Coachful
Coachful
ToolsBlogContact
Sign in
Best of
October 27, 202629 min

The 7 Best Paperbell Alternatives for Fitness Coaches

The 7 Best Paperbell Alternatives for Fitness Coaches

The best paperbell alternatives for fitness coaches are the tools that keep what Paperbell does well (simple packages, booking, payments and contracts) and add what a training client actually uses every day: workouts they can log, nutrition targets, weekly check-ins, progress photos and an app on their phone. Paperbell is a clean admin layer for selling sessions. A fitness coach sells a change in how someone trains and eats for twelve weeks, and most of that change happens between calls. So the deciding question is simple: where will your client open their program on Tuesday morning, and does that same place also hold the booking, the invoice and the signed agreement?

Our pick is Coachful, because it puts booking, payments, contracts, workout programming with logging, nutrition targets, habits, check-ins, courses, a community and a website with funnels behind one login for you and one branded app for your client. We make Coachful, so weigh that, and read the six other tools below with the same care. Each section opens with the situation that tool wins, lists its price as the vendor showed it in October 2026, and ends with when you should pick it over Coachful.

Paperbell homepage promoting its all-in-one coaching admin tool
Paperbell's homepage in October 2026.

What does Paperbell do well, and where do fitness coaches outgrow it?

Paperbell does the front office well: a package with a price, a booking link, a checkout and a contract, all for one flat fee. According to its pricing page in October 2026, Paperbell has a single plan at $97 a month, or $970 a year (shown against $1,164 as "2 Mo Free!"), with unlimited clients, sessions, packages and files. That plan lists a coaching website, scheduling, payments and packages, a client portal, contracts, email workflows, forms, group coaching, video call integration, notes, digital downloads, online classes and custom branding. It says there are no additional transaction fees; Stripe or PayPal processing fees apply (PayPal support per our older profile).

For a coach who sells "six sessions for $600" and meets clients on Zoom, that is a tidy setup. The trouble for a fitness coach starts after checkout. Our older profile of Paperbell found no goal or habit tracking and no native mobile app (clients use the mobile browser). There is no workout builder documented on its pricing page, so there is nowhere for a client to log sets, see last week's numbers or hit a personal record. Food targets, progress photos and form-check videos live somewhere else. In practice, fitness coaches on Paperbell end up adding a training app on top, and their clients get two logins: one for paying and booking, another for training. Our Paperbell review and guide to the Paperbell client portal cover what clients see in more detail.

On Trustpilot, Paperbell showed 3.5 from 14 reviews when we looked on 25 October 2026. Its help center described a 7-day trial in July 2026 (public site offline, client messages and SMS off), and the pricing page mentions a 30-day money-back guarantee.

What do fitness coaches need from coaching software that Paperbell doesn't cover?

Fitness coaches need software that delivers the program, not only the purchase. A typical online training client moves through a predictable journey, and each step has a software need:

  • Discovery and sale. A website or link-in-bio page, an application or free consult booking, a checkout for a 12-week program or a monthly retainer, and a payment plan for the client who cannot pay in full.
  • Onboarding. An agreement signed before the first call, intake questions about training history, injuries and goals, and a starting set of measurements and photos.
  • Weekly delivery. Workouts built with supersets, circuits, EMOMs, AMRAPs, intervals and tempo, logged by the client set by set; nutrition targets for calories or macros; meal plans; daily habits such as steps, water or sleep.
  • Feedback loops. A weekly check-in form, form-check videos you can comment on, progress photos kept private, and a quick way to spot who has gone quiet.
  • Retention and growth. A community or challenge to keep clients engaged, a renewal offer at week 12, and email sequences for leads who downloaded a free plan.

Paperbell covers the first two steps. Dedicated training apps such as Everfit or HubFit cover the third and fourth, but often leave sales, contracts and marketing to other tools. The best switch for most fitness coaches covers all five without stacking subscriptions. One scope note belongs here too: fitness coaching is not medical treatment. Screen new clients with a readiness questionnaire (the PAR-Q+ is the best-known one; write your own wording rather than copying it), and refer them to a doctor before training if they report chest pain, fainting, dizziness during exercise, a recent injury or surgery, pregnancy complications, or signs of disordered eating. Keep clinical records in a clinical system.

