Coachful
Coachful
ToolsBlogContact
Sign in
Best of
October 27, 202637 min

12 Best Paperbell Alternatives That Cost Less (2026 Guide)

12 Best Paperbell Alternatives That Cost Less (2026 Guide)

The best Paperbell alternatives that cost less are the ones that lower your total monthly software bill, not just the sticker price of one tool. Paperbell charges a single flat $97 a month ($970 a year) for unlimited clients, as listed in October 2026. Several tools below start at $0 to $40, but many of them cap clients, leave out scheduling, or make you buy a website, email tool or course platform on the side. So the deciding question is simple: at the number of clients you actually coach, which setup costs the least once everything you need is paid for?

Our pick is Coachful, because one subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant, so it replaces the extra tools that make cheap software expensive. We make Coachful, so weigh our ranking with that in mind; every other tool's price here comes from its own pricing page, and we say where a figure could not be verified. If you want the shorter ranking without the budget angle, read our top Paperbell alternatives for coaches.

Paperbell pricing page with its single plan and monthly and annual prices
Paperbell's pricing page in October 2026.

What does a coach leaving Paperbell to save money actually need?

A coach who leaves Paperbell for cost reasons needs the same client journey for less money: a booking page, a way to take payment, a signed agreement, a place for the client to log in, and something to keep them engaged between calls. Paperbell's pitch is that one price covers all of that, with "no upsells or hidden add-ons", which is why a cheaper replacement has to be checked line by line.

Three things tend to break when coaches downgrade to save $50 a month:

  • The client cap. Paperbell has none. Many cheaper tools price by active client, so the plan that costs $25 at 5 clients costs $70, $120 or more at 20.
  • The missing pieces. Paperbell includes a simple coaching website, email workflows, forms and group coaching. A tool without a website or email means a second subscription, and the saving disappears.
  • Your time. Moving clients, rebuilding packages and re-sending contracts takes hours. A tool that saves $20 a month but takes a weekend to set up needs months to pay that back.

There is also a gap in Paperbell itself that pushes people to look: according to its September 2026 profile, Paperbell has no courses or LMS, no community, and no goal or habit tracking, and clients use it in a mobile browser rather than an app. If you deliver programs rather than single sessions, you may already be paying for a second tool on top of the $97. Our Paperbell pricing breakdown covers what the single plan includes in detail, and how much coaching software costs explains the four costs most comparisons skip.

Five questions to answer about your practice before you switch

Answer these five questions first; they decide which cheaper tool is actually cheaper for you. Write the answers down, because the table in the next section maps them to a pick.

  1. How many clients will you have in 12 months, not today? Price the plan for that number. A per-client tool that is cheap now can triple as you grow.
  2. Do you sell sessions, or programs that run between sessions? If clients follow weekly goals, habits and check-ins, you need program delivery, not just a calendar.
  3. Do you need a website and email list, or do you already have them? If you already pay for a site builder and an email tool, add those bills to every option that lacks them.
  4. Do you run groups, cohorts or courses? Group calls, a community feed and courses are paid add-ons or missing entirely in many lower-cost tools.
  5. How many hours can you give to setup? If the honest answer is "a few", favour a tool that imports your clients or builds the setup for you.

Which cheaper tool matches your answers?

Find the row whose description matches your answers; Coachful fits the widest range of them, so it sits first.

PickChoose it when your answers say...Watch out for
CoachfulYou run programs, want a website, email, courses and community in the same login, and want the setup built for youNo PayPal; no permanent free plan; not HIPAA-certified
Systeme.ioYou mainly sell through funnels and email, and want to start at $0Built for marketing, not client delivery; limits counted in contacts
QuenzaYou only need worksheets and activities between sessions and already have booking and paymentsNo payments yet; no scheduling per its September 2026 profile
HoneyBookYou work one to one, mostly need proposals, contracts and invoices, and are in the US, Canada, UK or AustraliaStarter scheduler covers one session type
DubsadoYou want contracts, forms and invoices with unlimited clients, billed yearlyScheduling and workflows are on Premier only
Satori, Simply.Coach, DelentaYou have fewer than 10 clients and want a coaching-specific portalClient caps that force upgrades
Practice BetterYou coach in wellness or nutrition and want charting with a free starter planFree plan stops at 3 clients
CoachVantageYou want unlimited clients for one coach at a flat price under $60Clarity caps booking pages, sales pages and e-signatures
CoachAccountableYou coach a handful of clients with detailed action plans and metricsPrice climbs steeply per active client
Coaches ConsoleYou want a long-running all-in-one system and price is not the main issueCosts more than Paperbell

Thinking of launching your coaching business?

Answer a few questions and Coachful builds it around you: your website, programs, booking and payments. Ready in minutes.

Build your platform

The 12 Paperbell alternatives at a glance

Ranked by total stack cost at 15 clients, one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, and setup effort (including a free white-glove build).

