10 Best Practice Better Alternatives for Life Coaches (2026)

The best practice better alternatives for life coaches are tools built around coaching outcomes rather than clinical charting. Practice Better was designed for wellness and nutrition practitioners, so a good share of what it offers (note templates, an AI charting add-on, telehealth, ePrescribe, fax numbers, a PDMP add-on) has little to do with helping a client move from stuck to decided. The real question for a life coach is narrower: can one tool carry a client from the discovery call to a signed agreement, through twelve weeks of between-session accountability, and on to a renewal, without you paying for and stitching together four separate subscriptions?
Our pick is Coachful. We make Coachful, so weigh that, but the ranking below uses criteria you can check for yourself, and every other tool gets an honest "pick it over Coachful if" line. Coachful puts booking, payments, e-signed coaching agreements, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, and a website with funnels and email behind one login, with one branded app for your clients. The nine alternatives that follow range from course platforms like Kajabi to coaching back offices like CoachAccountable and plain schedulers like Acuity Scheduling.
This guide stays with life coaching. If you coach across several niches, our broader list of Practice Better alternatives for coaches covers every type of practice, and our ranking of practice management software for life coaches looks at the category without Practice Better as the starting point. Prices below are as listed on vendor pricing pages in October 2026, in US dollars, billed monthly unless we say otherwise.
Why do life coaches look for a Practice Better alternative?
The main reason is fit: a life coach on Practice Better pays for a clinical practice tool while still needing a separate website, funnel and course stack. Practice Better does what it promises for wellness and nutrition practitioners, but the coaching-specific pieces a life coach leans on sit on higher tiers or are missing entirely.

Here is how the plans read as listed in October 2026. Sprout is free for 3 clients and 100 MB, aimed at students and new practitioners. Starter is $35 a month ($25 billed annually) for 10 clients with scheduling, telehealth video, billing, secure messaging, a client portal and form templates. Professional is $69 a month ($59 annually) for 300 clients and adds group scheduling and messaging, fixed-date programs, deposits and payment plans, and Zapier. Plus is $99 a month ($89 annually) for unlimited clients and is where evergreen self-paced programs, portal branding, a personalized URL, 750 SMS a month and program templates begin. Team is $155 a month ($145 annually) for two practitioners. The page itself is inconsistent on Professional: the plan card says "Save $84/year", which implies about $62 a month, while the table shows $59.

