The 12 Best SimplePractice Alternatives for Coaches, Compared

The best simplepractice alternatives for coaches are tools built for coaching rather than clinical care, and the deciding question is short: do you need an electronic health record at all? SimplePractice is an EHR made for therapists and other licensed clinicians, with HIPAA compliance and insurance billing at its core. Most coaches bill clients directly, sell packages or programs, and never file an insurance claim. If that describes you, the real choice is between one platform that runs the whole client journey and a stack of smaller tools you connect yourself.
Our pick is Coachful, because one login covers booking, payments, contracts, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels, and email. We make Coachful, so we ranked it first and state our criteria openly below. The other 11 tools are described from what each vendor documents and lists in October 2026, and every entry says plainly when you should pick it over us.
Why do coaches outgrow SimplePractice?
Coaches outgrow SimplePractice because it solves a clinical problem most of them do not have, while leaving the marketing and between-session work to other tools. An EHR is built around clinical documentation, diagnosis-driven billing and the privacy rules that come with treating patients.
HIPAA's privacy rules apply to "covered entities": health plans, health care clearinghouses, and health care providers that transmit health data in the transactions the law regulates, plus the "business associates" that work for them (Wikipedia's summary of HIPAA). A life, business or career coach who takes card payments and never bills insurance is usually not in that group. Whether HIPAA applies to your specific practice depends on your license and how you bill, so check with an attorney if you are unsure.
Two situations call for caution. First, if you are a licensed therapist who also coaches, keep your therapy clients in a HIPAA-compliant record system and run coaching separately; none of the coaching platforms below replaces an EHR for clinical work. Second, coaching is not therapy or medical treatment. Health, wellness and mindset coaches should say so in their agreement and refer a client to a licensed professional when the client describes symptoms of depression, anxiety, trauma, disordered eating or substance use, or any risk of harm. Our health coach and mindset coach pages cover how to set that scope line in writing.
What does a coaching client journey need at each stage?
A coaching business moves every client through four stages: attract, enroll, deliver and retain. SimplePractice was designed mainly for the middle of that journey (scheduling, billing, documentation), which is why coaches who leave it usually discover they need more, not less.
Attract: be findable and collect leads
You need a website that explains who you help, a lead magnet or free call offer, a funnel page that captures an email address, and a way to keep in touch with people who are not ready yet. Link-in-bio pages matter if most of your audience finds you on social media.
Enroll: turn interest into a signed, paying client
This stage needs a discovery-call booking page with intake questions, an application form for higher-priced programs, a checkout that handles payment plans and subscriptions, and a coaching agreement signed before the first session. Our guide to coaching contracts explains what that agreement should cover.
Deliver: sessions plus everything between them
Sessions need calendar sync, video links and reminders. The bigger difference from therapy is what happens between sessions: weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, check-ins, worksheets, course lessons and, for group work, a cohort space. This is where clients either build momentum or drift.
Retain: notice drift and keep clients growing
Retention depends on seeing who has gone quiet before they cancel, offering a next program or a monthly subscription, and giving alumni a community to stay in. Credentialed coaches also need a clean log of coaching hours for ICF applications.