ToolRankLowest paid price (monthly billing)Free planClient limit on cheapest plan
Coachful#1Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clientsNo (free trial)Lower plans cap clients; Pro is unlimited
Systeme.io#2$17/mo (Startup)Yes, 2,000 contactsCounted in contacts, not clients
Quenza#3$25/mo (Spark)No (30-day trial)10 clients
HoneyBook#4$29/mo billed yearly (Starter)No (free trial)Unlimited
Dubsado#5$335/yr (Starter)No (21-day trial)Unlimited
Satori#6$33/mo (Essentials)Only for certification students10 active paying clients
Simply.Coach#7$9/mo (Starter)No (14-day trial)3 active coachees
Practice Better#8$35/mo (Starter)Yes, 3 clients10 clients
CoachVantage#9$39/mo (Clarity)No (14-day trial)Unlimited
Delenta#10$29/mo (Starter)No (trial)10 client portals
CoachAccountable#11$20/mo (Starter)No (30-day trial)2 active clients
Coaches Console#12$197/mo (Core)No trialNot specified

For reference, Paperbell is $97 a month or $970 a year for unlimited clients, with no free plan. Prices for packet vendors are as listed in October 2026; Systeme.io, HoneyBook and Dubsado are as listed on their pricing pages on October 27, 2026.

How did we choose and rank these tools?

We kept tools that a solo coach could realistically use instead of Paperbell and that cost less than $97 a month at some realistic client count. Then we ranked them on four things, in this order:

  • Total stack cost at 15 clients. The tool's price plus whatever you would still need to buy (a website, email marketing, a course platform, a scheduler) to match what Paperbell includes.
  • One login for the whole client journey. From booking and payment to the client's portal, with as few hand-offs between apps as possible.
  • Between-session delivery. Programs, habits, check-ins and content, which is where Paperbell is thinnest.
  • Setup effort. How many hours it takes you to get running, and whether anyone helps.

We did not test these tools hands-on for this article. Features and limits come from each vendor's own pricing page and documentation, and ratings come from public review sites. Coaches Console is included at #12 because coaches often shortlist it; it does not cost less than Paperbell, and we say so plainly.

1. Coachful: the lowest total cost once you count every tool

Coachful can cost less than Paperbell in the way that matters most for a budget switch: it replaces the website builder, email tool, course platform and community app that a Paperbell setup often still needs. One subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and Michelle, the built-in AI assistant. The coach has one login and the client has one branded app.

A laptop showing a coaching session calendar next to a tablet showing a client's program view
Coachful's session calendar on a laptop beside a client's program view on a tablet, next to a budget notebook.

Pricing. Plans are flat and monthly, and the cheapest one is Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients. Lower plans cap the number of clients and Pro is unlimited; team plans add coach seats. For a practice of 15 clients the plan is Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients, and for unlimited clients it is Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients. Since August 2026 there is a 0% platform fee on client payments, so you pay only your own Stripe or Razorpay processing. Monthly plans cancel in one click, and there is a free trial.

Coachful coach dashboard with a setup wizard and a list of clients with status indicators
The coach dashboard with demo data: a setup checklist and 29 demo clients with task completion and status labels.

What the subscription replaces. Booking pages handle availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection, with two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook sync and built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links. Email reminders are included, plus SMS 24 hours and WhatsApp 1 hour before a session once messaging is enabled. Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, with an invoice per transaction. Coaching agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and are stored on the client record.

The website side is what changes the math for most coaches. The section-based builder has 30 designed homepage templates, a blog, a custom domain and SEO settings, and an Import website option. Booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels track pixels and UTM parameters. Email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits are included in your Coachful membership, so there is no separate email bill.

Client view of an enrolled group program showing the current week and members
The client's Programs view with demo data: an enrolled group program, its current week and its members.

Where Paperbell stops and this keeps going. Multi-week programs carry weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, progress bars and streaks. Courses support modules, lessons, drip and completion tracking. Enrolling in a program can create a cohort group automatically, with a community feed, group chat and video events. Each client record shows goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, payments and sessions, with a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk, so you can see who needs a nudge before they cancel. Michelle works from your live practice data to draft programs, emails and session briefs; questions and planning are included in the membership, while confirmed builds and changes use AI credits. If you are working toward an ICF credential, hour tracking counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds.

Coachful payments tab with an invoice table listing client, type, amount and status
The Payments tab with two demo invoices for a 30-day program.

Here is a short walkthrough of getting a new account set up:

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. On every plan, you can open Create and choose "We'll build it for you · FREE", describe what you want, and attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as your logo, photos or existing copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours: a website, a funnel, a sales page, a program, a course outline, an email sequence, a form or a link-in-bio page. Nothing gets invented, so there are no fake testimonials, credentials or prices; gaps are left for you to fill. For example, a leadership coach with a Squarespace renewal days away got one clean homepage with a repeated "talk with me" button, which removed a separate website bill. Clients, programs and content are also imported for you during onboarding, which cuts the switching cost that makes many cheaper tools a false saving. Read more about the free white-glove service.