For a life coach, three things stand out. First, the evergreen, self-paced program most life coaches want to sell (a 6-week confidence reset, a values and vision course) needs Plus at $99 a month. Second, an earlier profile of Practice Better found no website builder or funnel pages, so your sales site, lead magnet and email list live somewhere else. Third, several add-ons are clinical: the AI Charting Assistant ($10, $20 or $40 per practitioner per month), ePrescribe ($49 a month plus $99 onboarding) and PDMP ($5 a month plus $399 onboarding). On Trustpilot, Practice Better shows 3.8 from 87 reviews, seen in October 2026.
None of that makes Practice Better a bad product. If you hold a clinical license and coach on the side, its charting and telehealth may be exactly right, and our explainer on the Practice Better EHR covers that case. For a plan-by-plan breakdown with add-ons, see Practice Better pricing, and for the full product picture, our Practice Better review.
What do life coaches need from practice management software?
A life coach needs software that follows the client journey from first contact to renewal and keeps the client moving between sessions. Sessions are only a small part of the work; the change happens in the days between them.
Map a typical life coaching engagement and the requirements fall out of it:
- Discovery and intake. A booking page for a free 20 or 30 minute discovery call, intake questions that ask what the client wants to change, and a way to track who booked, who showed up and who converted.
- Agreement before the first session. A coaching agreement that sets out confidentiality, scope, cancellation terms and the fact that coaching is not therapy, signed electronically before the first call.
- Packages, not single appointments. Three-month and six-month packages, payment plans, and session credits, because life coaching is sold as an engagement.
- Between-session accountability. Weekly goals, daily actions, habit tracking, morning intentions and evening reflections, journaling prompts and vision boards. This is where most generic schedulers and practice tools fall short.
- Group formats. Cohort programs, group calls and a private community, which let a life coach serve more people at a lower price point.
- Content. Workbooks, worksheets, short courses, audio, and a few recorded lessons that clients revisit.
- Marketing. A website, a lead magnet, an email sequence and a sales page for the signature program.
- Credential tracking. Many life coaches are working toward an ICF credential, and the ACC path starts at 100 coaching hours with at least 8 clients, so logging hours and clients from day one saves a painful reconstruction later. Coachful's ICF hour tracking page explains how that works.
There is also a scope question that matters more in life coaching than almost anywhere else. Life coaching is not therapy or treatment. When a client shows signs of depression, an anxiety disorder, trauma responses, disordered eating, substance misuse or any risk of harm to themselves or others, the ethical move is to pause and refer them to a licensed mental health professional. Your software should hold coaching notes, goals and agreements, not clinical records. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA, which is fine for coaching but means licensed therapists who also coach should keep clinical work in a clinical system.
If you want to see how Coachful approaches the niche as a whole, our page for life coaches walks through it.
The 10 best Practice Better alternatives for life coaches at a glance
Ranking criteria: one login for the whole client journey, depth of between-session delivery, total monthly stack cost for a solo life coach, and setup effort, including whether someone will build it for you.
| Tool | Rank | Best for life coaches who | Entry price as listed (October 2026) | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | 1 | Want discovery calls, agreements, programs, habits, courses, community, website and email in one place | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | A free trial |
| Kajabi | 2 | Sell courses and a community to a growing audience | $179/month (Basic) | 14 days |
| Quenza | 3 | Send worksheets and reflection activities between sessions | $25/month (Spark, 10 clients) | 30 days, no card |
| HoneyBook | 4 | Need proposals, contracts and invoices for package sales | $29/month billed annually (Starter) | 30 days, no card |
| Paperbell | 5 | Want one flat price for booking, packages and payments | $97/month | Yes; length not on the pricing page |
| CoachAccountable | 6 | Run detailed action plans and metrics for a few 1:1 clients | $20/month (2 active clients) | 30 days, no card |
| Satori | 7 | Are starting out or still in coach training | $0 (Scholar, pro-bono clients) | 15 days, no card |
| Dubsado | 8 | Care most about automated client workflows and contracts | $35/month (Starter) | 21 days, no card |
| Coaches Console | 9 | Want a long-standing coach business system with a website | $197/month (Core) | None; 30-day money-back guarantee |
| Acuity Scheduling | 10 | Only need booking, intake forms and packages | $20/month (Starter) | 7 days, no card |
How did we choose and rank these tools?
We scored each tool against the four criteria above, using what each vendor documents on its own pricing and product pages as listed in October 2026, plus what public reviewers report on Trustpilot. We did not run a client through every tool; where a fact comes from an earlier profile rather than this month's pricing page, we say so.
The criteria lean toward all-in-one tools on purpose: a scheduler, a contract tool, a course platform, an email tool and a website builder mean five logins, five bills and clients who must remember where everything lives. Tools that do one part very well still earned a place, because some coaches only need that part.
We left Practice Better itself out of the ranking, since this list exists for coaches leaving it. A few close substitutes also missed the cut for life coaches specifically. Simply.Coach starts at $9 a month for 3 active coachees and only removes its client, contract and program caps on Leap at $69 a month. CoachVantage starts at $39 a month with limits on booking pages, sales pages and e-signatures on Clarity. Delenta starts at $29 a month with 10 client portals and keeps courses and its mobile app for Premium at $79. Our CoachVantage alternatives and Delenta alternatives guides cover them in detail.
1. Coachful: the whole life coaching journey behind one login

Coachful is the strongest Practice Better alternative for life coaches because it is built for coaches who deliver programs, not just sessions. One membership covers booking, payments, agreements, program delivery with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website with funnels and email, and an AI assistant. Your clients get one branded app; you get one dashboard.
Start with the part Practice Better reserves for its higher tiers: between-session work. In Coachful you build multi-week programs with weekly goals, daily tasks, habits, morning and evening check-ins, goals with progress bars, and streaks. For a life coach running a 12-week "clarity to action" program, that means week one can set a values exercise and a morning intention, week four can add a small daily courage habit, and every evening the client answers two reflection questions you wrote.

On your side, each client record holds goals, check-ins, habits, notes, intake answers, tags, payments and sessions, plus an AI briefing before each call. Clients carry a status of thriving, active, quiet or at risk, so the client who stops checking in during week five shows up as quiet before they quietly disappear.

