% when tax is collected. With all of them on and tax collected, a domestic card sale costs 6% + $0.30. The page does not say whether recurring memberships switch Billing on automatically, so check your dashboard before you assume the 2.7% rate. Whop also lists fraud costs: 3DS at $0.03 and Radar at $0.07 per transaction, and $15 per dispute.
One correction to older reviews: many third-party articles still quote a 3% Whop platform fee on automations and a 30% Discover marketplace fee. Neither appears on Whop's current fee page. What the page does list is the 30% default commission paid to Whop's global affiliates when they refer a sale of a listed product; you can adjust that rate per product.
A worked example: 50 members at $49 a month
These are illustrative numbers, not quotes. Say you run a paid community with 50 members paying $49 a month by domestic card, so $2,450 in monthly sales.
- Skool Hobby: 50 × ($4.90 + $0.30) = $260 in fees, plus $9 = about $269 a month.
- Skool Pro: 50 × ($1.42 + $0.30) = about $86 in fees, plus $99 = about $185 a month.
- Whop, base rate only: 50 × ($1.32 + $0.30) = about $81, plus at least $2.50 per payout. If Billing is on, add 0.5% (about $12). If ten of those members came through marketplace affiliates at 30%, add about $147 for those referrals.
On the coaching platform side, the 0% platform fee means you pay your plan and Stripe or Razorpay's own processing. For a roster of this size, compare against the plan that covers 50 clients (Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients), and remember the subscription also replaces your booking tool, website, email platform and e-signature tool.
A worked example: one $1,500 program
Fees bite harder on high-ticket offers, which is what many coaches sell. On a single $1,500 domestic card sale (an example figure):
- Skool Hobby: 10% + 30¢ = $150.30.
- Skool Pro: above $900, so 3.9% + 30¢ = $58.80.
- Whop: 2.7% + $0.30 = $40.80 at the base rate; $90.30 with Billing, Orchestration and tax collection all on; $225 if the buyer pays with buy-now-pay-later at 15%.
For more on Skool's numbers, see our full Skool pricing breakdown.
How do community features compare?
Skool has the stronger community out of the box; Whop's community is assembled from apps. Skool gives you one community feed, a classroom, a calendar and a gamified leaderboard, and it all works the moment you create a group. That simplicity is the main reason coaches pick it.
Whop splits community into Chat and Forums apps you attach to a product. That lets you give a premium tier a private chat while a cheaper tier gets forums only, which Skool cannot do inside one group (each Skool community is a separate subscription). Whop can also grant access to a Discord server, which suits coaches whose audience already lives there. What Whop does not document is Skool-style gamification with points and levels.
Coachful includes a community feed, group chat, direct messages and video events, and it creates cohort groups automatically when a client enrolls in a program. The difference is that the community sits next to each client's program, sessions and progress, so the coach sees who is quiet in the group and behind on their habits in the same place. If community is your whole product, our guide to hosting client masterminds without Skool and the group coaching software page cover the setup.

How do courses and content compare?
Both platforms host courses; neither turns a course into a coached program. Skool's classroom holds modules and videos, and you can lock lessons until a member reaches a level or buys access. Whop's Courses app adds quizzes and progress tracking, and its Content and Files apps handle written pages and downloads.
What both lack for coaches is what happens between lessons: no daily tasks, no habits, no check-ins, no per-client goals. A member can watch every video and change nothing, and you would not know until they cancel.
Coachful's courses include modules, lessons, drip and completion tracking, along with downloads, videos, books, AI tools, events and bundles, all delivered into the client's branded home and app. The bigger difference is programs: multi-week plans with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks. There are 48 course templates with quizzes and more than 40 ready-to-film program templates to start from. The course platform for coaches page goes into detail.

Here is a short walkthrough of how a program is built in Coachful:
How do 1:1 booking and live calls compare?
Skool has no 1:1 booking; Whop has a booking app but no coaching back office around it. Skool's calendar is for group live calls. For private sessions, a Skool coach needs an outside booking tool, which means a second login and a second place where client details live.
Whop's Calendar Bookings app lets members book one-to-one time, paid or free, and its Video Calls app runs the call with video or voice, screen share and chat. That is a real advantage over Skool. Still, Whop documents no session notes, intake answers or coaching history attached to that booking.
Coachful's booking pages include availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection; two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook calendar sync; built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links; email reminders, plus SMS 24 hours before and WhatsApp one hour before once messaging is enabled; paid sessions and session credits; intake questions on booking; and round-robin or least-busy assignment when several coaches share a session type. See the scheduling software page for the full list.

