CoachAccountable vs upcoach: Which Fits Coaches in 2026?

CoachAccountable vs upcoach comes down to how you coach. CoachAccountable is a 1:1 coaching back office priced per active client, with sessions, action plans, worksheets, invoicing and agreements on every plan. upcoach is built for group and cohort programs, priced by participant tiers, with progress dashboards and AI impact reports, and it adds a 1% to 2% transaction fee below its top plan. Pick CoachAccountable for a small roster of individual clients you invoice, and upcoach for structured cohorts with sponsors or facilitators.
Neither one covers the whole business, though. CoachAccountable has no website or funnels (per its September 2026 profile), and upcoach does not document contracts or invoicing. This guide compares the two on price, features and the client's side of the screen, then looks at Coachful as a third option. We make Coachful, so we say plainly where it wins and where it does not.
What is the short answer for each kind of coach?
If you coach individuals and want accountability tools between sessions, CoachAccountable is the more natural fit of the two. If you run group programs for organizations, upcoach is closer to what you need. If you want booking, payments, programs, a website and a client app under one login, neither covers it alone.
- Solo 1:1 coach with under 10 clients: CoachAccountable's ladder starts low (2 clients for $20/month, 5 for $40, 10 for $70, as listed in October 2026), and every plan has the full feature set.
- Cohort or group-program coach: upcoach's Starter covers 25 active participants for $49/month, which undercuts CoachAccountable's subscription for any roster above 5, before upcoach's 2% fee.
- Coach working with company sponsors: upcoach's Pro plan adds Admin, Facilitator and Sponsor roles, which is the clearest organizational feature either tool lists.
- Coach who also needs to sell: neither tool documents a website builder plus funnels plus email sequences. That is where a single platform such as Coachful fits.
For deeper single-tool reading, see our CoachAccountable review and our breakdown of upcoach pricing.
How do CoachAccountable and upcoach compare side by side?
The table below puts the three options next to each other. Ranking criteria: one login for the whole client journey, between-session delivery, total stack cost, and setup effort (including a free white-glove build).
| Tool | Built for | Pricing model | Platform fee on client payments | Website and funnels | Client app |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Coaches who deliver programs, solo to small team | Flat monthly plans; Pro is unlimited clients (Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients) | 0%; only Stripe or Razorpay processing | Yes: website, funnels, email sequences, link in bio | Coach's branding inside the Coachful app |
| CoachAccountable | 1:1 coaching back office | Per active client, from $20/month for 2 | Not stated; processor fees apply | No (September 2026 profile) | No native app (September 2026 profile) |
| upcoach | Group and cohort programs | Participant tiers, from $49/month for 25 | 2% Starter, 1% Pro and Business, 0% Scale | Custom domain on Pro and up; no funnels documented | Branded app store app only on Enterprise |

CoachAccountable earns strong public reviews: Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 47 reviews as of October 2026. Its documented strengths are action plans, metrics and worksheets, the tools that keep a client doing the work between calls.

upcoach positions itself around programs and outcomes. Its Trustpilot page had no reviews in October 2026; an older profile from September 2026 recorded Capterra 4.9 from 8 reviews, which is too small a sample to lean on.
How does CoachAccountable vs upcoach pricing compare?
CoachAccountable charges by the number of active clients and nothing else, with no add-ons and no annual discount. upcoach charges by participant tier, limits team seats and AI reports per plan, and takes a percentage of client payments on its three lower plans. Which costs less depends on your roster size and your revenue.
Here are the published ladders, as listed in October 2026:
| Tool | 5 clients | 10 clients | 20 clients | 50 clients | 100 clients | Fee on client payments |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | 0% platform fee |
| CoachAccountable | $40/month (Level 1) | $70/month (Level 2) | $120/month (Level 3) | $250/month (Level 4) | $400/month (Level 5) | Not stated on pricing page |
| upcoach | $49/month (Starter, 25 participants) | $49/month (Starter) | $49/month (Starter) | $99/month (Pro, 100 participants) | $99/month (Pro) | 2% Starter, 1% Pro |

CoachAccountable's full ladder runs from 2 clients at $20 to 1,000 clients at $4,000 a month, with steps in between (35 clients for $200, 75 for $340, 150 for $600, 500 for $2,000). Only active clients count, and past clients keep lifetime access to their records. The page answers the annual-discount question with a flat "Nope!" and states there are no add-ons to buy. The trial is 30 days, with no card and no limits.