Here is a short walkthrough of how morning and evening check-ins are set up:
The admin side covers what a life coach would otherwise spread across a scheduler and a contract tool. Booking pages have availability rules, buffers, minimum notice and time-zone detection, with two-way Google, Apple/iCloud and Outlook calendar sync. Sessions can run on built-in video or auto-created Zoom, Meet or Teams links. Email reminders are standard, and SMS (24 hours before) and WhatsApp (1 hour before) reminders work once messaging is enabled. Booking pages can ask intake questions, and coaching agreements go out for e-signature before the first call and stay on the client record.
Payments run through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account: one-time payments, subscriptions, payment plans, order bumps, coupons, refunds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Stripe Tax. Since August 2026 Coachful takes a 0% platform fee, so you only pay Stripe or Razorpay processing.

For group work, cohort groups are created automatically when a client enrolls in a program, alongside a community feed, group chat, direct messages and video events. That is the backbone of group coaching without a separate community tool. Courses come with modules, lessons, drip and completion tracking, and there are 48 course templates with quizzes plus more than 40 ready-to-film program templates.
Marketing sits in the same account: a section-based website builder with a blog, custom domain and 30 designed homepage templates; booking, application, lead-magnet and checkout funnels with pixel and UTM tracking; and email lists, broadcasts and multi-step sequences with branching. Michelle, the built-in AI assistant, works from your live practice data to draft emails, build programs, summarize recorded sessions and brief you before calls. She can also give optional private feedback on your own coaching against ICF Core Competencies 3 to 8. Questions and planning are included in your Coachful membership; confirmed builds and changes use AI credits.
For coaches on the credential path, Coachful counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports an ICF client coaching log with paid and pro bono hours.

Why Coachful stands out: a free white-glove service. From Create, choose "We'll build it for you · FREE", describe what you want, attach up to 8 reference links and up to 10 files, and the Coachful team builds it inside your own account, usually within about 24 hours. For a life coach, that could be a website, a discovery-call funnel, a signature program, an email sequence or a lead quiz. Nothing gets invented: no fake credentials, testimonials or prices, and gaps are left for you to fill. A leadership coach with a Squarespace renewal days away got one clean homepage with a repeated "talk with me" button; a somatic coach leaving Kajabi had the homepage and About page rebuilt and the contact form connected. The service does not cover recording videos, logo design, ad management or ongoing marketing. Read more about the white-glove build service.

Pricing is a flat monthly plan, with lower plans capping the number of clients, Pro unlimited, and team plans adding coach seats. The entry plan is Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients. Current plans: Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients; Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients; Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients; Studio: $199/month with unlimited clients. Monthly plans cancel in one click.
The limits are worth knowing before you switch. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and is not built for clinical records or insurance billing. It does not support PayPal and has no permanent plan at no cost, only a free trial. The client app ships under the Coachful listing with your branding, not under your own App Store account. There are no routing forms that pick a host from form answers, no Salesforce or HubSpot integration, and affiliate payouts are recorded manually rather than sent for you. On Trustpilot, Coachful shows 4.5 from 21 reviews.
In short: Coachful is a coaching platform for life coaches who deliver programs and want to replace four to six tools; it does not do clinical record-keeping; you start with a free trial and can ask the team to build your site, funnel or first program. Our Practice Better vs Coachful comparison goes feature by feature.
2. Kajabi: is it worth it for life coaches who sell courses?
Kajabi suits a life coach whose business is shifting from 1:1 sessions toward courses, a paid community and a growing email list. It is a knowledge-product platform with courses, communities, a website, funnels and marketing emails, and it is strong at selling to an audience at scale.
As listed in October 2026, Basic costs $179 a month ($143 billed annually) with 5 products, 2,500 contacts, 1 community, 1 website, 2 admin users and no AI credits. Growth costs $249 a month ($199 annually) with 50 products, 25,000 contacts, 500 AI credits and an affiliate program. Pro costs $499 a month ($399 annually) with unlimited products, 100,000 contacts and 3 communities, and the comparison table places the branded mobile app on Pro. The standard trial is 14 days, and every plan carries a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Payment fees deserve a close read. Kajabi Payments for US entities charges 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic, 2.8% + $0.30 on Growth and 2.7% + $0.30 on Pro. If you use another processor other than PayPal, Kajabi adds its own fee of 2%, 1% or 0.5% on top, depending on the plan.
For life coaching specifically, the gap is per-client work. Kajabi has no habit tracking or daily client check-ins, and coaching is organized around products and communities rather than an individual client's plan. A life coach who still runs private clients alongside a course will likely add a scheduler and a contract tool. Trustpilot shows 3.4 from 2,347 reviews, seen in October 2026. Our guide to Kajabi alternatives for life coaches covers the trade-offs in more depth.
Pick it over Coachful if your revenue comes mainly from courses sold to thousands of contacts, you need several products and a large email list from day one, and private 1:1 accountability is a small part of what you do.
3. Quenza: worksheets and reflection between sessions

