Calendly Review 2026: What Coaches Get and What They Miss

This Calendly review is for coaches deciding whether Calendly should run their bookings. Short answer: Calendly is a polished, well-rated scheduling tool, and it does that one job well. It does not hold client records, contracts, programs, habits or check-ins, so a coach who delivers multi-week work ends up pairing it with four or five other tools. If all you need is a clean booking link, Calendly earns its reputation. If you want one place for the whole client journey, a coaching platform fits better.
Verdict in brief
- Who it suits: coaches who sell single sessions or discovery calls, already have a home for client work, and want a polished booking page. Sales-led coaching teams that need lead routing and Salesforce or HubSpot connections also fit well.
- Who should skip it: coaches who run programs, packages or group cohorts and want intake, contracts, payments, session notes and between-session follow-up in one login.
- Public rating: 4.1 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 714 reviews, seen on 25 October 2026.
- Price: a Free plan with one event type, then Standard from $10 per seat per month billed annually, as listed in October 2026.
We make Coachful, a coaching platform that includes scheduling, so read our view of Calendly with that in mind. Everything below about Calendly comes from what Calendly documents on its pricing and help pages and what public reviewers report. We have not run a hands-on test, and we say so wherever it matters.

What is Calendly?
Calendly is an online scheduling tool: you share a booking link, the invitee picks a time that suits your connected calendar, and the meeting lands in both diaries. Everything else it sells builds on that core, from reminders and paid bookings to team routing and analytics.
For a coach, the useful pieces are the booking page, the event types (a discovery call, a 60-minute session, a monthly review), the reminders and follow-up workflows, and the option to take payment at booking through your own Stripe or PayPal account. Teams of coaches can share availability with round-robin scheduling, and larger sales teams can route leads to the right person based on qualification answers.
What Calendly is not matters just as much. Its features stop at the booking. There is no client record with notes or goals, no program delivery, no habits or check-ins, no contracts, no invoicing and no intake questionnaire beyond the questions you ask on the booking form. That is a design choice, not a flaw: Calendly is built for anyone who books meetings, and coaching is one use among many.
If you are weighing it purely on cost, our Calendly pricing breakdown goes plan by plan. This review looks at fit: what Calendly does for each part of a coaching business, where it stops, and what the gaps cost you in extra tools and admin.
What does Calendly do for each part of a coaching business?
Calendly is strong on the moment a client books and thin everywhere after it. Here is how it covers the five jobs a coaching business has to do, with honest notes on each.
| Tool | Marketing | Selling | Delivery | Client experience | Admin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Website builder, funnels, link-in-bio page, email sequences | Booking, checkout, payment plans, coupons, coaching agreements with e-signature | Programs, habits, check-ins, courses, community, group calls | One branded client app for sessions, programs and progress | Client records, invoices, ICF hour tracking, data export |
| Calendly | Shareable booking page, browser extension, Mailchimp connection on Standard | Paid bookings via your Stripe or PayPal on Standard and above; routing on Teams | Not covered | Booking page, confirmation and reminders | Calendar sync, team analytics on Teams, CSV export of scheduled events |
Marketing: a booking link, not a storefront
Calendly gives you a customisable booking page on every plan, including Free, plus a browser extension for dropping links into emails. On Standard, it connects to Mailchimp and HubSpot so new bookers can flow into your list or CRM. That is useful plumbing, but there is no website, landing page, lead magnet or email sequence inside Calendly. Coaches who want a page that explains their offer, captures an email and nurtures it still need a website builder and an email tool.
Selling: good for discovery calls, light on offers
Discovery calls are where Calendly shines. You set availability rules, share the link, and prospects book without a back-and-forth. On Teams, lead qualification and routing send the right prospect to the right coach, and managed event types keep everyone's calendars consistent. Payments at booking need Standard or higher, using your own Stripe or PayPal account; Calendly documents no fee of its own on top. What you cannot do inside Calendly is sell a 12-week package with a payment plan, send a coaching agreement for signature, or issue an invoice. Those jobs move to Stripe, an e-signature tool and an invoicing app.
Delivery: outside Calendly's scope
Delivery is the work between sessions: the plan, the homework, the habit you are tracking, the check-in that tells you a client is slipping. Calendly does not do any of it. There are no programs, no tasks, no habits and no check-ins. The newer Notetaker, sold with Callie in the Standard Plus and Teams Plus tiers, does not add programs or check-ins. If you coach by program, your delivery tools will sit somewhere else, whether that is a course host, a shared document or a coaching platform.
Client experience: tidy at booking, absent afterwards
Clients see a clean booking page, a confirmation and, on Standard and above, reminders and follow-up automations. That part of the experience is polished. After the booking, though, a Calendly client has nowhere to go: no portal, no notes from you, no progress view. The client experience you build around Calendly is whatever your other tools provide, often a mix of email threads and links.
Admin: calendar sync and exports
Calendly connects one calendar on Free and up to six on Standard, which matters if you keep a personal and a work calendar. Teams adds team analytics, and Enterprise adds SSO, audit logs and a data deletion API. For your own records, scheduled events export to CSV, your bookings live in your synced calendar, and payments sit in your own Stripe or PayPal account (as documented in September 2026). There is no client record, so session notes, intake answers and payment history for a single client never sit in one view.
How much does Calendly cost in 2026?
Calendly has a Free plan and four paid tiers, all priced per seat. As listed in October 2026, Standard is $10 per seat per month and Teams is $16 per seat per month, both on annual billing.