Which tools cover which stage?
The table maps each tool to the four stages. Entry prices are list prices as shown on vendor pricing pages in October 2026.
How we ranked: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, total stack cost, and setup effort, including whether the vendor will build your setup for you.
| Tool | Attract | Enroll | Deliver | Retain | Entry price as listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Website, funnels, email, link in bio | Booking with intake, checkout, e-signed agreements | Sessions, programs, habits, check-ins, courses | Community, client status, subscriptions | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients |
| Coaches Console | Website, email | Calendar, invoicing | Client portal; courses on Total | $197/mo | |
| Quenza | Not covered | Not covered (no payments yet) | Activities, worksheets, programs, client app | Chat | $25/mo |
| HoneyBook | Lead forms | Proposals, contracts, invoices | Client portal only | Automations (Essentials and up) | $29/mo billed annually |
| Acuity Scheduling | Not covered | Booking, intake forms, packages | Scheduling only | Memberships | $20/mo |
| Practice Better | No website or funnels | Scheduling, billing | Telehealth, charting, programs, portal | Programs, portal | $0 (3 clients) |
| Paperbell | Simple website | Booking, packages, payments, contracts | Client portal; no habits or courses | Packages | $97/mo |
| CoachAccountable | Not covered | Sessions, invoicing, agreements | Action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses | Metrics | $20/mo (2 clients) |
| CoachVantage | Sales pages | Booking pages, e-signatures, invoices | Group programs, small courses | CRM | $39/mo |
| Kajabi | Website, funnels, email | Checkout | Courses, community | Community | $179/mo |
| Systeme.io | Funnels, email, blog | Checkout | Courses, basic community | Affiliate program | $0 (Free plan) |
| Calendly | Not covered | Booking, paid bookings | Not covered | Not covered | $0 (Free plan) |
How did we choose these 12 tools?
We started from one realistic coach and asked which tools could carry that person's whole week. The example: a wellness coach leaving SimplePractice with 15 private clients and one eight-week group program of 10 people, who wants a simple website and an email list. This is an illustrative scenario, not a customer story.
For each tool we read the vendor's own pricing page and documentation, and noted what public reviewers report where it matters (Trustpilot scores are as seen in October 2026). We did not run paid accounts for every product, so where a feature is not documented we say so rather than assume. Tools that fit only one stage (Calendly, Acuity) are included because many coaches assemble a stack, and you should see what each piece costs.
Direct coaching-practice substitutes (Practice Better, Paperbell, CoachAccountable, CoachVantage) sit in the middle of the list. They are genuine options, but each covers fewer stages than the tools ranked above them for our example coach, mostly because none of them runs marketing and between-session delivery together.
1. Coachful: one login from first visit to renewal
Coachful is the strongest SimplePractice alternative for coaches because it replaces the scheduling and billing side of SimplePractice and adds the attract, deliver and retain tools an EHR never had. One subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. You get one login; your client gets one app carrying your branding.
It is built for coaches who deliver programs rather than only sessions, for solo coaches growing into a small team, and for anyone replacing four to six separate tools. The company is based in Tallinn, Estonia, and holds a Trustpilot score of 4.5 from 21 reviews.
What replaces the SimplePractice side of your work?
Booking pages support availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection, with two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook calendar sync. Sessions get built-in video or an auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams link, plus email reminders, and SMS (24 hours before) and WhatsApp (1 hour before) reminders once messaging is enabled. Intake questions sit on the booking page, and you can sell paid sessions or session credits.
Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time charges, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Stripe Tax, with an invoice per transaction plus manual invoices. Since August 2026 there is a 0% Coachful platform fee, so you pay only Stripe or Razorpay processing. Coaching agreements go out for e-signature before the first call and are stored on the client record, alongside goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions.

What does it add that an EHR never had?
Programs are the core. You can build multi-week programs with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars, and streaks. Courses support modules, lessons, drip release and completion tracking, and enrolling in a program automatically creates a cohort group with chat, so group coaching needs no separate community tool. More than 40 ready-to-film program templates and 48 course templates with quizzes give you a starting point.
On the marketing side, the section-based website builder includes a blog, custom domain, SEO settings and 30 designed homepage templates. Booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels support pixels and UTM tracking, and email covers lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits.

Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data: it builds programs, drafts emails and content, summarizes recorded sessions and briefs you before each session. Questions and planning are included in your Coachful membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits. ICF credential tracking counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports an ICF client coaching log. Health and fitness coaches can add the Fitness & Nutrition pack for workouts, nutrition targets, meal plans and progress photos.
This short walkthrough shows how a client journey is set up, from first booking to program delivery:
What does the client actually experience?
Your client books a discovery call, answers your intake questions, signs the agreement and pays, all on pages under your brand. After that, their home shows the next session, this week's program goals, today's tasks and habits, a check-in prompt, and the group community if they joined a cohort. On your side, each client is marked thriving, active, quiet or at risk, so you see who needs a nudge before a renewal conversation.

