CoachAccountable vs Skool (2026): Which Fits Your Coaching?

In the coachaccountable vs skool decision, the two tools solve different problems. CoachAccountable is a 1:1 coaching back office (sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, agreements and invoicing) priced per active client. Skool is a community with a classroom and a calendar, priced flat per community but taking a cut of every payment. If your business is private clients, CoachAccountable fits better. If your business is a paid group or membership, Skool fits better. If you run both, neither covers the whole job, and that is where a third option comes in.
We make Coachful, a coaching platform that combines client delivery, community and selling in one place, so we have a stake in this comparison. We have kept the vendor facts to what CoachAccountable and Skool publish (prices as listed in October 2026) and what public reviewers report. Where Coachful is not the right pick, we say so.
Which should you pick? The short answer by use case
Pick CoachAccountable for structured 1:1 coaching with action plans and metrics, and Skool for a paid community or cohort that lives in one group. Pick Coachful if you need private clients, programs, a community and your own website under one login.
- Mostly 1:1 clients, accountability focus: CoachAccountable. Its whole design is the private coaching relationship: session notes, action items, metrics and worksheets per client.
- Paid community or membership, mostly group: Skool. One flat plan covers unlimited members, courses, videos and live calls, with leaderboards that reward participation.
- A mix of private clients and groups, plus your own marketing: Coachful. One subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email.
- Large groups on a tight margin: not CoachAccountable, whose per-active-client price climbs fast; compare Skool's transaction fees against a flat-priced alternative before deciding.


How do CoachAccountable and Skool compare side by side?
CoachAccountable manages individual clients, Skool manages a crowd. The table below sets them next to Coachful on the jobs coaches usually need covered.
Ranked on one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, total stack cost and setup effort (including a free white-glove build):
| Tool | Best for | 1:1 client records | Habits and check-ins | Community | Website and funnels | Payments |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Coaches running private clients and programs, growing into groups or a small team | Yes: goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, payments, sessions, AI briefing | Yes: daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, streaks | Yes: feed, group chat, DMs, video events, auto-created cohort groups | Yes: website builder, blog, custom domain, funnels, email sequences | Your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay; 0% platform fee |
| CoachAccountable | 1:1 coaches who want a structured accountability back office | Yes: sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, agreements | Action plans and metrics rather than daily habit check-ins | Not a community platform | No website, landing pages or marketing automation (September 2026 profile) | Stripe, Square, PayPal (September 2026 profile) |
| Skool | Paid communities, memberships and group programs | No 1:1 client records or intake forms | No habits or check-ins | Yes: community, classroom, calendar, gamified leaderboards | No custom-domain website, funnels or email automation | Skool Payments only, with a per-transaction fee |
The pattern is clear. CoachAccountable is deep on the private relationship and thin on everything around it. Skool is strong on group energy and thin on the individual client. Neither gives you a website or email marketing, so most coaches on either tool add separate software for those jobs.
How much do CoachAccountable and Skool cost?
CoachAccountable starts at $20 a month for 2 active clients and rises with your client count; Skool costs $9 or $99 a month per community plus a fee on every payment. Which is cheaper depends on how many clients you have and how much money flows through the platform.
CoachAccountable pricing
As listed in October 2026, CoachAccountable charges by active clients, and every plan has the full feature set with unlimited coaches and admins. The ladder runs: 2 clients for $20, 5 for $40, 10 for $70, 20 for $120, 35 for $200, 50 for $250, 75 for $340, 100 for $400, and on up to 1,000 clients for $4,000 a month. Only active clients count, so archived clients do not cost you. The pricing page says there are no annual discounts and no add-ons, and offers a 30-day trial with no credit card and no limits. It does not state a platform fee on client payments; your processor's fees apply. For a full breakdown, see our CoachAccountable pricing guide.