Quenza is a client-engagement tool for coaches and therapists, and its strength lines up with one part of the life coaching week: the reflective work clients do on their own. You build activities, worksheets and multi-step programs, send them to clients through a client app, and keep in touch through chat.
As listed in October 2026, Spark costs $25 a month ($20 annually) for 1 professional and 10 clients. Growth costs $50 a month ($40 annually) for 250 clients, Impact $125 a month for 400 clients, and Collective $160 a month for up to 3 professionals and 500 clients. A Beyond tier covers unlimited clients and professionals at a price not shown. The trial runs 30 days with no card.
A life coach could send a values card sort in week one, a limiting-beliefs worksheet in week two and a weekly reflection every Sunday, all inside Quenza. The catch is everything around that work. Quenza does not process client payments today; invoicing and digital products are marked as planned. An earlier profile found no scheduling or video calls either. So a life coach on Quenza still needs a booking tool, a payment tool, a contract tool and a website, which pushes the real monthly cost well past the plan price.
Quenza shows 4.3 from 8 reviews on Trustpilot, seen in October 2026, which is too small a sample to read much into.
Pick it over Coachful if you already have booking, payments and a website you are happy with, and you only want a dedicated library of reflective exercises and worksheets for clients to complete between sessions.
4. HoneyBook: a client-admin CRM for package sales
HoneyBook handles the paperwork side of selling coaching packages: lead forms, proposals, contracts, invoices and payments, plus a client portal. It was built for service businesses broadly, and life coaches who sell high-ticket packages through a proposal often like how polished that flow looks.
The October 2026 pricing page shows annual-billed prices. Starter is $29 a month billed annually, with unlimited clients and projects and 2 live lead forms; the monthly-billed Starter price is not shown. Essentials is $59 a month ($49 annually) for up to 2 team members and adds the scheduler, automations, SMS reminders and QuickBooks Online. Premium is $129 a month ($109 annually) for unlimited team members. The page also runs time-limited discounts, so check the price at checkout. The trial is 30 days with no card, and there is a 60-day money-back guarantee.
Two details matter for life coaches. First, the scheduler is not on Starter, so most coaches who book discovery calls will need Essentials. Second, payments run only through HoneyBook's own processing. The pricing page conflicts on card rates, showing 2.7% + 10¢ in the FAQ and 2.9% + 25¢ in the plan comparison; ACH is 1.5%.
HoneyBook stops where coaching delivery starts. It has no programs, courses, habits, check-ins or community, so your client's actual coaching experience lives elsewhere. Trustpilot shows 4.1 from 748 reviews, seen in October 2026. Our HoneyBook alternatives for coaches guide compares it with coaching-specific options.
Pick it over Coachful if your coaching is sold as bespoke proposals to a handful of clients, you already deliver the coaching itself in another tool, and polished proposal and invoice paperwork is the main thing you are missing.
5. Paperbell: one flat price for packages and payments