Where does Coachful fall short?
Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA, so it is not for clinical record-keeping or insurance billing. It has no PayPal and no permanent free plan. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account. There is no Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync, Apple Health sync is not publicly available, and there are no stock exercise videos. Large sales teams will miss a multi-stage deal board and a Salesforce or HubSpot integration.
Plans are flat and monthly: lower plans cap the number of clients, Pro is unlimited, team plans add coach seats, monthly plans cancel in one click, and there is a free trial. Current plans: (Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients).
Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create, choose "We'll build it for you" and describe what you need: a website, funnel, sales page, program, course outline, email sequence, form, link in bio and more. You can attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as logos, photos, brand guides and existing copy. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours, and invents nothing: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, with gaps left for you to fill. A somatic coach leaving Kajabi had the homepage and About page rebuilt and the contact form connected; a menopause and midlife health coach starting from nothing got a five-page site in sage and cream with every button leading to a 20-minute consultation. It does not cover recording videos, logo design or ad management. Read more about the white-glove build service.

2. Coaches Console: the long-running business system with the highest entry price
Coaches Console suits coaches who want an established, coach-specific business system and can absorb a premium monthly fee. It bundles a CRM, calendar, website, client portal, email and invoicing, with courses added on the higher plan.

As listed in October 2026, the Core Console System costs $197/mo ($166.42/mo billed annually) for a single coach account, with client limits not specified on the pricing page. The Total Console System costs $297/mo ($249.75/mo billed annually) and adds unlimited products and courses. There is no free trial: billing details are required at signup, and the vendor offers a "100% money back guarantee" within the first 30 days. Transaction fees are not stated, and there are no setup fees.
For a coach leaving SimplePractice, the appeal is that marketing and admin live together: your website, email list and invoicing are in one system rather than three. The trade-offs are cost and age. Its $197 entry price is the highest among the coaching-admin tools in this list, and reviewers describe the interface as dated. Per-client habits and daily check-ins are not documented on the material we reviewed, so between-session accountability may need another tool or manual follow-up.
For our example coach with 15 clients and one group program, the Core plan's price stays the same as the practice grows, which is a real advantage over per-client pricing. The question is whether a fixed premium price buys enough delivery features for the way you coach.
Pick it over Coachful if you want a long-established coach business system, value a money-back guarantee over a trial, and do most of your accountability work inside live sessions rather than between them.
3. Quenza: between-session worksheets for practitioners who straddle therapy and coaching
Quenza is the best fit when you mainly need structured work between sessions and already handle booking and billing elsewhere. It is a client-engagement tool for coaches and therapists built around activities, worksheets, programs, chat and a client app.

Pricing as listed in October 2026: Spark $25/mo ($20/mo billed annually) for one professional and 10 clients; Growth $50/mo ($40/mo annually) for 250 clients; Impact $125/mo ($100/mo annually) for 400 clients; Collective $160/mo ($128/mo annually) for up to 3 professionals and 500 clients; and a custom Beyond tier with unlimited clients and professionals. A 30-day trial needs no credit card. Quenza has a Trustpilot score of 4.3 from 8 reviews.
The gaps are significant for anyone replacing SimplePractice outright. Quenza does not process client payments today; invoicing and digital products are marked as planned on its pricing page. An older profile also notes no scheduling or video calls. That means a coach would still need a booking tool, a payment processor and a way to market the practice.
Where it shines is the deliver stage. Worksheets and activity flows give clients something concrete to do between sessions, which is the part SimplePractice users most often patch with PDFs and email. Spark caps at 10 clients, so our 15-client example coach would start on Growth.
Pick it over Coachful if you are a licensed practitioner keeping clinical admin in an EHR and want only a dedicated between-session layer, or if your clients never pay you online.
4. HoneyBook: polished proposals and invoices, no coaching delivery
HoneyBook is a client-management CRM for service businesses, strong on proposals, contracts and invoices, and weak on anything that happens after the client signs. Coaches who sell corporate workshops or speaking engagements tend to like it most.