A few details on the pricing page are easy to miss. The $10 and $16 figures are annual-billing prices: the page labels them "Save 17%" and "Save 20%", and Calendly's help center confirms the Teams figure is annual. Billed-monthly prices were not shown on the page when we checked. Teams also has published volume tiers, dropping to $14.50 per seat for 31 to 50 seats and down to $12 per seat at 301 seats and above, all on annual billing. A Standard Plus tier with Notetaker and Callie appears in the comparison table, but no price was visible for it.
On trials, the pricing page did not state terms in October 2026. In September 2026, Calendly offered a 14-day Teams trial without a card that dropped back to Free at the end.
| Plan | Price (per month) | How you pay | Main limits | What it adds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Flat monthly plan, cancel in one click | Lower plans cap the number of clients; Pro is unlimited; team plans add seats | Booking, payments, contracts, programs, courses, community, website, email and an AI assistant |
| Calendly Free | $0 | No charge | 1 event type, 1 calendar connection, 1:1 scheduling only | Customisable booking page, browser extension |
| Calendly Standard | $10 per seat, billed annually | Per seat | Up to 6 calendar connections; unlimited event types | Automations and reminders, HubSpot and Mailchimp, Stripe and PayPal payments, Callie (beta) |
| Calendly Teams | $16 per seat, billed annually (down to $12 at 301+ seats) | Per seat | Volume tiers by seat count | Round-robin and team scheduling, lead routing, managed event types, Salesforce sync, Marketo and Pardot, team analytics |
| Calendly Teams Plus | $24 per seat, billed annually | Per seat, $8 more than Teams at each tier | As Teams | Everything in Teams plus Notetaker and Callie |
| Calendly Enterprise | From $15,000 a year | Annual contract, USD only | 50-seat minimum | Salesforce lookup routing, Microsoft Dynamics, SSO and SAML, domain control, audit logs, data deletion API, dedicated support |
Per-seat pricing is the part coaches feel most as they grow. As an example, a practice with three coaches on Teams would pay 3 × $16 = $48 a month on annual billing, or $576 a year, for scheduling alone. That figure does not include the website, email tool, e-signature tool, course host or client portal the same practice still needs. When you compare Calendly with an all-in-one platform, add up the whole stack, not just the booking line.
What do public reviewers say about Calendly?
Public reviewers mostly like Calendly. On Trustpilot it holds a 4.1 TrustScore from 714 reviews, seen on 25 October 2026, up from 660 reviews in September. The same rating breakdown showed 29% one-star and 6% two-star ratings, so a noticeable minority is unhappy.
What reviewers praise
Recent five-star reviews return to the same themes: Calendly is easy to set up, it works smoothly with existing calendars, and it keeps working. Several reviewers single out the support team for fast, helpful replies, including cases where an AI assistant answered first and a person took over on request. A few mention price as fair for what they get.
"Calendly is super easy to use, integrates with your calendar, and the customer service team is very responsive."
Five-star Trustpilot review, 14 October 2026
"This has probably been the most reliable software we've used over the years."
Five-star Trustpilot review, 16 October 2026
What reviewers complain about
The visible complaints are less about broken features and more about friction. Trustpilot's own summary of the reviews says some users find certain features overcomplicated and that complex calendar permissions can be frustrating. Support that starts with an AI bot also comes up, even in positive reviews.
"Emailed support, received an immediate AI bot response that asked me to walk through a number of potential fixes."
Five-star Trustpilot review, 31 August 2026
Beyond what reviewers write, there are limits coaches are likely to run into that come straight from Calendly's own plan list. This is our reading of the documentation, not reviewer feedback:
- The Free plan allows one event type, so a coach with a discovery call and a paid session already needs Standard.
- Reminders, automations and paid bookings all start on Standard.
- Each coach on a team is a separate seat, so cost scales with headcount rather than clients.
