Top 12 Skool Alternatives That Cost Less in 2026

The best skool alternatives that cost less are the ones that lower your total monthly bill, not just the sticker price. Skool lists two plans in October 2026: Hobby at $9 a month with a 10% + 30¢ cut of every sale, and Pro at $99 a month with 2.9% + 30¢ per sale. A coach who sells memberships or programs on Hobby hands over a tenth of revenue, and a coach on Pro pays $99 for a community and classroom while still buying a booking tool, a contract tool, an email tool and a website elsewhere. The real question is what one month of running your coaching business costs once fees and the extra tools are counted.
Our pick is Coachful, because it replaces Skool's community and classroom and also the booking, agreements, payments, website and between-session program tools a coach normally adds on top, with 0% platform fee on sales. We make Coachful, so weigh that, and check the numbers below: every price comes from the vendor's own page as listed in October 2026, and the cost tables show where cheaper options genuinely win.
If you are still deciding whether to leave at all, our Skool review and Skool pricing breakdown cover what you get for the fee. For the wider field, not only cheaper picks, see 10 Skool alternatives for coaches.

What do coaches leaving Skool actually need from a cheaper platform?
Coaches leaving Skool usually need the parts Skool does well at a lower all-in cost, plus the client tools Skool never had. Be fair to Skool first: it puts community, classroom and a calendar in one group, its leaderboards and levels keep members posting, its discovery directory can send new members your way, and two flat plans are easy to understand.
Where coaches outgrow it is the client side of the business. Skool has no 1:1 client records, intake forms, habits or check-ins. It has no custom-domain website, funnels, email automation or public API. Payments run only through Skool Payments, so you cannot bring your own Stripe account to avoid the Hobby fee. Each community is a separate subscription, so a coach running a free lead community and a paid client community pays twice.
That shapes the shopping list for a cheaper replacement:
- Lower fees on revenue. On Hobby, 10% + 30¢ on every sale is the biggest line item once you earn more than a few hundred dollars a month. Look for 0% platform fee and your own payment processor.
- A community that still feels alive. Feed, group chat, live calls and cohort spaces, so members who came for Skool's social feel do not leave.
- A classroom. Modules, lessons, drip and completion tracking, so you can move your Skool courses across.
- 1:1 booking and paid sessions. Most Skool coaches bolt on a separate scheduler today. Folding it in is where real savings come from.
- Agreements and intake. A signed coaching agreement and intake answers before the first call, stored with the client.
- Between-session delivery. Weekly goals, habits and check-ins, so clients make progress between calls instead of only reading posts.
- A website you own. A custom domain and funnels, so your business does not live entirely inside someone else's directory.
- A clean exit path. Skool exports members to CSV with name, email, join date and membership answers; posts, DMs and course progress do not come with you (as described in an earlier profile). Plan your move with that in mind; our guide on how to migrate from Skool walks through it.