October 2026 list prices: Starter is $29/mo billed annually (the monthly price is not shown), with unlimited clients and projects and 2 live lead forms. Essentials costs $59/mo ($49/mo annually) with up to 2 team members and 10 lead forms. Premium costs $129/mo ($109/mo annually) with unlimited team members and lead forms. The trial runs 30 days with no credit card. Prices rose in February 2025 from $19, $39 and $79 to $36, $59 and $129 monthly, according to an older profile.
Payments must run through HoneyBook's own processing. Its pricing page conflicts on card rates, showing 2.7% + 10¢ in the FAQ but 2.9% + 25¢ in the plan comparison; ACH is 1.5% and instant deposit 1%. The scheduler and automations are not on Starter, so a coach who needs booking pages starts at Essentials.
The limit for coaches is delivery. HoneyBook has no programs, courses, habits, check-ins or community, so the between-session work you were hoping to add after SimplePractice still needs another product. Our HoneyBook alternatives guide covers this gap in more detail. HoneyBook holds a Trustpilot score of 4.1 from 748 reviews.
Pick it over Coachful if most of your revenue comes from proposal-led projects, such as team workshops or keynote bookings, and you deliver little or nothing between sessions.
5. Acuity Scheduling: intake-heavy booking from the Squarespace family
Acuity Scheduling is an appointment scheduler with intake forms, packages and memberships, owned by Squarespace. It is the cleanest choice if you only want to replace SimplePractice's calendar and keep everything else separate.

As listed in October 2026: Starter $20/mo ($16/mo billed annually) for 1 calendar; Standard $34/mo ($27/mo annually) for up to 6 calendars; Premium $69/mo ($55/mo annually) for up to 36 calendars; and Enterprise with unlimited calendars at a custom price. Every plan has a 7-day trial with no credit card. Acuity mentions no fee of its own on payments; the rates of your own Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo account apply.
One detail matters to people leaving SimplePractice: Acuity offers a HIPAA BAA, but only on Premium. If you are a licensed practitioner who sees some clinical clients and some coaching clients, that can be a reason to look at it. Text reminders start on Standard.
The limits are wide. Acuity has no client portal for programs, habits, check-ins or messaging, and no courses, community, website builder or email marketing. Clients book and show up; anything between sessions has to happen somewhere else. Acuity holds a Trustpilot score of 3.6 from 687 reviews. For a broader look at booking tools, see our guide to scheduling software for coaches.
Pick it over Coachful if you need a BAA for part of your scheduling, want to accept PayPal or Venmo at booking, or only need a calendar while your delivery stays in another system.
6. Practice Better: the closest cousin to SimplePractice for wellness practitioners
Practice Better is the most SimplePractice-like tool on this list, aimed at wellness and nutrition practitioners. It covers scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal, which makes it the gentlest switch for practitioners who still want clinical-style notes.

October 2026 list prices: Sprout is $0/mo for 3 clients, 1 practitioner and 100 MB; Starter $35/mo ($25/mo billed annually) for 10 clients; Professional $69/mo ($59/mo annually) for 300 clients; Plus $99/mo ($89/mo annually) for unlimited clients and 3 admins; and Team $155/mo ($145/mo annually) for 2 practitioners, expandable up to 200 at +$50 each. Trials run 30 days on Team and 14 days on other paid plans. Payments run through Practice Better Payments, powered by Stripe, with rates not listed.
Watch where features sit. Evergreen programs, portal branding, a custom URL and SMS start on Plus at $99/mo, so a coach who wants a branded experience pays more than the entry tiers suggest. An older profile notes no website builder or funnel pages, and accounts below Team allow one practitioner.
We compared the two tools directly in Practice Better vs SimplePractice, and our Practice Better alternatives list covers what to use if it does not fit. It holds a Trustpilot score of 3.8 from 87 reviews.
Pick it over Coachful if you are a nutrition or wellness practitioner who wants charting-style notes and telehealth in a familiar layout, or if you have three clients or fewer and want a no-cost starting tier.
7. Paperbell: a flat price for solo session admin
Paperbell is all-in-one admin for solo coaches: booking, packages, payments, contracts, a client portal and a simple website, all for one price. It replaces SimplePractice's admin role well and adds a little marketing.

Paperbell has a single plan listed at $97/mo ($80.83/mo billed annually) in October 2026, with unlimited clients, sessions, files, packages and traffic. The pricing page shows a "Try For Free" button but no trial length; its help center described a 7-day trial in July 2026 with the public site offline and client messages and SMS turned off. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee and "no additional transaction fees", with Stripe or PayPal processing fees applying.
The ceiling is delivery. An older profile notes no courses or LMS, no community, and no goal or habit tracking, and no native mobile app (clients use the mobile browser). For our example coach, the eight-week group program would need a separate course or community tool. Paperbell holds a Trustpilot score of 3.5 from 14 reviews. Our Paperbell alternatives roundup goes deeper.
The flat price is the main attraction: whether you have 5 clients or 50, the bill does not change, and contracts plus packages cover most of what a session-based coach does each week.
Pick it over Coachful if you sell only 1:1 session packages, want to accept PayPal, and have no plans to run programs, courses or a group.
8. CoachAccountable: deep accountability tools, priced per active client
CoachAccountable is a coaching back office built around action plans, metrics and worksheets. It is excellent for high-touch 1:1 accountability and becomes expensive as the number of active clients grows.