Skool pricing
As listed in October 2026, Skool has two plans. Hobby is $9 a month and takes 10% + 30¢ on every transaction. Pro is $99 a month and takes 2.9% + 30¢ on transactions up to $899, and 3.9% + 30¢ above $900. Both include unlimited members, courses, videos and live calls. Yearly billing is advertised as "2 months free", which works out to about $7.50 and $82.50 a month. Each community is a separate subscription, so two communities means two plans. Payments run only through Skool Payments, fees are non-refundable, and payouts arrive weekly on Wednesdays. Skool's pricing page shows "Try for free" buttons but does not state a trial length or card requirement.

Pricing at a glance
| Tool | Entry plan | Around 15 clients | Unlimited clients | Fee on client payments | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | 0% platform fee; only Stripe or Razorpay processing | A free trial |
| CoachAccountable | Starter: $20/month for 2 active clients | Level 3: $120/month for 20 active clients | No unlimited plan; 1,000 active clients is $4,000/month | Not stated; processor fees apply | 30 days, no credit card |
| Skool | Hobby: $9/month, unlimited members | Hobby $9 or Pro $99 per month (members unlimited) | Pro: $99/month per community | Hobby 10% + 30¢; Pro 2.9% + 30¢ (3.9% + 30¢ above $900) | Offered; length not stated |
What does each cost in a real month?
The sticker price hides the real difference, so here are three illustrative examples. The client counts and rates are examples, not data. Skool's numbers include its transaction fee; for the other two, add your card processor's standard fees on top.
| Tool | Example A: 5 private clients paying $300/month | Example B: 15 private clients paying $300/month | Example C: 40-member group paying $100/month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients plus processing, 0% platform fee | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients plus processing, 0% platform fee | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients plus processing, 0% platform fee |
| CoachAccountable | $40/month (Level 1) plus processing | $120/month (20-client tier) plus processing | $250/month (50-client tier) plus processing |
| Skool Pro | $99 + about $45 in fees = about $144/month | $99 + about $135 in fees = about $234/month | $99 + about $128 in fees = about $227/month |
| Skool Hobby | $9 + about $152 in fees = about $161/month | $9 + about $455 in fees = about $464/month | $9 + about $412 in fees = about $421/month |
Two lessons fall out of this. First, Skool's Hobby plan looks cheap but becomes the most expensive option as soon as real money moves through it, because 10% of revenue grows with your income. Second, CoachAccountable is reasonable for a small 1:1 roster but punishes group programs, because every group member counts as an active client. A 40-person cohort costs as much as 40 private clients.
Which is better for 1:1 client management?
CoachAccountable, by a wide margin. Skool has no 1:1 client records, intake forms, habits or check-ins, so it cannot run a private coaching relationship on its own.
CoachAccountable's strength is the coaching back office. Each client gets a record with session history, action plans with due dates, metrics you track over time, worksheets they fill in, and agreements. Public reviewers on Trustpilot rate it 4.8 from 47 reviews (as listed in October 2026), which suggests most reviewing customers are satisfied. Its data export is also sensible: a per-client export covers full coaching history, there is bulk CSV import, and previous clients keep lifetime access to their records.
The limits are on the client side. Our September 2026 profile notes no native mobile app, so clients work in a browser. And because there is no website or marketing layer, CoachAccountable only starts working once a client has already found you and signed up. Our CoachAccountable review covers its strengths and gaps in more depth.
Skool's model is the group. Members join, read posts, take classroom modules and attend calendar events. You can message a member, but there is no private file per client with goals, notes, intake answers and payments in one view. Coaches who sell private coaching through Skool usually add a separate booking tool, a forms tool and a notes system. If 1:1 work matters, see Skool alternatives with 1:1 coaching.
Coachful sits closer to CoachAccountable here, with a different emphasis. Its client record holds goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments, sessions and an AI briefing per client, and each client shows a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk so you can see who needs attention.