Not every coach needs all eight. A creator selling one course to a large audience cares about fees and the classroom. A coach with 15 private clients cares about booking, agreements and check-ins. The rankings below favour the second group, because that is who most often searches for cheaper options after outgrowing a community-only tool.
How do the 12 cheaper Skool alternatives compare at a glance?
Ranking criteria: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, total stack cost including fees and add-on tools, and setup effort (including whether someone will build it for you).
| Rank and tool | Entry price (Oct 2026) | Platform fee on sales | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | 0%, only Stripe or Razorpay processing | Coaches who run 1:1 and group programs and want community, booking, agreements, payments and website in one place |
| 2. Systeme.io | $0 Free; $17 Startup | 0% | Tight budgets that need funnels, email and a course |
| 3. Stan Store | $29/mo Creator | 0% | Selling calls and digital products from social media |
| 4. Podia | $49/mo Mover | 5% on Mover; 0% above | Simple storefront with courses and community |
| 5. LearnWorlds | $29/mo Starter | $5 per paid enrollment on Starter | Course-heavy coaches who want a course site |
| 6. Practice Better | $0 Sprout (3 clients); $35/mo Starter | Not stated on pricing page | Health and nutrition practitioners with small 1:1 rosters |
| 7. Teachable | $39/mo Starter | 7.5% on Starter; 0% above | Selling a few courses with student apps |
| 8. Ruzuku | $0 Free (5 students); $99/mo Core | 0% | Cohort courses with discussion and live meetings |
| 9. Mighty Networks | $95/mo Launch ($79 annual) | 2% on Launch | Community-first coaches who want more structure than Skool |
| 10. Kartra | $59/mo Essentials | 5% on Essentials | Marketing-heavy coaches who want pages, email and calendars |
| 11. Circle | $89/mo Professional, billed annually | 2% on Professional | Polished paid communities with events |
| 12. Beacons | $0 Free; $10/mo Creator | 9% on Free and Creator | Link-in-bio sellers testing an offer |
How did we choose and rank these tools?
We started from what a coach replacing Skool pays today, then asked which tools lower that bill without losing the community and classroom. Every vendor price below is as listed on the vendor's pricing page in October 2026 (Practice Better's page was read on October 27, 2026). We did not test these tools hands-on; we report what each vendor documents and what public reviewers say.
- Total stack cost. Plan price plus platform fees plus the tools you would still need to buy. A $0 plan with a 9% fee can cost more than a paid plan at 0%.
- Client journey in one login. Can a client find you, book, sign, pay, join the community and do the work between sessions without five accounts?
- Between-session delivery. Habits, check-ins and weekly goals score higher than a feed alone.
- Setup effort. How long it takes to rebuild your Skool group, and whether the vendor helps.
We left out tools that cost more than Skool Pro at their entry price, such as Kajabi ($179/mo Basic), Thinkific ($109/mo Start), ClickFunnels ($97/mo Launch) and GoHighLevel ($97/mo Starter plus metered usage). If those interest you, see Kajabi vs Skool and GoHighLevel alternatives that cost less.
1. Coachful: the full coaching business for one membership
Coachful is a coaching platform where one subscription covers booking, payments, coaching agreements, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. The coach has one login and the client has one branded app. It is built for coaches who deliver programs rather than just sessions, solo coaches growing into a small team, and coaches replacing four to six tools.