Its October 2026 list prices step up with active clients: Starter $20/mo for 2, Level 1 $40/mo for 5, Level 2 $70/mo for 10, Level 3 $120/mo for 20, Level 4 $250/mo for 50, and Level 5 $400/mo for 100. The trial lasts 30 days with no credit card and no limits. Transaction fees are not stated on the pricing page; an older profile lists Stripe, Square and PayPal as processors.
Features cover sessions, action plans, metrics, worksheets, courses, invoicing and agreements, which is a fuller delivery toolkit than most admin tools. The limits sit on either side of delivery: an older profile notes no landing pages, website or marketing automation and no native mobile app. The same profile records that, by its own statement, CoachAccountable is not HIPAA compliant, so it is no closer to an EHR than the other coaching tools here.
Per-client pricing is the main issue for group work. Our example coach's 15 private clients alone fall in Level 3, and adding a group program pushes the count further. Public reviewers rate it well, with a Trustpilot score of 4.8 from 47 reviews. See our CoachAccountable alternatives for related options.
Pick it over Coachful if you coach a small number of high-paying 1:1 clients on detailed metrics and action plans, and your website and email marketing are already handled elsewhere.
9. CoachVantage: unlimited clients per coach, with caps on the small plan
CoachVantage is coaching practice management priced per coach rather than per client. It covers CRM, scheduling, contracts with e-signature, invoices, a client portal, group programs and small courses.

October 2026 list prices: Clarity costs $39/mo ($35/mo billed annually) with unlimited contacts and engagements, but caps of 2 group programs, 2 sales pages, 2 booking pages, 4 e-signatures a month, 2 contract templates, 2 courses and 500 MB. Aha! costs $59/mo ($53/mo annually) and removes the caps on group programs (with cohorts), sales pages, booking pages and e-signatures, with 5 contract templates, 5 courses and 1 GB. The trial runs 14 days with no credit card. CoachVantage advertises "no commissions on the revenue you earn"; Stripe or PayPal fees apply.
The Clarity caps are easy to hit. A coach who signs more than four clients in a month runs out of e-signatures, and a second offer can use up the booking pages. An older profile also notes no team or multi-coach features, and reviewers report the built-in CVMeet video as weak, with many users staying on Zoom.
For our example coach, Aha! is the realistic plan, which still sits at a modest price for unlimited clients. Email marketing and community are not part of the documented feature set, so those would come from other tools. More options are in our CoachVantage alternatives guide.
Pick it over Coachful if you want unlimited clients at a low per-coach price, accept PayPal, and mostly need CRM, contracts and invoices with light group work.
10. Kajabi: a marketing and course engine, not a client manager
Kajabi sells knowledge products: courses, communities, websites, funnels and email in one place. It is a strong attract-stage tool and a weak replacement for SimplePractice's client management.

As listed in October 2026: Basic $179/mo ($143/mo billed annually) for 5 products, 2,500 contacts, 1 community, 1 website, 2 admin users and 0 AI credits; Growth $249/mo ($199/mo annually) for 50 products, 25,000 contacts, 11 admins and 500 AI credits; Pro $499/mo ($399/mo annually) for unlimited products, 100,000 contacts, 3 communities and 1,000 AI credits. The standard trial is 14 days; a card is optional, and if entered Kajabi places an authorization hold and charges when the trial ends. Some features, such as bulk contact import and some automations, stay locked until a paid plan is active.
Kajabi Payments in the US charges 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic, 2.8% + $0.30 on Growth and 2.7% + $0.30 on Pro. Using another processor (other than PayPal) adds a Kajabi fee of 2% on Basic, 1% on Growth or 0.5% on Pro on top of the provider's fees.
For coaching, the gap is per-client work. Kajabi has no habit tracking or daily client check-ins; coaching is delivered as products and communities rather than individual plans. Trustpilot shows 3.4 from 2,347 reviews. We cover what else to use in Kajabi alternatives for coaches.
Pick it over Coachful if your business is mainly selling courses to a large audience, and 1:1 or small-group coaching is a minor add-on.
11. Systeme.io: the cheapest way to cover marketing
Systeme.io is a low-cost marketing suite with funnels, email, courses, a community, a blog and an affiliate program. Its permanent free plan makes it the lowest-cost way to cover the attract stage.