Coachful Create page with the We will build it for you card
The Create page with the "We'll build it for you" card for the free white-glove build.

The honest limits. There is no PayPal and no plan that stays at zero cost after the trial. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and is not for clinical records or insurance billing. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding rather than your own App Store account. There is no Salesforce or HubSpot integration and no multi-stage deal board for large sales teams. Coachful holds a Trustpilot rating of 4.5 from 21 reviews, against Paperbell's 3.5 from 14 reviews seen on October 25, 2026.

For a closer side-by-side, see Coachful vs Paperbell.

Join Coachful now

2. Systeme.io: a real $0 starting point for marketing

Systeme.io is the cheapest way on this list to get a website, funnels, email and a course online, because its free plan never expires and needs no credit card. It is a marketing platform first, though, so coaches who rely on Paperbell's client portal and packages will find the delivery side thinner.

On its pricing page on October 27, 2026, Systeme.io listed four plans based mainly on contact limits. Free covers 2,000 contacts, 3 sales funnels, 1 course, 1 blog and 1 custom domain, with unlimited email sends but only 1 automation rule and 1 email campaign. Startup is $17 a month for 5,000 contacts, 10 funnels and 5 courses. Webinar is $47 a month for 10,000 contacts, 50 funnels, 20 courses and evergreen webinars. Unlimited is $97 a month, the same as Paperbell. Annual billing gives two months free, and every plan has 0% transaction fees, unlimited email sends and unlimited sub-accounts.

For a coach on a budget, the pull is that the free plan includes things Paperbell users often pay for separately: a booking calendar, a blog, a community and an affiliate program. Payments connect through Stripe, PayPal, Razorpay and others. If you mostly sell a lead magnet into an email sequence, then a paid call, you could run that on Systeme.io for nothing.

The trade-offs show up after the sale. Systeme.io is built around contacts, funnels and email, not around a coaching relationship. Its pricing page does not list coaching agreements with e-signature, client notes, habits or check-ins, and the per-plan limits for bookings and events were not shown in the page text we read, so confirm them before you rely on the free calendar. Many coaches pair it with a separate coaching tool, which brings the bill and the double login back.

Counting cost at the three client levels, Systeme.io is $0 at 5, 15 or 40 clients if your contact list stays under 2,000 and the free limits fit; a growing email list, not your client count, is what moves you to $17 or $47.

Pick it over Coachful if your main need is a no-cost funnel, email list and course while your client work happens on calls, and you are comfortable keeping agreements and session notes somewhere else.

3. Quenza: a cheap between-session layer, not a Paperbell replacement

Quenza costs less than Paperbell at almost every client count, but it does a different job: it sends clients activities, worksheets and programs between sessions and gives them an app to complete them. It does not take payments or book sessions, so it only replaces Paperbell if you move those jobs elsewhere.

Quenza homepage introducing its client activity and worksheet app for coaches
Quenza's homepage in October 2026.

As listed in October 2026, Spark is $25 a month ($20 annual) for one professional and 10 clients. Growth is $50 a month ($40 annual) for 250 clients. Impact is $125 a month ($100 annual) for 400 clients, and Collective is $160 a month ($128 annual) for up to 3 professionals and 500 clients. There is a 30-day free trial with no credit card. Quenza holds a Trustpilot rating of 4.3 from 8 reviews.

For coaches who left Paperbell because it lacks habit tracking and structured homework, Quenza fills exactly that gap. You can build multi-step activities, assign them on a schedule, and chat with clients in the app, which is a step up from Paperbell's portal for clients doing reflective work between calls.

The limits matter for a budget comparison. Invoicing and digital products are marked "Planned" or "Soon" on Quenza's pricing page, so there is no client payment processing today. Its September 2026 profile also shows no scheduling and no video calls. That means a Quenza setup needs a separate booking tool and a separate way to get paid, and neither has a website or email marketing. The $50 Growth plan looks generous at 250 clients, yet once you add those tools the total can pass Paperbell's single $97 price.

The cleanest use is as an add-on for coaches who already have a booking and payment setup they like and only want a better client workbook. At 5 clients the cost is $25, and at 15 or 40 clients it is $50, before the other tools.

Pick it over Coachful if you already run booking, payments and a website elsewhere and want only a low-cost worksheet and activity app for clients.

4. HoneyBook: flat price, unlimited clients, built for client admin

HoneyBook is a client-admin tool for service businesses (it lists coaches under professional services) that covers proposals, contracts, invoices and a client portal with unlimited clients on every plan. It is cheaper than Paperbell on annual billing and does not raise its price as your client list grows.

On its pricing page on October 27, 2026, HoneyBook showed Starter at $29 a month billed yearly, Essentials at $49 a month billed yearly (shown as 25% off $59), and Premium at $109 a month billed yearly (shown as 25% off $129). The monthly-billing prices were not in the page text we read, so check them before you commit. All plans start with a free trial. Card payments show fees starting at 2.9% plus 25 cents, and instant deposit costs 1%. HoneyBook says it currently supports professionals in the US, Canada, the UK and Australia only.