For a Skool coach, the first thing to check is whether the community survives the move. It does: Coachful has a community feed, group chat, direct messages and video events, and when a client enrolls in a program they are added to that program's cohort group automatically. Group calls and webinars run inside the same account. Courses come across as modules and lessons with drip and completion tracking, delivered into the client's branded home and app alongside downloads, videos, books and AI tools.

The second thing is cost. Coachful charges 0% platform fee on sales (since August 2026); you connect your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account and pay only their processing. That alone changes the maths for anyone on Skool Hobby. You can sell one-time offers, subscriptions and payment plans, add order bumps and coupons, issue refunds, accept Apple Pay and Google Pay, and use Stripe Tax, with an invoice for every transaction and manual invoices when you need them. Plans are flat and monthly, lower plans cap the number of clients, Pro is unlimited, and team plans add coach seats (current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients).
The third thing is everything Skool never did. Booking pages handle availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time zones, with two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook sync and built-in video or automatic Zoom, Meet or Teams links. Reminders go by email, plus SMS 24 hours before and WhatsApp one hour before once messaging is enabled. Paid sessions, session credits and intake questions sit on the booking page itself.

Before the first call, the client signs a coaching agreement with e-signature, and it is stored on their record with their goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions. Each client shows a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk, so the person going silent in week three is visible before they cancel. See coaching contracts for how agreements work.

Between sessions is where Coachful differs most from any community tool. Programs run for multiple weeks with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks. In Skool, a member's progress is lessons watched and posts liked. Here it is whether they did the work. The short walkthrough below shows how check-ins are set up.