October 2026 list prices: Free at $0/mo with 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 course, 500 students, 1 blog, 1 affiliate program, 1 custom domain, 1 automation rule and 1 email campaign; Startup at $17/mo with 5,000 contacts, 10 funnels and 5 courses; Webinar at $47/mo with 10,000 contacts, 50 funnels and 20 courses; and Unlimited at $97/mo. The free plan never expires and needs no credit card. There are 0% transaction fees on every plan, with Stripe or PayPal processing only. Trustpilot shows 4.9 from 8,696 reviews.
What it does not do is the SimplePractice half of your work. An older profile notes no native 1:1 scheduling with client records, habits or check-ins, and basic community and course features without a branded mobile app. A coach leaving SimplePractice would pair it with a scheduler and some way to keep client notes and agreements.
That pairing can be cheap, which is the point. A coach who is early in building an audience can run a lead magnet, an email sequence and a small course on the free plan while booking sessions elsewhere, then reassess once client numbers grow.
Pick it over Coachful if your budget is close to zero, you only need funnels and email for now, and you are comfortable running sessions, contracts and client follow-up in other tools.
12. Calendly: booking links and nothing else
Calendly is a scheduling tool: booking pages, reminders and workflows, and paid bookings through your own Stripe or PayPal. It is the simplest way to replace SimplePractice's calendar if you need nothing more.