- There is nowhere to keep client notes, goals or agreements, so that admin moves to other apps.
For a wider view of how we read public reviews across coaching tools, see our reviews hub.
What are Calendly's pros and cons?
Calendly's strengths are polish, reliability and team routing; its weaknesses for coaches are scope and per-seat cost. The table sums it up.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Clean, customisable booking page on every plan | No client records, notes, goals, habits or check-ins |
| Free plan for a single 1:1 event type | Free plan limited to one event type and one calendar connection |
| Reminders and follow-up automations on Standard | Reminders and paid bookings need a paid seat |
| Payments through your own Stripe or PayPal, with no Calendly fee documented | No contracts, invoices or payment plans for packages |
| Round-robin, routing and managed event types on Teams | Priced per seat, so each coach on a team pays separately |
| HubSpot, Mailchimp, Salesforce, Marketo and Pardot connections | No website, funnels, courses or community |
| Strong public rating: 4.1 on Trustpilot from 714 reviews | Some reviewers find permissions and advanced features complicated |
| Enterprise security: SSO, SAML, audit logs, data deletion API | Billed-monthly prices and trial terms not shown on the pricing page in October 2026 |
Who is Calendly best for, and who should skip it?
Calendly is best for people whose work is the meeting itself. For coaches, that means a narrow but real group.
Calendly fits well if you:
- Sell one-off sessions or run discovery calls and already deliver the coaching elsewhere.
- Work inside an organisation that already uses Calendly, so your bookings match your colleagues'.
- Run a sales-led coaching team that needs lead routing by qualification answers and a Salesforce or HubSpot connection.
- Need enterprise controls such as SSO and audit logs for a large team.
Skip it, or plan to pair it with other tools, if you:
- Sell programs or packages and want the booking tied to the client's plan, notes and progress.
- Want intake questions, a signed agreement and payment collected before the first call in one flow.
- Coach in groups or cohorts and need a community or group calls next to the calendar.
- Are adding coaches and want cost tied to your plan rather than to each new seat.
Many coaches start with Calendly and move once the side tools pile up. Our guides on managing client scheduling without Calendly and automating scheduling rules and exceptions cover what that switch looks like in practice.
What are the best Calendly alternatives for coaches?
For coaches, the best Calendly alternative is Coachful, followed by Acuity Scheduling, Setmore and TidyCal for those who only want a booking tool. We ranked them on four things: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, total stack cost, and setup effort, including the free white-glove build.
| Tool | Best for | Starting price (per month) | Client records and programs | Payment fees | Trustpilot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Coaches who deliver programs and want one login for the whole client journey | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Yes: client records, programs, habits, check-ins, courses, community | 0% platform fee; Stripe or Razorpay processing only | 4.5 from 21 reviews |
| Calendly (reviewed) | Discovery calls and sales-led teams | $0 Free; $10 per seat Standard, billed annually | No | No Calendly fee documented; Stripe or PayPal rates | 4.1 from 714 reviews |
| Acuity Scheduling | Session-based coaches who want intake forms, packages and memberships | $20 Starter ($16 billed annually) | No programs; intake forms and packages only | No Acuity fee mentioned; Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo rates | 3.6 from 687 reviews |
| Setmore | Very small teams on a tight budget | $0 Free; Pro $12 per user ($5 billed annually) | No | No Setmore fee shown; processor rates | 4.9 from 3,274 reviews |
| TidyCal | Solo coaches who want the cheapest paid bookings | $0 Free; Pro $12 ($8.25 billed annually) | No | 1% on Stripe payments on Free and Lifetime plans; 0% on Pro | 3.1 from 182 reviews |
Prices and ratings above are as listed in October 2026 and seen on 25 October 2026. For a head-to-head on the top two booking tools, see Calendly vs Acuity; for the full picture against Coachful, see Coachful vs Calendly.
1. Coachful: the whole client journey behind one booking link