Which is better for group coaching and community?
Skool. It is built around one group with a community feed, a classroom and a calendar, and its leaderboards give members a reason to post and show up. CoachAccountable is not designed as a community platform.
Skool's appeal is simplicity. Every community has the same three tabs, members know where to go, and the gamified points and levels reward engagement. For a paid community with a few hundred members, the flat price per community is attractive. The trade-offs show up elsewhere. Public reviewers on Trustpilot rate Skool 1.6 from 54 reviews (as listed in October 2026), so read recent reviews before you commit. Data portability is also limited: our September 2026 profile notes that you can export members to CSV (name, email, join date and membership answers), but posts, DMs and course progress are not exportable. If the community is the business, that matters.
CoachAccountable handles groups as a set of individual clients. That works for small groups where each person gets their own action plan, but it is not a place where members talk to each other, and every member counts toward your active-client tier.
Coachful offers a community feed, group chat, direct messages and video events, plus group calls and webinars. When someone enrolls in a program, Coachful creates a cohort group for it automatically, so your group coaching and your 1:1 records sit in the same account. For a closer look at group-first options, see Skool alternatives for group coaches and group coaching software.


How do scheduling, payments and contracts compare?
CoachAccountable covers sessions, agreements and invoicing for 1:1 work; Skool has a group calendar and its own payment system but no 1:1 booking or contracts. Payments are the sharpest difference.
Scheduling
CoachAccountable schedules sessions per client and keeps them in the client record. Skool's calendar is for community events and live calls, which suits a weekly group call but not a booking page where a prospect picks a 1:1 slot. Coachful's booking pages include availability rules, buffers, minimum notice, time-zone detection, two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook sync, built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links, and email reminders plus SMS and WhatsApp reminders once messaging is enabled. See scheduling software for coaches.

Payments
CoachAccountable invoices clients and, per our September 2026 profile, works with Stripe, Square and PayPal. Its pricing page does not state a platform fee on client payments. Skool takes payments only through Skool Payments, with the fees described above on both plans, and you cannot route payments through your own processor.
Coachful processes payments through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time payments, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Stripe Tax, with an invoice per transaction. It has charged a 0% platform fee since August 2026, so you pay only the processor. It does not support PayPal, which matters if your clients expect it.
Contracts
CoachAccountable includes agreements. Skool has no contract or e-signature feature, so coaches selling higher-ticket programs there often add a separate signing tool. Coachful sends coaching agreements with e-signature before the first call and stores them on the client record (coaching contracts).
Which handles courses, marketing and growth better?
Neither is a growth tool. Skool's classroom is the stronger course experience of the two, and CoachAccountable includes courses, but neither offers a custom-domain website, funnels or email automation.
Skool's classroom holds unlimited courses and videos inside each community, and members see progress as they go. Skool also has affiliates and a custom URL for your group. Beyond that, there are no funnels, no email automation and no public API, per its October 2026 listing.
CoachAccountable includes courses in its feature set, but our September 2026 profile records no landing pages, website or marketing automation. Coaches on CoachAccountable typically run a separate website builder and email tool to attract clients.
This is where Coachful differs most from both. It includes a section-based website builder with a blog, custom domain, SEO settings and 30 designed homepage templates; booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels with pixel and UTM tracking; email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with branching and A/B splits; a social planner that schedules posts to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Threads and YouTube; and Instagram automations that send a booking link or lead magnet by DM when someone comments a keyword. Courses support modules, lessons, drip and completion tracking. See coach website builder and online course platform for coaches.

What does the client experience feel like on each?
On CoachAccountable, clients get a private, focused workspace for their action items and metrics, in a browser. On Skool, they get a lively group feed with a leaderboard. On Coachful, they get one branded home that holds both.
A CoachAccountable client logs in to see their sessions, what they committed to, the metrics they are tracking and the worksheets you assigned. It is quiet and private, which suits executive and business clients who do not want to share a space with others. The September 2026 profile notes no native mobile app, so the experience depends on the mobile browser.
A Skool member opens one community and sees posts, the classroom and the calendar. It is easy to understand and social by design. What they do not get is anything personal: no goals with progress bars, no daily habits, no record of what their coach noted last session.
A Coachful client works inside the Coachful app with your branding. They see their next session, programs, progress, documents and community in one place, plus daily tasks, habits and morning and evening check-ins that keep momentum between calls. If you enable it, selected clients can also chat with an AI Coach, an AI version of you that you configure. The app ships under the Coachful listing, not your own App Store account.