Thinking of launching your coaching business?

Answer a few questions and Coachful builds it around you: your website, programs, booking and payments. Ready in minutes.

Build your platform

Which Paperbell alternative fits your situation? Quick picks

Ranked on four criteria: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, total stack cost, and setup effort (including any done-for-you build).

ToolBest forStarting price (October 2026)Clients on entry plan
CoachfulBest overall: online coaches who sell programs and want booking, training, nutrition, community and marketing in one placeLite: $29/month for up to 5 clientsCapped on lower plans; Pro is unlimited
PT DistinctionProgramming-heavy online PTs who want a branded training app$19.90/mo3 included, then $6/mo each
HubFitCoaches with a large roster who want a flat price per 50 clients$39/moUp to 50
Practice BetterCoaches who also run a nutrition practice and need charting$0/mo (Sprout)3
CoachAccountableA few high-ticket clients tracked on metrics and action plans$20/mo2 active
EverfitStarting with up to five clients at no software cost$0/mo (Starter)5
My PT HubIn-person and hybrid PTs who want bookings and payments with unlimited clients$25/mo3 on Starter

How did we choose and rank these tools?

We started from the jobs a fitness coach leaving Paperbell needs done, then checked each vendor's pricing page and our profiles for what they document. We did not run hands-on tests; where a fact comes from an older profile or a public review site, we say so. Four things drove the order:

  1. One login for the whole client journey. Fewer logins mean fewer missed check-ins and fewer "where do I find my program?" messages.
  2. Between-session delivery. Workout logging, nutrition, habits and check-ins weigh more than booking features for this niche.
  3. Total stack cost. We priced each tool at 5, 15 and 40 clients and counted the add-ons needed to replace Paperbell, not just the headline plan.
  4. Setup effort. Moving programs, clients and a website takes time, so done-for-you help counts.

Tools that work like Paperbell (session admin with a portal) sit in the middle of the list, because swapping one admin tool for another rarely fixes the gap fitness coaches feel. Training-first apps rank on how much of the sales and admin side they also cover.

1. Coachful: the best Paperbell alternative for most fitness coaches

A laptop showing a client dashboard on a desk in a strength studio
Coachful's client dashboard with demo clients and status tags on a laptop in a strength studio.

Wins when: you sell 8 to 16 week programs or monthly coaching, you want clients training, logging and checking in inside one branded app, and you are tired of paying for a booking tool, a training app, a course platform and an email tool separately.

Coachful is a coaching platform where one subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. You log in once. Your client gets one app with your branding inside the Coachful app. It is built for coaches who deliver programs rather than only sessions, solo coaches growing into a small team, and coaches replacing four to six tools.

For a Paperbell switcher, the familiar parts are all there. Booking pages have availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection, with two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook calendar sync. Sessions get built-in video or an auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams link, plus email reminders, and SMS (24 hours before) and WhatsApp (1 hour before) once messaging is enabled. You can sell paid sessions or session credits and ask intake questions at booking. Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, with Stripe Tax and an invoice per transaction. Since August 2026 there is a 0% platform fee, so you pay only the processor. Coaching agreements go out with e-signature before the first call and stay on the client record.

Coachful sessions calendar for September 2026
Coachful's sessions calendar with demo 1:1 sessions and morning accountability calls across a month.

The part Paperbell does not have is the Fitness & Nutrition pack. It includes a workout builder with an exercise library of illustrated exercises that handles supersets, circuits, AMRAP, EMOM, intervals and tempo. Clients log workouts and see their set history and PRs. You can set nutrition targets up to calories and macros, assign meal plans and recipes, and clients can look up foods or scan barcodes. Progress photos and measurements stay private. Weekly check-ins, private form-check videos with timestamped coach comments, and challenges round it out. Coachful does not ship stock exercise videos; you attach your own demo clips, which also keeps your cueing in your voice.