Coachful replaces Calendly and the tools around it with one subscription. Booking pages, payments, coaching agreements, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant all sit behind one login for you and one branded app for your client.
What Coachful is: a coaching platform for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions, including solo coaches growing into a small team and coaches replacing four to six tools. What it does not do: it is not HIPAA-certified and offers no BAA, so it is not for clinical records or insurance billing; it has no PayPal; it has no routing forms that pick a host from form answers and no Salesforce or HubSpot integration; and it does not sync with Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura. How to start: take a free trial, then ask the team to build your setup for you at no cost on any plan. The company is based in Tallinn, Estonia, and holds 4.5 on Trustpilot from 21 reviews.
On scheduling alone, Coachful covers what most coaches use Calendly for. Booking pages have availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection. Calendars sync both ways with Google, Apple iCloud and Outlook. Sessions get built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links. Reminders go out by email, plus SMS 24 hours before and WhatsApp one hour before once messaging is enabled. You can charge for sessions or sell session credits, ask intake questions at booking, and assign multi-coach session types by round-robin or least-busy rules. More on the scheduling side is on our scheduling software page.

This short walkthrough shows how session types, availability and the calendar fit together:
The difference shows up after the booking. Each client has a record with goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions, plus an AI briefing and a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk. Before a call, you open one page instead of four tabs.

Between sessions, clients work through multi-week programs with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goal progress bars and streaks. They see all of it, along with their next session and any pre-session task, inside your branded home in the Coachful app.


The paperwork Calendly leaves to other apps is built in too. Coaching agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and stay on the client record (see coaching contracts). Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account, with one-time charges, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Stripe Tax, and an invoice for every transaction. Coachful has charged a 0% platform fee since August 2026, so you pay only Stripe or Razorpay processing (more on coaching payment software).


On the marketing side, the section-based website builder includes a blog, custom domain, SEO settings, 30 designed homepage templates and an Import website option. Booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels support pixels and UTM tracking, and email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences sit next to them. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data: she drafts emails and programs, summarises recorded sessions and briefs you before calls. Questions and planning are included in your Coachful membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create > We'll build it for you, you describe what you want built, whether a website, funnel, sales page, program, course outline, email sequence, form or automation, and attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as your logo, photos and copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. A leadership coach with a Squarespace renewal days away, for example, got one clean homepage with a repeated "talk with me" button. The service does not cover recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. Read more about the white-glove service.