The marketing side replaces the funnels and email tool most Skool coaches pay for separately. The section-based website builder has a blog, custom domain, SEO settings, 30 designed homepage templates and an Import website option. Booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels support pixels and UTM tracking, and email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences use triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data to build programs, draft emails, summarize recorded sessions and brief you before calls; questions and planning are included in your membership, while confirmed builds use AI credits. If you hold or are working toward an ICF credential, Coachful counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports an ICF client coaching log.
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create, the "We'll build it for you · FREE" card lets you describe what you want built: a website, funnel, offer page, program, course outline, coaching flow, email sequence, link in bio, event or something else. You attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as your logo, photos or old Skool course outlines, and the Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. It does not include recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. One real-estate and money coach got a year-long cohort program with an application form, an eight-page site and a free nine-day bootcamp funnel this way. More on the free white-glove service.

Limits to know. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and has no BAA, so it is not for clinical records or insurance billing. There is no PayPal and no permanent free plan. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account. There is no course marketplace, so you will not get Skool's discovery directory; you bring your own audience through your website, funnels and email. There are no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura integrations.
Price. The cheapest plan: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients. Unlimited clients: Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients. A free trial is available, and Coachful imports your clients, programs and content during onboarding.
2. Systeme.io: the lowest bill if you can live without 1:1 tools

Systeme.io is a low-cost marketing suite with funnels, email, courses, a community, a blog and an affiliate program. For a Skool coach whose main product is a course and whose main pain is the Hobby fee, it is the cheapest serious option on this list.
The Free plan, as listed in October 2026, includes 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 course, 500 students, 1 blog, 1 custom domain, 1 automation rule and 1 email campaign, with no credit card required and no expiry. Startup is $17 a month (5,000 contacts, 10 funnels, 5 courses), Webinar is $47 (10,000 contacts, 50 funnels, 20 courses) and Unlimited is $97. Every plan charges 0% transaction fees; you pay only Stripe or PayPal processing. On Trustpilot it shows 4.9 from 8,696 reviews (seen October 25, 2026).
What you give up is the social glue and the client work. Its community and course features are basic, and according to an earlier profile there is no branded mobile app and no native 1:1 scheduling with client records, habits or check-ins. A Skool group that thrives on daily posts and leaderboards may feel quieter here. You would still pay for a scheduler and a contract tool if you coach individuals.
Pick it over Coachful if you sell courses and email funnels to a large list, rarely book 1:1 calls, and the lowest possible monthly bill matters more than client tracking.
3. Stan Store: selling calls from a link in bio

For coaches whose Skool community was mostly a way to monetize a social following, Stan Store is a lighter, cheaper shopfront. It is a link-in-bio store for digital products, courses, memberships and paid calls.
Creator costs $29 a month ($25 billed annually) with unlimited products and customers in one store. Creator Pro is $99 ($79 annually) and adds email marketing, upsells, discount codes and affiliates. Stan takes 0% of sales; standard Stripe or PayPal processing applies. There is a 14-day free trial, and the help center says the first month is charged when it ends. Trustpilot shows 4.7 from 2,205 reviews.
The trade-off is depth. Stan has no contracts, invoices or client records, so it is not a CRM, and it has no programs with tasks, habits or check-ins. No team seats are advertised. Email marketing sits only on the $99 plan, which brings it level with Skool Pro if you need sequences. A coach with ongoing clients would still need somewhere to deliver the coaching itself.
Pick it over Coachful if your business is mostly short products and single calls sold from Instagram or TikTok, and you do not run multi-week programs.
4. Podia: a tidy storefront with a community