upcoach lists Starter at $49 (25 participants, 1 seat, 3 AI impact reports a month, 100 GB), Pro at $99 (100 participants, 2 seats, 15 reports, 250 GB), Business at $199 (250 participants, 5 seats, 50 reports, 500 GB) and Scale at $399 (500 participants, 10 seats, 1 TB, 0% fee). Enterprise is custom. Extra participants cost $99 a month per 100 and extra seats $99 a month, both only on Business and Scale. The trial is 14 days without a card, with a 14-day money-back guarantee on the first paid subscription.
One oddity: the upcoach toggle advertises "2 months free" on annual billing, but the annual totals shown equal 12 times the monthly price ($588 for Starter, for example). Confirm the annual price at checkout before you commit.
What does the transaction fee really cost?
upcoach's fee sits on top of Stripe's processing, so it scales with your income rather than your roster. As an illustrative example, a coach collecting $6,000 a month on Starter pays $120 a month in upcoach fees, more than double the plan itself. On Pro, $10,000 a month of client payments adds $100. Below the $399 Scale plan, the fee is part of the real price. CoachAccountable's pricing page does not mention a platform fee; processor fees from Stripe, Square or PayPal still apply (processor list from the September 2026 profile).
Worked example: a 40-person group program
Say you run a 12-week cohort of 40 people, collecting $8,000 a month in total (an illustrative figure). On CoachAccountable you would need the 50-client tier at $250 a month, because every enrolled participant is an active client. On upcoach, 40 people fit inside Pro at $99, plus a 1% fee of $80, so about $179 a month before Stripe. On Coachful the 40-client cost is Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients, with no platform fee on top. Our full CoachAccountable pricing guide runs more roster sizes.
Which tool handles sessions and scheduling better?
CoachAccountable treats the session as the center of the relationship: sessions sit alongside action plans, notes and worksheets in each client's history. upcoach's documentation leans toward programs and cohorts rather than individual booking, and its pricing page does not detail booking rules, so check its scheduling against your needs during the trial.
If 1:1 calls are most of your week, CoachAccountable's session-first design is the safer bet of the two. If calls are mostly group sessions inside a program, upcoach's structure maps more closely. Coaches who want booking rules such as buffers, minimum notice and two-way calendar sync with SMS and WhatsApp reminders will find those documented in detail on our scheduling software page.
How do they compare on accountability between sessions?
This is CoachAccountable's home ground. Its action plans, metrics and worksheets let a coach assign work, track numbers the client reports and see what got done before the next call. upcoach answers the same need at group level, with progress dashboards and AI insights across a cohort rather than deep per-client accountability tools.
The difference shows up in what you review. A CoachAccountable coach opens one client and sees that person's commitments. An upcoach coach is more likely to open a program dashboard and see where the group stands. If between-session habit building is the core of your method, our guide to tracking client habits without CoachAccountable shows what the same workflow looks like elsewhere.

