Momence vs Mindbody: Which Fits Coaches in 2026?

If you are weighing momence vs mindbody, here is the short answer. Both are studio software. They are built for businesses that sell classes, memberships and class packs from a shared schedule, usually with a front desk and several instructors. Mindbody is the older, larger platform. It publishes one entry price ($79 per location per month as listed in October 2026), sells on term contracts, and brings a consumer marketplace app with it. Momence publishes no prices at all, runs on Stripe, and pitches itself as one connected platform for booking, payments, marketing and an AI inbox. If you run a yoga, Pilates, dance or cycling studio, choose between those two. If you are a coach whose business is 1:1 sessions and multi-week programs, neither was designed for you, and a third option will probably fit better.
This guide covers both tools head to head: pricing, contracts, booking, payments, marketing, apps and client experience. It then explains which one suits which kind of coach. The last section covers Coachful, the third option, including when it beats both and when it does not. We make Coachful, so we have tried to keep that section as factual as the rest. Every vendor fact here comes from the vendors' own pages and help centers as listed in October 2026. We did not test either product hands-on, so where we describe how they behave in use, we are reporting what the vendors document and what public reviewers say.
What is the short answer by use case?
Pick by the shape of your business, not by feature lists. Studios with rooms, class timetables and staff belong on Mindbody or Momence. Coaches who sell programs and ongoing support belong on coaching software.
- A multi-location fitness or wellness brand with a front desk: Mindbody. It has multi-location controls, staff management with payroll and substitutions, and a consumer app that sends walk-in demand your way.
- A single boutique studio that wants modern marketing automation and no documented marketplace commission: Momence. It sells memberships, packs and intro offers, and it builds automated journeys from booking and attendance behavior.
- A personal trainer or yoga teacher who also runs a few classes: either can work. Ask both for a written quote, because neither publishes a plan that clearly fits one person.
- A coach who runs 1:1 sessions, multi-week programs, check-ins and a client community: neither. A coaching platform such as Coachful covers booking and payments too, and it also delivers the work between sessions.
If you are already sure you want to leave Mindbody, our wider list of Mindbody alternatives covers more options. If Momence is on your shortlist next to another studio tool, see Arketa vs Momence.
How do Momence and Mindbody compare side by side?
On paper they cover the same studio basics: scheduling, memberships, payments, marketing and an app. They differ on transparency, contracts, the marketplace and who processes payments.
How we rank: one login for the whole client journey, delivery between sessions, total monthly stack cost, and setup effort (including the free white-glove build). Those criteria matter most to coaches, and they favour Coachful, so it leads the table. If you run a studio, read the Momence and Mindbody rows against each other.
| Tool | Built for | Entry price | Contract | Payments | Client app | Trustpilot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Coaches running sessions, programs, courses and communities | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Flat monthly plans, cancel in one click | Your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay; 0% platform fee | Your branding inside the Coachful app | 4.5 from 21 reviews (September 2026) |
| Mindbody | Fitness, wellness and beauty studios, gyms and multi-location brands | From $79 per location per month; higher tiers quote only | 12, 24 or 36 months, or month to month with a 90-day minimum | Mindbody payments; rate not published, plus $0.10 to $0.30 per transaction | Mindbody consumer app; branded app as an add-on | 4.4 from 2,361 reviews (October 2026) |
| Momence | Yoga, Pilates, dance, cycling and boutique fitness studios | Not published; quote after a demo | Not published | Stripe; Momence fee not published | Momence app or a branded app | 4.1 from 420 reviews (October 2026) |
Two things stand out. Momence is fully quote based, so you cannot compare a number until you have sat through a demo. Mindbody publishes a floor but not a ceiling, and it ties you to a term. For a studio that is normal. For a solo coach testing a new offer, it is a heavy commitment.
What do Momence and Mindbody cost?
Mindbody starts at $79 per location per month, and everything above that is quote only. Momence publishes no figures. Its pricing page says, in effect, that every business is different and asks you to book a call.