Which should you pick for your kind of coaching?
Match the tool to how your revenue is earned: per private client, per community member, or both. Here is how that plays out by coach type.
- Executive and leadership coaches with a small private roster: CoachAccountable is a strong fit. The per-client price is fine at 5 to 20 clients, and the action plans and metrics match how these engagements run. Look at CoachAccountable alternatives for executive coaches if you also want a website and booking funnel.
- Business coaches selling a mastermind or membership: Skool fits the community side, but check the fees at your revenue level and plan for a separate website and email tool. Compare with CoachAccountable alternatives for business coaches.
- Life and mindset coaches running 1:1 plus a group program: neither covers both well. CoachAccountable charges per group member; Skool has no private records. This is the case for an all-in-one platform (Coachful for life coaches).
- Health and wellness coaches: you need daily habits and check-ins, which neither tool focuses on. Coaching is not medical treatment; refer clients to a doctor for anything clinical. Note that neither Coachful nor CoachAccountable (by its own statement, per the September 2026 profile) is HIPAA compliant. See CoachAccountable alternatives for health coaches.
- Career coaches building a cohort: Skool works for the cohort itself; if you also take private clients, see Skool alternatives for career coaches.
- Coaches with large, low-priced groups: avoid per-active-client pricing. At 100 active members CoachAccountable lists $400 a month before processing; run your own numbers for Skool Pro's fees or a flat-priced platform at your member price.
Is there a third option? Coachful, honestly
Yes. Coachful covers what CoachAccountable does for private clients and what Skool does for groups, then adds the website, funnels and email both of them leave out. It is not the right choice for everyone, and the limits are below.

What Coachful is and who it is for
Coachful is a coaching platform. One subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant, with one login for you and one branded app for your clients. It is built for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions, for solo coaches growing into a small team, and for coaches replacing four to six separate tools. The company is based in Tallinn, Estonia, and is rated 4.5 on Trustpilot from 21 reviews.
Here is a short walkthrough of how programs are built and delivered:
When Coachful beats both
- You run 1:1 and group work together. Private client records and cohort groups live in one account, with cohort groups created automatically on program enrollment.
- You want clients to keep going between sessions. Multi-week programs with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks.
- You are paying for a website, email tool and booking tool on top. All of that is included in your Coachful membership.
- Your groups are growing. Flat monthly plans with an unlimited-client tier, instead of a price per active client or a percentage of every sale. Current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients.
- You want help with admin and content. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data to draft emails and content, build programs, summarize recorded sessions and brief you before sessions. Questions and planning are included; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits.
- You are working toward an ICF credential. Coachful counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports a client coaching log (ICF hour tracking).

When Coachful does not beat them
- You want a pure community with gamified leaderboards and nothing else. Skool's single-purpose design is simpler.
- You only coach a handful of private clients and want a mature, focused back office. CoachAccountable is built around action plans and metrics, has a strong reviewer rating, and includes every feature on every plan.
- Your clients pay by PayPal. Coachful does not support PayPal.
- You need HIPAA compliance or clinical records. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and offers no BAA.
- You need wearable sync or a sales pipeline for a large team. There is no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync, and no multi-stage deal board or Salesforce or HubSpot integration.
- You want a client app under your own App Store account. Coachful's app carries your branding inside the Coachful listing.
How to start
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create, choose "We'll build it for you", describe what you want (a website, funnel, sales page, program, course outline, email sequence, form or something else), and attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as logos, photos or brand guides. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. It does not include recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. One recent example: a leadership coach with a Squarespace renewal days away got one clean homepage with a repeated "talk with me" button. Another: a business mentor for beauty professionals got a 12-week mentorship sales page, a free start-up-guide funnel and rewritten follow-up emails. Read more about the free white-glove service.