October 2026 list prices: Free at $0/mo with 1 event type and 1 calendar connection; Standard at $10/mo per seat billed annually (the monthly price is not shown), with up to 6 calendar connections and unlimited event types; Teams at $16/mo per seat billed annually; Teams Plus at $24/mo per seat billed annually; and Enterprise from $15k/yr with a 50-seat minimum. The trial is not stated on the pricing page today; an older profile describes a 14-day Teams trial with no card that downgrades to Free. Calendly documents no fee of its own on payments. Trustpilot shows 4.1 from 714 reviews.
The limits are by design. Calendly has no client records, notes, programs, habits or check-ins, no intake questionnaires beyond booking questions, and no contracts or invoicing. Pricing is per seat, so each coach on a team pays separately. The free plan's single event type also means one session type only.
For coaches, Calendly is usually one piece of a stack rather than a SimplePractice replacement. Our Calendly alternatives for coaches guide compares booking tools that also hold client records.
Pick it over Coachful if all you need is a booking link, for example while your clinical clients stay in SimplePractice and you run a handful of coaching calls on the side.
How do the 12 tools compare feature by feature?
Yes means the feature is documented on the vendor's pricing page or profile; Partial means it exists with clear limits; "Not listed" means the material we reviewed does not mention it.
| Tool | Scheduling | Payments | Contracts | Habits and check-ins | Courses | Community | Website and funnels | Email marketing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Coaches Console | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Partial (Total plan) | Not listed | Yes | Yes |
| Quenza | No | No | Not listed | Partial (worksheets, activities) | Not listed | No (chat only) | Not listed | Not listed |
| HoneyBook | Partial (Essentials and up) | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | Partial (lead forms) | Not listed |
| Acuity Scheduling | Yes | Partial (at booking) | Not listed | No | No | No | No | No |
| Practice Better | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Partial (programs) | Not listed | Not listed | No | Not listed |
| Paperbell | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | Partial (simple website) | Not listed |
| CoachAccountable | Yes | Yes | Yes | Partial (action plans, metrics) | Yes | Not listed | No | No |
| CoachVantage | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Partial (2 or 5 courses) | Not listed | Partial (sales pages) | Not listed |
| Kajabi | Not listed | Yes | Not listed | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Systeme.io | No | Yes | Not listed | No | Partial (basic) | Partial (basic) | Yes | Yes |
| Calendly | Yes | Partial (paid bookings) | No | No | No | No | No | No |
What does each tool cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?
Costs differ most once a practice grows, because some tools charge per active client and others charge a flat fee. The table uses monthly list prices as shown in October 2026, before payment processing fees, and picks the cheapest plan that covers each client count and the features our example coach needs.
| Tool | 5 clients | 15 clients | 40 clients | Still needed for the full journey |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | Nothing for the four stages above |
| Coaches Console | $197 (Core) | $197 (Core) | $197 (Core) | Between-session habit tracking |
| Quenza | $25 (Spark) | $50 (Growth) | $50 (Growth) | Scheduling, payments, website, email |
| HoneyBook | $59 (Essentials, for the scheduler) | $59 | $59 | Programs, courses, community, email list |
| Acuity Scheduling | $20 (Starter) | $20 | $20 | Program delivery, website, email |
| Practice Better | $35 (Starter) | $69 (Professional) | $69 (Professional) | Website, funnels, email marketing |
| Paperbell | $97 | $97 | $97 | Courses, community, habits, email marketing |
| CoachAccountable | $40 (Level 1) | $120 (Level 3) | $250 (Level 4) | Website, funnels, email marketing |
| CoachVantage | $39 (Clarity) | $59 (Aha!) | $59 (Aha!) | Email marketing, community |
| Kajabi | $179 (Basic) | $179 | $179 | Per-client habits and check-ins, contracts |
| Systeme.io | $0 (Free) | $0 (Free) | $0 (Free) | Scheduling, client records, contracts |
| Calendly | $0 (Free, 1 event type) | $10/seat billed annually | $10/seat billed annually | Everything except booking |
Read the last column before the price columns. The cheapest single tools here cover one stage each, so their real cost is the sum of a stack, which the next section adds up.
Should you buy one platform or assemble a stack?
For most coaches leaving SimplePractice, one platform costs less in money and time than an assembled stack, because each extra tool adds a login, a bill and a place where client information can fall out of sync. Assembled stacks make sense when one piece is unusual, such as a BAA requirement or a large course audience. Here are three example stacks for our 15-client coach, priced from the list prices above.
| Stack | Tools | Monthly list cost (example) | Logins for you | Apps or portals for clients |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful (all-in-one) | One platform for all four stages | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | 1 | 1 |
| Admin plus delivery | Paperbell ($97) + Quenza Growth ($50) + Kit Creator ($39, up to 1,000 subscribers) | $186 | 3 | 2 |
| Budget assembled | Calendly Standard ($10, annual) + HoneyBook Starter ($29, annual) + Quenza Growth ($50) + Systeme.io Startup ($17) | $106 | 4 | 2 or 3 |
| Marketing-led | Kajabi Basic ($179) + Acuity Starter ($20) + HoneyBook Starter ($29, annual) | $228 | 3 | 2 or 3 |
The money is only part of it. In an assembled stack, a new client books in one tool, signs and pays in another, and does their worksheets in a third, and you copy names and notes between them or pay for a connector such as Zapier. Each handoff is a chance for a client to miss a step. The budget stack is genuinely cheap, but it still has no group community and no single view of how a client is doing.
If you choose to assemble, pick one system as the source of truth for client records and agreements, and treat everything else as a front end. If you choose one platform, check that it covers the stage you care most about as well as the specialist would; see our overview of coaching software for what an all-in-one should include.
How do you move off SimplePractice without losing anything?