For a coach, the strongest parts are the paperwork. Proposals let a client book, sign and pay from one file; contracts take e-signatures; invoices can be one-time, recurring or on a custom schedule, with autopay, payment plans and Apple Pay or Google Pay. HoneyBook integrates with Zoom, QuickBooks, Calendly, Mailchimp and Flodesk.

The catch is scheduling on the cheapest plan. Starter's scheduler covers one session type with email-only reminders; unlimited session types and SMS reminders start on Essentials. Starter also allows 2 live lead forms. If you sell a discovery call, a single session and a package, you will likely need Essentials. HoneyBook does not list programs, habit tracking, courses, community or a website builder, so a coach who delivers multi-week programs will still need another tool for the client's day-to-day work, and email marketing runs through an integration rather than inside HoneyBook. For more on this matchup, see Paperbell vs HoneyBook.

At 5, 15 or 40 clients the price is the same: $29 a month billed yearly on Starter, or $49 on Essentials once you need more than one session type.

Pick it over Coachful if you work one to one in the US, Canada, UK or Australia, your business is mostly proposals, contracts and invoices, and you do not need programs or a community.

5. Dubsado: the yearly-billing route to unlimited clients

Dubsado is a business-management tool with unlimited clients and projects on both of its plans, billed yearly in the figures it shows. If you want contracts, forms, invoices and client portals at a fixed annual price, it is one of the cheapest flat-rate options here.

Dubsado's pricing page on October 27, 2026 listed the Starter plan at $335 a year (about $28 a month) and the Premier plan at $525 a year (about $44 a month), with annual billing described as two months of savings; monthly-billing prices were not in the page text we read. The free trial lasts 21 days with full access to Premier and no credit card. Extra brands cost $10 a month each, and three additional users are free, then $25 a month for 4 to 10 users.

Both plans include unlimited projects and clients, invoicing and payment plans, form and email templates, client portals, calendar connection, a mobile app and email and live-chat support. That covers most of the paperwork Paperbell handles for a solo coach.

Here is the important split for coaches: scheduling, automated workflows, Zapier, bookkeeping integration and public proposals are Premier-only, and Starter allows only 1 active lead capture form. A coach who wants clients to book their own sessions needs Premier, so the realistic comparison is $525 a year against Paperbell's $970. Dubsado's pricing page does not list a website builder, email marketing, courses, community or habit tracking, and its feature pages are aimed at creatives, event planners and licensed services as much as coaches. Expect to spend setup time building forms and workflows from scratch.

The cost does not change with client count: about $44 a month on Premier at 5, 15 or 40 clients, if you pay for the year up front.

Pick it over Coachful if you want a fixed yearly bill for contracts, forms and invoices with unlimited clients, and you are happy to run programs, website and email in other tools.

6. Satori: a coaching portal priced by active paying clients

Satori is a coaching practice tool built around the coach and client relationship: scheduling, a client portal, packages and programs, invoices and contracts. It costs less than Paperbell up to about 50 active clients, and only active clients count toward billing.

Satori homepage presenting its coaching practice and client portal software
Satori's homepage in October 2026.

As listed in October 2026, Essentials is $33 a month ($27.50 annual) for up to 10 active paying clients. Pro is $49 a month ($40.83 annual) and, according to its September 2026 profile, allows 50 active clients, 10 programs and 120 bookings. Leader is $124 a month ($103.33 annual) for 150 active clients per that same profile. Scholar is free with unlimited pro bono clients, but only for people studying for a coaching certification, who apply through a form. The free trial lasts 15 days with no card, and Satori offers a refund if requested within 30 days of signing up. It does not charge on client payments; Stripe and PayPal fees apply.

The "active client" rule is useful if your roster churns. Past clients who are not currently paying do not push you into a higher plan, which is fairer than a cap on total contacts.

Satori's September 2026 profile lists no landing pages, courses or community, no native mobile app and no native Zoom integration. That is closer to Paperbell's gaps than to a full replacement: you still need a website and email tool, and you would add one for courses if you sell them. The booking cap on Pro is also worth checking if you run weekly sessions with many clients.

At 5 clients Satori costs $33, at 15 or 40 clients it costs $49 on monthly billing, which is half of Paperbell before you add a website. For the full comparison of coaching-specific tools, see our Paperbell alternatives roundup.

Pick it over Coachful if you are studying for a certification and want the no-cost Scholar plan for pro bono practice clients, or your client count swings and you only want to pay for active ones.

Which one looks like you?

Coachful builds your coaching website from a few answers, in a design chosen for your niche, with programs, booking and payments ready behind it.

Build your platform

7. Simply.Coach: the lowest sticker price, with caps on every solo plan

Simply.Coach has the lowest paid entry price on this list at $9 a month, and it is a coaching-specific platform with contracts, programs, sessions, booking pages and a client portal. The low price comes with caps on coachees, contracts and programs on every solo plan below Leap.