To start, open a free trial, request a white-glove build for your website or first program, and let the team import your clients, programs and content during onboarding. If you are moving from either tool, our guide on how to migrate from CoachAccountable covers data, payments and timing, and the Coachful vs CoachAccountable and Coachful vs Skool pages compare feature by feature.

How hard is it to switch between these tools?
Leaving CoachAccountable is easier than leaving Skool, because CoachAccountable exports per-client history while Skool exports only a member list. Plan the move before you commit to either.
From CoachAccountable, export each client's coaching history from the Clients tab and move active clients first. Former clients keep lifetime access to their records there, which softens the move. From Skool, you can export members to CSV with name, email, join date and membership answers (September 2026 profile), but posts, DMs and course progress stay behind. Save your course videos and written lessons separately, and tell members where the new community lives before you switch off billing.
Payment subscriptions are the hard part on both. Skool subscriptions run through Skool Payments, so members need to re-subscribe on the new platform. Give them a clear date, a direct checkout link and a reason to move, such as a new program week or a live kickoff call. On Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding, and a full client data export is available as a ZIP if you ever leave.
Frequently asked questions
Is CoachAccountable or Skool cheaper?
For a small 1:1 roster, CoachAccountable is usually cheaper once Skool's transaction fees are counted: 5 active clients cost $40 a month as listed in October 2026. For large groups, Skool is cheaper, because CoachAccountable charges for every active member. Skool's Hobby plan is only cheap while little money flows through it, since it takes 10% + 30¢ per transaction.
Can I run 1:1 coaching on Skool?
Only partly. You can message members and host calls, but Skool has no 1:1 client records, intake forms, habits or check-ins, and no booking page for private sessions. Most coaches add separate booking, forms and notes tools, or use a platform that handles both group and private work.
Does CoachAccountable have a community feature like Skool?
CoachAccountable is built for private coaching relationships, not a shared member feed with leaderboards. It can serve small groups as individual clients, but each member counts toward your active-client tier. If a social community is central to your offer, it is not the right tool.
Does Skool charge transaction fees?
Yes, on both plans, as listed in October 2026. Hobby takes 10% + 30¢ on all transactions. Pro takes 2.9% + 30¢ up to $899 and 3.9% + 30¢ above $900. Fees are non-refundable and payments run only through Skool Payments.
Does CoachAccountable have a free trial?
Yes. As listed in October 2026, CoachAccountable offers a 30-day trial with no credit card and no feature limits. There is no free plan, no annual discount and no add-ons; you pay by the number of active clients.
Which has the better client app?
Neither is strong on mobile for private clients. Our September 2026 profile notes CoachAccountable has no native mobile app, and Skool's experience centers on the group feed rather than personal progress. Coachful gives clients your branding inside the Coachful app, with sessions, programs, habits, check-ins and community in one place.
Can I build a website or sales funnel with either tool?
No. Skool has no custom-domain website, funnels or email automation, and CoachAccountable has no website, landing pages or marketing automation per our September 2026 profile. Coachful includes a website builder, funnels and email sequences in its membership.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
It is a free build service on every Coachful plan. You describe what you want built, such as a website, funnel, program or email sequence, attach references, and the team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. It does not include recording videos, logo design or ongoing marketing.
Is either tool HIPAA compliant?
CoachAccountable states it is not HIPAA compliant (September 2026 profile), and Skool's pricing and help pages do not list HIPAA compliance. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified either. Keep clinical records in a clinical system and refer clients to medical professionals when needed.
Which should a new coach start with?
Start with how you will sell your first offer. If it is private coaching, CoachAccountable's 30-day trial or a platform with booking and a website is the practical choice. If it is a paid group, Skool works, but price the fees. If you want one place for both plus a website built for you, try Coachful (Coachful for new coaches).