How do programs and group coaching compare?
upcoach is the stronger of the two for group programs: unlimited programs on every plan, participant-based pricing that does not punish big cohorts, and roles for facilitators and sponsors on Pro and above. CoachAccountable does offer courses, but its per-client pricing makes large groups expensive, which its own pricing ladder makes obvious once you pass 50 people.
upcoach also stands out with AI impact reports (3, 15 or 50 a month depending on plan) and MCP access, which lets a coach query program data from Claude or ChatGPT. For a coach who has to show a corporate buyer what a program achieved, that reporting is a real reason to choose it. The report caps matter, though: a coach running many small cohorts on Starter will run out quickly.
For group coaching that also needs community, automatic cohort groups and live events, see how it works on our group coaching software page.
Which handles payments, invoicing and contracts?
CoachAccountable covers invoicing and agreements on every plan, which upcoach does not document. upcoach takes payments through Stripe with its own fee on lower plans, but its September 2026 profile lists no contracts or invoicing. For a coach who needs a signed agreement before the first call, CoachAccountable wins this round.
Processor choice also differs. CoachAccountable connects with Stripe, Square or PayPal (September 2026 profile). upcoach lists Stripe only. If your clients pay by PayPal, that alone may decide it.
What is the client experience like in each?
In both tools the client experience is mostly in the browser. CoachAccountable had no native mobile app per its September 2026 profile, and upcoach's branded app store app is reserved for Enterprise. On upcoach, brand colors, logo and a custom domain start on Pro, so a Starter client sees upcoach's look rather than yours.
CoachAccountable's client side is practical: clients see their action plans, worksheets, sessions and invoices, and keep access to their records after the engagement ends. upcoach's client side centers on the program: what is due this week and how far along the group is.
Neither tool gives the client one place for booking, paying, signing, doing the program, joining the community and messaging the coach. That fragmentation is what the third option is built to remove.
How do teams, data export and compliance compare?
CoachAccountable includes unlimited coaches and admins on every plan, which is generous for a growing practice. upcoach limits seats by plan (1, 2, 5 and 10) and charges $99 a month for each extra seat on Business and Scale, with no extra seats on Pro.
| Tool | Team coaches | Data export | Health data | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Studio and Agency team plans add seats with per-coach availability and staff permissions | Full ZIP export of roster, notes, check-ins, goals, habits, sessions and forms | Not HIPAA-certified; GDPR-ready | A free trial |
| CoachAccountable | Unlimited coaches and admins on every plan | Per-client export of full coaching history; bulk CSV import | Not HIPAA compliant by its own statement (September 2026 profile) | 30 days, no card |
| upcoach | 1 to 10 seats by plan; extra seats on Business and Scale | Client CSV export with custom fields (September 2026 profile) | Not stated on the pricing page | 14 days, no card, plus 14-day money-back |
If you coach in a health niche, remember that coaching is not treatment. Neither tool, and not Coachful either, is a clinical records system. Diagnosis, prescriptions and insurance billing belong with licensed providers, so refer clients onward when symptoms or medical questions go beyond coaching scope.
Which should you pick: CoachAccountable or upcoach?
Choose CoachAccountable if you coach individuals, need agreements and invoicing, and value accountability tools over marketing. Choose upcoach if you sell structured group programs, especially to organizations that want outcome reports. Choose neither if you also need a website, funnels and a branded client app in the same place.
- Pick CoachAccountable if your roster is under 20 active clients, you invoice per engagement, you want unlimited admins at no extra cost, or your clients pay by PayPal.
- Pick upcoach if you run cohorts of 25 or more, report to sponsors, want AI summaries of program impact, or plan to grow toward its Scale plan where the fee drops to 0%.
- Look elsewhere if you need to market yourself from the same tool, want contracts plus group programs together, or dislike paying a percentage of revenue.
Other head-to-heads that may help: Paperbell vs CoachAccountable, Practice Better vs CoachAccountable, and upcoach vs Kajabi. For wider lists, start with CoachAccountable alternatives and upcoach alternatives.
What is the third option, and when does Coachful beat both?

Coachful is a coaching platform where one subscription covers booking, payments, contracts, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. The coach has one login and the client has one branded app. It is built for coaches who deliver programs, not only sessions, for solo coaches growing into a small team, and for coaches replacing 4 to 6 tools.
Put simply, it takes CoachAccountable's between-session accountability and upcoach's program structure, then adds the selling side neither has. Here is how that plays out.
Accountability between sessions
Multi-week programs carry weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars and streaks. Each client record holds goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions, with a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk so you can see who is slipping before the next call.

This short walkthrough shows how programs are built and delivered:
Group programs without per-head penalties
Cohort groups are created automatically when someone enrolls in a program, with a community feed, group chat, direct messages, video events, group calls and webinars. Higher plans are flat and Pro covers unlimited clients, so a big cohort does not push you up a per-client ladder.

Payments, invoices and agreements
Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Stripe Tax. Every transaction gets an invoice and you can send manual ones. Since August 2026 there is a 0% platform fee, so only Stripe or Razorpay processing applies. Coaching agreements with e-signature go out before the first call and stay on the client record.


Scheduling
Booking pages carry availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection, with two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook sync. Calls use built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links. Reminders go by email, plus SMS 24 hours before and WhatsApp 1 hour before once messaging is enabled. Paid sessions, session credits, intake questions and round-robin assignment for team session types are included in your Coachful membership.

The client's side
Clients book, pay, sign, work through programs and courses, track habits and join the community in one branded home and app. That app runs under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account.

Selling and marketing
A section-based website builder comes with a blog, custom domain, SEO settings and 30 designed homepage templates. Booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels support pixels and UTM tracking. Email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences use triggers, delays, branching and A/B splits. A social planner schedules posts to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Threads and YouTube, and Instagram automations can send a booking link or lead magnet by DM when someone comments a keyword.