Pricing is flat and monthly rather than per seat. Lower plans cap the number of clients, Pro is unlimited, and team plans add coach seats with per-coach availability and staff permissions. For a coach with 15 active clients, the cheapest fitting plan is Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients. Current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients. Our Coachful review covers the limits in more detail.
Pick Calendly over Coachful if you need routing forms that choose a host from form answers, a Salesforce or HubSpot integration, PayPal at checkout, or enterprise SSO for a large team, or if you only ever book one-off meetings and deliver the coaching somewhere else.
2. Acuity Scheduling: more coaching-friendly booking

Acuity Scheduling is an appointment tool owned by Squarespace, with intake forms, packages and memberships that suit session-based coaches better than a bare booking link. As listed in October 2026, Starter is $20 a month ($16 billed annually) with one calendar, Standard is $34 ($27 billed annually) with up to six calendars, and Premium is $69 ($55 billed annually) with up to 36 calendars. Every plan has a 7-day trial without a card. Text reminders start on Standard, and a HIPAA BAA is available only on Premium. There is no client portal for programs, habits, check-ins or messaging, and no courses, community, website builder or email marketing. Trustpilot shows 3.6 from 687 reviews, seen on 25 October 2026.
Pick it over Coachful if you want booking with intake forms and packages, need a HIPAA BAA on the Premium plan, and are happy to run delivery, marketing and client follow-up in other tools.
3. Setmore: a generous free plan for small teams

Setmore is an appointment scheduling app with a booking page, reminders and payments. Its Free plan covers up to four users with unlimited appointments and one email reminder, but no SMS reminders and no two-way calendar sync. Pro is $12 per user per month ($5 billed annually) with 500 SMS credits per user per month, and Setmore offers a 30-day risk-free try with a refund on request, as listed in October 2026. It has no client programs, habits, check-ins, courses or community, and no contracts or invoicing workflow on the pricing page. Trustpilot shows 4.9 from 3,274 reviews, seen on 25 October 2026.
Pick it over Coachful if you run a small team that only needs shared booking and SMS reminders at the lowest possible per-user cost.
4. TidyCal: the budget booking link

TidyCal is a low-cost booking tool sold through AppSumo, with paid bookings and packages. The Free plan includes unlimited booking types and bookings with one readable and one writable calendar. Pro is $12 a month ($8.25 billed annually) and adds unlimited calendar connections and SMS reminders. One-off Lifetime plans also exist. TidyCal takes a 1% platform fee on Stripe payments on the Free and Lifetime plans and 0% on Pro, with Stripe fees on top, as listed in October 2026. It has no client records, notes, programs, habits, check-ins, courses, community, website builder or email marketing. Trustpilot shows 3.1 from 182 reviews, seen on 25 October 2026.
Pick it over Coachful if you want the cheapest possible paid booking page and nothing else.
If you want another coaching-specific platform to compare, our Practice Better review and Paperbell review cover two more, and our Calendly alternative page lists what moves across when you switch.
What does switching from Calendly to Coachful look like?
Switching is mostly a matter of rebuilding your event types as session types and connecting the same calendar and Stripe account. Here is a typical order, using a coach with a discovery call and a paid 60-minute session as the example.