Move in a planned order: decide which clients stay clinical, export what you are allowed to keep, rebuild your offers as coaching packages or programs, and run both systems for one billing cycle. Rushing the switch is how agreements and payment schedules get lost.
- Split clinical from coaching clients. If you are licensed and some clients receive therapy, they stay in a HIPAA-compliant EHR. Only coaching clients move.
- Export what you need and keep what you must. Check SimplePractice's help center for which records it lets you export, and download your client list and documents before you cancel. Record-retention rules vary by state and license, so check with your licensing board or an attorney before deleting anything.
- Do not copy clinical notes into a coaching platform. Coaching notes should record goals, actions and progress, not diagnoses or treatment.
- Rebuild offers as packages or programs. A block of sessions becomes, for example, a 12-week program with weekly goals and a mid-point review, priced as one package or a payment plan.
- Re-sign agreements. Send a coaching agreement that states the scope line and your referral policy, and have each client sign it before their next session.
- Overlap for one cycle. Send clients the new booking link, keep the old account open for a month, and cancel only after every recurring payment has moved.
A worked setup in Coachful for a coach leaving SimplePractice
Here is how our example coach would set up in Coachful, step by step, and what each client sees:
- Import. During onboarding, the Coachful team imports your clients, programs and content for you, so your roster does not need retyping.
- Booking. Create a discovery-call type with intake questions and a paid 1:1 session type, synced to your Google, Apple or Outlook calendar. Clients see your availability in their own time zone.
- Agreement and payment. Attach your coaching agreement so it goes out for e-signature before the first call, and connect your Stripe account for a payment plan. Clients sign before their first call and can pay by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay.
- Program. Turn your eight-week group offer into a program with weekly goals, daily tasks, a habit and morning check-ins; a cohort group is created on enrollment. Clients open the app each day and see what to do today.
- Marketing. Ask the white-glove team for a website and a lead-magnet funnel, then add an email sequence. Visitors land on your site, download the guide and receive your follow-up emails.
- Retention. Watch the client status column for anyone marked quiet or at risk, and offer a monthly subscription when the program ends.
Which SimplePractice alternative should a coach choose?
Choose Coachful if you want one platform for the whole client journey. Coachful is a coaching platform for coaches who deliver programs, solo coaches growing into a small team, and anyone replacing several tools; it covers booking, payments, contracts, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, community, website, funnels and email. It does not do clinical records, insurance billing or HIPAA (no BAA), and it has no PayPal. To start, take a free trial and request the free white-glove build so your website or first program is set up for you.
The other picks depend on one constraint. Choose Practice Better if you want the closest thing to SimplePractice for wellness work, Paperbell if you only sell session packages at a flat price, CoachAccountable for metrics-heavy 1:1 work with few clients, CoachVantage for unlimited clients on a small per-coach budget, Quenza if you need only between-session worksheets, Acuity if you need a BAA on part of your scheduling, and Systeme.io or Kajabi when marketing is the main job. Coaches in specific niches can also compare our pages for life coaches and business coaches.
Frequently asked questions
Is SimplePractice a good fit for coaches?
SimplePractice is built for licensed clinicians who need an EHR, HIPAA compliance and insurance billing. Coaches who bill clients directly usually pay for clinical features they do not use and still need separate tools for marketing, programs and community. It remains the right home for any clinical clients a licensed practitioner sees.
Do coaches need HIPAA-compliant software?
HIPAA's privacy rules apply to covered entities such as health plans, clearinghouses and health care providers that transmit health data in regulated transactions, and to their business associates. Most coaches who take card payments and do not bill insurance fall outside that group. Your license and billing set the answer, so check with an attorney if you are unsure.
Is Coachful HIPAA compliant?
No. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA, so it is not for clinical record-keeping or insurance billing. It is GDPR-ready and offers a full client data export as a ZIP file.
What is the closest SimplePractice alternative for wellness practitioners?
Practice Better is the closest in layout and purpose, with scheduling, telehealth, charting, billing, programs and a client portal. Branded portals, evergreen programs and SMS start on its Plus plan, listed at $99/mo in October 2026.
What is the cheapest SimplePractice alternative for coaches?
Systeme.io and Calendly both have $0 plans, and Practice Better's Sprout plan is $0 for 3 clients. Each covers only part of the client journey, so add up the tools you would need before comparing them with an all-in-one platform.
Can I keep SimplePractice for therapy and use another tool for coaching?
Yes, and if you are licensed that is often the safest setup. Keep clinical clients and notes in your EHR, and run coaching clients, agreements and programs in a separate coaching platform, with an agreement that makes the difference between coaching and therapy clear.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
It is a build service on every plan. From Create, you describe what you want built, such as a website, funnel, program or email sequence, and attach up to 8 reference links and 10 files. The Coachful team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours, without inventing credentials, testimonials or prices.
Which of these tools accept PayPal?
Paperbell, CoachVantage, Systeme.io, Calendly and Acuity Scheduling all document PayPal as a processor option, and Acuity also lists Square and Venmo. Coachful has no PayPal; payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account.
Does Coachful track ICF coaching hours?
Yes. It counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports an ICF client coaching log with paid and pro bono hours.