Podia suits a coach who wants Skool's course-plus-community combination in a simpler storefront. It sells courses, downloads, webinars, coaching sessions and community access from one site.
As listed in October 2026, Mover is $49 a month ($42 annually) with 50 products, 25 community spaces and 100 email subscribers, and a 5% Podia fee on sales. Shaker is $99 ($84 annually) with 150 products, 500 email subscribers, one assistant and 0% Podia fee. Earthquaker is $179 ($150 annually). Stripe or PayPal processing applies on top. The trial is 14 days with no card. Trustpilot shows 4.1 from 153 reviews.
Watch the email allowances: 100, 500 and 1,000 subscribers included are small if your Skool group had a few thousand members. An earlier profile notes no mobile app and no native video calls, and there are no habits, check-ins or per-client plans. Mover's 5% fee is half of Skool Hobby's, but on meaningful revenue Shaker's 0% usually wins.
Pick it over Coachful if you want a straightforward digital-product store with light community, have a small email list, and coach mostly through products rather than ongoing client relationships.
5. LearnWorlds: when the classroom is the business

LearnWorlds is the pick here for coaches who used Skool mainly as a classroom and want a stronger one. It is a course and learning platform with a website builder, funnels, SCORM support and interactive video.
Starter is $29 a month ($24 annually) for one admin, 1,000 active learners a month and 300 AI credits, with a $5 fee per paid enrollment. Pro Trainer is $99 ($79 annually) with 5 admins, 2,000 active learners, 15 page funnels, 2,000 mass emails a month and no LearnWorlds fee. Learning Center is $299. There is a 30-day free trial, and LearnWorlds says no credit card is required. Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 423 reviews. Its pricing page displays euros for European visitors, so check the currency you are billed in.
For coaching, the gaps are clear: LearnWorlds is not built for 1:1 client management, habits or check-ins, and the branded mobile app is a separately priced add-on. The $5 per enrollment on Starter is cheaper than Skool Hobby's 10% on any course priced above about $50, but it adds up on low-priced products.
Pick it over Coachful if you sell structured courses with quizzes, SCORM or interactive video to many learners, and coaching calls are a small side of the business.
6. Practice Better: a client-management tool for health practitioners

Practice Better is the only tool here built around individual clients from the start, which is why it belongs on a list for coaches leaving a community app. It describes itself as an all-in-one practice platform (EHR) for nutritionists, dietitians, health coaches, trainers and clinicians, with scheduling, telehealth video, billing, secure messaging, a client portal, journaling, programs and a mobile app.
Its pricing page, read on October 27, 2026, lists a free Sprout plan for 3 clients, Starter at $35 a month ($25 billed annually) for 10 clients, Professional at $69 ($59 annually) for 300 clients with group scheduling, group messaging, fixed-date programs and payment plans, Plus at $99 ($89 annually) with unlimited clients, self-paced programs, portal branding and SMS reminders, and Team at $155 ($145 annually) for two practitioners. Paid plans have a 14-day trial; Team has 30 days. The pricing page does not list a platform fee on payments.
The limits for a Skool coach are the community and marketing side. Practice Better offers group messaging and group sessions, but it is not a social community with a feed and leaderboards, and its page does not offer a website builder or funnels. It is the stronger choice if you need clinical charting and a health record; coaching is not treatment, and clinical records belong in a clinical system rather than a coaching platform.
Pick it over Coachful if you are a licensed health or nutrition practitioner who needs charting, an EHR and clinical workflows, and a community is not central to your offer.
7. Teachable: courses with student apps, if you skip the starter fee

Teachable is a long-standing course and digital-product platform with student mobile apps. A Skool coach with a handful of courses and no need for a busy feed can run a tidy school here.
Starter is $39 a month ($29 annually) for 5 products with a 7.5% Teachable fee on sales. Builder is $89 ($69 annually) for 10 products with 0% fee, and Growth is $189 ($139 annually) for 50 products and 5 admins. Teachable Payments processing for US cards is 2.9% + 30¢. The plan cards show a 7-day free trial and a 30-day guarantee. Trustpilot shows 3.3 from 1,110 reviews (seen October 25, 2026).
For coaching, an earlier profile notes no native scheduling or calendar sync, so calls rely on Calendly and Zoom, and there are no habits, check-ins or per-client plans. Starter's 7.5% fee is lower than Skool Hobby's 10%, but Builder at $89 with 0% fee is the plan most coaches would end up on, which is close to Skool Pro.
Pick it over Coachful if courses are your entire product, you want student mobile apps from a course specialist, and you will run coaching calls through separate tools anyway.
8. Ruzuku: cohort courses with a genuinely free tier