Paperbell is an all-in-one admin tool for solo coaches. It covers booking, packages, payments, contracts, a client portal and a simple website, and it sells all of that at one price per coach with no client caps. For a life coach who thinks in packages ("three months, six sessions, email support"), the package-first setup feels natural.
As listed in October 2026, there is a single plan at $97 a month ($80.83 a month billed annually) with unlimited clients, sessions, files, packages and traffic. Paperbell says there are no additional transaction fees, and Stripe or PayPal processor fees apply. The pricing page offers a "Try For Free" button without stating a trial length; Paperbell's help center in July 2026 described a 7-day trial with the public site offline and client messages and SMS turned off. A 30-day money-back guarantee applies.
The limits show up after the sale. An earlier profile found no courses, no community, and no goal or habit tracking, and no native mobile app, so clients use a mobile browser. A life coach who wants clients reflecting daily or meeting in a cohort will need another tool for that part. Paperbell shows 3.5 from 14 reviews on Trustpilot, seen in October 2026.
See our Paperbell vs Practice Better comparison if you are deciding between those two, or the wider list of Paperbell alternatives.
Pick it over Coachful if you run only 1:1 packages, want PayPal at checkout, and prefer a single flat price with no client tiers over a deeper program and community setup.
6. CoachAccountable: detailed action plans, priced per active client

CoachAccountable is a coaching back office with real depth in accountability: action plans, metrics that clients report, worksheets, session notes, courses, invoicing and agreements. Life coaches who track specific commitments (three job applications a week, a daily ten-minute walk, a weekly money review) get fine-grained control over what clients log.
Pricing scales by active client, as listed in October 2026: Starter $20 a month for 2 active clients, Level 1 $40 for 5, Level 2 $70 for 10, Level 3 $120 for 20, Level 4 $250 for 50 and Level 5 $400 for 100. The trial lasts 30 days with no card and no limits. Transaction fees are not stated on the pricing page; an earlier profile lists Stripe, Square and PayPal as processors.
That per-client model is the main thing a life coach needs to plan around. A coach with 5 private clients pays little; one who launches a 30-person group program moves into a much higher tier for the same work. An earlier profile also found no native mobile app, no website or landing pages and no marketing automation, and CoachAccountable states it is not HIPAA compliant. Reviewers are positive: Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 47 reviews, seen in October 2026.
See our list of CoachAccountable alternatives for coaches outgrowing the per-client model.
Pick it over Coachful if you keep a small 1:1 roster, want very granular metric and action-plan tracking, and do not need a website, funnels or a group community.
7. Satori: a lean start, including a plan for coaches in training

Satori is a coaching practice tool covering scheduling, a client portal, packages and programs, invoices and contracts. Its standout for newer life coaches is the Scholar plan: $0 a month for unlimited pro-bono clients, available to people studying for a coaching certification who apply through a form.
The paid tiers, as listed in October 2026: Essentials at $33 a month ($27.50 annually) for up to 10 active paying clients; Pro at $49 a month ($40.83 annually); and Leader at $124 a month ($103.33 annually). An earlier profile listed Pro at 50 active clients, 10 programs and 120 bookings, and Leader at 150 active clients, so confirm current limits before you commit. Only active clients count toward billing. The trial is 15 days with unrestricted access and no card, and Satori refunds on request within 30 days of signing up. Satori does not charge on client payments; standard PayPal and Stripe fees apply.
For a life coach finishing a training program and logging practice hours with pro-bono clients, that Scholar plan is useful. The limits appear as the practice grows: an earlier profile found no native mobile app, no native Zoom integration, and no landing pages, courses or community. Our Satori alternatives guide goes further.
Pick it over Coachful if you are still in coach training, your clients are pro bono, and you want a no-cost tool until you start charging.
8. Dubsado: automated workflows and contracts
Dubsado is a client workflow CRM: forms, contracts, invoices, a scheduler, and automated workflows it calls Flows. A life coach can automate the sequence from enquiry form to proposal to signed contract to first invoice to welcome email, which removes a lot of manual admin.
As listed in October 2026, Starter costs $35 a month ($335 a year) with unlimited clients and projects and 1 active lead-capture form, but no scheduler and no automated workflows. Premier costs $55 a month ($525 a year) and adds the scheduler, Flows, a bookkeeping integration, public proposals and Zapier. Up to 3 team members are included. The trial runs 21 days with full Premier access and no card. Dubsado Payments runs on Stripe and supports cards, ACH, Klarna and Affirm; PayPal and Square also work.
For coaching delivery, Dubsado offers very little. Dubsado itself says it does not include website building and is not an email marketing platform, and it has no courses, client community, habits or check-ins. Its mobile app is a companion; the full product runs on the desktop web app. Trustpilot shows a single review, which is not meaningful.
Pick it over Coachful if your main pain is repetitive onboarding admin, you need PayPal or Square, and you are happy to deliver the coaching itself in a separate tool.
9. Coaches Console: a long-standing coach business system