Around the training sit multi-week programs with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits (steps, water, sleep), morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks. The client record pulls goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, payments and sessions together and labels each client thriving, active, quiet or at risk, so you can see who skipped two workouts before they ghost.

Coachful client Programs view with an enrolled group program
The demo Programs view a client sees: an enrolled group program, its current week, members and the route into the program.
Coachful habit tracker cards
Demo habit cards in Coachful, including an Exercise habit at 8 of 30 days.

This short walkthrough shows how a program is built and delivered:

The growth side matters for fitness coaches who sell from Instagram. Coachful includes a section-based website builder with 30 designed homepage templates, a blog, custom domain and SEO settings, plus booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels with Meta Pixel and UTM tracking, and a link-in-bio page that sells. Email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits handle the "free 4-week plan" lead magnet and the follow-up. Courses with modules, drip and completion tracking suit a self-paced mobility or nutrition course, and the community feed, group chat and video events host a challenge. Cohort groups are created automatically when clients enroll in a program.

Coachful Offers page with live offer cards
The Offers page in Coachful with demo offers, including a 90-Day Transformation.

Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data: it can draft a program or emails, summarize recorded sessions and brief you before a call. Questions and planning are included in your Coachful membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits. You can also configure an AI Coach, an AI version of you that selected clients can chat with between sessions.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. On every plan, you can open Create > We'll build it for you, describe what you want (a website, a funnel, a sales page for your 12-week program, the program itself, an email sequence, a lead quiz, an automation) and attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as your logo, photos and existing copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake testimonials, credentials or prices; gaps are left for you to fill. It does not cover filming your exercise videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. A menopause and midlife health coach starting from nothing, for example, got a five-page site in sage and cream with every button leading to a free 20-minute consultation. Read more about the white-glove build service.

Coachful Create page with the We will build it for you card
The Create page in Coachful, where the build-it-for-you request starts.

What it does not do. Coachful has no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync, and Apple Health sync is not publicly available. It does not take PayPal, has no permanent free plan, and is not HIPAA-certified, so it is not for clinical records or insurance billing. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account.

Price. Plans are flat monthly, lower plans cap the number of clients, Pro is unlimited, and team plans add coach seats (current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients). Monthly plans cancel in one click, and there is a free trial. On Trustpilot, Coachful showed 4.5 from 21 reviews. See the Coachful page for fitness coaches or the side-by-side Coachful vs Paperbell comparison.

Join Coachful now

2. PT Distinction: for programming-heavy online personal trainers

PT Distinction pricing page
PT Distinction's pricing page in October 2026.

If your service is mostly written training and nutrition programs, delivered remotely with automated check-ins, PT Distinction is the strongest training-first option here. It is online personal-training software built around programs, nutrition, check-ins, automations and a client app, and it has a loyal user base: Trustpilot showed 4.8 from 297 reviews on 25 October 2026.

For a fitness coach coming from Paperbell, the appeal is the depth of delivery. You can build a training block, add nutrition guidance, schedule automated check-ins and let the client follow along in an app. The branded client app is included from the Pro plan up, which matters if your clients expect to download "your" app rather than open a link in a browser.

Price as listed in October 2026. Basic is $19.90 a month with 3 clients included, then $6.00 a month for each extra client after one free month. Pro is $59.90 a month with 25 clients included and $2.40 for each extra client. Master is $89.90 a month with 50 clients included and $1.60 per extra client. There is a one-month free trial ("Cancel at any time in your first month and pay nothing"); the card requirement is not stated. At 15 clients you would sit on Pro at $59.90; at 40 clients, Master at $89.90 is cheaper than Pro plus overage ($95.90).

Where it stops. Its pricing page shows no course builder, no community and no website or funnel builder. Booking, contracts and payment features are not on the pricing page feature list we reviewed, so check them in a trial before you cancel Paperbell. If it lacks them, you would keep a separate booking and payment tool, which is exactly the two-login setup you were trying to leave. The Basic plan also lacks the branded app, so the cheapest tier is mainly for testing.