Ruzuku keeps things simple for coaches who run cohort-style courses with discussion. Its course builder handles video, audio, downloads, quizzes and discussions, with drip by enrollment date or fixed dates, and it has built-in live video meetings plus Zoom.
The Free plan is listed as "free forever" for up to 5 students enrolled at a time, with no credit card. Core is $99 a month ($83.08 annually) and Pro is $199 ($166.42 annually), both with unlimited students and courses. Every plan, including Free, charges 0% transaction fees; only Stripe or PayPal processing applies. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee. Community discussions and direct messaging are on every plan.
The catch is that the jump from free to paid lands at the same price as Skool Pro. Ruzuku also has no booking calendar, and coaches are only one of several audiences it serves. It does not offer habits, check-ins or client records. Its G2 rating shown on the Ruzuku site is 4.4, but we could not verify the review count.
Pick it over Coachful if you run one small cohort course for five people or fewer at a time and want to pay nothing at all for the platform.
9. Mighty Networks: more structure for community-first coaches

If the community is the reason you chose Skool, Mighty Networks is the closest like-for-like move. It combines community, courses and events, with Mighty-branded member apps. Our Skool vs Mighty Networks comparison goes deeper.
Launch costs $95 a month ($79 billed annually) with 3 hosts, 10 moderators, 200 GB storage and 20 hours of livestreaming a month. Scale is $215 ($179 annually). The platform fee is 2% on Launch, 1% on Scale and 0.5% on Growth and Mighty Pro, plus Stripe processing. The trial is 14 days with no card. Trustpilot shows 3.3 from 219 reviews.
Mighty only costs less than Skool Pro when billed annually, or when your sales are high enough that its 2% fee beats Skool Pro's 2.9% + 30¢. It has no 1:1 scheduling, invoicing or contracts, and no per-client habits or check-ins. Your own branded app is only on custom-priced Mighty Pro.
Pick it over Coachful if a large, active community with livestreams is your main product, and 1:1 coaching is rare or handled elsewhere.
10. Kartra: marketing first, coaching second

Kartra is an all-in-one marketing suite: pages, funnels, email and SMS, memberships, calendars and a helpdesk. It suits a Skool coach whose growth plan is paid traffic and launches.
Essentials is $59 a month ($52 annually) with 500 contacts, 5 pages, 1 product, 1 membership, 10,000 emails a month and a 5% transaction fee. Starter is $119 ($99 annually) with 2,500 contacts, unlimited pages and products, unlimited email and SMS and 0% fee. There is a 14-day trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Trustpilot shows 3.2 from 129 reviews.
The Essentials cap of 500 contacts and one product is tight for anyone moving a Skool group of any size, which pushes most coaches to the $119 plan, more than Skool Pro. There are no client habits, check-ins or coaching plans, and an earlier profile notes no mobile app and funnels that cannot be moved to other platforms.
Pick it over Coachful if you run frequent paid-ad launches with SMS and helpdesk needs and want those marketing tools under one roof more than client delivery tools.
11. Circle: a polished paid community, priced near Skool Pro

Circle is a community platform with courses, events, live streams and paid memberships. It lands on this list with a caveat: it only costs less than Skool Pro billed monthly, not Skool Pro billed annually.
Professional is listed at $89 a month billed annually, with 3 admins, 10 moderators and 2,500 AI credits; the monthly-billed price is not shown on the page. Business is $199 annually and Scale $419. Circle takes 2% of payments on Professional, 1% on Business and Scale and 0.5% on Circle Plus, plus Stripe processing. The trial is 14 days with no card. Trustpilot shows 4.1 from 129 reviews.
Like Skool, Circle has no 1:1 scheduling or client management back office and no per-client habits or check-ins. Branded mobile apps are only on custom-priced Circle Plus. If you are comparing the two directly, see Skool vs Circle or our list of Circle alternatives that cost less.
Pick it over Coachful if you want a highly customizable community space with many moderators, and you are happy to commit to annual billing.
12. Beacons: cheapest on paper, costly on sales