Coaches Console has served coaches for years with a CRM, calendar, website, client portal, email and invoicing in one system, and courses on its higher plan. For a life coach who wants a website and a back office from the same vendor, it covers more ground than most tools on this list.
It is also the most expensive entry point here. As listed in October 2026, the Core Console System costs $197 a month ($166.42 annually) for a single coach account, with client limits not specified. The Total Console System costs $297 a month ($249.75 annually) and adds unlimited products and courses. There is no free trial: billing details are required at signup, with a 30-day money-back guarantee instead. No setup fees are listed.
Reviewers in an earlier profile described the interface as dated, and habit tracking, daily check-ins and a client community are not among its documented features, even though they carry most of the between-session work in life coaching.
Pick it over Coachful if you value a long track record over a newer product, you want a single vendor for site and CRM, and you will not miss habit tracking or a cohort community.
10. Acuity Scheduling: when booking is the only gap
Acuity Scheduling is an appointment scheduler with intake forms, packages and memberships, owned by Squarespace. It earns a place on this list for life coaches who are happy with every other part of their setup and only need to replace Practice Better's booking and intake.
As listed in October 2026, Starter costs $20 a month ($16 annually) for 1 calendar with unlimited services and appointments, Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo payments, email reminders, custom intake forms and time-zone conversion. Standard costs $34 a month ($27 annually) for up to 6 calendars and adds text reminders, a waitlist, packages, memberships and gift certificates. Premium costs $69 a month ($55 annually) for up to 36 calendars and adds an AI Booking Assistant and a HIPAA BAA. The trial lasts 7 days with no card.
For a life coach, Standard is the realistic tier, since packages and text reminders sit there. Beyond booking there is nothing: no client portal for programs, habits, check-ins or messaging, no courses, no community, no website builder and no email marketing. Trustpilot shows 3.6 from 687 reviews, seen in October 2026. Our guide to scheduling software for coaches compares it with other booking tools.
Pick it over Coachful if scheduling is the only thing you need to replace and you already run programs, payments and your website elsewhere.
Which tool covers which part of a life coach's week?
Only Coachful covers every column below in one product; most alternatives cover the admin side or the delivery side, not both. "Not listed" means the vendor's pricing page and our earlier profile do not document the feature.
| Tool | Booking | Payments | Agreements | Habits and check-ins | Courses | Community | Website and funnels | Email marketing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Yes | Stripe Connect, Razorpay | E-signature | Yes | Yes | Yes, with auto cohorts | Yes | Yes, with sequences |
| Practice Better (baseline) | Yes | Practice Better Payments | Forms and note templates | Programs; evergreen on Plus | Programs only | Group messaging | No (earlier profile) | Broadcasts on Plus |
| Kajabi | Not listed | Kajabi Payments, PayPal | Not listed | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Quenza | No (earlier profile) | Planned | Not listed | Activities and worksheets | Not listed | Chat only | Not listed | Not listed |
| HoneyBook | Essentials and up | HoneyBook only | Yes | No | No | No | Lead forms only | Not listed |
| Paperbell | Yes | Stripe, PayPal | Yes | No | No | No | Simple site | Not listed |
| CoachAccountable | Yes | Invoicing | Yes | Action plans and metrics | Yes | Not listed | No | No |
| Satori | Yes | Stripe, PayPal | Yes | Not listed | No | No | No | Not listed |
| Dubsado | Premier only | Stripe, PayPal, Square | Yes | No | No | No | No | No |
| Coaches Console | Yes | Invoicing | Not listed | Not listed | Total plan | Not listed | Website | Yes |
| Acuity Scheduling | Yes | Stripe, Square, PayPal, Venmo | Intake forms | No | No | No | No | No |
What does each tool cost at 5, 15 and 40 clients?
At list price, the cheapest plan is rarely the cheapest stack, because most alternatives need two to four other tools to cover a life coach's full week. The figures below are monthly list prices as published in October 2026 for the lowest plan that fits each client count and includes booking where the tool offers it.
| Tool | 5 clients | 15 clients | 40 clients | What you would still add |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coachful | Lite: $29/month for up to 5 clients | Solo: $49/month for up to 20 clients | Pro: $99/month with unlimited clients | Nothing for the core journey |
| Practice Better | $35 (Starter) | $69 (Professional) | $69 (Professional) | Website, funnels, email; Plus at $99 for evergreen programs and branding |
| Kajabi | $179 (Basic) | $179 (Basic) | $179 (Basic) | Scheduler, contracts, habit tracking |
| Quenza | $25 (Spark) | $50 (Growth) | $50 (Growth) | Scheduler, payments, contracts, website |
| HoneyBook | $59 (Essentials) | $59 (Essentials) | $59 (Essentials) | Program delivery, courses, community, website |
| Paperbell | $97 | $97 | $97 | Habit tracking, courses, community |
| CoachAccountable | $40 (Level 1) | $120 (Level 3) | $250 (Level 4) | Website, funnels, email |
| Satori | $33 (Essentials) | $49 (Pro) | $49 (Pro) | Courses, community, website |
| Dubsado | $55 (Premier) | $55 (Premier) | $55 (Premier) | Program delivery, website, email |
| Coaches Console | $197 (Core) | $197 (Core) | $197 (Core) | Habit tracking and community not listed |
| Acuity Scheduling | $34 (Standard) | $34 (Standard) | $34 (Standard) | Everything beyond booking |
Two notes. Satori's Pro client limit comes from an earlier profile, so confirm it before you plan around 40 clients. And CoachAccountable counts active clients, so the 40-client column assumes all 40 are active in the same month; a group program pushes that number up quickly. Payment processing fees are on top of every figure here.
How would a life coach set this up in Coachful, step by step?
A solo life coach can move from Practice Better to a working Coachful setup without building every page by hand, because much of the build can be handed to the white-glove team. The example below follows a hypothetical coach launching a 12-week program for people rethinking their career and life direction; the program and structure are illustrative.