Who it suits. A coach with 20 to 50 remote clients on monthly programming, who sells from Instagram DMs and takes payment through another tool, will find PT Distinction's per-client overage gentle and its delivery tools deep.

Pick it over Coachful if your business is almost entirely written programming, you already have a website and checkout you are happy with elsewhere, and you want a training-only app with a long track record among personal trainers.

3. HubFit: for big rosters on a flat per-tier price

HubFit homepage presenting its online training app for fitness coaches
HubFit's homepage in October 2026.

HubFit wins when you have, or expect, dozens of online training clients and want the software cost to stay flat as you grow. Its Standard tier covers up to 50 clients, which is generous next to apps that bill per head. On Trustpilot it showed 5 from 390 reviews on 25 October 2026, the strongest public rating in this list.

HubFit is a fitness and online-training app with programs, nutrition, habits and check-ins, and it is free for clients. For a Paperbell switcher, the shift is clear: the client gets a proper training experience, with programs and habit tracking in an app, instead of a portal that only holds sessions and invoices.

Plans in October 2026. Standard is $39 a month ($33 billed annually) for up to 50 clients. Premium is $69 a month ($57 annually) for up to 100 clients. Ultimate starts at $119 a month ($99 annually) for 100 clients and scales to 200 clients at $209, 300 at $289, 400 at $359 and 500 at $419, with contact-sales pricing above 1,000. Every plan has a 14-day free trial; the card requirement is not stated.

The catches. Branding and payments start at Premium, so a Paperbell switcher who wants to take money inside the tool is looking at $69 a month, not $39. Team members and Zapier start at Ultimate. A branded app in your own name is a $189 a month add-on. Our older profile found no scheduling or booking, no video calls, no contracts and no website, so the booking page, agreement and sales page you had in Paperbell need a new home. If your offer includes weekly calls, that is a second tool.

Who it suits. A coach running asynchronous programs for 40 to 100 clients, with no live calls and sales handled through social media, gets a lot of delivery for the price.

Pick it over Coachful if you run a large roster with no live calls, you only need a training app and in-app payments, and a flat price per 50 or 100 clients matters more than having booking, contracts, courses and a website in the same place.

4. Practice Better: for coaches who also run a nutrition practice

Practice Better homepage presenting its practice management software
Practice Better's homepage in October 2026.

Practice Better makes sense when your fitness coaching sits next to nutrition consulting, and you need charting, telehealth and billing more than a workout builder. It is practice-management software for wellness and nutrition practitioners: scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal. Trustpilot showed 3.8 from 87 reviews on 25 October 2026.

Among the Paperbell-style admin tools, it is the closest fit for this niche, because it adds programs and charting to booking and billing. Our Paperbell vs Practice Better comparison covers the two head to head.

Pricing listed in October 2026. Sprout is $0 a month for 3 clients, 1 practitioner and 100 MB. Starter is $35 a month ($25 annually) for 10 clients and 1 GB. Professional is $69 a month ($59 annually) for 300 clients and 5 GB. Plus is $99 a month ($89 annually) for unlimited clients, 3 admins and unlimited storage. Team is $155 a month ($145 annually) for 2 practitioners, with up to 200 at $50 each. Trials run 30 days on Team and 14 days on other paid plans. Payments go through Practice Better Payments, powered by Stripe; rates are not listed.

Limits for a fitness coach. Evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS start on Plus at $99 a month, so a coach selling a self-paced 12-week program is likely on that tier. Our older profile found no website builder or funnel pages, so your sales page lives elsewhere. A dedicated workout builder with set logging is not something its listing highlights, so test the training side carefully if lifting programs are your core product.

Who it suits. A hybrid fitness and nutrition coach who keeps detailed session notes, runs food-focused programs and wants one practitioner tool, with marketing handled elsewhere.

Pick it over Coachful if your work leans toward nutrition practice, you want charting-style records, and you need the Team plan's multi-practitioner setup with per-practitioner pricing.