Simply.Coach homepage presenting its coaching practice platform
Simply.Coach's homepage in October 2026.

As listed in October 2026, Starter is $9 a month for 3 active coachees, 1 contract, 1 program, 1 GB and 1 calendar. Essentials is $29 a month ($24.17 annual) for 7 coachees, 3 contracts, 3 programs and 10 GB. Growth is $49 a month for 30 coachees, 10 contracts and programs, 50 GB and 3 calendars. Leap is $69 a month for unlimited coachees, contracts and programs. Business plans (CoCreate at $79 and Surge at $159) are priced per active coach. The free trial is 14 days with no credit card.

Simply.Coach suits coaches who run structured engagements, for example a fixed six-session package with a contract and a program attached. The contract and program counts matter here: if you sell three different offers, Starter's single contract and single program will not hold them.

Two details affect the real cost. Automated invoices were marked "Coming Soon" on the solo pricing page, and Simply.Coach does not refund mid-period cancellations, so pick monthly billing until you are sure. Its pricing pages do not list a website builder, email marketing or community, so those remain separate purchases.

At 5 clients, the Essentials plan at $29 is the realistic choice (Starter stops at 3). At 15 clients Growth costs $49, and at 40 clients Leap costs $69. That makes Simply.Coach cheaper than Paperbell at every level on sticker price, though the gap shrinks once you add a website.

Pick it over Coachful if you have three or fewer clients, one offer, and want the lowest possible monthly bill for a coaching portal while you test the market.

8. Practice Better: a free plan for wellness practitioners

Practice Better is practice-management software for wellness and nutrition practitioners, with scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal. It has a genuine free plan, which makes it the cheapest starting point for health-adjacent coaches with very few clients.

Practice Better homepage presenting its practice management software for wellness practitioners
Practice Better's homepage in October 2026.

As listed in October 2026, Sprout is free for 3 clients, 1 practitioner and 100 MB. Starter is $35 a month ($25 annual) for 10 clients and 1 GB. Professional is $69 a month ($59 annual) for 300 clients and 5 GB. Plus is $99 a month ($89 annual) for unlimited clients, 3 admins and unlimited storage, and Team is $155 a month ($145 annual) for 2 practitioners. Trials are 30 days on Team and 14 days on other paid plans. Payments run through Practice Better Payments, powered by Stripe; rates are not listed. Its Trustpilot rating is 3.8 from 87 reviews.

For a coach whose work looks like a health practice, charting and telehealth are the draw. Clients get a portal with their programs and sessions, and programs can be packaged for sale.

The budget catch is where features sit. Evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS start on Plus at $99 a month, which is above Paperbell. Its September 2026 profile lists no website builder or funnel pages. So a coach who wants branded, self-paced programs pays more than Paperbell, and a coach on Professional still needs a separate website and email tool. Keep in mind that coaching is not treatment; if your clients need clinical care, refer them to a licensed provider, whatever software you use.

At 5 clients Practice Better costs $35, and at 15 or 40 clients Professional costs $69. Our Paperbell vs Practice Better comparison goes further into the clinical features.

Pick it over Coachful if you need charting and telehealth for a wellness practice, or you have three clients or fewer and want to pay nothing.

9. CoachVantage: unlimited clients at a flat price under $60

CoachVantage is coaching practice management for one coach with unlimited contacts and engagements on both plans. It covers a CRM, scheduling, contracts with e-signature, invoices, a client portal, group programs and small courses, so it overlaps with Paperbell more than most tools here.

CoachVantage homepage presenting its coaching practice management software
CoachVantage's homepage in October 2026.

As listed in October 2026, Clarity is $39 a month ($35 annual) with unlimited contacts and engagements but caps of 2 group programs, 2 sales pages, 2 booking pages, 4 e-signatures a month, 2 contract templates, 2 courses and 500 MB. Aha! is $59 a month ($53 annual) with unlimited group programs (with cohorts), sales pages, booking pages and e-signatures, plus 5 contract templates, 5 courses and 1 GB. The free trial is 14 days with no credit card. CoachVantage says it takes "no commissions on the revenue you earn"; Stripe and PayPal fees apply.

The 4 e-signatures a month on Clarity is the number to check. If you sign up five new clients in a month, you hit the cap, so busy coaches should budget for Aha!. Even then, $59 is well under Paperbell's $97.

Its September 2026 profile notes no team or multi-coach features and reports that its built-in video (CVMeet) is weak, with many users still on Zoom. CoachVantage has sales pages but no full website builder or email marketing listed, so plan for those separately if you need them.

At 5, 15 or 40 clients, Clarity stays at $39 and Aha! at $59, since clients are unlimited on both.

Pick it over Coachful if you want a coaching-specific CRM with unlimited clients at a fixed price, sign up few new clients each month, and already have a website and email tool.

10. Delenta: portal caps that track your growth

Delenta is a coaching practice platform with a CRM, scheduling, contracts, client portals and group coaching, plus courses and a mobile app on its top plan. It prices by the number of client portals, which keeps it cheap at low volumes.