Here is what each vendor actually documents about money, as listed in October 2026.
| Tool | Plans and price | Contract | Fee on sales | Marketplace fee | Video and app extras | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Entry: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; unlimited clients: Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | Monthly, cancel in one click | 0% platform fee since August 2026; only Stripe or Razorpay processing | None, no marketplace | Video lessons, courses and your branding in the client app included in your Coachful membership | A free trial |
| Mindbody | Starter from $79 per location per month (EU visitors were shown €99); Accelerate, Ultimate and Enterprise quote only | 12, 24 or 36 months, or month to month with a 90-day minimum; auto-renews, 30 days' notice to cancel | Unpublished processing rate plus $0.10 to $0.30 per transaction | 20% of a new client's first purchase through the Mindbody app, capped at $30 | Livestream from $49 per month; on-demand library $99 per month; branded app price not published | Demo only |
| Momence | Custom quote; no figures published | Not published | Not published; Stripe fees show in transaction details | None documented | On-demand content and a branded app offered; prices not published | "Start free trial" link; length and terms not stated |
A worked example shows why the hidden lines matter. Say, as an illustration only, a single-location studio sits on Mindbody's $79 entry figure and adds the $49 livestream add-on. That is already $128 a month before payment processing and before any marketplace commission on new clients. On a 12-month term, it is a commitment of at least $1,536 for the year. The real number depends on your quote, which is the point: with either tool, ask for the full monthly total in writing, including processing, add-ons, the app and any setup or data-export charges.
One more cost to plan for is leaving. Other vendors claim Mindbody charges around $499 for a full data export, but we could not confirm that on Mindbody's own pages, so ask before you sign. Momence does not document its export process on the pages we checked.
Which is better for booking and scheduling?
Both handle class schedules well, and that is their core job. Mindbody runs one schedule across staff and booking for classes and appointments. Momence puts classes, appointments, workshops, events, retreats, space rentals and on-demand content on one calendar.
Mindbody's strength is scale. It documents multi-location management with corporate-level controls, staff scheduling, automated substitutions, performance reviews and payroll. Booking happens through your website widgets, the business app and the Mindbody consumer app. Mindbody's homepage also advertises an AI Concierge that turns missed calls into bookings, and it states that its parent company is Playlist.

Momence's strength is flexibility for a boutique studio. You can sell memberships, packs, intro offers, drop-ins and subscriptions against the same calendar, and its AI Inbox answers questions and handles eligible customer requests. The footer of its site reads "Xplor Momence", which shows it now sits inside the Xplor group of fitness software companies.
For a coach, the question is what a booking is attached to. In studio software, a booking is attached to a class slot or an appointment. In coaching software, it is attached to a client who is partway through a program, has signed an agreement and has homework due before the call. Coachful's booking pages include availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection. They also sync both ways with Google, Apple and Outlook calendars, add built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links, and ask intake questions at booking. Read more on our scheduling software page, or compare simple booking tools in our Calendly pricing breakdown.

How do payments and fees differ?
Mindbody processes payments itself at a rate it does not publish, plus a per-transaction charge. Momence runs on Stripe and does not publish its own fee. Neither is unusual for studio software, but both make your real margin hard to see before you sign.
Mindbody's 20% commission on a new client's first purchase through its app (capped at $30) is worth thinking through. If the app brings you a client you would never have found, that may be a fair price. If your clients come from referrals and your own content, it is mostly a cost on people who would have booked anyway. Momence documents no equivalent marketplace commission on the pages we checked.
Coachful works differently. You connect your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account, and Coachful takes a 0% platform fee (since August 2026), so the only deduction is Stripe's or Razorpay's processing. You can sell one-time payments, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps and coupons. Refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and Stripe Tax handles sales tax. Every transaction gets an invoice, and you can also send manual ones. Coachful does not support PayPal. More on our coaching payment software page.

Which has better marketing tools?
Both include marketing. Momence builds automation around real booking, attendance and purchase behavior. Mindbody pairs email and text campaigns with the reach of its consumer app and ClassPass for business.
Momence says it can capture leads, automate follow-up and build campaigns that react to what clients actually do: welcoming new leads, converting intro offers, filling open spots and bringing lapsed members back. For a studio that lives on intro-offer conversion, that is the right toolset. Mindbody offers automated email and text campaigns, a website builder and branded web widgets, plus two demand channels Momence lacks: the Mindbody app and ClassPass. Mindbody says the app has more than 3 million active users. That is the vendor's own figure, so treat it as marketing.
Coaches tend to market differently. They need a website that sells a consultation, a lead magnet, an application form and an email sequence, not an intro-class pass. Coachful includes a section-based website builder with a blog and custom domain, 30 designed homepage templates, and booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels with pixel and UTM tracking. It also has email broadcasts and multi-step sequences with branching and A/B splits, a social planner that publishes to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Threads and YouTube, and Instagram automations that send a booking link or lead magnet by DM when someone comments a keyword.
What is the client experience like on each?
On Mindbody and Momence, clients mostly book and pay. They find a class, buy a pack or membership, book a slot, and manage their account. That suits a studio member. It is a thin experience for a coaching client.
Mindbody clients can book through your site, a branded app (an add-on) or the shared Mindbody consumer app, where your studio appears next to other local businesses. Momence clients use the Momence app or an app built around your brand, and Momence says they can discover offerings, book, pay, manage memberships and stay connected. Public reviewers on Trustpilot rate Mindbody 4.4 from 2,361 reviews and Momence 4.1 from 420 (both seen in October 2026). Those scores mix business owners and end customers, so read recent reviews rather than relying on the average.
A coaching client needs something different between sessions: this week's goal, today's tasks, a habit streak, a morning check-in, the worksheet due before Thursday's call, and a place to ask a question. Studio software does not model any of that, because a class member does not need it.