Which one looks like you?

Coachful builds your coaching website from a few answers, in a design chosen for your niche, with programs, booking and payments ready behind it.

Build your platform

5. CoachAccountable: for a handful of high-ticket clients tracked on metrics

CoachAccountable homepage
CoachAccountable's homepage in October 2026.

CoachAccountable is the pick when you coach a small number of premium clients (say, executives on a fitness and performance retainer) and your method runs on action plans and tracked numbers: weekly body weight, sleep hours, sessions completed. It is a coaching back office with sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses, invoicing and agreements. Trustpilot showed 4.8 from 47 reviews on 25 October 2026.

Like Paperbell, it handles sessions, invoicing and agreements. Unlike Paperbell, it gives you metrics and action plans, so a client can report numbers and you can see trends. That accountability layer is the reason a fitness coach would choose it over staying put.

What it costs (October 2026). Pricing is per active client: Starter $20 a month for 2 active clients, Level 1 $40 for 5, Level 2 $70 for 10, Level 3 $120 for 20, Level 4 $250 for 50 and Level 5 $400 for 100. There is a 30-day trial with no credit card and no limits. Transaction fees are not stated; processor fees apply (Stripe, Square or PayPal per our older profile).

Trade-offs. The per-client model gets expensive for group programs: a 40-person challenge pushes you to Level 4 at $250 a month. Our older profile found no native mobile app, and no landing pages, website or marketing automation. There is no workout builder with set logging on its feature list, so training programs become worksheets or metrics rather than an interactive session. CoachAccountable states it is not HIPAA compliant (older profile).

Who it suits. A coach with 5 to 15 high-paying clients, a structured accountability method and little need for public marketing.

Pick it over Coachful if you coach a small premium roster, you want deep metric tracking and action plans more than workout logging, and you will never run large group programs. See also Paperbell vs CoachAccountable.

6. Everfit: for starting out with five clients or fewer

Everfit homepage presenting its fitness coaching app for trainers
Everfit's homepage in October 2026.

Everfit is the cheapest way to test online training delivery, because its Starter plan is free forever for up to 5 clients. It is a fitness coaching app with workouts, habits, nutrition and messaging, priced by client count. Trustpilot showed 2.7 from 16 reviews on 25 October 2026, so read public reviews before you commit.

For a new fitness coach who signed up for Paperbell to look professional, Everfit can carry the training side while you prove the offer. Clients get workouts and habits in an app, and you message them in one place.

Listed prices, October 2026. Starter is $0 for up to 5 clients. Pro starts at $19 a month ($16 annually) for 5 clients and scales by client count: 10 clients $29 ($24), 20 clients $49 ($41), 50 clients $95 ($79), 100 clients $140 ($117) and 300 clients $290 ($242). Studio starts at $105 a month ($88 annually) for 50 clients and goes up to 500 clients at $430 ($358). Enterprise is for 500+ clients. A 30-day trial needs no card.

Watch for. Automation (Autoflow), payments and meal plans are paid add-ons, and the pricing page does not show their cost, so the real monthly bill is higher than the tier price once you need them. There is no course builder, website, funnels or email marketing. That means a Paperbell switcher still needs something for checkout, contracts, booking and a sales page, or you keep Paperbell and run Everfit beside it.

Who it suits. A trainer with a few online clients who wants to test app-based programming before paying for a full platform.

Pick it over Coachful if you have five or fewer clients, you want to spend nothing on software for now, and you are fine handling payments, agreements and marketing elsewhere until you grow.

7. My PT Hub: for in-person and hybrid personal trainers

My PT Hub pricing page in euros
My PT Hub's pricing page in October 2026 (this capture shows euro prices).

My PT Hub fits the trainer who still sees most clients face to face, sells blocks of sessions, and wants workouts and nutrition in the same tool as bookings and payments. It is personal-trainer software with workouts, nutrition, bookings, payments, habits, check-ins and a client app. On Trustpilot it showed 4.4 from 2,557 reviews on 25 October 2026, by far the largest review count here.