Delenta homepage presenting its coaching platform with client portals
Delenta's homepage in October 2026.

As listed in October 2026, Starter is $29 a month ($19.08 annual) for 1 seat, 10 client portals and 1 GB. Pro is $49 a month ($39.08 annual) for 40 client portals, 5 GB and up to 6 calendars. Premium is $79 a month ($58.25 annual) with unlimited client portals and 100 GB. Teams and Enterprise prices are not shown. Its pricing page conflicts on the trial: the headline says 14 days, while the FAQ says unlimited access for 7 days; no credit card is required. Delenta lists "no additional transaction fees"; Stripe and PayPal fees apply. Its Trustpilot rating is 4.1 from 5 reviews.

Delenta's annual prices are notably low: Starter on annual billing works out to about $19 a month. For a coach with fewer than 10 active clients who wants a portal, contracts and scheduling, that is one of the cheapest coaching-specific options.

The limit is that the course creator and mobile app are Premium-only, so a coach who wants to deliver content in an app pays $79 a month. Multi-coach features need the custom-priced Teams plan. At exactly 40 clients you sit at Pro's ceiling, and one more client means Premium.

At 5 clients Delenta costs $29, at 15 clients $49, and at 40 clients $49 on Pro, or $79 on Premium if you need room to grow or want courses.

Pick it over Coachful if you have under 10 clients, pay annually and want the lowest yearly bill for a coaching portal with contracts and scheduling.

11. CoachAccountable: cheap for a handful, costly at scale

CoachAccountable is a coaching back office with sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses, invoicing and agreements. It is cheaper than Paperbell only while your active client count stays low, because every level is priced by active client.

CoachAccountable homepage
CoachAccountable's homepage in October 2026.

As listed in October 2026, Starter is $20 a month for 2 active clients, Level 1 is $40 for 5, Level 2 is $70 for 10, Level 3 is $120 for 20, Level 4 is $250 for 50, and Level 5 is $400 for 100. The free trial is 30 days with no credit card and no limits. Transaction fees are not stated on the pricing page. Its Trustpilot rating is 4.8 from 47 reviews, the highest among the tools here with a rating listed.

The depth is real: action plans, metrics clients report on, and worksheets give it stronger between-session accountability than Paperbell. Coaches who track client commitments closely often prefer it.

The price curve is the issue for anyone switching to save money. At 15 clients you need Level 3 at $120, which is more than Paperbell. At 40 you need Level 4 at $250. Group programs get expensive because each participant is an active client. Its September 2026 profile lists no native mobile app and no landing pages, website or marketing automation, and the company states it is not HIPAA compliant. For a direct look at this pairing, see Paperbell vs CoachAccountable.

At 5 clients CoachAccountable costs $40, at 15 clients $120, and at 40 clients $250.

Pick it over Coachful if you coach five or fewer clients in depth, value detailed metrics and action plans above everything else, and do not plan to run groups.

12. Coaches Console: included so you can rule it out on price

Coaches Console does not cost less than Paperbell. It is a long-standing coach business system with a CRM, calendar, website, client portal, email, invoicing and, on its top plan, courses, and it appears on many shortlists, so we include it to show where it lands on cost.

Coaches Console homepage presenting its coach business system
Coaches Console's homepage in October 2026.

As listed in October 2026, the Core Console System is $197 a month ($166.42 annual) for a single coach account, with client limits not specified. The Total Console System is $297 a month ($249.75 annual) and adds unlimited products and courses. There is no free trial; billing details are required at signup, with a 30-day money-back guarantee instead. Setup fees are not charged.

The bundle does include a website and email, which Paperbell only partly covers, so a coach who would otherwise pay for a site builder, email tool and course platform on top of Paperbell might find the gap smaller than the sticker suggests. Still, at $197 it is the highest entry price in the coaching-admin group, and its September 2026 profile notes reviewers describing the interface as dated.

At 5, 15 or 40 clients it is $197 a month on Core, about double Paperbell.

Pick it over Coachful if you specifically want a long-established system, prefer a money-back guarantee to a trial, and the monthly price is not a constraint.

What does each option cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?

At 15 clients, a coaching-specific tool usually costs $39 to $69 a month on its own, against Paperbell's $97, but the right-hand column is where the real total sits. Prices use monthly billing unless marked, and the cheapest plan that fits each client count.