Beacons is a creator link-in-bio, storefront, media kit and email tool. It is the cheapest entry on this list and the best example of why the sticker price is misleading.
Free costs nothing with 50 email sends a month and one one-page website. Creator is $10 a month ($8.33 annually). Both take a 9% seller fee on sales, almost as much as Skool Hobby. Creator Plus at $30 ($25 annually) drops the fee to 0% and adds unlimited email sends, and courses and memberships only appear from Creator Plus up. Trustpilot shows 2.0 from 43 reviews.
Its pricing page shows no scheduling with client records, contracts, habits or check-ins. For a coach, the honest comparison is Creator Plus at $30, not Free.
Pick it over Coachful if you are testing a first digital product with almost no sales yet and want a no-cost page to send followers to.
Which features does each cheaper alternative include?
The short version: only Coachful covers community, classroom, 1:1 booking, agreements and between-session habits in one account; the others each cover two or three of those. "Not documented" means the vendor's pricing page and our packet do not show the feature, not that it definitely does not exist.
| Tool | Community | Courses | 1:1 booking | Agreements | Habits and check-ins | Website and funnels | Email automation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Yes, plus auto cohort groups | Yes, with drip | Yes, with calendar sync | Yes, e-signature | Yes | Yes, custom domain | Yes, branching sequences |
| Skool | Yes, with leaderboards | Yes | Group calendar only | No | No | No | No |
| Systeme.io | Basic | Yes | No native client booking | Not documented | No | Yes | Yes |
| Stan Store | Memberships | Yes | Paid calls | No | No | Link-in-bio store | Creator Pro only |
| Podia | Yes | Yes | Sells sessions | Not documented | No | Storefront | Small allowances |
| LearnWorlds | Not documented | Yes, SCORM | No | Not documented | No | Yes | Mass emails from Pro Trainer |
| Practice Better | Group messaging | Programs and courses | Yes | Forms; contracts not documented | Journaling | Client portal | Broadcasts on Plus |
| Teachable | Not documented | Yes | No | Not documented | No | Course site | Not documented |
| Ruzuku | Discussions and DMs | Yes | No | Not documented | No | Course pages | Course invitations on paid plans |
| Mighty Networks | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | Community site | Not documented |
| Kartra | Memberships | Yes | Calendars | Not documented | No | Yes | Yes, email and SMS |
| Circle | Yes | Yes | No | Not documented | No | Community site | Not documented |
| Beacons | No | From Creator Plus | No | No | No | Link-in-bio sites | Limited sends below Creator Plus |
What does each option cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?
Plan price alone says little, because most of these tools price by products, contacts or learners, while Skool and Coachful price differently again. The table shows the cheapest listed plan that fits each roster size in October 2026, before payment processing. Add the platform fee column to see what your sales cost.
| Tool | 5 clients | 15 clients | 40 clients | Platform fee on sales |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | 0% |
| Skool | $9 Hobby or $99 Pro | $9 Hobby or $99 Pro | $9 Hobby or $99 Pro | 10% + 30¢ Hobby; 2.9% + 30¢ Pro |
| Systeme.io | $0 Free | $0 Free | $0 Free | 0% |
| Stan Store | $29 Creator | $29 Creator | $29 Creator | 0% |
| Podia | $49 Mover | $49 Mover | $49 Mover | 5% Mover; 0% from $99 Shaker |
| LearnWorlds | $29 Starter | $29 Starter | $29 Starter | $5 per paid enrollment on Starter |
| Practice Better | $35 Starter | $69 Professional | $69 Professional | Not stated |
| Teachable | $39 Starter | $39 Starter | $39 Starter | 7.5% Starter; 0% from $89 Builder |
| Ruzuku | $0 Free | $99 Core | $99 Core | 0% |
| Mighty Networks | $95 Launch | $95 Launch | $95 Launch | 2% Launch |
| Kartra | $59 Essentials | $59 Essentials | $59 Essentials | 5% Essentials |
| Circle | $89 Professional (annual) | $89 Professional (annual) | $89 Professional (annual) | 2% Professional |
| Beacons | $0 Free | $0 Free | $0 Free | 9% Free; 0% from $30 Creator Plus |
Two things this table hides. First, it covers the platform only. Every tool except Coachful and Practice Better would still need a separate scheduler and e-signature tool for 1:1 clients, and several need an email tool. Our guide to how much coaching software costs shows how those add-ons stack up. Second, the fee column matters more than the price column once you sell.
Here is an illustrative example, not real customer data. Say you have 15 clients each paying $200 a month, so $3,000 in monthly sales. On Skool Hobby you pay $9 plus 10% + 30¢ on each payment: $300 plus $4.50, or $313.50 a month in total. On Skool Pro you pay $99 plus 2.9% + 30¢ on each payment: $87 plus $4.50, or $190.50. On a tool with 0% platform fee and your own Stripe account, you pay the plan price plus Stripe's processing, and nothing on top. Run your own numbers with your real prices, and check your processor's current rates.
How would a Skool coach set this up in Coachful, step by step?
Here is how a coach running a paid Skool group with a handful of 1:1 clients on the side would rebuild in Coachful. The example uses a 12-week group program with optional private sessions; adjust the names to your offer.