In Coachful, the client opens one branded home and app with their programs, sessions, progress, documents, courses and community in one place. The coach sees each client's goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, payments and sessions on one record, with a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk.

Which should you pick for which kind of coach?
Match the tool to how you earn. If your revenue comes from people filling a room at set times, use studio software. If it comes from clients buying a transformation over weeks or months, use coaching software.
| Your business | Best fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Coachful: life, health, business, mindset or online fitness coach with programs | Coachful | Booking, payments, agreements, programs, check-ins, courses and community under one login, plus a free white-glove build |
| Yoga, Pilates, dance or cycling studio with one location | Momence | Flexible pricing models, behavior-based marketing, Stripe payments, no documented marketplace commission |
| Gym or wellness brand with several locations and payroll | Mindbody | Multi-location controls, staff scheduling and payroll, consumer app and ClassPass reach |
| Spa, massage or beauty business | Mindbody | Its business types cover day spas, massage, salons and med spas |
| Personal trainer with in-person clients plus online programming | Coachful | Workout builder, logging, nutrition targets and check-ins in the Fitness & Nutrition pack |
| Coach who runs group programs and cohorts | Coachful | Cohort groups created on enrollment, group calls and a community feed; see group coaching software |
Hybrid businesses are the hard case: for example, a yoga teacher who runs weekly classes and also sells a 12-week one-to-one program. If classes bring in most of the revenue and you have a room to fill, start with a studio tool. If the program is where the margin is, a coaching platform can still handle the classes as group sessions with booking and session credits, without the studio contract.
A note for health and fitness coaches: coaching is not medical treatment. If a client reports chest pain, fainting, an eating disorder, a recent injury or a medical condition that affects exercise, refer them to a doctor or licensed clinician before you continue. None of the three tools here is a clinical record system, and Coachful is not HIPAA-certified, so clinical notes belong elsewhere. See our pages for fitness coaches and health coaches.
What is the third option for coaches?
The third option is Coachful, a coaching platform rather than studio software. One subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. The coach has one login, and the client has one branded app.

What it is and who it is for. Coachful is built for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions: solo coaches growing into a small team, and coaches replacing four to six separate tools. It is based in Tallinn, Estonia. Public reviewers on Trustpilot rate it 4.5 from 21 reviews.
What it does that Momence and Mindbody do not focus on:
- Multi-week programs with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goal progress bars and streaks.
- Coaching agreements with e-signature, sent before the first call and stored on the client record (see coaching contracts).
- Courses with modules, drip and completion tracking, plus downloads, videos, books and bundles, all delivered into the client's branded home.
- A community feed, group chat, direct messages and video events, with cohort groups created automatically when someone enrolls in a program.
- Michelle, the built-in AI assistant. It works from your live practice data, builds programs, drafts emails, summarizes recorded sessions and briefs you before each call. Questions and planning are included in your Coachful membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits.
- An AI Coach that selected clients can chat with between sessions, configured by you.
- ICF credential tracking that counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports a client coaching log.
Here is how scheduling works inside it, with sessions tied to clients and programs:

Before each session, the client sees what is next and what to prepare, in the same place as their program and progress.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. On every plan, you can ask the Coachful team to build things for you from Create > We'll build it for you. That includes a website, a funnel, a sales page, a program, a course outline and written material, an email sequence, a form, a link in bio or an automation. You can attach up to 8 reference links and 10 files, and the team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing gets invented. There are no fake credentials, testimonials or prices; gaps are left for you to fill. In one recent build, a menopause and midlife health coach starting from nothing got a five-page site in sage and cream where every button led to a free 20-minute consultation. In another, a business mentor for beauty professionals got a 12-week mentorship sales page, a free start-up-guide funnel and rewritten follow-up emails. Read more about the free white-glove service.