A monitor showing Paperbell's pricing page beside a laptop showing a coaching invoice table
Paperbell's pricing page on a monitor beside Coachful's payments and invoices table on a laptop.
Tool5 clients15 clients40 clientsWhat you still need to buy to match Paperbell
CoachfulLite: $29/month for up to 5 clientsSolo: $49/month for up to 20 clientsPro: $99/month with unlimited clientsNothing; only Stripe or Razorpay processing
Paperbell (baseline)$97$97$97Course platform and community if you sell programs
Systeme.io$0 (Free)$0 (Free)$0 (Free)Contracts and a coaching portal
Quenza$25$50$50Booking, payments, website, email
HoneyBook$29 billed yearly$29 billed yearly$29 billed yearlyWebsite, email marketing, programs
Dubsado (Premier for scheduling)$525/yr$525/yr$525/yrWebsite, email marketing, programs
Satori$33$49$49Website, email, courses
Simply.Coach$29$49$69Website, email, community
Practice Better$35$69$69Website and funnels
CoachVantage (Clarity)$39$39$39Website, email; Aha! ($59) if you sign more than 4 contracts a month
Delenta$29$49$49Website, email; Premium ($79) for courses and app
CoachAccountable$40$120$250Website, email marketing
Coaches Console$197$197$197Little; courses need Total ($297)

Two patterns stand out. Flat-price tools (HoneyBook, Dubsado, CoachVantage) win when you have many clients and few needs. Per-client tools (CoachAccountable, Simply.Coach, Satori) win at 5 clients and lose ground fast after 15. The cheapest total, though, depends on that last column: a $49 tool plus a website builder and an email tool can cost more than one subscription that includes both. Our guide to coaching website costs shows what that second bill usually looks like.

Which features do you give up at the lower price?

Most cheaper tools drop at least two of the six areas below; the matrix shows which, based on each vendor's pricing page and, where marked, its September 2026 profile.

ToolBooking + paymentsContractsPrograms, habits, check-insCoursesCommunityWebsite + email
CoachfulYesYes, e-signatureYesYesYesYes, with funnels
PaperbellYesYesNo (profile)Online classes; no LMS (profile)No (profile)Simple site; email workflows
Systeme.ioCalendar + paymentsNot listedNot listedYesYesYes
QuenzaNoNot listedActivities and programsNot listedNot listedNo
HoneyBookYesYesNot listedNot listedNot listedNo; email via integrations
DubsadoPremier for schedulingYesNot listedNot listedNot listedNo
SatoriYesYesPackages and programsNo (profile)No (profile)No (profile)
Simply.CoachBooking; invoices partlyYes, cappedPrograms, cappedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Practice BetterYesNot listedProgramsEvergreen programs on PlusNot listedNo (profile)
CoachVantageYesYes, capped on ClarityGroup programsSmall, cappedNot listedSales pages only
DelentaYesYesGroup coachingPremium onlyNot listedNot listed
CoachAccountableYesAgreementsAction plans, metricsYesNot listedNo (profile)
Coaches ConsoleYesNot listedNot listedTotal planNot listedYes

How would a budget-minded coach set this up in Coachful, step by step?

A coach leaving Paperbell can usually be running in Coachful within a week, with most of the building done for them. Here is an example path for a solo coach with 15 clients and one 12-week program.

  1. Start the free trial and pick the plan that covers your client count today, not the unlimited one. You can move up later.
  2. Request the white-glove build. From Create, choose "We'll build it for you", attach your current site links and your program outline, and ask for a website, a booking funnel and the program. Clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding.
  3. Connect Stripe Connect or Razorpay and recreate your packages as one-time, subscription or payment-plan offers. If you used PayPal on Paperbell, move those clients to card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, because Coachful has no PayPal.
  4. Attach your coaching agreement so new clients sign before the first call.
  5. Connect your calendar (Google, Apple/iCloud or Outlook) and set buffers and minimum notice on your booking page.
  6. Turn on check-ins and habits in the program so clients have something to do between calls.
  7. Cancel the tools you no longer need: the separate website builder, email tool or course platform. That is where the saving comes from.

For the migration details, read how to migrate from Paperbell and how to switch from Paperbell without losing a client.

Join Coachful now

Red flags and switching costs to check before you leave Paperbell

The biggest risk in switching to save money is spending more time and losing more clients than the switch saves. Check these before you cancel:

  • Per-client pricing that outgrows Paperbell. CoachAccountable passes $97 before 15 clients. Run the numbers at your 12-month client count.
  • Features that sit one plan higher. Dubsado's scheduling, HoneyBook's unlimited session types, Practice Better's branding and evergreen programs, and Delenta's courses all sit above the cheapest plan.
  • Caps on contracts and e-signatures. Simply.Coach Starter allows 1 contract; CoachVantage Clarity allows 4 e-signatures a month.
  • Payment method changes. Paperbell supports Stripe and PayPal per its September 2026 profile. If your clients pay by PayPal subscription, moving to a tool without PayPal means asking them to re-enter payment details.
  • Data export. Paperbell keeps client lists and history in its Clients area; a documented CSV export was not verified in its September 2026 profile. Copy notes and contracts out before your plan ends.
  • Annual commitments. Paperbell offers a 30-day money-back guarantee; Simply.Coach does not refund mid-period cancellations. Try monthly first.
  • Region limits. HoneyBook currently supports only the US, Canada, the UK and Australia.
  • Your setup hours. Count them at your hourly coaching rate. A tool that takes 15 hours to configure costs real money even when the subscription is cheap.

If you want to see how other coaches run client work outside Paperbell, read managing coaching clients without Paperbell.