- Export from Skool. Download your member CSV (name, email, join date and membership answers). Save your course videos and lesson text yourself, since course progress, posts and DMs do not export.
- Request the build. Open Create and choose "We'll build it for you · FREE". Attach your Skool classroom outline, logo and a few photos, and describe the program and the website you want. The team builds it in your account, usually within about 24 hours, and leaves gaps where they need your real details.
- Connect payments. Link your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account. Set the program as a subscription or a payment plan, and add a coupon for members moving over from Skool so the switch does not feel like a price rise.
- Set up the program. Lay out 12 weeks with a weekly goal and two or three daily tasks each week. Add the habits your group already talks about in the feed, and turn on morning and evening check-ins.
- Turn on the cohort group. When a client enrolls, Coachful creates the program's cohort group automatically, so your Skool-style discussion has a home from day one. Schedule the weekly group call as a video event.
- Move the classroom. Rebuild your Skool courses as modules and lessons with drip, and attach downloads and worksheets.
- Add 1:1 booking and the agreement. Create a paid session type with buffers and minimum notice, add intake questions, and attach your coaching agreement so it is signed before the first call.
- Write the move email. Use a sequence to tell members when the old group closes, what they get in the new home and how to log in. Send a reminder a week later to anyone who has not joined.
- Watch the first two weeks. Check client status on the dashboard. Anyone sliding to quiet or at risk gets a personal message, which is the job Skool's leaderboard used to do indirectly.
For a longer walkthrough of running group calls and peer accountability outside Skool, read how to host client masterminds without Skool, and see group coaching software for how cohorts work.
What mistakes do coaches make when switching to a cheaper Skool alternative?
The most common mistake is comparing plan prices and ignoring fees and add-ons. These come up again and again:
- Chasing the $0 plan. Beacons Free charges 9% of sales and Skool Hobby charges 10%. Below a few hundred dollars a month that is fine; above it, a paid plan at 0% wins.
- Forgetting the second community. Each Skool community is its own subscription. If you run a free group and a paid group, count both when you compare.
- Losing the social habit. Members used to Skool's points and levels go quiet on a plain course site. Keep a feed, a weekly live call and visible check-ins so people still show up.
- Moving everything on one day. Run both for two to four weeks, move paying members first and close the old group with clear dates.
- Not saving what does not export. Posts, DMs and course progress stay in Skool. Screenshot key threads and wins before you cancel.
- Buying three cheap tools instead of one. A cheap store plus a separate scheduler plus a separate e-signature tool (each priced on its own) is not cheaper than one platform if you count the hours spent connecting them. Our list of client acquisition mistakes covers the time cost too.
- Picking a clinical tool for non-clinical coaching, or the reverse. If you keep health records, use a clinical system. If you coach, you do not need EHR complexity.
Which cheaper Skool alternative should you choose?
Choose Coachful if you coach people over weeks or months and want the community, classroom, booking, agreements, payments and website in one account with 0% platform fee. It is the only option here that replaces Skool and the tools you bolt onto Skool, and the free white-glove build removes most of the setup work.
Choose Systeme.io if the lowest possible bill is the goal and you sell courses through funnels. Choose Stan Store for selling calls and products from social media. Choose Practice Better if you are a licensed health practitioner who needs an EHR. Choose Mighty Networks or Circle if a big community is the product and you can accept a 2% fee and annual billing. Coaches in a specific field can compare more closely in our lists for life coaches, business coaches, health coaches and fitness coaches, or see the head-to-head Coachful vs Skool.
Coachful in one paragraph. Coachful is a coaching platform for coaches who run programs, not just sessions: one membership for booking, payments through your own Stripe or Razorpay, agreements, courses, community, a website with funnels and email, programs with habits and check-ins, and an AI assistant. It is not HIPAA-certified, has no PayPal and no permanent free plan, and is not a course marketplace. To start, take a free trial and request the free white-glove build from the Create page; current plans are on the plans page.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest Skool alternative?
On sticker price, Systeme.io, Ruzuku and Beacons all have free plans as listed in October 2026. Systeme.io's free plan has 0% transaction fees and includes a course and 2,000 contacts. Ruzuku's free plan caps you at 5 enrolled students, and Beacons' free plan takes 9% of sales.
Is Skool Hobby cheaper than Skool Pro?
Only at low revenue. Hobby is $9 a month with 10% + 30¢ per sale, Pro is $99 with 2.9% + 30¢. The extra 7.1% on Hobby equals the $90 price gap at roughly $1,270 a month in sales, so above that Pro costs less.
Can I use my own Stripe account with Skool?
No. Skool payments run only through Skool Payments, with weekly payouts on Wednesdays in your local currency, and its fees are non-refundable. Tools such as Coachful, Systeme.io and Ruzuku let you connect your own processor.
Which Skool alternative keeps the community feel?
Mighty Networks and Circle are the closest community-first replacements, though both take a platform fee. Coachful keeps a feed, group chat, direct messages and video events, and adds cohort groups that are created automatically when clients enroll in a program.
Will my Skool members and courses transfer?
Skool exports members to CSV with name, email, join date and membership answers. Posts, DMs and course progress do not export, so save course material yourself. Coachful imports your clients, programs and content for you during onboarding.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
It is a build service included on every plan. You describe what you want, such as a website, funnel, program or email sequence, attach up to 8 links and 10 files, and the Coachful team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. It does not include recording videos, logo design or running ads.
Does Coachful take a cut of my sales?
No. Coachful charges 0% platform fee on sales since August 2026. You pay only the processing fees of your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account.
Is there a Skool alternative for health coaches who need HIPAA?
Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA. If you keep clinical records, use a clinical system such as an EHR; Practice Better positions itself as one. Remember that coaching is not medical treatment, and refer clients to a licensed professional when a health concern is outside your scope.
Do any of these tools offer a free trial?
Most do, as listed in October 2026: Podia, Stan Store, Mighty Networks, Circle and Kartra offer 14 days, LearnWorlds 30 days, and Practice Better 14 days on most paid plans. Coachful offers a free trial. Skool shows "Try for free" buttons but does not state the trial length on its pricing page.