- Export from Practice Better first. According to an earlier profile, Practice Better emails a per-client archive (notes, invoices, forms) that stays available for 48 hours, exports the contact list as a spreadsheet, and offers bulk export on request. Download each archive as soon as it arrives. Our migration checklist covers the order of steps.
- Start the trial and request the build. Open Create, choose the white-glove build, and ask for a five-page site, a discovery-call funnel and your signature program outline. Attach your logo, photos, bio and existing program notes. Clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding.
- Pick a homepage direction. If you would rather start from a template than a brief, pick one of the 30 designed homepage templates, such as Hearth, and edit it.

- Set up the discovery call. Create a 30-minute booking page with buffers, minimum notice and three intake questions: what the client wants to change, what they have tried, and what would make the next 90 days a success. Connect Google, Apple or Outlook calendar sync.
- Write the agreement. Build a coaching agreement covering confidentiality, cancellations and a clear scope line that coaching is not therapy, and set it to go out for e-signature before the first session.
- Price the offer. Rather than copying another coach's rate, work out the hours the program involves (sessions, check-in review, messaging), decide your target hourly figure, and test that against what your ideal client already spends on growth. Then create the offer with a one-time option and a payment plan through your Stripe Connect account.
- Build the program. Lay out 12 weeks with a weekly goal, two or three daily tasks, one habit at a time, and morning and evening check-ins. Michelle can draft the first version from your outline, which you then edit.
- Turn on the community. Enrolled clients land in a cohort group automatically; schedule a fortnightly group call as a video event.
- Write the follow-up emails. A short sequence for people who booked a discovery call but did not buy, and a welcome sequence for new clients.
- Track your hours. Log sessions so Coachful counts coaching hours and distinct clients toward your ICF credential.
Here is how the website builder works if you want to edit what the team builds:
What mistakes should life coaches avoid when leaving Practice Better?
The most common mistake is replacing one tool with three, which adds cost and makes the client experience worse. A few others come up again and again.
- Paying for clinical features you never use. Charting assistants, ePrescribe, PDMP and fax numbers serve licensed practitioners. If you only coach, they add cost without helping a client reach a goal.
- Choosing per-client pricing before a group launch. Tools that charge by active client are cheap for five private clients and expensive the month your 30-person cohort starts. Model the client count you expect in a year, not today.
- Losing data in a short export window. Per-client archives that expire after 48 hours need to be saved the day they arrive.
- Migrating mid-program. Move new clients first and let current clients finish their program where they started, unless the program is very early.
- Ignoring between-session work. A scheduler and a payment link replace Practice Better's admin, but not its programs. If clients lose their daily check-ins in the switch, engagement drops.
- Blurring scope. Moving to a coaching tool is a good moment to rewrite intake questions and agreements so they are clearly coaching, and to write down when you refer out to a mental health professional.
- Building everything yourself. A website, a funnel and a program can take weeks of evenings. Ask for the white-glove build and spend that time on clients.
Which Practice Better alternative should a life coach choose?
For most life coaches, Coachful is the right Practice Better alternative, because it covers discovery calls, agreements, payments, daily accountability, cohorts, courses, a website and email in one membership, and the team will build your first setup for you. It is not a clinical tool, so licensed practitioners who chart should keep a clinical system for that work.