For someone leaving Paperbell, My PT Hub keeps the booking and payment habit and adds training delivery. That makes it a more natural single-tool switch than the training apps above, as long as you do not need marketing features.

Cost in October 2026. Starter is $25 a month ($22.50 annually) for 3 clients (a My PT Hub blog says 5), 50 workouts and 50 nutrition plans. Premium is $59 a month ($52 annually) for unlimited clients, workouts and nutrition plans. Ultimate is $215 a month ($195 annually) with unlimited clients and 5 additional trainers. Our pricing-page capture shows euro amounts; the dollar figures above are from the vendor's listing. A 30-day trial needs no card details and drops to the free plan when it ends. Payments run through Stripe.

Gaps. A white-label listing in the app stores is a paid add-on below Ultimate. The pricing page shows no course builder, no website or funnels and no email marketing. Contracts with e-signature are not on its pricing page either, so confirm how you would handle agreements and waivers.

Who it suits. A gym-floor PT with 15 to 40 clients, some in person and some online, who wants unlimited clients for one flat fee.

Pick it over Coachful if you mainly train people in person, you want a tool built around the personal-training session, and you have no plans to sell courses, run a community or build funnels.

A laptop and a tablet side by side in a home gym comparing two coaching tools
Coachful's coaching flows library with morning and evening check-ins beside Paperbell's homepage.

How do the features compare side by side?

This matrix covers the jobs a fitness coach replacing Paperbell needs done. "Not shown" means the vendor's pricing page and our profile do not document it, so confirm in a trial.

ToolWorkout builder and loggingNutrition targetsBookingContracts with e-signIn-app paymentsCourses and communityWebsite and funnelsClient app
CoachfulYes, with set history and PRsCalories and macros, meal plans, barcode scanYes, with calendar syncYesStripe or RazorpayBothBothBranded, inside the Coachful app
PaperbellNot shownNot shownYesYesStripe, PayPalOnline classes, group coaching; no community (older profile)Simple website; no funnels shownMobile browser (older profile)
PT DistinctionYesYesNot shownNot shownNot shownNoNoBranded from Pro
HubFitYesYesNo (older profile)No (older profile)Premium and upNoNoYes; own branded app is an add-on
Practice BetterNot highlightedYesYes, with telehealthNot shownYes (Stripe)Programs; no community shownNo (older profile)Client portal
CoachAccountableMetrics and worksheetsNot shownSessionsAgreementsInvoicingCoursesNo (older profile)No native app (older profile)
EverfitYesYes; meal plans are an add-onNot shownNot shownPaid add-onNoNoYes
My PT HubYesYesYesNot shownYes (Stripe)NoNoYes; white-label is an add-on below Ultimate

What does each tool cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?

Monthly prices as listed in October 2026, on the cheapest plan that covers the client count. Processor fees and unpriced add-ons are not included.

Tool5 clients15 clients40 clientsNotes
CoachfulLite: $29/month for up to 5 clientsSolo: $49/month for up to 20 clientsPro: $99/month with unlimited clientsBooking, payments, contracts, training, nutrition, courses, community, website and email included
Paperbell$97$97$97$80.83/mo billed annually; no training tools, so most fitness coaches add an app
PT Distinction$31.90 (Basic + 2 extra)$59.90 (Pro)$89.90 (Master)Branded app from Pro
HubFit$39 ($69 with payments)$39 ($69 with payments)$39 ($69 with payments)Payments and branding from Premium
Practice Better$35 (Starter)$69 (Professional)$69 (Professional)Evergreen programs and branding need Plus at $99
CoachAccountable$40 (Level 1)$120 (Level 3)$250 (Level 4)Priced per active client
Everfit$0 (Starter) or $19 (Pro)$49 (20-client tier)$95 (50-client tier)Payments, automation and meal plans are add-ons
My PT Hub$59 (Premium)$59$59Starter caps at 3 clients

For more on Paperbell's single plan, see Paperbell pricing explained. If payments are your main worry, our guide to payment platforms for online fitness coaches goes deeper.