AI and credential tracking
Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data: she builds programs, drafts emails, summarizes recorded sessions, briefs you before calls and can give private feedback on your coaching against ICF Core Competencies 3 to 8. Questions and planning are included in the membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits. For ICF candidates, ICF hour tracking counts hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports a client coaching log.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create, the "We'll build it for you" option lets you describe what you want: a website, funnel, sales page, program, course outline, email sequence, form, link in bio and more. You can attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files such as logos, photos and brand guides. The Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. Nothing is invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. It does not include recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. A coach leaving CoachAccountable or upcoach can also have clients, programs and content imported during onboarding. Read more about the free white-glove service.

Recent anonymized builds give a feel for it: a business mentor for beauty professionals got a 12-week mentorship sales page, a free start-up-guide funnel and rewritten follow-up emails; a real-estate and money coach got a year-long cohort program with an application form, an eight-page site and a free nine-day bootcamp funnel.
When Coachful does not beat them
Be honest with yourself about these limits before switching:
- No PayPal. If clients insist on PayPal, CoachAccountable supports it (September 2026 profile) and Coachful does not.
- Not HIPAA-certified and no BAA, so it is not for clinical records or insurance billing.
- No app in your own App Store account; upcoach Enterprise offers one.
- No multi-stage sales deal board for large teams, and no Salesforce or HubSpot integration. Firm-wide corporate rollouts with sponsor reporting may fit upcoach's Business or Enterprise tiers better.
- No Garmin, Fitbit, Whoop or Oura sync, and no routing forms that pick a host from form answers.
- No permanent free plan, though there is a free trial.
Where Coachful does beat both: when you want one login for booking, paying, signing, programs and marketing; when you want between-session delivery with habits and check-ins plus group cohorts; and when you add up a scheduler, a website builder, an email tool and a course host alongside either CoachAccountable or upcoach. Current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients. Monthly plans cancel in one click. For a direct comparison page, see Coachful vs CoachAccountable.
How hard is it to switch from either tool?
Moving off CoachAccountable is straightforward because it exports each client's full coaching history and supports bulk CSV import. upcoach exports clients to CSV with custom fields from its Admin Panel (September 2026 profile). The harder part is payments: active subscriptions live in your Stripe account, so plan the cutover around billing dates.
A typical order is: export client data, set up the new booking and payment flow, send agreements to current clients, move programs, then switch billing at each client's next renewal. Our step-by-step guide on how to migrate from CoachAccountable covers the timeline. In Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding.
Frequently asked questions
Is CoachAccountable or upcoach cheaper?
For small 1:1 rosters, CoachAccountable is usually cheaper: 5 active clients cost $40 a month and 10 cost $70, as listed in October 2026. For groups of 25 or more, upcoach's participant tiers cost less per head, but add its 1% to 2% transaction fee before comparing totals.
Does upcoach charge transaction fees?
Yes. upcoach adds 2% on Starter, 1% on Pro and Business, and 0% on Scale and Enterprise, on top of Stripe's processing fees. CoachAccountable's pricing page does not list a platform fee.
Does CoachAccountable have a mobile app?
Its September 2026 profile lists no native mobile app, so clients use the browser. upcoach offers a branded app store app only on its custom Enterprise plan.
Which is better for group coaching?
upcoach, of the two. It is designed around programs and cohorts, offers unlimited programs on every plan, and its participant pricing stays flat as a cohort grows. CoachAccountable charges for every active client, which adds up fast for large groups.
Can either tool host my coaching website?
CoachAccountable has no website or landing pages per its September 2026 profile. upcoach offers a custom domain for its client area on Pro and above, but does not document a marketing website or funnels. Most coaches using either one also pay for a separate site builder.
Do CoachAccountable and upcoach offer free trials?
CoachAccountable offers 30 days with no card and no limits. upcoach offers 14 days with no card and a 14-day money-back guarantee on the first paid subscription. Neither has a permanent free plan.
Are CoachAccountable or upcoach HIPAA compliant?
CoachAccountable states it is not HIPAA compliant (September 2026 profile), and upcoach's pricing page does not claim HIPAA compliance. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified either. Keep clinical records in a clinical system and refer clients to licensed providers for medical concerns.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
It is a build service included on every Coachful plan. You describe a website, funnel, program, course outline, email sequence or similar from the Create page, attach links and files, and the team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. It does not cover videos, logos, ads or ongoing marketing.
Can I use Coachful for 1:1 and group clients at once?
Yes. Sessions, session credits and individual programs sit alongside group programs, automatic cohort groups and community spaces under one login. Each client sees everything in one branded app.