Verdict: which Paperbell alternative actually costs less?

For most coaches, Coachful is the cheapest full stack once you count the website, email, course and community tools a Paperbell setup still leaves out. If you only need one piece of the stack, the cheapest choices are clear: Systeme.io for free funnels and email, Simply.Coach or Satori for a small coaching portal, HoneyBook or Dubsado for flat-price paperwork, and CoachVantage for unlimited clients under $60.

What Coachful is: a coaching platform where one subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. Who it is for: coaches who deliver programs rather than single sessions, solo coaches growing into a small team, and coaches replacing four to six tools. What it does not do: it is not HIPAA-certified, has no PayPal and no permanent free plan, has no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync, and does not integrate with Salesforce or HubSpot. How to start: take the free trial, then use the free white-glove build to get your website, funnel and program set up in your account. Current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients.

If your niche matters more than price, see our guides for life coaches and business coaches, or browse all coaching software.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest Paperbell alternative?

Systeme.io and Practice Better both have free plans, as does Satori for certification students. Systeme.io's free plan covers 2,000 contacts with funnels, email and a course, and Practice Better's free Sprout plan covers 3 clients. Among paid coaching tools, Simply.Coach starts at $9 a month for 3 coachees.

Is there a free alternative to Paperbell?

Yes, with limits. Practice Better's Sprout plan is free for 3 clients, Satori's Scholar plan is free for pro bono clients of certification students, and Systeme.io's free plan never expires. None of them replaces every part of Paperbell, so check which pieces you would still need.

Which Paperbell alternative is cheapest at 15 clients?

On sticker price, HoneyBook Starter ($29 a month billed yearly) and CoachVantage Clarity ($39 a month) are the lowest flat prices with unlimited clients. Count the website and email tools you would still need; a single platform that includes them can come out cheaper overall.

Does Coachful cost less than Paperbell?

It often costs less in total, because it includes a website, email marketing, courses and a community that a Paperbell setup often buys separately. Current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients. Lower plans cap the number of clients, so pick the one that matches your roster.

What is Coachful's free white-glove service?

On every plan, you can ask the Coachful team to build a website, funnel, sales page, program, course outline, email sequence or form inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. You describe what you want and attach up to 8 links and 10 files. It does not include video recording, logo design or ad management.

Does Paperbell charge transaction fees?

Paperbell says there are no additional transaction fees, though Stripe or PayPal processing fees still apply. Coachful also charges a 0% platform fee, with only Stripe or Razorpay processing.

Is Paperbell worth $97 a month?

It can be if you have many one-to-one clients and need only booking, packages, contracts and a simple site, since clients are unlimited. It is less good value if you also pay for a course platform, community or habit-tracking tool, because Paperbell does not include them according to its September 2026 profile. Our Paperbell review covers this in more depth.

Can I move my clients from Paperbell without losing them?

Yes, if you plan it. Export client details and notes before your Paperbell plan ends, rebuild packages in the new tool, and give clients a clear date and a new login link. Payment methods often need to be re-entered, especially for PayPal subscriptions.

Which cheaper tool is best for group coaching?

Look for cohorts and a community, not just group sessions. CoachVantage Aha! includes unlimited group programs with cohorts, while Coachful creates cohort groups automatically when clients enroll in a program and adds a community feed and group chat. Per-client tools such as CoachAccountable get expensive for groups.

Join Coachful now
Share

More in Best of

Best of

7 Best Practice Better Alternatives for Gut Health Coaches

A decision guide for gut health coaches weighing Practice Better: five questions about your practice, seven ranked alternatives, real listed prices and when a clinical tool is still the right call.

Oct 27, 202627 min
7 Best Practice Better Alternatives for Gut Health Coaches
Best of

Top 7 Skool Alternatives for Health Coaches in 2026

Skool runs a good community, but health coaches also need booking, agreements, habits and daily check-ins. Seven alternatives ranked by scenario, with prices as listed in October 2026.

Oct 27, 202628 min
Top 7 Skool Alternatives for Health Coaches in 2026
Best of

Top 12 Mighty Networks Alternatives for Business Coaches

Mighty Networks runs a great community, but business coaches also sell 1:1 retainers, sign agreements and track client KPIs. Here are 12 alternatives, ranked on the whole client journey and total cost.

Oct 27, 202632 min
Top 12 Mighty Networks Alternatives for Business Coaches

Start Your Coaching
Journey Today

You didn't become a coach to manage 6 apps. Try Coachful free — takes 5 minutes — and watch your coaching business take off.

Elizabeth Gentzkow
Emily Fulcher
John Winders
James Wallace
Salma Mostafa

Built for coaches who take their clients seriously

Elizabeth Gentzkow
Emily Fulcher
John Winders
James Wallace
Salma Mostafa
Christopher Duff
Gilli Moon Aliotti
Margie Wilson
Lakayann Outerbridge
Coachful
Coachful
BlogPrivacyTermsRefundsContact

© 2026 Coachful. All rights reserved.