What does a realistic monthly stack cost?

The headline price rarely matches the bill, because fitness coaches leaving Paperbell often keep it and add a training app. Here are three example stacks; they are illustrations built from October 2026 list prices, not quotes.

StackClientsToolsMonthly software costLogins for the client
Coachful (all in one)15Coachful with the Fitness & Nutrition packSolo: $49/month for up to 20 clientsOne
Paperbell plus a training app15Paperbell ($97) for booking, payments and contracts; Everfit 20-client tier ($49) for workouts$146, plus any Everfit add-onsTwo
Paperbell plus a premium training app40Paperbell ($97); PT Distinction Master ($89.90) for programs and a branded app$186.90, before any course or community toolTwo

Add a course platform or a community app to the second and third stacks and the gap widens. Our roundups of course platforms and community platforms for fitness coaches show what those add.

How would a fitness coach set this up in Coachful, step by step?

Here is an example of a coach moving a 12-week online strength program off Paperbell. The names and offer are illustrative.

  1. Request the build. Open Create > We'll build it for you and ask for a website and a sales page for the 12-week program. Attach your logo, a few training photos and your current Paperbell page text. Templates such as Kinetic, Ember or Pulse suit performance brands.
  2. Connect payments and calendars. Link your Stripe account, then connect Google, Apple or Outlook calendars so existing bookings block your availability.
  3. Create the offer. Set up the program as an offer with a one-time price and a three-payment plan, add an order bump for a nutrition guide, and attach your coaching agreement for e-signature before the first call.
  4. Build the training block. In the workout builder, write weeks 1 to 4 with supersets and tempo work, upload your own demo videos for key lifts, and set calorie and macro targets.
  5. Add the weekly rhythm. Add habits (daily steps, water, sleep), a Sunday check-in with weight, measurements and progress photos, and a form-check video request for squat and deadlift in week 2.
  6. Turn on community. Enrolling in the program creates the cohort group automatically; post a week-one challenge there.
  7. Move clients across. Clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding. Send current clients a short email with their new app link, and run Paperbell for one more billing cycle while active packages finish. Our guides on migrating from Paperbell and switching without losing a client cover timing.
  8. Set up the lead path. Publish a lead-magnet funnel for a free 4-week plan with a three-email sequence that ends with the consult booking link.
Kinetic performance website template homepage
The Kinetic homepage template, one of the performance designs in Coachful's website builder.

What mistakes should fitness coaches avoid when leaving Paperbell?

  • Swapping one admin tool for another. Moving from Paperbell to a similar session-admin tool keeps the same gap. Check where workouts and logging will live before you migrate.
  • Pricing only the headline plan. Payment, automation, meal-plan and branded-app add-ons can double a training app's cost. Price the plan you will actually need at your client count in six months.
  • Cancelling Paperbell mid-package. Let active packages and payment plans finish, or move them deliberately, so no client is billed twice or loses access to past sessions.
  • Forgetting the agreement and waiver. Training carries injury risk. Make sure your new tool collects a signed agreement and a readiness screen before week one, and have a local lawyer review your waiver wording.
  • Expecting wearable data. Several tools, including Coachful, do not sync Garmin, Fitbit or Whoop. Ask clients to enter steps or sleep in check-ins instead.
  • Stepping outside scope. Coaching is not treatment. Refer clients with medical red flags to a doctor and keep clinical notes in a clinical system.

Which Paperbell alternative should a fitness coach choose?

Choose Coachful if you sell programs and want booking, payments, contracts, workouts with logging, nutrition, check-ins, courses, a community and your website behind one login, with the free white-glove build to speed up the move. Choose PT Distinction or HubFit if you only need a training app and are happy to keep sales and admin elsewhere, Everfit if you have five clients and no budget, My PT Hub if you train mostly in person, Practice Better if nutrition practice is the core, and CoachAccountable for a small premium roster tracked on metrics.