The others make sense for narrower needs. Choose Kajabi if courses for a large audience drive your business. Choose Quenza if you only need a worksheet library. HoneyBook and Dubsado fit coaches whose pain is paperwork, and Acuity Scheduling fits coaches whose only gap is booking. Paperbell, CoachAccountable and Satori are solid coaching admin tools with clear limits on delivery, marketing or price at scale. Coaches Console suits coaches who want a long-standing single vendor and will pay for it.
If you want to compare across the whole category instead, browse our comparison hub or the guide to coaching software. And if you coach in health and wellness as well, see the Practice Better alternatives for health coaches.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Practice Better alternative for life coaches?
Coachful ranks first because it covers the full life coaching journey under one login: booking, agreements, payments, programs with habits and check-ins, courses, a community, a website and email. The other nine tools each cover part of that journey well. Which part you need most decides the runner-up.
Is Coachful HIPAA compliant?
No. Coachful is not HIPAA-certified and does not sign a BAA, and it is not built for clinical record-keeping or insurance billing. That is fine for life coaching, which is not treatment, but licensed clinicians should keep clinical records in a clinical system.
Is there a Practice Better alternative with a free plan for new life coaches?
Satori's Scholar plan is $0 a month for unlimited pro-bono clients if you are studying for a coaching certification and your application is accepted. Practice Better's own Sprout plan is free for 3 clients. Coachful offers a free trial rather than a permanent plan at no cost.
What is Coachful's free white-glove service?
From Create, you describe what you want built (a website, funnel, program, course outline, email sequence and more), attach up to 8 links and 10 files, and the Coachful team builds it inside your account, usually within about 24 hours. It is included on every plan. It does not include recording videos, logo design or ad management.
Can I move my clients from Practice Better to another tool?
Yes. Practice Better offers per-client archives, a contact list spreadsheet and bulk export on request, according to an earlier profile. Save each archive quickly, since per-client exports were kept for 48 hours. In Coachful, clients, programs and content are imported for you during onboarding.
Which tool is cheapest for a life coach with 5 clients?
By plan price alone, Acuity Scheduling Starter at $20 a month, Quenza Spark at $25 and Satori Essentials at $33 are among the lowest. Each covers only part of a life coach's work, so add the cost of the tools you would still need before comparing.
Does Coachful accept PayPal?
No. Coachful takes payments through your own Stripe Connect or Razorpay account, including Apple Pay and Google Pay. If PayPal is essential for your clients, Kajabi, Paperbell, Satori, Dubsado and Acuity Scheduling list it.
Can I track ICF coaching hours in these tools?
Coachful counts coaching hours and distinct clients against ACC, PCC and MCC thresholds and exports an ICF client coaching log with paid and pro bono hours. None of the vendor details we gathered for the other nine tools mention dedicated ICF credential tracking, so ask the vendor before you rely on it.
Do life coaches need a client app?
It helps when clients do daily check-ins or habits, because a phone is where those happen. Coachful's client app carries your branding inside the Coachful app. Paperbell, CoachAccountable and Satori have no native mobile app according to earlier profiles.
Should I run group programs in Practice Better or move them?
Practice Better supports group scheduling and fixed-date programs on Professional and evergreen programs on Plus. If you want an automatic cohort community, a course and daily check-ins in the same place, a coaching platform such as Coachful handles that without extra tools.