- List what Calendly does for you today. Write down each event type, its length, buffers, minimum notice and booking questions, plus any reminder or follow-up workflow.
- Connect your calendar and payments. Link Google, Apple iCloud or Outlook with two-way sync, then connect your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account.
- Rebuild session types. Recreate the discovery call and the paid session with the same availability rules, and turn your booking questions into intake questions. Sell multi-session packages as session credits.
- Add what Calendly could not hold. Attach a coaching agreement for e-signature before the first call, and link the paid session to a program so clients land in their plan straight after booking.
- Set reminders. Email reminders work straight away; SMS and WhatsApp reminders follow once messaging is enabled.
- Swap links, then retire Calendly. Replace the booking link on your website, email signature and social profiles. Keep Calendly open until bookings made there have taken place, and export your scheduled events to CSV for your records.
Clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding, and the white-glove team can build the booking funnel and website around it. If you want the full checklist, our guide to scheduling rules and exceptions covers buffers, no-shows and rescheduling.
What is our verdict on Calendly?
Calendly is an excellent scheduling tool and an incomplete coaching tool. Its booking pages are clean, its public rating is strong at 4.1 from 714 Trustpilot reviews, and its lead routing and Salesforce and HubSpot connections go further than Coachful's. If your coaching business is a stream of one-off calls, or you sit inside a sales team that already runs on Salesforce or HubSpot, Calendly is a sensible pick and the Free or Standard plan may be all you need.
For most independent coaches, though, the booking is the start of the work, not the end. Calendly leaves client records, agreements, invoices, programs, check-ins, community and marketing to other apps, and its per-seat pricing grows with every coach you add. If you want booking, payments, delivery and follow-up in one login, with your client in one branded app, Coachful is the better fit, and the free white-glove build means you do not have to set it up alone.
Frequently asked questions
Is Calendly good for coaches?
Calendly is good for the booking part of coaching: discovery calls, single sessions and reminders. It does not hold client records, notes, contracts, programs or check-ins, so coaches who deliver ongoing work usually pair it with several other tools. If you want those in one place, a coaching platform such as Coachful covers booking and delivery together.
How much does Calendly cost?
As listed in October 2026, Calendly has a Free plan, Standard at $10 per seat per month and Teams at $16 per seat per month, both on annual billing. Teams Plus is $24 per seat per month on annual billing, and Enterprise starts at $15,000 a year with a 50-seat minimum. Billed-monthly prices were not shown on the pricing page.
Is the Calendly Free plan enough for a coach?
Only if you offer a single type of 1:1 meeting. The Free plan allows one event type and one calendar connection, and reminders, automations and paid bookings all start on Standard. A coach with a discovery call and a paid session needs a paid seat.
Does Calendly take a fee on payments?
Calendly documents no fee of its own on payments. On Standard and above, you connect your own Stripe or PayPal account and pay their processing rates. Check those processors' current rates for your country.
What is Calendly's rating?
Calendly held a 4.1 TrustScore on Trustpilot from 714 reviews when we checked on 25 October 2026. Reviewers praise ease of use, calendar integration, reliability and responsive support. The rating breakdown showed 29% one-star and 6% two-star ratings, and Trustpilot's summary notes that some users find advanced features and calendar permissions complicated.
Does Calendly have a free trial?
The pricing page did not state trial terms in October 2026. In September 2026, Calendly offered a 14-day Teams trial without a card that moved you back to the Free plan when it ended. Check the pricing page before you sign up.
Can Calendly handle coaching packages or programs?
No. Calendly books meetings and can take payment at booking, but it has no packages with payment plans, no programs, no habits and no check-ins. Coachful sells session credits and payment plans and delivers multi-week programs inside the client's branded app.
Can I move my Calendly bookings to Coachful?
You rebuild your event types as session types and connect the same calendar and Stripe account, then swap your booking link. Calendly lets you export scheduled events to CSV, and Coachful imports your clients, programs and content for you during onboarding.
What is Coachful's white-glove service?
It is a free build service on every Coachful plan. You describe what you need, such as a website, funnel, program, email sequence or sales page, attach up to 8 links and 10 files, and the team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. It does not include recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing.
Is Coachful HIPAA-compliant like some scheduling tools?
No. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA, so it is not for clinical record-keeping or insurance billing. Coaching is not treatment; if your work involves diagnosis or therapy, choose a tool built for clinical practice and refer clients on when their needs go beyond coaching.