Paperbell remains a good tool for selling sessions. It was not built to deliver training between them, and that is the reason most fitness coaches start looking. For the wider view, see Paperbell alternatives for all coaches, our Paperbell alternatives roundup, or how fitness coaches compare Kajabi alternatives.

Join Coachful now

Frequently asked questions

Does Paperbell have a workout builder for fitness coaches?

Paperbell's pricing page in October 2026 does not list a workout builder, exercise library or workout logging. Its features center on packages, scheduling, payments, contracts, a client portal and a simple website. Fitness coaches usually pair it with a separate training app.

What is the cheapest Paperbell alternative for a new fitness coach?

Everfit's Starter plan is free for up to 5 clients, and Practice Better's Sprout plan is free for 3 clients, as listed in October 2026. Both leave gaps: Everfit has no website or contracts, and Practice Better is not built around workouts. Count the tools you would add before deciding.

Can I keep my clients' history when I leave Paperbell?

Our older profile found client lists and history in Paperbell's Clients area, but a documented CSV export was not verified. Export or copy what you need before you cancel. In Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding.

What is Coachful's free white-glove service?

On every plan, you can ask the Coachful team to build a website, funnel, sales page, program, email sequence or similar inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. You attach up to 8 links and 10 files, and nothing is invented: gaps are left for you. It does not include filming videos, logo design or ad management.

Does Coachful sync with Garmin, Fitbit or Apple Health?

No. Coachful has no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync, and Apple Health sync is not publicly available. Clients can log steps, sleep and other numbers through habits and check-ins.

Can clients log workouts and track PRs in Coachful?

Yes. The Fitness & Nutrition pack lets clients log workouts and see set history and personal records. You build sessions with supersets, circuits, AMRAP, EMOM, intervals and tempo, and attach your own demo videos.

Is a fitness coaching app HIPAA compliant?

It depends on the vendor, and most fitness coaching does not need clinical records. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA, and CoachAccountable says it is not HIPAA compliant. If you handle medical records, use a clinical system for them.

Does Coachful accept PayPal like Paperbell?

No. Coachful takes payments through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account, including Apple Pay and Google Pay, with no platform fee on top of processing. If many of your clients pay only by PayPal, factor that in.

Is Paperbell or a training app better for in-person personal trainers?

For mainly in-person trainers, a tool with bookings, payments and workouts together, such as My PT Hub, usually fits better than Paperbell alone. If you also sell online programs, courses or challenges, an all-in-one platform covers both.

Join Coachful now
Share

More in Best of

Best of

7 Best Practice Better Alternatives for Gut Health Coaches

A decision guide for gut health coaches weighing Practice Better: five questions about your practice, seven ranked alternatives, real listed prices and when a clinical tool is still the right call.

Oct 27, 202627 min
7 Best Practice Better Alternatives for Gut Health Coaches
Best of

Top 7 Skool Alternatives for Health Coaches in 2026

Skool runs a good community, but health coaches also need booking, agreements, habits and daily check-ins. Seven alternatives ranked by scenario, with prices as listed in October 2026.

Oct 27, 202628 min
Top 7 Skool Alternatives for Health Coaches in 2026
Best of

Top 12 Mighty Networks Alternatives for Business Coaches

Mighty Networks runs a great community, but business coaches also sell 1:1 retainers, sign agreements and track client KPIs. Here are 12 alternatives, ranked on the whole client journey and total cost.

Oct 27, 202632 min
Top 12 Mighty Networks Alternatives for Business Coaches

Start Your Coaching
Journey Today

You didn't become a coach to manage 6 apps. Try Coachful free — takes 5 minutes — and watch your coaching business take off.

Elizabeth Gentzkow
Emily Fulcher
John Winders
James Wallace
Salma Mostafa

Built for coaches who take their clients seriously

Elizabeth Gentzkow
Emily Fulcher
John Winders
James Wallace
Salma Mostafa
Christopher Duff
Gilli Moon Aliotti
Margie Wilson
Lakayann Outerbridge
Coachful
Coachful
BlogPrivacyTermsRefundsContact

© 2026 Coachful. All rights reserved.