When does Coachful beat both, and when does it not?
Coachful beats Momence and Mindbody when your clients are on a journey rather than a timetable. It loses when you run a physical studio with rooms, a front desk and walk-in demand.
Coachful is the better pick when:
- You sell programs, packages or memberships built around outcomes, and the work between sessions matters as much as the sessions.
- You want published, flat monthly pricing with no term contract and no platform fee on your sales.
- You are currently paying for a booking tool, a course platform, an email tool, a community app and a website builder separately.
- You want the setup done for you instead of spending weekends configuring software.
- You are growing from solo to a few coaches. Team plans add coach seats with per-coach availability, staff permissions and round-robin booking; see Coachful for teams.
Pick Momence or Mindbody over Coachful if:
- You run a physical studio with class timetables, rooms or spaces to rent, and members who buy drop-ins and class packs.
- You need multi-location management, payroll or front-desk point of sale. Mindbody documents these; Coachful does not offer them.
- You want marketplace discovery. Coachful has no consumer marketplace, and Mindbody's app and ClassPass are real demand channels for studios.
- You need a client app published under your own App Store account. Coachful's client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding.
- You need wearable sync. Coachful has no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync, and it does not include stock exercise videos; you attach your own demos.
- You need PayPal, HIPAA compliance or insurance billing. Coachful supports none of these.

How hard is it to switch from Mindbody or Momence?
Switching is mostly a data question: client lists, active memberships and payment methods. Start by asking your current vendor in writing what export they provide and whether it costs anything.
With Mindbody, check your contract end date first. Terms of 12, 24 or 36 months auto-renew, and you must give 30 days' notice to cancel, so put the notice date in your calendar before you plan a move. With Momence, ask during the demo how exports work, since its help pages we checked do not say. Stored card details usually cannot move between processors without the processors' cooperation, so plan for some clients to re-enter payment details.
When coaches move to Coachful, their clients, programs and content are imported for them during onboarding. If you ever leave, you can export your full client data as a ZIP file (roster, notes, check-ins, goals, habits, sessions and form responses), and courses export too.
How do you start with Coachful?
Start a free trial, then use the free white-glove build so the team sets up your website, first program or funnel while you keep coaching. The steps:
- Start a free trial at coachful.co and pick the plan that matches your client count (Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients).
- Connect your Stripe or Razorpay account and your calendar.
- Open Create > We'll build it for you and describe your site, program or funnel, with links and files attached.
- Send your existing clients an agreement and a booking link, and enroll them in their program.
Compare more tools on our comparison hub.
Frequently asked questions
Is Momence cheaper than Mindbody?
Nobody can say from public information, because Momence publishes no prices and Mindbody publishes only its $79 per location entry figure. Momence documents no marketplace commission, while Mindbody charges 20% (capped at $30) on a new client's first purchase through its app. Get written quotes from both that include processing and add-ons.
Does Mindbody require a contract?
Yes. As listed in October 2026, Mindbody sells 12, 24 or 36-month terms, or month to month with a 90-day minimum. Contracts auto-renew and need 30 days' notice to cancel.
Does Momence have a free trial?
Momence's site shows a "Start free trial" link, but the length and terms are not stated on the pages we checked. Its pricing page steers visitors to a demo instead.
Which payment processor does Momence use?
Momence uses Stripe, and its help center shows Stripe processing fees in transaction details. Momence's own fee on top is not published.
Is Mindbody or Momence good for life coaches?
Generally not. Both are built around class schedules, memberships and front desks, not 1:1 programs, check-ins and between-session work. A coaching platform fits better; see our page for life coaches.
Can a personal trainer use Momence or Mindbody?
Yes, especially one who teaches classes in a studio. Trainers who mostly coach clients online with programs, workout logging and nutrition targets will get more from a coaching platform with a fitness pack.
What does Coachful not do that studio software does?
Coachful has no consumer marketplace, no multi-location front-desk tools, no payroll, no PayPal and no wearable sync, and it is not HIPAA-certified. Its client app is your branding inside the Coachful app rather than a separate App Store listing.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
It is a free build service on every plan. You describe a website, funnel, program, course outline, email sequence or similar, attach references, and the Coachful team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. It does not include recording videos, logo design or ad management.
Does Coachful charge a fee on my sales?
No. Since August 2026, Coachful charges a 0% platform fee. You pay only Stripe's or Razorpay's processing on each payment.
Can I run group classes on Coachful?
Yes, as group sessions with booking and session credits, plus group calls, webinars and cohort communities. If your business depends on rooms, spaces and walk-in drop-ins, studio software will suit you better.