How do payments, contracts and invoices compare?
Whop offers the widest range of payment methods; Skool offers the fewest; Coachful offers the most coaching-specific payment tools. With Skool, you take card payments through Skool Payments and nothing else. With Whop, you can accept PayPal, crypto, ACH and buy-now-pay-later, and set one-time, recurring or free products with trials and promo codes.
Neither documents coaching agreements with e-signature. For a coach selling a six-month, high-ticket engagement, that is a real gap: your terms, cancellation policy and confidentiality clause need a signature before the first call.
Coachful runs payments through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time payments, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Stripe Tax, with an invoice per transaction plus manual invoices. Coaching agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and are stored on the client record. There is no PayPal, so if your buyers insist on it, Whop wins that point. Read more on the payment software and coaching contracts pages, or compare processors in our list of Skool alternatives with more payment options.

How do client records and progress tracking compare?
This is the widest gap. Skool shows you members, their levels and their membership answers. Whop shows a users and memberships table you can filter, export and message. Neither gives you a per-client record built for coaching.
In Coachful, each client record holds goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions, plus an AI briefing before you meet. Clients are flagged as thriving, active, quiet or at risk, so you can reach out before someone drifts away. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from that live data to brief you before sessions, summarize recorded sessions and draft emails. For coaches working toward an ICF credential, Coachful counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports a client coaching log (ICF hour tracking).

How do websites, funnels and email compare?
Neither Skool nor Whop gives you a website you own. Skool gives your group a custom URL, but there is no custom-domain site, no funnels and no email automation. Whop gives you a store page and checkout links, which work well for selling but are not a site with a blog, an About page and a booking funnel. Many coaches on either platform end up paying separately for a site builder and an email tool.
Coachful includes a section-based website builder with a blog, custom domain, SEO settings, 30 designed homepage templates and an Import website option; booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels with pixels and UTM tracking; a link-in-bio page that sells; and email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits. For more options, see Skool alternatives with a website or the coach website builder page.


What is the client experience like on each?
On Skool and Whop, your clients join the platform; on Coachful, they join you. That sounds like a slogan, but it shows up in daily use.
A Skool member logs into Skool and sees your group alongside any other groups they belong to. The experience is consistent and easy, and it is clearly Skool's. A Whop member uses the Whop iOS or Android app or a browser, inside Whop's branding. Whop's iOS rules add a wrinkle: one-time purchases under $700 bought in the iOS app go through Apple's in-app purchase with Apple's 30% fee, and Whop marks the iOS price up by 42.86% to cover it. Subscriptions and purchases of $700 or more use Whop's web checkout. If many of your buyers shop on iPhones, check how your products are priced there.
In Coachful, the client gets one branded home: their next session, program, habits, check-ins, courses, documents and community in one place, with your branding inside the Coachful app. To be precise, the app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account. Coaches can also set up an AI Coach, an AI version of themselves that selected clients can chat with between sessions.


Which should you pick: Skool or Whop?
Pick based on the shape of your offer, not the feature count.
| If you are... | Best fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Coachful: a coach selling programs, 1:1 packages or a hybrid of calls, community and courses | Coachful | Booking, agreements, programs with habits and check-ins, community, website and email under one login with 0% platform fee |
| A creator running one paid community with a course | Skool | Simplest setup, built-in gamification, discovery directory, two plans |
| A coach testing an idea with no revenue yet | Whop (or Skool Hobby) | No subscription on Whop; Skool Hobby is low fixed cost but takes 10% per sale |
| Selling several products at different tiers | Whop | Each product unlocks its own set of apps |
| Selling to buyers who want PayPal, crypto or buy-now-pay-later | Whop | Widest payment method list of the three |
| Running a community that lives in Discord | Whop | Products can grant Discord access |
| Selling one-time high-ticket offers by card | Skool Pro or Whop, if you only need access | Both cheaper per sale than Skool Hobby; neither adds agreements or 1:1 tools |
A few honest notes. If you already have an active Skool group that members love and you never do 1:1 work, moving away rarely pays off. If you pick Whop, read the fee page in full and model your payout and affiliate costs, because the headline 2.7% is the floor, not the average. And if you expect to add private coaching later, plan for that now, because the client records you build on either platform will not come with you in usable form (Skool exports members only; Whop exports users and memberships).

Is Coachful a better third option than Skool or Whop?
For coaches whose product is the change in a client rather than access to content, yes. Coachful is a coaching platform: one subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant, with one login for the coach and one branded app for the client. It is built for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions, for solo coaches growing into a small team, and for coaches replacing four to six tools. The company is based in Tallinn, Estonia.
Where Coachful beats both. It handles the 1:1 side that Skool lacks entirely and that Whop covers only with a booking app: calendar sync, paid sessions, intake questions, e-signed agreements and a full client record. It turns courses into programs with daily tasks, habits and check-ins. It gives you a website, funnels and email sequences, so you stop paying for a site builder and an email tool on the side. It charges a 0% platform fee on top of Stripe or Razorpay processing, so your fees do not grow as a percentage of revenue the way Skool's and Whop's do. Team plans (Studio and Agency) add coach seats with per-coach availability and staff permissions (coaching teams).
Where it does not. Be clear-eyed about these:
- No PayPal, crypto or buy-now-pay-later providers. Whop is ahead on payment methods.
- No discovery marketplace. Skool's directory and Whop's Discover can bring you members; Coachful will not.
- No Discord integration, and no Skool-style points-and-levels leaderboard; motivation comes from habits, streaks and progress bars instead.
- No permanent free plan, unlike Whop's zero monthly fee.
- Not HIPAA-certified, so clinical record-keeping and insurance billing belong in a clinical system.
- The client app carries your branding inside the Coachful app, not your own App Store listing.
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create, choose "We'll build it for you · FREE" (or the "Want us to build it for you?" card on Website, Funnels, Programs and template galleries), describe what you want, and attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as logos, photos, brand guides and copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours: a website, funnel, sales page, program, course outline and written material, email sequence, form, lead quiz, event or automation. Nothing gets invented; there are no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. It does not include recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. A leadership coach with a Squarespace renewal days away, for example, got one clean homepage with a repeated "talk with me" button; a real-estate and money coach got a year-long cohort program with an application form, an eight-page site and a free nine-day bootcamp funnel. Details are in our white-glove service guide.

How to start. Start a free trial, then either build from a template or request a white-glove build. If you are leaving Skool, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding; our Skool migration guide walks through what to export first. You can see every plan on the plans page (current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients), and the head-to-head is on Coachful vs Skool.
Frequently asked questions
Is Whop cheaper than Skool?
At low volume, usually yes, because Whop has no monthly fee and a 2.7% + $0.30 base rate on domestic cards. At higher volume the gap narrows, and international cards (+1.5%), currency conversion (+1%), payout fees, optional Billing or tax tools and marketplace affiliate commissions can make Whop more expensive than Skool Pro. Model your own mix of buyers before deciding.
Does Whop still charge a 30% Discover fee?
Whop's current fee page lists no marketplace commission for Discover listings. It does list a default 30% commission for Whop's global affiliates on sales they refer, which you can adjust per product. Older reviews that quote a 30% Discover fee or a separate 3% platform fee are out of date.
Can I do 1:1 coaching on Skool?
Not natively. Skool has no 1:1 booking, intake forms or client records, so coaches add an outside booking tool and keep notes elsewhere. Our list of Skool alternatives with 1:1 coaching covers platforms that include it.
Can I do 1:1 coaching on Whop?
Partly. Whop's Calendar Bookings app lets members book paid or free one-to-one time, and the Video Calls app runs the session. Whop documents no session notes, intake forms or coaching history, so the coaching back office still lives somewhere else.
Which has better community features, Skool or Whop?
Skool, for a single community. Its feed and leaderboard work out of the box and suit members who respond to gamification. Whop's Chat and Forums apps are more flexible across products and can be paired with Discord, but they do not document points or levels.
Can I use my own Stripe account with Skool or Whop?
No on Skool, which runs only on Skool Payments. Whop uses its own Whop Payments platform, with optional Orchestration to route across providers at 0.8%. Coachful connects to your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account and adds a 0% platform fee.
Can I export my members if I leave?
Skool exports members to CSV (name, email, join date, membership answers), but not posts, DMs or course progress. Whop's users and memberships tables can be filtered and exported, and there is an API. Coachful exports full client data as a ZIP, including notes, check-ins, goals, habits, sessions and form responses.
Do Skool or Whop give me a branded app?
No. Skool members use Skool, and Whop members use the Whop iOS and Android apps or a browser. Coachful clients get your branding inside the Coachful app, which ships under the Coachful listing rather than your own App Store account.
What is Coachful's free white-glove build?
It is a free service on every plan where the Coachful team builds a website, funnel, program, course outline, email sequence or similar asset inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. You describe what you want and attach up to 8 links and 10 files. It does not include video recording, logo design or ad management.
Is there a free trial for each?
Skool shows "Try for free" buttons, but its pricing page and help FAQ do not state the trial length or card requirement. Whop is free to start and charges only per sale. Coachful offers a free trial, though there is no permanent free plan.







